(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

junio

Hi Annie Pang

I am sorry to say that the last time my colleague had their wedding at sheraton. Most of the colleague who attend said that the food was bad. May you should take note during food tasting..

jawslyn

I sourcing for JPs.. I just checked with the one i chosen, Mr Peter Lee who solemnised my friend wedding is fully booked for my AD next year! =( Have to look again.... sobs.

jawslyn

Yah! I thought so too! I still thought I was very early.. He told me he got 9 engagements on my AD and more than 300 weddings to solemnise next year! OMG lor.

jawslyn

Yaah mine is 15th oct..initially my future in law still say dunno want tat date or not cos might clash but end up we still take.. Hais now must continue searching..

cherrypudding

hey jawslyn, my wedding's on 15 oct.. same as u, initially we were not sure want to take or not coz scare clash but it was one of those dates given by fortune teller. so we went ahead with it. i'm also in the midst of finding jp.. i guess dun have to ask Mr Lee liao. :D

jessiemel

hello all! i probably will be an Oct bride too..tentative date also on 15 Oct! seems like a lot of us getting married on this date..hehe..wanted 3 Dec but church is booked for their own event..so we chose the next alternative date..

am currently staying in our own place in Punggol..supposed to submit our ROM cert to HDB in Feb but we managed to request for an extension till Dec 2011..hehe..

i wanted a really simple wedding..but the more i plan, the more complicated it gets..and i dunno where to start! sighz..

Queen Queen, can share your package from Muse + Hues with me? I tot of engaging them too...provided they are still available..hehe..

jellycheese8

Hi queen queen n Michelle chong!

Erm my love nest will be at sengkang. So Michelle you are staying with ur in law for a year so did you do your laundry at their place? I ask this question becos I realize my boyfriend's brothers are married and their wife din do any laundry for their husband and they actually bring all the dirty clothes back their Own house and ask the maid to do the cleaning and ironing!! My bf brothers will have to do their own laundry!!

melody_fav

Huh? They really go to such extent? Amazed by it.. Lol.. This shows they got alot of clothes to do tat... Then hw abt undergarments? Faint sia.. Ur fmil Nv complain abt it?

jawslyn

Hi X Chua, I've checked with Dr. Phua but he can't help solemnise at the timing I wanted(he can only make it at 5pm, if u ok maybe u can check with him) and i also check with Prof Yu, but he say he can't plan ahead due to his work schedule.. Hais, gotta do more research on JPs liao.. Haha.

cavs

MIA for so long and was pleasantly surprised to see so many things gg on in this thread! hehe.

QueenQueen! I am also waiting for my turn to choose flat for the Sale of Bal Flat at Punggol.. My number is our of the range. :S So pray that HTB and I will be able to get a flat through this exercise or we will be sleeping under the overhead bridge. hehe.. :p

cherrypudding

hi Jawslyn, we asked Dr Phua a couple of weeks back but he couldnt make it at the time we wanted.. so sadly, has to find another one.
i didnt know good JPs are so hot! haha

jawslyn

Yah lor, have to start searching again.. Whats most worrying is those no show kind.. haha.. I read in other threads some JP (forgot which one) even scolded the parents for some reason n it was quite embarassing! Haha.

babyten

Hi BTBs,

Wedding items for sales, If you are keen please email to [email protected]

A. Champaige Pillow Ring --- $15.00

1579797.jpg

1579798.jpg

B. Gold Matt Ang Pao Box --- $35.00

1579799.jpg

1579800.jpg

C. Butterfly with Pink Ang Pao Box ---- $25.00

1579801.jpg

D. Chomel Elegant Feather Hair Accessories (come with Chomel's bag) --- $25.00

1579802.jpg

E. Anna Nucci Shoes, 3.5 inch, size 7, detachable ribbons with several ways to tie (to give you new looks with different gown/dress), come with comforter and shoes box.
--- $70.00

1579803.jpg

F. Wishing Board x 2 pieces --- $25.00

1579804.jpg

1579805.jpg

G. Metalic Blue and White balloons (1 packets each = 60pcs) --- $15 for 2 packets

1579806.jpg

smileless_bride

Hi I'm new here.

