(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

jellycheese8

Lols. Wow her charges quite cheap! Congrat!!

Hahas think the news of the groom die and bride commit suicide really scares alot of ppl from holding wedding there. I've check with them. Surprisely their grandballroom all are still available. But not picking it cos of the car park lots problem.

lokiewedslydia

hi jim!
yea
the death of the groom is due to supernatural activity hence the newspaper say mystery nt solved cos hilton paid alot of money to keep everyone mouth shut..

haha i dunno hw authentic but my fren told mi..

lokiewedslydia

everywhr is so booked.. mks mi wonder.. hw many oct2011 are ther?!?!?!?!?!

tts why we mus faster book our required services..

i booked sanlia even without seein her cos another btb wanted to book her but havent put deposit
she sms her n no reply so she agreed to be mine =)

jim jia you k!!

are u doin ala carte lk mos of us?

piggeekgirl

Congratulations Lydia! That's good news and her charges are kind of affordable eh? Good for you!

Actually I guess why Hilton is still available might be 'cos of the accident and like what all of you said, now with the death of the wife, the case is being remembered by many again. Also their price is surprisingly affordable considering it's Hilton, I supposed they already tried to mark down their price to attract more people. But anyway after looking at the ballroom, am not very impressed so it didn't get into our final list of choices.

Anyway I'm still kind of curious what is the reason to the husband's death 'cos it's just weird. But haiz. It sure is a sad case.

lokiewedslydia

ya kat
the bride is very beautiful.. saw her pics in papers.. realli gorgeous ger with nice features

i feel for hilton too.. the whole weddin team affected.. accordin to my weddin coor. fren they r lk catchin mosquitoes while orchard hotel etc all no time to even stay still to let mosquito bite

piggeekgirl

Yah, so true. 'Cos it's not really their fault but since it happened there and knowing that wedding should be a joyous occasion, people also try to avoid holding their wedding there 'cos people will remember.

Guess Hilton need some more time to let people forget.

jellycheese8

MUA trial makeup includes hairdo too! Tats good! Cos usually trial dun include hair only make up.

Thanks everyone for encouraging me!

Hahas so happy I kick off the habit of login to facebook. Becos I now addicted to this forum!! Hahas

piggeekgirl

Hey Jim! You mean usually bridal studio trial makeup or? 'Cos I thought usually MUA trial makeup has trial for both makeup and hairdo so we know what kind of look we are getting~

You can surf both facebook and Sgbrides!

michi

Lydia, Sanlia is the HK mua that i've mentioned. Think both of us like the same style & we've shortlisted the same mua hehe =) I also wanted her, but felt it might be abit risky if we pay the deposit for next yr end & she was not free last sat for trial makeup, so end up i go with Angel. At least, 1 thing is off our mind

jellycheese8

Hey Kat, hahas yes bridal shop say they only provide makeup trial. I dunno if engage MUA got both trial!!

I scare of troublesome so I take bridal shop package!! Hahas

Browse thru brides and wedding mag found out alot of feathers accessories on their hairdo. So pretty! Not sure whether next yr feather still in the fashion trend!

xinrou

Hi ladies...

I'm new here. Also a Oct 11 Bride...glad to see that this tread is quite active.. anybody has useful set of wedding planning template to share?

piggeekgirl

Hey Jim, as long as you choose a bridal shop that can provide for you the best service, you should have no worries. Do update the list with your information!

xinrou, welcome to the Oct 2011 BTB thread! Do update your information in the list! Hehez. Anyway what kind of template are you looking for 'cos there is only a standard few items that needs attending to. Do join in the discussion when you're free!

cherry_chripy

Hey Jim & Bridetobe ! Weclome !
Have u choose your bridal shop & banquet venue ?

Bridetobe when is your big day ?

hey babes !I am soo happy I have popped by My Bridal Room today cos I wanna asked them some questions about photoshoot.

