(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

Dun upset! I met one of the hotel coordinator who is so rude and thought we have no money! And indirectly insult us. We just blacklist that hotel. Hahas. U must be comfortable with the coordinator as in the future u have to liase with them. And if they are not so flexible they might Just have alot of hidden charges! Nowadays popular hotel dun really care whether ustomer always right rules. There's whole lots of ppl queueing to have their wedding there! Cheer up! Dun compare with ur sis! Shang is a dream wedding venue I really love their ballroom but I know my limit! Dun wan to have bad debt!

If u wan a memorable wedding I think u should focus on a fun wedding den a dull and expensive wedding! March in ideas? Games and lucky draw? Not just cake cutting and table phototaking!!

Thank you Cherry & Jim..

i can bargain at the market but formal negotiation, i sucks.. =(

mayb i'll bring my sis along for the next visit..

Jim, i got the same feeling too.. oh... mayb my ang mo not good.. the coordinators at both places i shortlisted gave me this feeling.. =(

i tried not to talk & leave it to my htb.. not of much help also..

Singapore service ratings really so.........

Totally agree with what Cherry said. The hotel co-ordinator is another important personnel you will want to have a cordial relationship with. If you're uncomfortable with him/her, better not to sign with that person else your whole wedding planning will be total frustration.

And like what Cherry mentioned, some hotels are just tougher to get perks out from them but it's a bonus if you can get it. That aside, hope you will make your decision soon so that you will be less miserable. It's a tough choice but it's a choice you have to make.

Maggie my angmoh sux too. Hahas. Dun worry u can let ur hubby do the negotiation. And when u got something to ask just speak secretly to ur hubby ear and let him do all the talking!! You need my help? I got packages details of quite a number of hotel.

Jim, the thing is my htb is not one who will bargain... =(

me got the packages details for the places I tot of.. either the date is booked or only lunch is available..
i dun mind lunch but my mum wants dinner.. =(

my MiL got someone to "calculate" the suitable dates.. minus Christmas Eve, I'm left with one weekday & one weekend..
i tot take weekday.. but htb wants a weekend..

Mm tricky situation . Maggie , perhaps u have a good chat with your hubby to compromise on a date that both of you are happy with .=) Actually weekend I feel is better , cos the guests will not have to rush down after work to attend the banquet n if you have it on a weekdays , the attendance rate might not be as good as held on a weekend . Of course , held on a weekday , the advantage is cheaper cost !
mm take your time n write down the pros n cons n discuss with your hubby . Most importantly both of u must be happy with the decision
. Mmm ... When comes to negotiation , I'm the one who negotiate cos I'm a sales personnel , haha n I can negotiate better than my fiancé . However , my fiancé , his English is better ( ACS (I) boy) . Maggie if you are a better at negotiating , then u be the 1 who bargain
I'm sure u can do it !!! Jia you

Hi Cherry
We are doing lunch...so slightly cheaper...also we like the fact that we can end the day early...

Hi Jim
Lunch is cheaper...we also on budget...then can end the day early...

Hi Kat
actually wanted 20.11.2011, but it was already taken at Intercon...so we took a next alternative date...hahah...
hmmm...not much planning going on yet as of now...jus want settle venue asap...

Hi Maggie
Can tell your mum lunch is cheaper and u guys wanna rest early...
(to convince her, u can try get a room for her, then say if do lunch, she can enjoy her room earlier..)just my 2cents worth....

Cherry, my pattern is aunty bargaining.. pai seh leh..

i dun mind weekend cos i think better also cos my frens & his colleagues can attend.. the more the merrier.. =)

now my sis drafting email to "fight" for me.. got to wait lor.. when htb & I were there to view the ballroom, we tried to ask for more things.. she kept saying "this is the best 1 can do.. but if you wanna confirm us, mayb i can "fight" for more.."

now i wanna confirm so i asked for more thru email but she refused my requests.. =(
you call this "fighting" for me??

haiz... my heart cold liao... if this time still cannot... i'll go find other places..

Maggie I dun understand what u means by deduct Christmas u left. One wkend and one wkday.