Dear all BTB with Z wed*ing. Care to share with me about your expereince with them?

From Service, package, gown, design & co-ordinator & photographer?

I need help...

queenie82

Hi all new Oct BTBs (too many liao~~)

Jessie: PMed you liao...

Jim: my HTB is the eldest son, so his mum will do everything for him and family.... i dunno what is in store for me after marriage but then, he said his mum would do the chores loh... but, undergarments i dun think i will let her wash la~~ even now i wash my own undergarments loh.....

Cavs: I'm praying hard that i can get something i like... but the info is not even here yet~ i'm thinking to ballot for the next one in punggol also~~ Let's hope that we can be neighbours in future!

meteor_starry

Hey girls

Do we bring our own jewellery during bridal photoshoots? Or are they provided by BS to match according to our gowns during prewedding shoots? Coz I am quite hesitant to bring down my accessories for AD to prewedding shoots

michi

Hi jim, haha oops...i also bring my clothes bk hm to wash though i don't mind to do the laundry but....since mil is doing it for my hubby as she's a housewife. His room & wardrobe is so small, only enough to store my office clothes for a wk hehe, i need to go bk weekly to replenish my clothes so i must well bring hm to wash. When i 1st moved in, i was briefed where to hang my top after wash, bottom & undergarments...all diff places & i can't mix it with guy clothes...& nw i was told nt to hang my undergarments at the room window as there are some prayers at the opp blk -.-
Which i don't have such rules at hm, hehe so it's better for me to bring bk...to avoid any conflicts lor
If i'm doing any washing, i'll leave it in the toilet, she will auto bring it out to hang for me ^.^

michi

Carebearz, usually BS will provide accessories to match the gowns. Unless u're engaging a freelance makeup artist who may have limited range. U can ask ur BS to show you their range of hair accessories to necklaces etc when u're doing gown fitting. When is ur PS? Mine is in jan

jellycheese8

Hi Michelle chong! So u also very fortunate!! Hahas. My mum told me dun ever bring home my clothes for washing! Anyway my bf house they seldom hang their clothes cos they use dryer instead. But I really cannot tolerant every month me n bf have to help the brother's wife throw her bloody pad!! She just dump in the toilet dust bin until full and stink also won't tie and throw! Gosh. Haiz won't mention about her anymore wanna puke!! Hee

Hi lovebliss. Erm I think undergarment also wash by maid ba!

jessiemel

hi girls, anyone who did ala-carte without getting a bridal package from BS? i dun intend to take any pre-wedding PS coz i can see that album hiding on the extreme left corner on top of my wardrobe..hehe..

can you girls advise on the cost if i were to do it individually? like MUA, groom's suit etc etc..

melody_fav

thou, my relationship with future in laws consider ok.. but i heard many stories of in laws so i always have this in mind..staying with in laws is definitely out for me so i rather wait for our lovenest done then customary.. its for everyone gd sake lo.. cos bf wun be sandwiched if anything happened. then also at the same time, its we both have to adapt the life with 1 and another, n its nt like we adapt to so many family members..

why shd i make myself so miserable to go thru the life staying with in laws when i have a choice rite? i think far.. cos stay together bound to have conflicts n in view my character, i think better dun..lol.. even my bf's mum ever hint me tat her hse got rm.. so we can move in after marriage.. but i jus pretend tat i din get the msg.. lol..

oh gals: if ur are keen to DIY, i wld like to recommend tat at urban write got nice wrappers.. somemore with the design print in velvet material.. love it.. i gonna get it for my ang bao box and mayb guestbook..

sherlynliang

I used to live with in-laws. And I have to say it was terrible.

