(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

rtal

Thanks Queen! I have read some of the threads you gals have posted over the few months. It's informative!

When is your wedding date? Do you know of the popular JP?

rtal

@Queenie, i just realised your AD is same as mine, 30 Oct and you are also going to Taiwan for your BS in April 1st-2nd week. Me too!!

queenie82

Renee: My wedding date is 30 October, Sunday.. I have not researched on JP yet~~ booking is usually 3 mths b4 unless u have in mind popular ones~ you can check out the reviews for JPs under the ROM/Solomnisation topics in this forum....

dreamwithgoal

hi Ellen, Jawslyn, Lee, tk u so much for your reply! i'm considering to go for national eye centre..hv scheduled to go for their pre-check up
on next wed (scared scared) liao...hope to do it before cny and have a brand new vision!

alcossbossie

Seems like most of you have already selected your bridal boutique. I'm starting to get worried as my wedding is on 15 Oct 11 but I have not even go around to do my research on bridal packages.

queenie82

Renee: yay! another Oct 30 bride~~ there are quite a few here~~~

which BS did u select? I'm with Ivy and will be going over for selection of gowns on 10 Apr! Photoshoot on 11 and selection of photos on 12~~ so nervous now~~

rtal

Queenie: My BS is with Judy's Wedding, signed up during a roadshow last yr, hope they are good.

Where is Ivy Brides near in Taipei?

My photoshoot is on the 10th and so i will be flying over on the 8th, 9th to choose gowns. Our dates are quite close.

I am also so nervous as Apr in fact will be coming soon since Feb is a short month, so looking forward to it!

Have you bought your wedding bands?

rtal

Levon: Try to do it soon, but still needs to take your time to decide on the style of the gowns you fancy, most impt you must feel comfortable with their service and bargain for the best deal!

queenie82

Renee: I've not bought my bands coz intending to custom make and my cuzzie has no time to meet me to discuss~~ Ivy Brides is near Chiang Kai Shek Memorial Hall~ where most bridal shops are in taipei~

rtal

Queen: I am intending to custom make too. If you are intending to bring along to Taiwan. You have to decide soon by end of the month as needs around 3months. I am looking at it now.
I think my BS is also near that area.

cavs

Wow, so many new posts suddenly!
always a joy to read abt everyone's updates!

Michi: Htb n I settled with VC. They don't allow posting w their name here.
Htb n I r v happy w their service, location, photography n gowns! Finally settled.. We were heaving sighs of relief when we settled it cuz we have been searching for a studio (that provides a one-stop service) w nice photography. Just when we decide to give up n do ala carte, we found VC! Thanks for your tip on Nubra. Do u have any recommended retailer?

Htb n I have also settled our wedding bands. Very looking fwd to collect them in March! Hehe. This feels so surreal cuz I was so worried we can't complete these tasks before the new yr n suddenly the major stuffs r settled.

We r slacking for a while before getting busy again.. Still have loads more to settle.. :/

Jiayou, everyone!!!

lyn_sg

dreamwithgoal: Dont worry, the surgery is very fast. My doc will just say like 30 secs more and he will count down. It will be over very soon. The benefit of perfect eye sight will be worth the few mins of uncomfort.

Levonne: Better choose your BS soon. Think their prices increase this year again.

Renee: Mine is also on Oct 30.

all: I just went to select my photoshoot gowns today. I will be taking my photos in April. Now need to look for shoes for PS. Anyone know where to get high heels (4-5 inches)? I am much shorter than him so need to get higher heels so the photos can look nicer. Any recommendations?

rtal

Lyn: Congrats! Which BS u signed up with? I will be taking my photos in April too. Have you tried to look for the shoes at Pazzion? They may have the height you are looking for. Takashimaya also. I be looking for my shoes at these places too.

queenie82

speacking of heels~ I bought mine on sat! Mondo @ Century SQ for less than 50 bucks~~

1610247.jpg

I did not wan to buy initially coz wanted to go over tw to buy after choosing my gowns~~ but i fell in love with it~~ kekeke~~

michi

Cavs, glad that u've settled yr ideal BS. I intend to buy the nubra from my BS at least if there's any problem or not sticky i still can look for them haha! I've tried a brand but it's stucks...it became out of shape when i wore it lol. May be u can try the original brand http://www.nubra.sg/

Renee, a welcome to u

Lee, u can try Pedro, they have very high heels or Anna Nicci which sells wedding shoes with high heels too. :>

Queen, ur wedding shoe is very bling bling...nice! I've found my ideal shoe below $50 too :D

lyn_sg

renee: I'm with le grand.

michelle,queen,renee: ok, i will try looking at those shops. I think about 3 inches is easier to get but 4-5 inches with a stable heels will be much harder. I do not need something very nice since it's covered during the photoshoot by the dress but need something that make me taller & easy to walk with. Hope i can find the shoe. Left a week more only.

