(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

piggeekgirl

Hi thesepthia! How's your trip at Phuket? I'm sure it's great eh?

Cherry, I really didn't expect him to remember us lah. Hahaha! Maybe 'cos they don't believe I'm in the IT field and kept thinking I'm a teacher. Hiakz.

Anyway it's good to hear that your bridal studio is providing what you want! In this way you're really saving some money for some other items. Hehez.

cherry_chripy

Hey ladies ! The thread is so quiet .... When u all will be going for your first appointment?
I'm in dilemma, cos I feel like owning a made to measure cheongsam . But to be practical , it a waste of money since my bridal boutique do provides . But I'm worry the cheongsam not as fitting as a tailor made one. Sighz . Advice please . Oh I'm going Tokyo next week and I hope that I can find nice Mickey mouse couple to put on e wedding car

jellycheese8

Hi Cherry! I agree that the thread is real quiet. CS provided by ur bridal shop you like the design? Hmm if u dislike den just MTM!! Enjoy ur toyoko trip!!

U mean first appt with bridal shop? I dun think so soon! Hahas

cherry_chripy

Hi Jim !
when u intending to go for your first appt ? Mine will be in late dec ! So excited . Hehe . Anyway , the cheongsam not bad , but I nv try on so I really dunno nice anot. How many sisters u gg to have ? Are u gg to make to make their dresses?

piggeekgirl

Cherry, I suggest you go and try on the cheongsam first before making your decision. That way you will know if it fits you and look nice on you.

My first appointment with Ted Collection is probably after CNY if I'm going for my photoshoot in June/July next year. Got to confirm with them the date of photoshoot before they can give me an idea when I need to go discuss with them 'bout the designs.

Anyway enjoy your Tokyo trip!

cali

Hi ladies, been a while since I posted anything!! been very busy at work..

have made several progress, managed to decide on the PG(Yu Hsin from TinyDot Photography) and VG(Simple Motion). Now trying to decide on the church venue..

Oh am trying to decide on the wedding gowns, thinking between Bridal Veil and Ted Collections..anyone has views on either? Seems like quite a no. of btbs here have good reviews about Ted Collection
i like satin gowns without the tulle and elaborate designs, prefer simple classy designs..appreciate any views!!

piggeekgirl

Hi Calister! Welcome back~ It's good to hear that you have already decided on quite some items too!

Anyway since I only have experience with Ted Collection, I can only give a rough review on them. My experience with Yap and Alice from Ted Collection is that they are really nice and fun people to work with. When I made an appointment with them, Don was the one I talked to and I can also sense that he's just like Yap, those that I can gossip with. Hehez.

Basically they are people who are very straightforward in their views so people going to them have to be prepared to accept what they say and even if you don't agree, it's okie to voice out but they just love to say what's on their mind. Hehez. As for design wise, Ted Collection is more known for their cheongsam. But I'm sure they will listen to your inputs and determine what color and cut is best for you. These opinions are gotten from the Ted Collection thread after reading through pages of them. Cost wise, you will need to let them see your design before they can give you the cost. They will explain everything to you when you're there so why not make an appointment with them and see if they are who you're looking for? It's always good to see if you can connect with the people designing your gowns, that will make the whole process a happier process.

Bridal Veil by Michelle Huimin is the one that design Melody's gown right? As in Randall's wife.
Kind of love her simple design too. Hehez. But since Ted Collection was the one I was looking for which offers an affordable package within my means, I didn't look at others so can't do a comparison.

cherry_chripy

hey Jim & Kat ! Thanks for your advices.
hee

Yeah I think I need to go and try on their cheongsams then decide. Sighz but I shall try it in December that where my first appt will be . hehe

Yeah ! I hope I will enjoy my trip to Tokyo. hehe. It is a company trip

Hey Calister ! Welcome back . Sorry I am not able to give you advice on Bridal Veil .. never been there before. For Ted Collection , I have met up with Yap , he is very nice. I like some of their cheongsam but I don't really like their wedding gowns not my style.