Since ur mother and husband wanted to have it on wkend why not? If u want it on wkday ur sisters or family members have to take leave for tat as morning there will be all the tradition gate crash fetch the brides etc iit will be troublesome. Cheer up!! =))

Hi Jim, my MiL gave me 3 dates.. 1 Oct, 20 Oct & 24 Dec. 24 Dec is out cos it'll cost alot..
so left 1 Oct (Sat) & 20 Oct (Thu)

hehe!! got it?

me no prob with weekends.. juz that next yr, many many of the weekends are booked already..

juz received a reply.. one of my choice is out..

asked her check with management. since she reply so promptly, i assumed she did not & prefer to have us release the date..

fine.. release.. "throw" the date back.. SG not only you this hotel.. =PPPPPPP

Hello All BTB~

im a 29 OCT BTB... holding my wedding at M Hotel.. hehe.. will be looking at this forum for more tips and idea

Hi Maggie u referring to carlton hotel? I been there for company dinner. Hmm the car park entrance is so small and dangerous. Hahas. There's other better hotel! 1st October a good date!

Welcome Miho! Have u finalise ur bridal studio or u doing ala carte?

hihi jim!

ya 1.10 is gd date cos im gettin married den too mah! whoa!

this thread haf been movin so fast! i like tt! hehe.. intercon.. ah brings bac memories of their bad service towards mi n my fiance

haha.. i so wanted 11.11 ther tt i sent an email in jan2010 they replied mi in mar2010 tt its on hold

if they replied mi earlier i wld haf confirmed ther btwn jan-mar ya? hehe.. n recentli a malay guy called mi to ask if im still into intercon

i say no thank u

he even asked :
so, which hotel haf u chosen

i ans:
mandarin oriental

he ans:
ok...... bye den.

haha duh.........

Hi Jim, my htb liked Carlton partly cos there's free parking for his bike frens.. but that's not important cos they can car pool..

ultimately is the feel of the place & the service staff..
btw, 2 Oct is auspicious too.. according to Carlton, they are charging $50 more per table..

my emails to Carlton is polite & courtesy cos i'm asking for more perks..
i know she can't decide so ask her to discuss with the mgmt..
but she kept saying "...my hands are very tight, and I have offered you the best I can."

she dun want my business.. I'm sure some place out there will want.. so now i'm looking at other places..

Hi Maggie your htb also ride bike? hahas haiya why to worry about carparking? thought there's always complimentary carpark coupon given? and most of the time bike parking is free hahas! i dun think just carlton provide free parking for bikes!!

did you go take at look at Grand Park City Hall? the place is nice.. maggie stop thinking of carlton dun waste time go search for other hotel!

I agreed with Jim! Yeah Maggie, look for others hotel yah , since u r unhappy bout Carlton
don't waste time on Carlton anymore , source for others . I'm sure there are better hotels. Welcome Miho!!
do update your details in our list

I am also a oct 2011 BTB. I have not plan much stuffs yet. Still searching for hotel. Will look out at this thread for info and discussion

October 2011 BTB List:

1 Oct 2011, HelovesmiIlovehim (lydia)
Venue: Mandarin Oriental Hotel
PG: Derrick Than
VG: Ideal productions, Stanley Oh
BS:

1 Oct 2011, smilezlm (Candice)
Venue: Swissotel Stamford
PG: Sherman, Rebirth
VG: AlvinAdeline Videography
BS: Bliss Bridal