I am a person who respects elderly. And normally even if they piss me off, I'd just smile and talk privately. Well, my MIL went overboard when I kept giving in to her and talk to her nicely. She kept doing things against my will and knowledge. Last straw came when she knowingly threw away something which my mother bought for me!

So my truthful advice to any BTB would be not to stay with in-laws. Honestly, she was a nice person before marriage. And I really thought just giving in and respect would do. But apparently I was wrong.

Now I am living at my own place, with my mother and my daughter. And my husband at my MIL place. So imagine how bad things were that I had to move out and live under such condition that I am separated from my husband. So don't ever try it. It seriously ruined all relationships.

And now I am still not on talking terms with my MIL. No point anymore. No doubt she is my MIL, but well, she crossed the line.

lovebliss Where is Urban Write? I am gonna DIY my Angbao Box and Guestbook too! (:)

melody_fav

Urban write at orchard central or tampines one.. Price I think shd b exp I din see the price lol.. I think per piece shd b like ard 3+ n above but really nice I like

Ya I believe tat the expectations from em as gf of their son n dil is far way diff de before n after treatments..my frens experience the same Tats y I learnt n avoid staying with them

lokiewedslydia

wah this thread is so happening! proud to be part of oct2011

hehe.. oo livin wif MIL after my weddin i wld still be stayin in hougang rather den movin into jurong hehe.. n my MIL accepted cos hougang is nearer to airport whr i work hehe!

i can imagine i wld be lk sherlyn.. bein respectful until burst den stop talkin

sherlyn!! cos we r scorpions!! hehehe!! we think alike!

lokiewedslydia

and u are all very onx leh!!

everythin also DIY!! the only thing i DIY is..... i dunno man NONE???? hehe!!

love to see all ur designs man! i used to love arts n craft until my hm realli have no place to display my craft.. so my mum ask mi to stop n resume onli after i get my own place haha!

meteor_starry

Michelle, yours in just in another month's time...aren't u excited? Mine is in March, as I am doing my Prewed shoots in Taiwan, my gown fitting will be like 2 days before the shoots, so I didn't want to go there and realise I was supposed to prepare all the accessories, then I would be damn lost...thanks for your advice

jessiemel

arlo girls..i need to vent a bit here..i'm looking for places that can cater between 15 to 18 tables..either they are full, if not they can only cater minimum 25 tables in their ballroom..i've called York Hotel, Hotel Re! and GPCH..so depressed now..sighz..

piggeekgirl

Long time no come in here. Haven been doing much for my planning ever since most stuffs are settled. Haha! Need to re-start my engine soon as probably getting keys to my house in late Feb/Mar 2011! Very busy period.

Anyway welcome to all new Oct 2011 BTBs!

Jessie: Not sure if you're still reading this but am actually doing ala-carte for my AD. When you mean you're not doing PS do you mean you're totally not doing pre-wedding photoshoot at all? 'Cos besides that, you got to plan out the cost of the AD PG and probably your VG besides the gowns, MUA, suits, florists, etc. Hehez. It can be cheaper than a BS to do ala-carte if you can find all the good deals and know where to cut your cost. But it can also be more expensive than getting from a BS. So it's all down to how you plan your stuffs.

Personally for me, I'm probably a perfectionist trying to get the best for most of my AD so it might boils down to being on-par or more expensive than getting from BS.

The topic of living with MIL and FIL, I personally think no matter on how good terms you are with them, we are afterall in different generations and still people with different characters so I don't believe it's so easy to have harmony. So my hubby and I always agree that we should have our own space instead of living with in-laws. Hehez.