However, I have been to many bridal shops before I confirm on my bridal boutique choice.
I suggest that you go for more bridal shopping and if can try on their gowns then u can decide what u like ?

cherry_chripy

Hey Jim! Not yet . We have looked around but intend to purchase it only in the mid of next year . Mm .. But u can see gold heart ? They can customize the ring design n ring band
. They got this 3D design at international building
where u can play around with different designs

lokiewedslydia

hihi everybody!

cali: bridal veil by huimin has gt veri sleek n neat designs but dun u think she's very oveerpriced? mm.. my gf weddin she did
1 x mtm weddin gown
1 x mtm evening gown
1 x mtm husband suit
8k!
didnt keep anithin

its very nice but maybe its my gf's taste she jus wan classy n simple.. but for somethin so simple i feel its nt worth it.. =) so i say choose ted collection anytime! i've seen their work veri nice on my other frns too! they can go simple for u too! hehe..

lokiewedslydia

talkin abt weddin bands.. i like goldheart idea of a custom made one!
but .. my htb is brand conscious, i dunno if its a gd thing.. hehe!

he wanna get cartier but.. cartier has standard weddin band designs.. so everyone has the "same" piece of that design u choose

lk nuttin special hor? lk buyin the cartier jus bcos of the name.. oooo my ring is fr cartier =o="'

jim: go n check out goldheart leh! hehe n tell mi abt it.. i think the idea of customizin a pair of ring with ur hubby is special.. cus its a creation by "us" so sweet! hehe..

piggeekgirl

Hey Jim, our wedding band is from Soo Kee. Hehez. Since we were only looking for simple designs, we visited Love & Co and Soo Kee before deciding on our wedding band.

Guess anything more, I can't give comments also. Haha! For us, since we are gonna wear it everyday, comfort was our top priority. And the rings are truely comfortable. Sometimes don't even feel like I'm wearing it.

Lydia, your HTB rich rich! Haha! It has never crossed my mind to even go to Cartier to look at wedding bands! Hehez. But I think most importantly both of you must like the design.

meteor_starry

If anyone of you booking for wedding cars, there is a promotion going on at weddingcarriages.com.sg
They are having NDP promotion for first 45 confirmed bookings...

Chrysler 300c is now going for $399 Nett with petrol and chauffeur inclusive
Mercedes AMG kitted S300 class (Only 1 in Singapore ) $688 Nett with petrol and chauffeur

jellycheese8

Do you know which credit card have a high cash rebate for spending on wedding? any ideas? Hahas.

Thanks Kat,lydia and Cherry for the advice on wedding bands!

lokiewedslydia

hi jim
we used dbs for our bookin..

so far, i've seen dbs havin the mos promo wif weddin related expenses

i dun quite understand on high cash rebate.. we used dbs cos ther is extra perks tt came along wif usin the card..

jellycheese8

Hahas thanks Lydia! Hmm cash rebate at least get some money back. Like discount ma. Hee. Hmm I going to have my banquet at Furama City Centre. Going to pay deposit later. Hmm the hotel not a popular wedding venue and the entrance not grand at all but have to accept cos the coordinator quite flexible. Hope it's a good choice. Finally something strike off from to do list! Shiok!! Hahas

Lols it's really ex for car rental688 or 399! Hahas lucky my htb got his own car! Carebear ur bridal shop not offering bridal car in package??

meteor_starry

Lydia and Jim...

Yes...it can be ex for car rental alone...I checked with other bridal studios and they quoted me 400,450,688 for just a simple mercs. My bridal shop didn't offer bridal car in package as its the taiwanese BS cangai...They told me if I needed a car, they would be quoted me around 500+

jellycheese8

Dunno bridal shop charge so much for car rental. And they will only offset 200 when u dun wan the car..

So carebear What car you going to rent for ur wedding?

jellycheese8

If you n your HTB both agree so just take up!! Why nt
Try asking fren around who got BMW all this luxury car for rental??

But I think bridal car on AD will only appear in the morning when the groom fetch the bride. That all.