michi

Lee, u're already very fast...u've settled so many stuffs within few weeks

Jim, i've only tried once & its not useful to me..so can't comment which brand is good but many brides in this forum are saying about the original brand: NuBra® Shop at Sunshine Plaza :>

Liz, they told me the price but i've forgotten..think it's less than RM50...will let u know again after my PS in 2 weeks time =D

alcossbossie

This sunday i'm going to
1. Whitelink
2. Silhouette
3. My Bridal Room
4. Sophia
5. Le Grand
6. LaBelle
7. Rico-A-Mono

Anyone has tips to give when bargaining? Anyone has reccomendation or commend?

rtal

Michelle: Thanks!

Queen: Your wedding heels are very nice. I am gonna start looking for mine soon.

Levonne: The few you shortlisted are not bad, for my local AD is Digio. Recommended by couple of friends. I quite like their style and the designer is very friendly.
I think for the BS package is quite standard, no. of shots, wedding gown & evening gown(MTM or OTR), tea dress/KUA, groom's suit (day and night, get to keep any?) bride's father and groom's father suit, MUA, bridal car decor, corsages etc. I may have missed out something. But bottom line is you must try to bargain for more shots and work along your budget etc. Most importantly, the BS you chose at the end of the day, their gowns must be the type you like. Try on as much as you can before you decide which BS to go for. Hope this helps!

The negotiation was done by my HTB.

queenie82

Michi, Renee: thanks!~ i love the bling alot~ hehe... and also~ the design looks like a tie from far~~ I didn't want to buy tall heels coz hubz juz 1cm taller than me, but he dun mind so i juz grab!

lovebirds

Tks Michi!

Queen ~ like your heels! I am also starting to look around for my shoes. Hope I can find something nice and not too expensive too, otherwise, I may DIY again =)

lovebirds

Does anyone knows the name of this JP? Sorry I only managed to get his sideview.

1610826.jpg

I am looking for a chinese speaking JP, any recommendations gals?

xinrou

Hi Liz,

You can consider Dr Phua Tan Tee, he can do both English and Mandarin. I had him for our solemnization one week plus ago and there were positive feedback from our relatives and friends. He is really good, highly recommended.

lyn_sg

levonne: I have went to 4 out of the 7 that you have listed. All price quoted for 2010 package.

1. Whitelink
2. Silhouette ($3980, add $800 for ballgown/fullylaced gowns, add $200 for tux, add $1000/$1500 for pre-wedding PS by external PG. I think they are good for their MTM gowns as the designer will customise it for the bride. But PS gown and AD gown is the same one. Did not choose case too ex after adding all the plus plus.)
3. My Bridal Room
4. Sophia
5. Le Grand ($4288, lux range of gown is more special in terms of design as compared to others. They have a smaller selection of gowns. I choose them cause of the overseas PS by Chris Ling. Their PS done by Chris Ling's team. Must top up $2000 for Chris Ling himself or $1000 for his senior PGs)
6. LaBelle ($3588, They have a wide selection of gowns and provide car. The rest do not have car. But the gowns design are not as impressive and they do not allow trying.)
7. Rico-A-Mono ($3688. Good service. Nice gowns but not the elaborated type like le grand and silhouette. Look for Jesline, she did for my friend. This was my 2nd choice cause their PG not as good.)

Hope the above is useful to you. Dont sign on the spot, give yourself time to digest and compare. The key will be gown and photos. Try the gowns and look at their photos. You need about 1.5 hrs in each shop. Happy shopping.

lyn_sg

michelle: Yar no choice. i only have less than 1 month to settle everything. 3 hotels, 5 BSs, 4 VG/PGs, bought si dian jin and had a family meet up to discuss guo da li stuff. All these in 3 weeks. Went down to BS twice already, once to take measurement for his MTM suit and once to select my 3 PS gowns. Now still deciding on PG/VG. The one that i like is out of budget, so thinking which one next. Still need to shop for shoes and i am flying next week. Everything is so rush.

alcossbossie

Lyn: Thank you for your advice. For the Silhouette, you mean after adding the plus plus is almost $6000+ for MTM gown and PS? Is the evening gown and tea dress included? What about bridal car ...etc

queenie82

Lyn: You are very efficient to settle so many things within 3 weeks!