8 Oct 2011, Michelle Chong (michi aka MC)
Venue: The Amara Hotel
PG: RMG
VG: RMG
BS: SG Bridal House (JB)

8 Oct 2011, Calister Dyeo (cali)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

8 Oct 2011, Jaslyn (jaslynhy)
Venue: Grand Park City Hall
PG: Simonvideo
VG: Simonvideo
BS: Venus Bridal(JB)

8 Oct 2011, YJZL (Shanny)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS: Selatar Broadway studio

8 Oct 2011, Sherlyn ♥♥ (sherlynliang)
Venue: Pan Pacific Orchard
PG: TBC
VG: TBC
BS: Cangai Bridal

9 Oct 2011, Doragal
Venue: Grand Copthorne Waterfront
PG:
VG:
BS: Amanda Lee Weddings (ala carte)

9 Oct 2011, TheSepthia
Venue: Holiday Inn Atrium
PG: Blissful Reminiscence
VG: NA
BS: NA (ala- carte)

15 Oct 2011, Piggypong
Venue: Marina Mandarin (Vanda BallRoom)
PG:
VG:
BS: é¦™æ¦­å¤§é“æ™‚尚婚紗 (PS only)

22 Oct 2011, Kat (piggeekgirl)
Venue: M Hotel
PG: Grace (MY)
VG:
BS: Ted Collection (ala-carte)

22 Oct 2011, lowpyng
Venue: Grand Park City Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

22 Oct 2011, Jim (Jellycheese)
Venue:Furama City Centre
PG:
VG:
BS: Selatar Broadway

22 Oct 2011, Bridestobe
Venue: Orchard Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS: Golden Horse Awards

23 Oct 2011, Cherrychripy
Venue: Marina Mandarin Hotel
PG: Eulee
VG: Damon Low
BS: My Bridal Room

29 Oct 2011, Babydino
Venue: Swissotel the Stamford/Fairmont
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, dyleen (dyleen)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, CaiHongLim
Venue: Grand Park City Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, Larrby
Venue: Orchard Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, carebear (meteor_starry)
Venue: Marina Mandarin Hotel
PG: Lighted Pixels and Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
VG: Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
BS: Cangai

30 Oct 2011, Michelle Lim (michimichi)
Venue: The Amara Santuary
PG:
VG:
BS: Thomson Wedding Design (TP)

Hi ladies.. me back from a short holiday.. hehe!!

yupyup.. htb & me considering Hilton & Concorde now.. still looking around lor..
that Carlton hor, didn't even reply my "complaint" emaill.. haiz... so much for customer service..

Jim, not all hotel got free bike parking.. some of them are out of bounds for bike.. =(
Carlton got free bike parking.. Orchard Parade only have bike parking for staff..
but by all means, the carpark passes can be given to our friends who ride..
Orchard Parade is charging $4 per entry for bikes.. siao!!
Grand Park City Hall is taken on 1st Oct.. =(

Hi Maggie ! Where have u went for holiday ?
Wah seem like there limited hotel choices for u if you are looking for free bike parking . Sorry I'm not able to help u on this cos not sure of this aspect . But I wish u good luck , hope u find your ideal venue soon !
hey gals I'm so excited ! I have fixed my first appointment with my bridal shop on 18 dec 2010 ! Haha . Soo looking forward to it .

Hahas Hilton there's pillar but I think concorde is pillarless? Look like ur budget also is above 1k theres alot of hotel available if u got this budget!

Maggie have u visited holiday inn orchard city centre??

Hmm if I'm negotiating with hotel coordinator most probably is fight for our own rights and benefits like additional stay and anniversary stay won't be worry about parking. If u bother about ur guest transport den guest that take public transport are u going to reimburse their transport fee? Hahas if there's so must thing to be consider for the selection of banquet venue, will only stress urself only. Okay select a venue that u like and suit ur criteria. All the not so priority try to ask from the hotel coordinator!! Okay jiayou!!

Hi Maggi/Cherry..

thanks for the welcome.. ^^

not yet decide on the bridal.. waiting for the BOWS event on oct...

what about you ladies??
any preparation for the wedding??

Thanks Jim!! parking is secondary to my htb.. but of cos if can, parking for cars & bikes will be nice..

if possible, i won't wanna exceed 1100 per table.. now looking for suitable venue & hotel coordinator whom we find comfortable..

btw, carlton called.. apologized & said that those were wat she can give & her mgmt can give.. & wanna confirm with me if i wanna release the date as there are couples wanting to place deposit.. kaoz..... from her emails & her call, all she wants is for me to release the date..
can't she try to accede to my requests & make me her customer?? obviously she dun want my business.. i told her i won't wanna confirm & willing to release the date..

Miho, me still in search of a place... =(
you found your venue?

Hi Miho! Ur venue is M hotel right? Hahas bridal package u can slowly take ur time pick and choose. Bargain for as many as possible perks from them. Hahas.

Hi btb you going to have ROM together on AD or u have already ROM? Anyone will worry become shotgun marriage if haven ROM? Hahas I'm just curious what if pregnant before the AD den cannot wear pretty gown?!?!?

Any comment to ROM or wait until AD den have ROM??

Hi miho ! I will suggest that for bridal packages , go for bridal shopping . Eg : fix a few appointments over the weekend with the bridal shops you hVe in mind , to see their gowns , try on the gowns n see their albums . This is also to judge their service n see if you like the gowns . Do not need to sign with them straight away . Take your time to hunt around
. After u find your ideal bridal shop, then u can sign with then on the BOW event
. ( provided that they are participate in the event) I wont suggest u go for roadshow straightaway , cos they can be v pushy n their perks can made you sign on the spit straightaway . U have no idea if you like the gowns anot , this can b v risky .