To me the bridal car decoration is more important than the car type!

lokiewedslydia

hoho carebear!!
wah piangz.. so cute leh ndp promotion! hehe! i cant imagine if no promo..
update us which car u choose k! hehe!
i do not have BMW to lend anione.. if nt i charge u 18.80 can liao! hehe!

kat: my htb is nt rich lorz haha he wan cartier den he cut his budget for other things!! whoa.. i think la!!

jim: i agree with e car deco more impt den the car type
mos impt is cannot be sports car!

my fren's weddin her hubby insist on a mercs CLK
poor girl.. jus cos its open top she had to do a simple hairdo.. fake eyelash nearly come out.. space so squeezy her leg suan.. everythin jus wrong x3 look stylo in picture nia

hehe!

meteor_starry

hi Lydia
so nice...charge me 18.80 only wow...
thanks for your info also...tempted to get mercs SLK, then hubby says later my hair fly all over the face, or I perspire, then I complain haha...then he says he doesn't want to be the driver on that day...haha....he says still have the hassle of putting car park coupons if necessary.......

lokiewedslydia

hehe! carebear! ya hor! still gt parkin coupon problem!

those (minahs n maks n ma chik) who fine mi be4 !@#$%^ hehe! but i noe they r jus doin their job la.. but still...!@#$^&!

watever car u tk remember to ask ur PG to tk alot alot of pic of it! nt jus 1 of u leanin over the car hahaha! the classic pose

so fast hor.. fr the day this thread started.. we r almost 1yr to our respective weddings le! hehe... haiz.. n my skin is nt improving..

anione else havin skin problem? i have alot of scars.. that can be hidden under mk up but i realli wanna be flawless! nt jus on my weddin but all the time!

haf u hrd of porcelain face spa? at chinatown.. i jus signed a package wif em.. hope they'd help improve my condition.. =) wishin n hopin..

jellycheese8

Hi Lydia your condition will improve! U got try kose product? It's quite good I think!

Hi Serene welcome! When's ur AD? Have u finalize ur wedding banquet venue, bridal shop or photographer??

piggeekgirl

Hey Lydia, no worries! We have 1 year to go to improve our skin!

Hi Serene, welcome to Oct 2011 BTB thread! Do update our list on your wedding details!

Ah. Have not been visiting this thread for some time probably 'cos settled most items so don't know what to discuss on. Haha! :X

smilezlm

Hi all.. I'm a 011010's bride.. =) Booked my venue a couple of months back.. Super relieved that I kinda made all my necessary booking. Sourcing for hotels was fun but super stressful sia! too ex cannot, too ugly ballroom cannot, too many tables cannot!!! lol.. Anyway, mine is at Swissotel Stamford..

lokiewedslydia

hello everybody!

my punggol waterway q no. is 21

ergh.......! i nv tot i will get it
it means i haf to live wif my parent-in-laws for 4yrs?
we wanted resale but my htb say bid for fun! nw we r no.21 nt funni lor!

anyone else got a q no. wif waterway?

lokiewedslydia

hi candice!

welcome to oct2011 brides' forum!

we share the same weddin date! hehe! its a happie day - children day!

im holdin mine at mandarin oriental
seachin for venue was fun?? haha.. cool!
glad ur enjoyin the process!
alot of us have confirmed our pg/vg/mk up artist/bridal studios

hws urs gg? =)

jellycheese8

Congrat Lydia!! Hahas. I got my queue no. too but is lousy no! I din bid for punggol waterfront. Cos we dun have so much money! Hee I bid for sengkang. Hahas.

piggeekgirl

Hi candice! Welcome to the Oct 2011 BTB thread!

Hotel searching can be fun but not when most of them are not acceptable. Hahaha! Like what Lydia said, do update us on your planning for other vendors!

Lydia!!!! That's actually quite a good news!!! Q no. 21... You will surely get a very good unit. Congratulations!

If you don't like the idea of living together with in-laws then you can consider renting a house. But I assume your HTB might not agree? Hehez. But of 'cos if you have a good r/s with your in-laws, wouldn't have a big issue!

joy79

I am going to sign my hotel banquet agreement soon. Want to check with you when the agreement states complimentary food tasting for 10 people, if only 5 people turn up, will they still portions equivalent to 10 people? thanks

smilezlm

haha. Realised I put the wrong yr..011011.. =)
Anyway, here's the details:
Venue: Swissotel Stamford
ROM (this yr) PG: Branden fr Envisage
PG: Sherman fr. Rebirth
VG: Alvin fr. Alvinadeline

Congrats, Lydia!! 21 is like a superb no.!! CFM can choose any apartment u wan.. =)

lokiewedslydia

hi candice!

oo rebirth! i chatted wif a bride tt used rebirth for her weddin!

i saw the rebirth adv. on facebook so i went to kpokpo
n i totalli love one of the bride's gown!!
so i fb her n she replied wif all the info!

hehe
http://www.starletdresses.com/carrie-underwood-inspired-beaded-chiffon-dress-from-faviana-couture
this is the gown

so why did u choose 0110? hehe
my 1st choice was 091011 but my mIL say its nt a good date for my hubby
hence it was changed to 0110
n now i totalli love tt date hehe! i even drew a personal logo for fun wif

love the "shuang zi" 011 011

smilezlm

haha.. mine was picked by some shifu.. and so happens to be such a nice no.. =) I think u must have booked Mandarin Oriental qt early right? When I asked, it was already not available.. haha..