As usual , Uncle Quek & his team are always so friendly n nice ! Oh I have checked with them on the 2 days photoshoots, he told me additional charge of $250. This charge is for the MUA cos she need to come another day to make up for me. hee . My fiance & I found it reasonsable cos we will have another full day of photoshoot.

They have also shown me their latest arrival of accessories , which were brought in oversea !The accessories are very unique and very beautiful !!I must said I super loved their hair accessories , really stunning n unique ! I can't wait for photoshoot next year ... wahaha..

They have also informed me that they exploring like group oversea photoshoot next year . That means like a group of 4 couples fly over to Taiwan or other countries for photoshoot. However, the couples will still have their PG & MUA for themselves only. Which means other couples will go shopping for that day until it their photoshoot day . The cost of air tickets & accomodations for the PGs & MUAs will be shared among the couples who are travelling . I find it a good buy !

I really enjoy going to my bridal boutique, they never fail to impress my fiance & me. hehe .

xinrou

Hi ladies, thanks for the warmth welcome! yup, have chosen my bridal studio and banquet. Bridal studio is with Golden Horse Awards and banquet will be at Orchard Hotel.

jellycheese8

Hi xinrou, when's ur AD? Orchard hotel is so hot becos thierry package provide free flow of beer n wine! How's golden house award bridal shop? Cos I read the forum comments their service not that good in some way. But their WG is nice!! How much is ur package?

Hi cherry chripy, your bridal shop "my birdal room" where is it located? Hmm before my signing my bridal package the person tell me I can opt for 1 day studio photoshoot and another day outdoor and no additional charges. Hahas but not sure whether they words can be believe anot! Hee.

cherry_chripy

Hey Jim !
My Bridal Room is located at 9 Tan Quee Lan Street, #01-03, S(188098) .
They are located at Bugis ( U know directly opp Mcdonald there . It near the apple strudal the street there. u just need to walk in down the street)super good service & many nice gowns. If u love crystals , u will love their gowns.
hee.

I am a perfectionist so I have went to about 13 or 14 bridal boutiques to try their gowns and look at the photography before I deciding on My Bridal Room . I must said they are one of the best for 1 stop service.

So Jim have u decided on your bridal shop ?

Hey Bridetobe, I heard that Golden Horse their guys collections is alot . Good for your hubby to be. hee. Photography I heard also not bad. However, service I heard it is not that good. But don't know how true .. Anyway which brand u signed up with ? My friends told me Yishun is the best outlet to go cos their gowns are more there compared to other outlets.

jellycheese8

Yeah cheerychripy. I know where is it! Cos I work at gateway. Hahas when lunchtime I will loiter there makan! Hee so how much is ur bridal shop package? Can tell us?

Hmm I sign up package with Selatar Broadway without trying any growns or visiting other bridal shop. Quite funny n stupid! Me n my Htb go suntec thought there's a big bridal show with alot of exhibitor. But in the end only this shop and we just pay deposit n sign. Hahas.

I look thru previous post ur AD is 23 oct! Hahas marina mandrain. Can know how many table u have and the price per table?? Thanks!!

cherry_chripy

Hi Jelly , ooo u never went to try their gowns and u sign up ?
oh .. U missed the fun bridal shopping and try on their gownns ! It the most fun part . hehehe.

yeah I have selected Marina Mandarin . U msg me your email ? I email u the pricing?

jellycheese8

Hahas. I try private msg u my email but think ur setting dun allow private msg. It's okay thanks cherry! Marina mandrian their banquet is quite expensive. And I can't hit all the 5stars hotel min req on wkend 30/35 tables!!

