(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

hey silly smurfette ! I suggest that u call the hotels to ask whether your choice date has been booked? If not , place a tentaively booking first , to block the date. The tentatively booking is free , FYI.
Then you make an appointment with the coordinators at the preferred hotels u have in mind.

Like this you do not need to worry whether they are being booked over the weekend.
U are the one who has first block the date, the coordinator will call and check with you first .
So don't worry .

Mm.. if you free over the weekend, you just drop by the hotels yourself with your fiance and check out the ballroom to have a feel of it.
This is what MC has mentioned and I have also did that before. hahaz.. It fun to peek and source for hotels ballroom.

Good Luck babe ! Hope u find a dream venue soon.

Hey ladies ! wanna ask u all have u decide on the theme of your wedding ?

Agree with Cherry! Smurfette u should just spend the whole of sat or sun Go orchard!

When we are picking our wedding banquet venue, Me and my bf decide to take MRT to orchard and not drive. And we start from Orchard Hotel opposite is Orchard parade hotel follow by Hilton Hotel den Marriot hotel, Hayatt, The regent, Concorde Hotel, Holiday Inn Orchard etc etc. We go inside the hotel and peep at the hotel lobby etc and we actually walk to bras basah Hotel Rendezvous and Carlton.

Actually when u at Carlton u will see Pan pacific etc and u at cityhall! Lols it's tiring but it's worth it that u will feel Singapore is so small hotel are cluster together!!

October 2011 BTB List:

1 Oct 2011, HelovesmiIlovehim (lydia)
Venue: Mandarin Oriental Hotel
PG: Derrick Than
VG: Ideal productions, Stanley Oh
BS:

1 Oct 2011, smilezlm (Candice)
Venue: Swissotel Stamford
PG: Sherman, Rebirth
VG: AlvinAdeline Videography
BS: Bliss Bridal

8 Oct 2011, Michelle Chong (michi aka MC)
Venue: The Amara Hotel
PG: RMG
VG: RMG
BS: SG Bridal House (JB)

8 Oct 2011, Calister Dyeo (cali)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

8 Oct 2011, Jaslyn (jaslynhy)
Venue: Grand Park City Hall
PG: Simonvideo
VG: Simonvideo
BS: Venus Bridal(JB)

8 Oct 2011, YJZL (Shanny)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS: Selatar Broadway studio

8 Oct 2011, Sherlyn ♥♥ (sherlynliang)
Venue: Pan Pacific Orchard
PG: TBC
VG: TBC
BS: Cangai Bridal

9 Oct 2011, Doragal
Venue: Grand Copthorne Waterfront
PG:
VG:
BS: Amanda Lee Weddings (ala carte)

9 Oct 2011, TheSepthia
Venue: Holiday Inn Atrium
PG: Blissful Reminiscence
VG: NA
BS: NA (ala- carte)

15 Oct 2011, Piggypong
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

22 Oct 2011, Kat (piggeekgirl)
Venue: M Hotel
PG: Grace (MY)
VG:
BS: Ted Collection (ala-carte)

22 Oct 2011, lowpyng
Venue: Grand Park City Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

22 Oct 2011, Jim (Jellycheese)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS: Selatar Broadway

22 Oct 2011, Bridestobe
Venue: Orchard Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS: Golden Horse Awards

23 Oct 2011, Cherrychripy
Venue: Marina Mandarin Hotel
PG: Eulee
VG: Damon Low
BS: My Bridal Room

29 Oct 2011, Babydino
Venue: Swissotel the Stamford/Fairmont
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, dyleen (dyleen)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, CaiHongLim
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, Larrby
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, carebear (meteor_starry)
PG: Lighted Pixels and Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
VG: Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
BS: Cangai

30 Oct 2011, Michelle Lim (michimichi)
Venue: The Amara Santuary
PG:
VG:
BS: Thomson Wedding Design (TP)

Cherry, just to check..u've already confirmed ur list of jie mei + xiong di, the morning theme & what they will be wearing?

Ladies, is ur jiemei list all single / nt married? Most of my gfs are married...so may be i'll have mixtures... Anyone asking younger sister to be jiemei too? Or sister shld be staying @ hm to help out hehe....