I see everyone's excited here! :D

piggeekgirl

Jessie: Did you ask them if it's possible you top up the amount for food to that required for 25 tables but still have only 15-18 tables? Don't be depressed, I'm sure there are other choices?

candycandy001

Jessie (jessiemel) > 15-18tables, are you looking for hotel weekend dinner? Maybe a bit difficult. If weekend lunch, maybe can try Marriott, min 18tables. or restaurant in hotel? Dragon phoenix restaurant from Novotel should have package tat suit you.

jessiemel

arlo Kat..yeah..i juz started reading actually..and i tink i'm very late..hahaha
yeah..no pre-wedding PS..that is why i intend to source all on my own..and of coz it better be value for money..

arlo lovebliss..but GPCH and York full oredi..chamz liao lah...

piggeekgirl

lovebliss: It's at Punggol Spring! Hehez. That makes our 2011 really busy next year eh? I still have no idea which ID to get and this and that. I'm lost when it's 'bout our house. Depending on my hubby to do the research. Haha!

piggeekgirl

Jessie: Hehe. There is still time. Try to spam more hotels and if you don't mind, can try the restaurants also.

It's interesting that you're not going for pre-wedding PS! Do remember to have portrait shots at the hotel in your beautiful gowns! Hehez. Have you started sourcing for all your items? Better to draw up a checklist and budget on what you want to get for your AD. But of 'cos the more important thing now is your venue.

lokiewedslydia

aiyo lovebliss.. u very cute leh *jessie alr mentioned GPCH n york cannot accommodate to her requirements of max 18tables u still rub it in say food is nice.. hee!

btw jessie
since u wan onli max 18tables haf u considered a western luncheon instead of chinese banquet settings?

if i cld invite only 180 ppl i wld definately head towards a light atmospheric celebration by the pool.. or some nicely lit restaurants

say one rochester? http://www.melvinho.biz/blog/?p=878

say mimolette? http://eadwine.livejournal.com/756898.html

or for somethin oriental

noble house
http://www.tunglok.com/noble/wedding.html

peony jade
http://www.quaysidedining.com/pj/weddings2.html

ther r many more!!

these are places which my friends held their weddings be4

small intimate sessions. if only i cld too

melody_fav

sorry sorry.. i din read properly.. paisey jessie.. i dun meant it.. erm: 18 tables, i think u can try the pine court @ mandarin.. max 20 tables.. min 16 tables

lydia:im trying to stop her for choosing hotel re ...lol..

queenie82

woah~~ one morning onli and so many comments~~

Jessie: no fret no fret~ 15-18 tables can be found easily coz those bigger hotels usually have more than one ballroom~ have you tried orchard hotel or raffles city convention hall? If not qianxi group of restaurants also can accomodate your number~ lydia also gave 2 good choices~ food at noble and peony is good! or else there is peach garden which i initially considered but they were taken up on my date for miramar hotel.......

Not alot of BS will take AD packages without Pre-Wed shoot~ coz i taking my PS in Taiwan so now also sourcing for AD gowns and stuff~ the cheapest i was quoted was Jess Haute Couture~~

Oh yah! BTW, i sent the Muse+Hues package over alrdy~

cherry_chripy

Hey Jessie !
u can consider Marina Mandarian Vanda ballroom ? I think they require only 20 tables min . If you have 18 tables, maybe you just top up a bit and upgrade your food ?

If not, you can try wedding lunch ? Wedding lunch , I guess most venues will be available . Or you can try Pan Pacific ?

Don't be upset , you will find your dream venue soon.

lyn_sg

Hi Jessie, I am having the same problem as you. It's very hard to secure a place for weekend dinner as most are full. I started asking in late Sept and most are full. For now, it will be the very high end ones or low end ones that still have space.

After asking so many hotels, I have tentatively booked two (1 for dinner & 1 for lunch) and will go down and discuss when i get back to SG. Hope I can confirm a place that i like.

By the way, what's your budget?

lyn_sg

Anyone know of any places to rent gown to take for overseas photoshoot? Or do I need to buy one? I am thinking of taking pre-wed shoot where i am studying now (Aust) and maybe just get a local PG to save cost.