Please forgive me stupidity. Can i ask when go for gown fitting or trying gown is it bra-less? Hahas. Cos I see some of the forum they say there's padding on the gown and actually u dun need to wear nubra or bra de. Hahas.

sherlynliang

Jim I tried on gown at BS before. I wore a bra and everything went fine. Just that for photoshoot and AD, I guess it's better to wear NuBra and tapes. :)

cherry_chripy

Hey Jim ! Yeah it braless
the gowns will have the padding
I dun find a need to buy nubra la
it really depends on individually I guess
I have tried the gowns without bra n it turns out v nice
ESP when the gown is sexy low
back . Mmm but hor different bridal shops their
gowns diff , support also different . Like when I went to divine , I tried their gowns it better to have bra in it . Cos their support is not good enough . So it will b good that u go for bridal shopping n tried on a few gowns to know what u like yah . Wedding is once in a lifetime so take your time to look around n shop for the best
u still have bout 15 mths

shoppngqn

Hi, I am helping my friend to post. He is looking for couples to do pre-wedding shoots for his portfolio. Anyone is interested here? He do have some experiences taking wedding photos but not much that's why he need more portfolio for his website. If interested, pls pm me for his contact.

joy79

hi girls, pls advise about deposits for banquets. how soon is the deposit paid after a tentative booking? i have made tentative booking. what to look out for when paying deposit? thanks a lot

lokiewedslydia

joyjoyjoy!

this i expert haha..

tentative book means the date is kept for u since no deposit is made yet it is still avail. to other couple's enquiry on it

meanin.. shld anyone else enquire on the date, e hotel wld contact u to confirm if u still wan it, if uncontactable they'd let go

with regards to deposit, usually the hotel wld hold the ten. bookin for 2wks (for oriental 2mths.. hehe)

whn payin deposit, mk sure u gt all ur perks rite on the contract
i.e. free flow wine/beer invites parkin etc

deposit is usualli 2k,3k,5k dependin on hotel

mine was 5k, orchard is 5k..

which hotel haf u booked?!

joy79

thanks lydia
i have made tentative booking with fullerton. i didn't know the tentative booking holds only 2 weeks? i thought the hotel will hold the tentative booking till someone else wants to book it. so i should contact the hotel to confirm my booking with deposit soon.
does anyone know by using citibank dividend card to pay for hotel banquets, whether still can get cash rebate? i understand the dividend card can only get rebates by dining, petrol and grocery shopping at certain places? thanks.

cherry_chripy

Hey joy , mine is 4k for marina mandarin. Yeah sone hotels can hold it longer than 2 weeks or months until someone enquire in the dates that u have tentatively booked .
Some hotels their deposits are different , it depend on how many tables u booked n they collected a upfront 10 or 20 % of the whole banquet . I'm not sure of fulleraton deposit u better check with your coordinator yah .

piggeekgirl

Cherry, it's good to hear that your bridal studio is giving you satisfactory services! I have read and heard too many horror stories that's why I decided to go ala carte for my wedding. So I guess sometimes it's all 'bout luck somehow eh?

Jim, you should make a visit to Selatar Broadway to check out all the gowns they have when you have the time to find out 'bout the range of gowns they have since you have yet to see their range of gowns. Gowns are like the most important for brides to look their prettiest! So it's best to find out if they really have what you want ya, even though you said you already made the deposit.

Hi joy, my deposit with M Hotel was 3k. We made a tentative booking with them then and 'cos we thought there will be an upcoming wedding show and only sign with them during then. The wedding co-ordinator said will hold on our booking until then or when someone else wants to make a booking for that date also, whichever is earlier, we will need to make a decision and pay our deposit. Then someone showed an interest in signing for that date also and the other wedding co-ordinator called my hubby, so we made an appointment with our co-ordinator and discussed 'bout the contract.

During the paying of deposit is also the time you try to bargain for the wedding package for anything additional. After all is settled and both parties are happy, the contract will be signed with the additional included in the contract. Upon signing, the deposit will also be paid.

Regarding the payment with Citibank Dividend card, I supposed there will still be cash rebate 'cos the rebate comes after any other sections which is some 0.5% or something? The cash rebate is not restricted to just dining, petrol and grocery shopping.

Hope the information helps!

Edited: Hm... They banned the use of the actual name of Selatar Broadway. Weird. I have to replace the "e" in Seletar with "a".

shanney

Im a tentative Oct2011 bride too.