Hey Mc ! Yeah I hAve settled my Jiemei n xiong di . 8 Jiemei n 8 xiong di
hehe . Yeah theme more or less confirm after my japan trip ! Hehe
mm .. For my half my Jiemei will be married by then , half single . But xiong di all single . The xiong di are quite strong cos they r v good at talking
hee
Anyway , for me my younger sis is too young to b my
Jiemei cod she only 11 next yr but I will bring her along . She gg to follow the jiemeis

October 2011 BTB List:

1 Oct 2011, HelovesmiIlovehim (lydia)
Venue: Mandarin Oriental Hotel
PG: Derrick Than
VG: Ideal productions, Stanley Oh
BS:

1 Oct 2011, smilezlm (Candice)
Venue: Swissotel Stamford
PG: Sherman, Rebirth
VG: AlvinAdeline Videography
BS: Bliss Bridal

8 Oct 2011, Michelle Chong (michi aka MC)
Venue: The Amara Hotel
PG: RMG
VG: RMG
BS: SG Bridal House (JB)

8 Oct 2011, Calister Dyeo (cali)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

8 Oct 2011, Jaslyn (jaslynhy)
Venue: Grand Park City Hall
PG: Simonvideo
VG: Simonvideo
BS: Venus Bridal(JB)

8 Oct 2011, YJZL (Shanny)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS: Selatar Broadway studio

8 Oct 2011, Sherlyn ♥♥ (sherlynliang)
Venue: Pan Pacific Orchard
PG: TBC
VG: TBC
BS: Cangai Bridal

9 Oct 2011, Doragal
Venue: Grand Copthorne Waterfront
PG:
VG:
BS: Amanda Lee Weddings (ala carte)

9 Oct 2011, TheSepthia
Venue: Holiday Inn Atrium
PG: Blissful Reminiscence
VG: NA
BS: NA (ala- carte)

15 Oct 2011, Piggypong
Venue: Marina Mandarin (Vanda BallRoom)
PG:
VG:
BS: é¦™æ¦­å¤§é“æ™‚尚婚紗 (PS only)

22 Oct 2011, Kat (piggeekgirl)
Venue: M Hotel
PG: Grace (MY)
VG:
BS: Ted Collection (ala-carte)

22 Oct 2011, lowpyng
PG:
VG:
BS:

22 Oct 2011, Jim (Jellycheese)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS: Selatar Broadway

22 Oct 2011, Bridestobe
PG:
VG:
BS: Golden Horse Awards

23 Oct 2011, Cherrychripy
PG: Eulee
VG: Damon Low
BS: My Bridal Room

29 Oct 2011, Babydino
Venue: Swissotel the Stamford/Fairmont
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, dyleen (dyleen)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, CaiHongLim
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, Larrby
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, carebear (meteor_starry)
PG: Lighted Pixels and Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
VG: Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
BS: Cangai

30 Oct 2011, Michelle Lim (michimichi)
Venue: The Amara Santuary
PG:
VG:
BS: Thomson Wedding Design (TP)

Thanks gals, you guys are so helpful. I've called the hotel to booked already and will be gg to look at those shortlisted hotel by the end of next wk.

I think the chances of holding it in Dec is too high already cos Oct is just too hot a month. Hmmmmm......

Oh.. btw, how much do we have to pay once we have confirm the hotel?

Hi Sillysmurfette, I think most hotel requires $3k deposit, u can also ask the coordinator if there's any credit card promo....i've gt 1 foc table by using dbs card

Hi silly.S for me . I have paid 4k as deposit
some hotels go by 10% of the whole banquet so it good to check out
hey piggypong ! U also taking marina mandarin !
me too but mine will be the grand ballroom cos I love e lighting there ! Hee

Hi Cherry, oops missed out ur previously reply...wah, u've 8 xiong di & 8 jie mei, that's alot..ang bao also have to give more lol. I tot of having 4 xiong di+ 4 jie mei, so total is 8, also mixture of single & married..hehe hope its sounds ok.

Hi, my AD date is on Oct 2011 too!

30 Oct 2011
Venue: Novotel Cinnamon Ballroom
PG:
VG:
BS: Manhattan Bridal (Taipei)

Hey MC ! Well , I think it ok to have 8 jiemei(s) n xiong di(s) . Haha cos I like to have lots of friends together
besides, they are really my good friends so yeah I want them to share my joy
lucky my fiancé also have 8 on his side
I like the feeling of many cars following the wedding car ! The feeling is sooo grand n fairytale
hehe . Actually mine is not alot , one of my friends , has 16 Jiemei(s) n 16 xiongdi(s) . Haha

cherry_chripy

yeah, I'm also taking marina mandarin. I love it once I was there. :P

We do not have that many guests so getting the vanda ballroom instead. Went to the grand ballroom during the fair and its nice !!