Hi Jim ! I'm having rom on my actual day too
yes, I'm
Afraid of pregnant before hand so I won't let this happen . Haha till marriage ba
I want my pretty gowns !!

Hello everyone!
I'm also a October 2011 BTB and getting married on 08/10/2010. Wow many of us getting married on the same day!

Have not been back for some time and this thread sure moves fast. Hope everyone is doing fine!

miho, Ling, Evette: Welcome to the Oct 2011 BTB thread! Hope all of your planning is going well and update us on the progress oh!

miho, we have the same hotel for our AD! Who is your co-ordinator?
Anyway most of us here have already decided on quite a number of items and sitting back to relax for some time while probably doing homework and stuffs for what's to come next year. Hehez.

Hope you will find your BS soon! But remember to take your time to find the ideal one, don't decide too hastily which you wanna go with until you made comparisons. Like what Cherry mentioned, it's better to visit the BS itself before signing up at the roadshow as you will probably have a clearer idea of what they have and what you can get since usually they will display the best at the roadshow. Good luck!

Maggie, since you're already not happy with Carlton so why not just release the date for our couples who probably might want their kind of service and package? I mean at this stage even if you get it, probably the working relationship between you and the co-ordinator wouldn't be great. I'm sure you can find a better one which will give u better service.

I personally have not been to Concorde before so I can't give a feedback on it. My personal opinion with Hilton is that if you're taking the Grand Ballroom, it has pillars and also it's sharing lifts with the other ballroom. So if another wedding there, I just don't like the idea of having two brides at the same spot so near to each other. But ultimately it's your choice and we all hope you will find a suitable one soon! Good luck!

Cherry, you're going for appointment for? It's getting exciting when the real thing is coming. Hahaha! My hubby and I are thinking of ideas for our photoshoot next year. And also brainstorming on how to do our slideshow that will be shown before our march-in. Hehez.

Jim, I already ROM-ed this June. Hehez. Cannot be pregnant before AD else how to wear lovely gowns?! Hehez.

My banquet is at Marriott Hotel
Booked quite long ago but its so expensive cos its on a weekend and auspicious date. My bridal is with Irene's Creation
Anyone has any good videographer to recommend?

hello everybody!!!

wah this thread is moving way toooooooo fast!

haha..! as u all noe im gg prague for photoshoot rite but nw..... my dear photographer gt some unforeseen reasons.. need to back out!

so im busy lookin for photographer..

n worse is have to confirm by 24sep2010 as my co. needs us to submit annual leave for 2011 for the HR is plan manpower usage

so i need a photographer who can travel on a specific date de =(

btw, i signed with thomson for AD gown rental
no MUA cos i alr gt a MUA sanlia @ $440..

$2.1k
-wedding gown
-evening gown
-tea dress
-1x short tea dress to brin to prague
-1x man's suit to brin to prague
-2x suit for AD
-2x father/father in law jacket
-flower bouquet
-car deco
-bridesmaid corsages

do u all think its ex?

mmmmm .. i like one of their gown la.. so i nv do muc research hehe..

do u all think i shld ask for summore stuffs? haha..

Hi all~

Maggi : im a M Hotel Bride.. hehe.. awww.. Carlton is a highclass hotel yet this kind of services!!..

Jim : yupp.. hehe.. i did my ROM 4years ago. finally willing to "Settle" down... about the pregnant thing , me too having the same thinking!! big tummy!!

Cherry : Thanks alot!! didn't cross my mind to go shop around first before the BOWs.. now will do it... thanks thanks!! great tips and advice!!

Evette : welcome!~~~ Good month! hehe.. nice hotel!..

Kat : Really?! hahahha!!! my is evengaline... the always very buzy lady!.. i doubt she can rem me .. hehe.. yup going shop around during my free weekend , have u found any BS yet??

Lokie : gosh.... back out last min!! must be having headache now with the datelines you having =| .. not sure about your's package price , as not yet start shopping for BS.. ..

hi maggie

i rem hilton bein small and haf pillars
i attended a weddin once whn i was lk 17
and the bridal rm quite dated tt kind

i dunno if anythin changed .. but the rate ther shld be quite gd eh?

carebear!!

i saw u givin away ur whitelink AD in a post
whr leh?

aiya wasted! i jus signed AD wif thomson lor! actualli it was betwn whitelink n thomson but whitelink more ex at 2488 urs is 1700 nia!!

haha.. wasted! if nt i take fr u

btw!!