Considering to hold on 8 Oct 2011, but still discussing with HTB whether to push it to 2012 so that we got more time to save more $$$. he spent quite alot recently with our HK trip, proposal ring, bridal package etc. Heartpain for him.

Jim: i had the same experience with you RE: the bridal show. 11 July we went to suntec thinking there's a bridal show, who knows there's only 1 shop, the package seems reasonable thus we signed up.

by the way, any one has any recommendations for hotels which cater for less than 20 tables??

TIA!

jellycheese8

Hi Shanney! Which bridal shop u sign on that day?
Hahas dun wait anymore. Cause 2012 is dragon year! It will be damn expensive. And every year banquet price is increasing!!

Hi kat! Thanks fo your advice I got look at ther wedding gown collection before sign up hmm not that impressive like brides magz but they say can mtm both WG EG. Den okay I anything. Hahas I will go down when we settle our wedding banquet!

michimichi

Hey Jim,

your gona mtm gown? Just make sure you double check on all the hidden cost cos usually there will be extra costs on french laces, crystals used and others.. =) my bridal package also came with MTM but additional costs if french lace is used...

Welcome YJZL!!!
Do decide early as i noted alot of hotels seem to be fully book for Oct!~ which bridal package did u sign up for?

Anyone doing overseas prewedding shoot?

shanney

Jim/Michelle: I signed with Selatar Broadway too!

bad news, may have to change date, though we've almost decided to take 8 oct. T.T

his sister decided to get married on 111111. although she said she can change her dates if we want to, but not so nice lo.

SIGH. =(

xinrou

hi Jim & Cherry, my actual day will be on 22 Oct 11. Anybody else also having their AD on this date too?

We signed up with Cole from GHA, heard that he is the gown designer at GHA and will be our wedding coordinator to plan for our trip. I think standard of service at Bridal Studio also depends on your coordinator and the rapport and relationship built with the coordinator over time.

On banquet selection, we compared prices and perks on a few selected hotels and found Orchard Hotel to meet our selection criterias. Originally, we wanted Dec 11 but all weekend dates are booked by the time we got to the wedding open hse! So, we opted for Oct 11, which was the next best alternative. Now i know why SOOO many friends advised me to BOOK EARLY! haha...

lokiewedslydia

shanney!! 111111 was my org date but everywhr is chargin a premium for tt date!!

its my bdae too n its a super auspicious date!! haha

with regards to 2012 weddings its true prices are sky rocketin!

sorry to hear tt ur banquet has to be pushed back

lokiewedslydia

kat dear!

hw is ur meetin wif ted collection?
r prices reasonable?
hee.. i'd nt custom make my gowns but den im very curious with the pricin.. hehe!

piggypong

I have been following this thread for a while. Noticed that no one has chosen 15 Oct as AD wedding. Hmm.. I will be having my AD on 15 Oct as that's the day that suits us the best.

Bridetobe, Cole should be good. He was my sister's designer at GHA. I think he travels to Paris quite frequently for his wedding fashion shows.

cherry_chripy

hey hey ladies. Let me do the updating for the list . Here goes
Welcome new members. hee

If I missed out any details or wrong info, please amend. Thanks !

October 2011 BTB List:

1 Oct 2011, HelovesmiIlovehim (lydia)
Venue: Mandarin Oriental Hotel
PG: Derrick Than
VG: Ideal productions, Stanley Oh
BS:

8 Oct 2011, Michelle Chong (michi aka MC)
Venue: The Amara Hotel
PG: RMG
VG: RMG
BS: SG Bridal House (JB)

8 Oct 2011, Calister Dyeo (cali)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

8 Oct 2011, Jaslyn (jaslynhy)
Venue: Grand Park City Hall
PG: Simonvideo
VG: Simonvideo
BS: Venus Bridal(JB)

8 Oct 2011, YJZL (Shanny)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS: Selatar Broadway studio

9 Oct 2011, Doragal
Venue: Grand Copthorne Waterfront
PG:
VG:
BS: Amanda Lee Weddings (ala carte)

9 Oct 2011, TheSepthia
Venue: Holiday Inn Atrium
PG: Blissful Reminiscence
VG: NA
BS: NA (ala- carte)

15 Oct 2011, Piggypong
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

22 Oct 2011, Kat (pigglegirl)
Venue: M Hotel
PG: Grace (MY)
VG:
BS: NA (ala- carte)

22 Oct 2011, lowpyng
Venue: Grand Park City Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

22 Oct 2011, Jim (Jellycheese)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS: Selatar Broadway

22 Oct 2011, Bridestobe
Venue: Orchard Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS: Golden Horse Awards

23 Oct 2011, Cherrychripy
Venue: Marina Mandarin Hotel
PG: Eulee
VG: Damon Low
BS: My Bridal Room

29 Oct 2011, Babydino
Venue: Swissotel the Stamford/Fairmont
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, dyleen (dyleen)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, CaiHongLim
Venue: Grand Park City Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, Larrby
Venue: Orchard Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, carebear (meteor_starry)
Venue: Marina Mandarin Hotel
PG: Lighted Pixels and Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
VG: Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
BS: Cangai

30 Oct 2011, Michelle Lim (michimichi)
Venue: The Amara Santuary
PG:
VG:
BS: Thomson Wedding Design (TP)

jellycheese8

Hi Xinrou. My AD is 22 Oct too! So you are the one who book orchard hotel ballroom 3? So lucky. Envy! Hahas.

Lols shanney so u also like me "kongkong" hook to Selater broad way? Hahas kidding. Hmm Michelle I will only mtm if I can't find gown I like on the rack!!

Yes October 2011 banquet especially Saturday are almost taken and left those 5stars hotel will cost about 1300++!! So be fast.

Cole from GHA is a guy with long hair and tie up a ponytail? Hahas

xinrou

Hi Jim, i saw one of ur msg in Orchard Hotel thread too. We're taking ballroom 1&2. Ballroom 3 probably taken by somebody else. Will u be having ur solemnisation on 22 Oct 11 or held seperately? I'm having mine this yr on 26 Dec 10.

Hi Piggypong, ur sis has worked with Cole before ah? We are also thinking of going to Paris with him next yr for our pre-wedding photography too.. Cole has a normal man's haircut..the guy who long hair is probably the hunter for the studio. We also kenna 'pulled' by him at a Bridal Show to meet Cole. haha...

jellycheese8

Hi cherry chripy thanks for the updating new comer to the list! :D.

Hi xinrou, yes I think I say the same thing too at orchard hotel thread! My solemisation maybe on AD. But have to depend on my Htb. He's a regular officer not sure he is going oversea outfield this year end. So haven confirmed yet. We plan to rom this year 101010 but not confirm.

Do you gals aware about the sentosa mass solemnization?

piggypong

Bridetobe,

Yup, my sis worked with him before. Both my sis wedding gown and evening gown are designed by him. I think I still see the shocking evening gown in MS oulet the last time I walked passed.

Paris will be nice, I think you would only need to pay for your air tickets and accommodation. He will handle the others. Don't think you need to fork out additional $$ right.

cherry_chripy

Yeah kat, I think I am lucky . hehe. I heard lots of good comments bout My bridal room and few of my friends use them before. All of them are very happy with their services. hee
Yeah , how is your ted collection visit ?

No problem jim

Hey Michelle, yeah I am thinking of doing pre wedding shot oversea if my bridal shop manage to find a group of couples to travel together. hahahaz.. Cos I don't want to fork out the accomodation & airticket for PG & MUA myself. It gonna be very expensive.

If not, it will be Singapore. hee
I have intend to have some shots at Marina Mandarin too cos it was a special hotel for us . hee. Our first getaway is there , The proposal also there so do our banquet .
mm.. it really depends. Our options are open cos the costs are the main factor. sighz
So michelle where u intend to go ? I knew that Lydia is thinking of oversea shot!