Hi ladies, I'm new to this forum. My AD is 01 Oct 2011. But i've yet to confirm a place. stressed..

I read this thread & found that some of you booked way way early.. Now i'm even more stressed.. Haiz....

Hey silly.S! Yeah haha , really love marina mAndarin
in fact, u should check it out the ballrooms if u free over the weekend !
however, if u r a person who like high ceiling n long walkway , then MM will not be your ideal place
for me I love crystal chandellier lights !
that my number 1 list
When choosing for a ballroom .Romantic Ambience to me is super important . Hee
in fact , my fiancé propose at MM so it make it even more memorable . N I'm now here again for a short getaway to celebrate my 4th anniversary . Hee
it will be good to know what is your priority like u look for long hallway ? Crystal lighting? High ceiling etc ? Hey Maggie ! Welcome ! Don't stress you have 1yr plus to find your ideal venue
jia you ya !

Babes,

Any one of you got recommendation for videographers for a tight budget? (:

Am open to all suggestions, hope to garner some help. (:

I'm also a October BTB, The date we had choosen is on the 1st of October =) AD is in Corpthorne King's hotel but I'm still very worried of how things will turn out to be...anyone has any feedback for CKH??

Welcome Maggie13 and Jowell! More n more 1st Oct brides in this forum!!

Hi Maggie13 initially I'm stress too when finding venue for banquet! Just send mail to all the hotel and ask whether 1st October wedding banquet available. They will reply u real fast! Be quick okay!!

Hi Jowell I been to CKH for wedding banquet. U choose having at the restaurant or ballroom? I attended the restaurant there's pillars blocking the view and it's not usual type as it is horizontal not vertical tat why the march in is a short one. But their bridal suite is beautiful!! Most of the guest commented the food is nice but there's shortage of carpark lots! I send email to enquire but no one responded! This is the only hotel tat did not reply to me!! Hahas

Hi Jim as wat I know from the F&B executive there's only one place to held the wedding banquet in CKH is the 2nd storey restaurant so No choice lah LOL. Ya I agree with yah there's pillars blockin the views but If there's a LCD projector provided I gues it shouldnt be a big issue bah hehhehe ...I went to the bridal suite it's cosy n nice very comfortable compared to riverview hotel in my point of view ^-^ but conclusion is food must be Good lah n most of all hopefully nothing goes wrong on that Big day of ours "XXCross FingerXX" LOL

Hi Maggie, no worries, we have all been thru that. that period of time I was grumbling to all my frens and colleagues that hotels banquets are selling like hotcakes.. machiam no need money wan..

Hope u get the hotel you like! =) that's the most impt!!

Oh ya! pls try to book asap. That time when I was looking, some of the hotels told me they are gg to increase their price..

Welcome all new Oct 2011 BTBs! Have not been visiting this thread for quite some time and this thread sure is busy with activities again!

Hopefully those of you looking for a venue will find the venue asap! Put stress aside and I'm sure there are some hotels that are still available for booking. Relax and cheers!

Hubby and I probably trying to confirm a date for our PW photoshoot. But have yet to confirm a MUA for the photoshoot. Currently is really shake leg and probably busy ourselves out with helping my hubby's brother's wedding which is coming next Saturday! So I can have a preview of what to do on our wedding day next year. Hehez.

Everyone jiayou jiayou!

Hi girls, ask your valuable opinions..

which would you choose??

a) high ceiling ballroom in hotel, $10XX/table
b) normal ballroom in another hotel, less than $1000/table

Maggie wants a) but but......... =(
can we break even?? i'm afraid not.. then our flat coming... argh....

Hi Maggie! In my personal opinion I will rather save the money for the flat.

A high ceiling ballroom only last you one night of happiness and your guests might even just forget 'bout it the moment the wedding is over 'cos they remember the event not the location.