I love rebirth's photos!! and they are really nice ppl.. Sometimes, after u see this type of high standard photos, u just cant bring urself to pick the average pg liao.. haha..

sillysmurfette

Carebear, you using CangAi too... i am considering them also.. i love their photoshoots but feel that their WG is not up to my expectation leh.

Hard to decide...

meteor_starry

Hi Smurfette
Congrats...so have you decided on your wedding date??

Yes, I am using cangai because I simply love their photoshoots. I recently went for a family photoshoot at cangai, and I like the professionalism of the photographer, and how he breaks the ice with us, to make us more relaxed.

Actually, they do have pretty wedding gowns. Of course, they also have "old fashioned" looking or those we only see in Taiwanese serials, so those are definitely "out". Their new stock of gowns just came in last month, so you may be spoilt of choices if you go down to their outlet now. Nowadays, they even carry short ROM gowns. But for guys, I think their choices are pretty limited. I think, for cangai, its quite hard to say every gown is up to expectation, but I can only say, I was able to find 3 out of 5 gowns which I liked very much, which is already more than sufficient.

Otherwise, you can go ala carte for gowns and just engage them for photoshoots. Besides, if you choose to do your photoshoot in Taiwan, since their main branch is in Taipei, they would have a larger collection of gowns than what we see here....

And their photographer is very friendly, and do not mind going the extra mile to perfect the photoshoot. He even asked us during the family photoshoot if we needed him to shoot more for us to choose, and they are very willing to listen to what we want, and they will patiently arrange our poses according to what we describe to them

Also, their makeup is very pretty.....but of course, its all up to the individual, since its your wedding ......hope you will have a great time scouting for bridal studio

lokiewedslydia

hihi candice!

oo i confirmed in apr
i think tts considered earli
hehe..
im so happie wif oriental so far n the reviews!
swissotel was one of my choice too
but they dun serve sharksfin rite?

agree on the pg totally!

smurfette
oct seems lk a super hot mth of weddings nex yr
i also dunno why oct was chosen for my case
haha..
goodluck on the banquet search!

smilezlm

I confirmed only in somewhere in Jun, and most of the hotels with nice ballrooms like panpac, MM and oriental were taken..
Swissotel has an option to switch to sharksfin foc if the older generation wants it so I'm ok with it.. =) Heard qt good feedback on their food too.. and the bridal suite is simply amazing! =)

Who is your PG?

Smurfette! good luck on banquet search.. it was like my most stressful period so far.. haha.. *grinz*

thesepthia

i didnt bid for punggol waterway i bid for boon lay and sengkang, apparently boon lay only 300 units, my q number is 582 , apparently alot of people dropped out, i managed to get an appointment in 30th sept.

and also another appointment for sengkang in 0ct.
So if boon lay doesnt work out i still gt sengkang

cherry_chripy

hello babes !

I am back from my Tokyo trip. hahaz.. How's everyone? It good to see that the thread is moving so fast once again. hehe

Hey welcome Silly Smurette, Serene & Candice ! woohoo .. more n more oct brides.
Do update us when your AD day & other details in the long list we have .

BTW, ladies I have managed to settle accessorries for my jiemeis in Tokyo . So happy . Now I am looking forward to shopping in Taiwan & Hongkong in coming December for their dresses. hee

Lydia u are very lucky !
Queue 21 is a very good number. U really can get a very nice unit you want . Beside , now resale the COV is super high ! It bout $45k to $60k on average , this is excludes renovation !! can u imagine how ex it is now.

I am also might be considering taking a new unit cos the resale unit is rocket high now! I dunno why the government don't do more to lower the housing prices or build the new housing faster.

