(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

lyn_sg

I am doing lunch too. Gatecrash, go his place for tea ceremony, back to my place for tea ceremony, head to hotel at 10am, start lunch at 12.45pm.

If you are doing ROM, have to do tea ceremony at the same venue to finish by lunch.

junebug

I am an Oct BTB too

ophidi

noticed i am one of the very few who has not confirmed any PS or BS.. and have not yet started too, am I being too relaxed? =P

rojak

ophidi: i guess it would be time to do so soon? there are some PS that take ~4 months to do the album.. which means photoshoots need to be done optimally by May for an Oct wedding.. of course there are some that can be done in a month.. so it depends on what u want. i prefer to settle things early so i can have a relaxed october.. =D

ophidi

hey wendy~
still considering whether it's really necessary to do PS at all =P

anyone know any cheap, not too bad ones? maybe just take a few shots for display outside the ballroom

min: it's still useful for us who didn't manage to join the facebook group bah, and it's good for quick reference =)

rojak

ohh if you want just a few shots, you can go by the hour.. it's waaaaaay cheaper.
ohdearphotography is super cheap and good!

min_min_87

Hi Ophidi and Wendy and other Oct 2011 bride, saw u ppl discussing about simple pre-wedding photoshoot.. i saw ohdearphotography before, very retro so if like vintage style is a good choice.
another photographer i noticed while gathering quotes is Hendrar.photography. Love their In Celebration of Love couple photoshoot.. they have a short couple photoshoot session to cater for brides who dont want a too elaborate wan.. can check out too

ophidi

thanks wendy and min_min_87 =)

will shortlist both

does hendrar have a website? google doesn't come up with anything.

nekobits

anyone has any good florist for recommendation?

i guess i'm the kiasu type to try to settle everything most stuff first so i don't be too stressed out nearer the date haha

nekobits

oh ya and my friend did with Melvin Gilbert Photography nice and cheap!

i think she paid $799 for the entire session incl 40 pages worth of photos for pre wedding shots. He should be on facebook, can check out his work

rojak

angee: i'm looking for florists too! have shortlisted a few but am still undecided on my budget and which ones to take. melvin gilbert photography is one based in LA?!!?

lalawowwow

hi all brides to be,

Need some advise from you all.
i am having my ROM in June. Is it too late if i wan my banquet to be held in oct. I have not make any bookings yet thou.. cos haven convinced hubby yet. He just want a simple ceremony.

kittydora

lalawowwow: how many tables are u looking at? by now most of the hotels and popular restaurants should be booked on weekends, unless u are not looking at auspicious date and dun mind weekdays.

lalawowwow

Probably 20 tables only. hmmm think really must get weekdays le.
But first i got to convince my HTB first... zz... envy all BTBs

queenie82

lala: what's the reason for ur hubz not wanting a banquet? no point holding a banquet if he is not a willing party

20 tables can still find weekends i think, but must start finding liao.....if not lunch shld be possible~

nekobits

hey wendy.. ya i think he has some shots done in US but my friend one was done in SG but i liked his works but already chose to go taiwan for photoshoot le..

nekobits

lalawowwow.. don't worry i started lookin for venue only in december.. end jan then confirm i'm sure you can find one where ur htb will be happy to hold it too
just enjoy the process! fret not

sweet_j

@lalawowwow, don't be sad... you should be able to find a decent banquet hall if you start it now.

@wendy, couldn't agree more!!! Parents need it more than us somehow.

To those who have not found their PG, you may want to consider my PG who is giving away free Pre-Wedding shots (provided you must have proper gowns) if you sign up their AD.

Check out 10eyesGallery in this forum - http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/7/1609992.html?1299737237

*I don't earn from this, just to share among BTBs since it's a super good deal.

harpy

hi all.. i've just joined this forum.. hope to learn/share experiences with all of you.

My AD is on 15 Oct. But still deciding if ROM should be on same day or separate day.

Btw, realised that some do tea ceremony before soleminzation? I thot it supposed to be the other way round? Care to share??..

crypaz

Hi Harpy welcome....my tea ceremony is after soleminzation...as my soleminzation will only have immediate families around. After soleminzation then tea ceremoney followed by wedding lunch...so that the relatives wouldn't have to come too early and wait too long for the lunch....

harpy

hi Ee.. sounds like everything is gonna be done at the hotel.. which is more convenient also i guess

thanks for sharing..

ophidi

i'm doing the same thing, solemnisation then tea ceremony, follwed by cocktail and banquet, all at the hotel

harpy: by right the tea ceremony is supposed to be after solemnisation - paying respects to the elders as a newly wed couple. but there are pple who do it the other way around to fit their schedules/logistics etc.

no hard and fast rule about that =)

harpy

hi levonne, mine will be at Royal Plaza on Scotts. How abt urs?

Has anyone been to that hotel for wedding dinner before?

harpy

Levonne: ya.. i do like the carousel food, hopefull quality is equally good or better on that day.. heehee.. Merchant court also has a nice ballroom and heard the food is nice too. good choice!

Min: they only have one ballroom, that is beside the swimming pool and i can use that area for cocktail reception. i chose this hotel becos i prefer a cosy time with close frenz n relatives. not gonna have large crowd. where's urs gonna be held?

preciousgal

u ladies have a template of the dates u all holding the wedding at?

btw any recommendation of locations in singapore for photoshoot?

where did u ladies get yr heels for wedding shoots.

any recommendation for invitation cards printing?

crypaz

I Met up with a freelance photographer for AD, went through the package with him, negotiated the price, told him need to consider, he mentioned that it's a hot date so got to reply by XX date.

I replied him through email informing him wouldn't be taking the package. And the reply i got was "thank you for freeing the date for other couples, all the best for you"

What would you do? Keep silent or email him to shoot him back?

queenie82

Ee: I dun see it as rude. he probably thinks that u have decided some other pg for AD.

And he is not wrong. Oct 2011 has the most auspicious dates and alot of couples are getting married. u look at the amt of btbs in this thread and you will understand wat i mean~

He could have not replied you at all

crypaz

Queen: Even if i'm not taking his package, there's also no need for him to reply this way. He could have just replied noted or even keep silent dun reply rather than replying with that kind of comment.
He is not wrong but the way he puts across the message shows that rather tactless, blunt and rude.

In fact he doesn't even need to reply me at all just that out of politeness I email him to inform him that i have decided not to take up his package.