A flat will give you a few years of happiness, renovating and buying furnitures that both you and your hubby will adore. So instead of a temporal happiness, why not save it for the flat?

my married colleagues also said wat Kat said.. initially, i was thinking, once in a lifetime leh.. can't i choose a nicer one??

but $$$ is really a very impt factor to consider as our flat most prob will come next yr.. argh... =(

unless hotel a) is willing to give us wat we want, if not, byee.... =)

Maggie, most importantly you must be happy with your decision. We might give our opinions but ultimately it's all up to you. No one says you can't have a nicer one since it's once a lifetime like what you mentioned. So I guess eventually you and your hubby have to decide on what's best for both of you.

Hi Maggie. Can let us know which hotel u have shortlisted?

When selecting wedding banquet my preference will be pillarless ballroom and ambiance is good when step inside!!

I'm not sure nowadays whether couples held their wedding at hotel have break-even anot. But my htb's siblings who have their wedding banquet last yr n this year din break-even. And think they pay everything by CC now is still paying their debt. Haiz and they dig $$ from their parent. Which I feel not very good lah. Maggie there's still photographer MUA vidrographer hongbao wedding bands expenses!

Hi Maggie !
Mm.. for me.. I will like to have both . hahahaz..I am Greedy. I want everything!
I agreed with you it is once in a lifetime stuff .
So I still opt for the nice ballroom and yes I want my house to have a pretty makeover too .

I foreseen losses of banquet up to $10k the max , renovation bout $30 k or so ? not very sure . What I will do is to do up the house nicely , but furniture I buy slowly .. or else super xiong . I will just get the neccessary items like bed, tv , washing machine etc first . Others like dining table , sofa , if no money then wait n buy slowly like 1 item per mth . hahahaz

Just sharing my opinion, hmm, for me I went ahead with a ballroom without high ceiling. The feel was right and the ambience is very elegant and soothing.

For me, I need to break even at the very minimal, cos I've got a daughter to bring up also. And a flat to come up in years to come.

So I'm more willing to spend on stuffs like good photographer, and nice bridal gowns, etc. All these will last, i.e memories on print. Guests in banquet would not talk about how not high the ceiling was, but instead about the service of the staffs and also the food. So maybe what we can do is beef up the wedding dinner itinerary. (:

We can also save on bridal fetching car! ((:

Anyway I'm still in search for a budget videographer! (:

Hi Cherry chirpy
Kind of...hubby and I liked Intercontinental...
we have nt cfmed yet...bt jus booked the date as stil have a few places to look at...

Oh ! I like the intercontinental hotel
it the one at bugis right ?
I'm a fan of crystal Chandler lighting ! It Soo romantic n nice
I have took a peek of the ballroom like few weeks back out of curiosity . It nice !
good choice , Cordie !
mm I agreed with sherlyn , that do not need
High ceiling to look nice , for mine , the ceiling for marina mandarin grand ballroom is low but I just feel in love with e place
so feel is important too . Maggie, hope u find your dream venue soon !

yup..its the one at bugis...
we fell in love with the lightings too...jus make the whole place look cosy and warm...

Yeah I agree
it v cosy but the hotel is a ex right bout $1.5k
++ per table . I remember e pricing is similar to Conrad . Hey kat ! Where your future bro in law's banquet this sat ? U must b excited in planning for them !! Hee

Hi ladies..

Me no confirmed yet but booked the dates for Carlton & Orchard Parade.. my htb got "feel" for these 2 places.. i got abit of "hweeling" too la..

I agreed with Jim, not very nice to dig $$ from parents.. i dun wanna do that.. ya lor, still got other $$$ stuff.. argh...

Sherlyn, wat is bridal fetching car?? you mean the car used on AD?

Ask you all ar, my bridal package is $3988 for 60 pcs(i forgot wat you call that. but you know wat i mean right?) with other regular stuff.. izit too expensive?? izit possible to reduce??

Hi Cordie! Welcome welcome! I'm also a 22 Oct BTB!
Happy planning ya? Hope you can get your venue soon! Hehez.

Maggie, actually ultimately you and your hubby are going to make the decision. Our opinion is just probably more practical. Like what Sherlyn mentioned, probably guests wouldn't notice too much of the ceiling but more of the service and food. Am I going to assume the ballroom you mention is from Carlton? I love Carlton's new ballroom a lot and I guess you can also rest assured 'bout their food being nice since it's from a good restaurant? I haven been there to eat but at least that's what I heard.