Anyway , I am going for the DBSS housing . I hope I can get it. hee

Hey Carebear, with regards to bridal car, perhaps u might want to ask your friends' to borrow their car.
It will be so much cheaper or even no charges . I believe your friend will be willing to lend their car for your BIG day.

For my case, my fiance is asking one of his xiong di's to be the driver and we are taking his car . It either will be a MAzda Rx8 sport car or Audi ( i dunno what model but my fiance like the Audi much more than the Rx 8)

michi

This thread is lively again!

Welcome to all Oct btb newbie for this thread

Lydia, congrats to u!...wah queue 21, thats very good, sure can get ur 1st choice unit

Cherry, welcome back! U went Tokyo for holiday?..how's the weather, very hot? Good luck to u...hope u can get ur love nest soon

I intend to rent a beetle, mini cooper or sports car convertible type, then my hubby can drive me to the hotel hehe.

cherry_chripy

Hey MC ! Yeah it super hot & humid ! Imagine my friends got sun burn after a day at Disneyland . I keep
Hiding from the sun n do shopping . Haha no mood to play rides . Thanks I need e luck I hope I find a unit soon !
that my bday wish for this year ! Hehe

sillysmurfette

Thanks Carebear... My first choice date is in Oct but the hotels are more or less taken up so might end up in Dec.

Thanks for the warm welcome Lydia, Candice and Cherry.

Do you gals go check out the ballroom before deciding on which to pick? I called the hotel to make an appt but they are pretty full and only available next wk. I'm afraid that by then it will be taken up already. *stressed*

michi

Hi Smurette, for me..yes i did went to view the venues that i've shortlisted. Sometimes, the feel is quite important, so it's good to check out afew ballroom. Perhaps u can try to walk-in? I only managed to view Amara ballroom once, which was during my 1st walk-in, when i knew there are wedding on that day, so i got to see the wedding settings.

jellycheese8

Posted on Saturday, July 17, 2010 - 8:45 pm:       
October 2011 BTB List:

1 Oct 2011, HelovesmiIlovehim (lydia)
Venue: Mandarin Oriental Hotel
PG: Derrick Than
VG: Ideal productions, Stanley Oh
BS:

8 Oct 2011, Michelle Chong (michi aka MC)
Venue: The Amara Hotel
PG: RMG
VG: RMG
BS: SG Bridal House (JB)

8 Oct 2011, Calister Dyeo (cali)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

8 Oct 2011, Jaslyn (jaslynhy)
Venue: Grand Park City Hall
PG: Simonvideo
VG: Simonvideo
BS: Venus Bridal(JB)

8 Oct 2011, YJZL (Shanny)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS: Selatar Broadway studio

8 Oct 2011, Sherlyn ♥♥ (sherlynliang)
Venue: Pan Pacific Orchard
PG: TBC
VG: TBC
BS: Cangai Bridal

9 Oct 2011, Doragal
Venue: Grand Copthorne Waterfront
PG:
VG:
BS: Amanda Lee Weddings (ala carte)

9 Oct 2011, TheSepthia
Venue: Holiday Inn Atrium
PG: Blissful Reminiscence
VG: NA
BS: NA (ala- carte)

15 Oct 2011, Piggypong
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

22 Oct 2011, Kat (piggeekgirl)
Venue: M Hotel
PG: Grace (MY)
VG:
BS: Ted Collection (ala-carte)

22 Oct 2011, lowpyng
Venue: Grand Park City Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

22 Oct 2011, Jim (Jellycheese)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS: Selatar Broadway

22 Oct 2011, Bridestobe
Venue: Orchard Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS: Golden Horse Awards

23 Oct 2011, Cherrychripy
Venue: Marina Mandarin Hotel
PG: Eulee
VG: Damon Low
BS: My Bridal Room

29 Oct 2011, Babydino
Venue: Swissotel the Stamford/Fairmont
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, dyleen (dyleen)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, CaiHongLim
Venue: Grand Park City Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, Larrby
Venue: Orchard Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, carebear (meteor_starry)
Venue: Marina Mandarin Hotel
PG: Lighted Pixels and Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
VG: Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
BS: Cangai

30 Oct 2011, Michelle Lim (michimichi)
Venue: The Amara Santuary
PG:
VG:
BS: Thomson Wedding Design (TP)

Hi all new Oct 2011 btb. This is the lists tat I copy from the previous post. So u gals get to know which hotel have been taken up. Hope this help!!