October 2011 BTB List:

1 Oct 2011, HelovesmiIlovehim (lydia)
Venue: Mandarin Oriental Hotel
PG: Derrick Than X ------- its RAYMOND PHANG nw
VG: Ideal productions, Stanley Oh
BS: Thomson (TP)

ha lydia....
oh yes....actually was because I took up taiwanese BS package as I am going to Taiwan for prewedding shoots...

then I wanted prewedding shoots in Singapore as well, so I took up a package from Whitelink, so my coordinator asks me to sell the AD for $1700...

Thomson is also nice....different right, you need the gowns to bring over to Prague..

hi candice!!

ya i noe his gd!! haha and his 3k more ex den my previous photographer haha!

yes..! 3k more ex!! can get another pg le! haha

but .. no choice or rather i dun wan choices haha..

long ago, i saw his facebook alr but at tt time i alr confirmed wif my photographer so i tot nvm la.. jus admire his work of other couples

but im glad tt now im gg to be his couple! hehe..

i guess things happen for a reason and tts whn fate come into play

hehe..

hw abt urself?

which pg did u hire?

Do you all book your BS first or photographer?

I am thinking to engage a photographer for pre-wedding album. However, I also know that most BS do also have in house photograher.

Not sure which one I should start first. Any comments?

hihi ling!

i think no difference who u hire 1st bah

wld u be doin lk wat mos couples r doin now:

takin up bridal full package wif say 30-40pics which wld cost abt 3-4k
and
also takin up a photographer for a more casual prewed outdoor shoot which may cost abt 2k

my fren is doin this and i think its workin pretty well!

her budget is 6k for photography

hihi maggie!!

i saw u shortlisted orchard parade too! can dont?

haha.. i attended one last yr end
alot of pillars leh! and the march in is very short
nt enough time for us to admire the beautiful bride at all!
and the projector screen is manually bein carried up and down of the stage by the waiters instead of inbuilt at corners of a banquet

dun oki.. no matter wat dun get orchard parade

i hrd ppl say the place look cheap gave too muc angbao this kinda comments

thou i didnt comment out loud tt time but i felt tt the bride and groom bein so gorgeous deserve a better ambience hotel or restaurant

I was browsing the thread when I see lots of useful information. =)

My AD is on 19 Oct and now I am looking around for bridal shops. Any recommendations for lace gowns?

My hotel venue is more or less fixed, just negotiating some terms.

Hope to hear from you ladies soon.. =)

Hey thanks,

I havent really gone gown shopping. Just browsing mags and gathering feedbacks for now.

Heard a few friends telling me about Dang Bridal, Wedding Present, Silhouette Atelier & Julia Wedding News. Not so sure myself. But thanks for your recommendation. Will go check Renee L Collection too..

Did you take their package?

Hi Penguin !! Welcome !!!

Mm.. I have went bridal shopping like 16 .. for laces .. I remeber I seen in BlueBay & Julia Wedding News..
Check them out . Julia Wedding news have very long lacey train
If you are a fan of laces , maybe you will love them. Have fun Shopping !!

Hey MiHo ! Have u start your bridal shopping ? Enjoa ya .. it very fun ! hahaz..

Hey Ling , mm. it really depend on your budget.
For me , budget is a constraint . cos I want to spend more for my actual videography & photgraphy ( FYI, it costs me $5,7k alone for actual day) .
So for mine, my pre wedding shot is with my bridal boutique in a package cost bout $4k.

hey Lydia, Congrats ! U found a better Photographer ! U must be looking forward to your photoshoot. When u gg for your photoshoot?

Hey miho, my gowns will be designed by Ted Collection. I'm doing ala carte for my wedding.
My wedding co-ordinator is Eugene. Hehez. Hope you have fun doing bridal shopping!

Ling, it depends on what you want and if you like the portfolio of the BS. Probably you can check out the BS photographer's portfolio before deciding whether you want to go for a freelance photographer? And of 'cos also the cost wise whether it is within your budget.

Lydia, congratulations on finding another photographer. So no worries as of now!

Welcome missypenguin! Hope you have fun shopping for your bridal studio!

My brother-in-law's wedding has just ended on Saturday! Phew. It was really all the details that made my hubby ran 'bout helping him out. Felt as if it's our wedding the way we helped out. So with the experience, we now will try to ensure nothing of such happens on our wedding day!