I guess most importantly both of you made a choice that makes you happy. If choosing a normal ballroom makes you unhappy on your overall wedding planning, then I guess that doesn't even justify why you should choose it. Everyone wants to be a happy BTB ya? No stress no stress. Just try to work out everything that you need to pay, then you see whether you have the budget for the nicer hotel. Anyway we already estimated a loss of 10k max like what Cherry mentioned too. It's usually not easy to break even due to the rising cost per table for wedding.

As for your bridal package, I will leave it to the next better player to advise you.

Hey maggie! If u will like to break even, I will propose u have e banquet in the restaurant instead of at a hotel venue ? The chance of break even is higher . Hotel venue sure loss $$ , it just the matter of lose how much . Haha . Hey may I ask which bridal boutique u choose ? Mine package also $3988
mm but I don't have 60pcs . I presume u are mentioning about 60 poses in e album ? I only have 40 poses which I thought I have a gd bargain already ... Cos normally the bridal will normally give up to 35 or so . U r good ! Manage to get 60 poses !

Hi Cherry, yupyup.. poses.. hehe!!

My bridal package is taken up at Fame Bridal.. it's at Chong Pang.. took it up 2.5yrs ago when i ROM-ed.. hehe!!

ladies, my htb also calculated our losses close to 10k.. mayb i'm too $$ conscious.. i'm afraid to "gui" too much.. dun wanna "mei-mei" one night then the next few mths eat bread.. =(

the hotel personnels aren't that friendly also..

ask you all ar, do you negotiate after paying or negotiate 1st get wat you want then pay?

Hi Maggie orchard parade hotel is tong luk group? I never go visit orchard parade hotel. If u wan a High ceiling perhaps orchard hotel Is better choice?? How many tables u going to have? And orchard hotel their package includes free flow of beer n wine!

Actually Carlton hotel their price shoot up very high for next year. If u wan a really nice and high ceiling ballroom you perhaps can consider go for holiday inn orchard city centre! That one behind Concorde hotel! Holiday inn orchard have a very nice ballroom and the lighting can be adjust to suit your preference with black table clothes also! Crystal ballroom go take a look! U will like the place?? I think per table is 1k. Location wise its better den carlton! Orchard versus cityhall. Hope this help okay!!

Erm Maggie is negotiate first and they will prepare a contract for u to sign and pay deposit!

So when u go look at the hotel and ballroom the coordinator will go thru their package with u and u will ask him/her can we have free flow beer instead of barrel or additional one night staty at bridal suite etc etc.

Den they will ask u confirm the date den they will block for u! After that u tell them confirm they will draft a contract stating the packages and will send to u for review. U agree with everything you will go down hotel sign contract and pay the deposit!!

Jim, that's wat I asked for.. additional night - i dun mind not having but I repeated asked for free flow beer & she refused to give..

when we were there, we asked.. later thru email we also asked.. none of our requests were acceded.. =( she still said that she'll fight for wat we want if we confirm.. haiz...

my sis doing hers at Shang this Oct.. she asked & she received..

Hey Maggie , I have provide u the procedures for booking of banquet in point form . Hope it helps. Please see below : 1) shortlist e banquet venue u interested in 2) ask for 2011 banquet pricing n menu from the shortlisted hotels n at the same time check if the banquet venue is still available for your date. 3) get the top 3 shortlisted venue u have in mind n meet up with the coordinator n discuss on the perks that they are offering 4) look at what e shortlisted venue offers n start to negotiate with them for additional perks like free flow of beer / wine , additional bridal room night stay /helper room , addition carpark coupons /free in room meals / cash rebates etc
5) after u have negotiate , inform e coordinator that u will go back n dicuss with your hubby n get back to them within e next few days. 6) u decide on the venue u like n call up the coordinator to inform that u like to confirm the venue with them
7) the coordinator will ask u down to make downpayment n they will write down what they have agreed to offer u as additional perks . 8) u will receive 2 copies of contract from the coordinator within 2 weeks n you are suppose to sign 1 copy n send back to the coordinator
I hope this helps
anyway for the addition perks ,not all banquets venue are generous to give all , but it good that u can get some
mmm 1 tip of advice , if you are not comfortable with the coordinator , don't sign with him/her . Cos remember u are going to work together with him/her for a few months till wedding . The last thing U won't want is a bad or rude coordinator who spoil your wedding mood
so be sure to find someone u can work well with , someone who u are v comfortable with . Same goes to choosing coordinator at your bridal boutique !