Levonne: Silhouette is a premium boutique that specialises in MTM gowns, they do not offer one-stop services for couples.. so usually couples who take with them will need to find their own car, MUA, PG~ but they will refer u those vendors that they usually work with.

rtal

Hi BTBs,

Have you start to source for your wedding bands? What is the type you are likely to look for? Eternity (half/full) or simple with few embedded diamonds type?

meteor_starry

Hi Renee

I chose the half eternity, though I preferred a full eternity in terms of appearance. A full eternity ring looks very nice, but somehow I can feel something pricking my skin as it's all around the ring...unless u choose the chanel setting, where the prongs are not protruding outwards, then maybe you can take a full eternity...

michi

Liz, my JP was Alex Tan...he speaks mandarin, a young, cheerful & funny JP, highly recommended too

Lee, hope u can sort all the pending stuffs soon. U may want to add us in FB & join our group?..to keep u update & inform on the planning hehe :D

Renee, me & my hubby can't find any suitable wedding band..so we decided to custom-made from Fairy's Inc :>

queenie82

Renee: I posted here on the design i want before~

1611517.jpg

Tiffany model but i dun like the engraving outside the ring, so i shld be going for custom make with my cousin... both me and hubz will be wearing daily, so i dun intend to have diamonds on the bands~

jellycheese8

Hi michelle ur JP accept early booking?? I saw ur blog ur wedding band is special!! Hahas nice nice!!

Hi lee. So far which VG / PG u shortlisted? What's ur budget? Need any help? I booked my photographer introduced by jawslyn his price is below 1k!

lyn_sg

levonne: Evening gown included. Tea dress i cant rem. For other BS, usually 3 gowns for AD, 3 additional gowns for PS. Yar about $6k if you add everything up but it's MTM so more ex. The price include MUA and flowers. No car. The pro is that you can bring the AD gown for PS while other BS have different selection of gowns for PS. For me, OTR is sufficient & the price tag too high so i never choose it.

Jim: I budget $4k (AD PG, AD VG, express highlight, photo montage, instant print optional only if budget permit, & all other misc cost like early start,music fee etc). Can you send your contact to me?

I have been to acinematicstory, vocare, coffee&tea, Dzign & Chris Ling studio. So far, only 1 of them can do express highlight for lunch. I think will be nice to show else ony photo montage then too boring. Some recommended pre-wed video but that's additional cost which i dont think i want to blow my budget and there's nothing that i can give up haha.

lyn_sg

all: what's the percentage of red vs white wines that you cater for? I am bringing in sparkling wine also (ordered from cold storage since there's promo).

Anyone printing your own invitation cards (own design not hotel ones)? I am considering if have left over budget to add such touches.

michelle: noted, let me set up a fb acc. =p

michi

Lee, i only intend to get red wines, i don't want to have too many choices, otherwise the free flow of beer will be wasted hehe. Let us know ur FB email, after u've created the account..i've shared lots of stuffs & info on our FB group lol =D

Jim, ur setting don't accept PM..but i've sent u a msg in FB haha

jobella

Queen~ I love your blink blink heels ~

A pair from Mondo caught my eye too. But I thought its too early to get it. My PS is in May/June, and I have not chosen my DG & EG yet..

Anyone has any english speaking JP to recommend?

pocarisweat

queen: sooo blinky!! i like! heehee..

michi: tx for all the info on fb! didn't log in and sooooo many posts!!!!!! tx dearie! ^_^p u must be very excited! ps soon! how come u arent doing local ps now?

michi

Vivi, np
I enjoy doing wedding preparation & would luv to share the info I have...hehe I've been flooding the group these few days oopps...everyone of us must be execited :D

I'm trying to fit everything to my fairytale theme so that it will comes in a flow but can't seems to find a right place here...somehow the feel is not there and for my package in JB, I've to pay extra to shoot in SG >.<

babydino

hello ladies..

glad to see the thread moving heehee.. i've been shifted to dec 2011 brides but thot i drop by &amp; say hi.. I've finally decided on my AD PG &amp; VG.. will be with Unique colours.. btw, wats the fb group u ladies were mentioning abt?

As I will be plannin my own wedding.. need all the help/ideas i can get.. thanks!

michi

Hi babydino, glad that u've settled ur vendors &amp; date...its counting less than 1 yr for u too

It's a private group in FB we've created earlier for Oct 2011 BTB. So that its easier for us to share stuffs like video, photos etc. I've posted some info which i've received from my vendor, which may not be good to share it openly here hee. But if u wish to know more, can PM me

We're all here planning our own wedding &amp; exchanging ideas, advice, helps etc. Any area that u need advice in?...we would be glad to discuss &amp; share it here

michi

Amy, are u doing ala carte? The standard MUA package usually includes a trial makeup with hairstyle, AD morning &amp; night makeup, usually 2nd march-in makeup will be an additional cost, for ampoule &amp; eyelash..it depends on indivual MUA..if their rate is cheaper, mostly will have to pay for it

I've engaged Angel Chua as my AD MUA at $750 with Day &amp; Night + 2nd march-in + ampoule + eyelash + trial for makeup only.