Hey Bridetobe, wah you going paris. It a nice place .
Don't you need to fork out additional money for your PG & MUA for their air tickets, accomodations and cover all their meals? I thought this is a standard practice for all oversea shoots.

Hi Jelly, nope I am not aware of the Sentosa mass thingy . I won't find it special anymore if every couples ROM together . It think it should bout only u & your hubby to be with closed friends n family in a special place.

Mm.. seem like everyone is taking sat day for Banquet.So envy !
I have went to calculate the dates and most suitablle & good timing for me is only on 23 Oct 2010 which is a sunday .

Yes, Jim u better check on the MTM portion . cos normally what they did only do a very simple design and every little details might need to top up . Every bridal shops varies.
It better to know before hand . For me , I have checked with my boutique , they don't really charge me extra for extra details unless it really like too much crystals , eg the whole gown or these. My package also have MTM but i should be taking off the rack . hahaz..

xinrou

Hi Jim,

My HTB is also a regular! haha... so many similarities between us! keke... will u also be having the swordbearers ceremony at ur dinner? Have u managed to book ur banquet yet?

xinrou

Hi Cherry, we heard from Cole that he has contacts in Paris for makeup artist, so we will get MUA from there, and we will have to pay for PG's share...

piggeekgirl

shanney: Don't know if I'm too late in welcoming you 'cos seems like you're leaving this thread. But do remember to do early reservations for wedding venue!

Jim: Good good. Settling the wedding venue is more important since it seems like dates for October for the weekend are so hot! But do remember to ask for the additional cost like what Michelle suggested 'cos if you want really fanciful ones, usually there will be additional cost for more materials. Of 'cos do check out the available OTR gowns first then!

xinrou: My AD is also on 22 October 2011! Will be having mine at M Hotel.

piggypong: Welcome to the Oct 2011 BTB thread! Do join in the fun discussions that we are all having now!

Cherry: Thanks for updating the list! Seems like more and more BTBs are joining the thread as the months went by! Hehez. Anyway sometimes we also can't control the dates we want if we calculate them. Mine is a calculated date and just happened that we had quite some Saturday dates so not too bad. Hehz.

Anyway I will only be going to Ted Collection this Saturday not last Saturday. Hehez. I'm so looking forward to meeting the designer! Think the designer I talked through the phone will not be in Singapore so another will attend to me. He sounds like a friend already through the phone! Just hope it wouldn't be too expensive. Hehez.

Anyone has any recommendation for MTM the groom's and father/father-in-law's suits? Trying to find out where will be good besides asking Ted Collection. Thanks!

michimichi

Hey Cherry,
yepz~ thinking of going Japan for prewedding photoshoot. So far have manage to source for photographer and gona do a bit of pre-videography to incorporate into the AD video montage~

haha hopefully dun burst our budget~ lolx.

My wedding on Sunday too.. Many of my frends say they will try to take leave the next day.. Cos will be tired if the banquet ends late.. Feel abit guilty.. But auspicious date so haha...

Bridetobe, your so lucky!!! Paris is indeed a romantic place for wedding shots!! Wanted mine there but haha htb refuse to spent the amount.

Im intending to do up my own makeup and hairstyle for the overseas shoot though... Nw looking thru magazines on diy hairstyles~

piggeekgirl

Hey mich! Japan for photoshoot! Sounds like a great place! Photos should be really lovely! Hehez.

Anyway has anyone of you decided how to deal with the licensing issue that's ongoing now? As if our wedding is not expensive enough, we need to pay more to use music now! Zzz.

Anyway talking 'bout pre-wedding shoots, I will be doing mine overseas also! Private island resort at Bintan. Hehez. The last time we went wasn't really a happy ending 'cos my hubby dislocated his elbow over there. Was a great scare for me and not to mention it was my birthday! Zzz. The great thing to note was he was fine and the crew at the resort sang me a birthday song when we alighted from the boat that took us from the mainland Bintan back to the resort. This time must have a great time there!

Anyway don't feel guilty over Sunday weddings, friends will always be more than happy to help even though we might complain. Haha! It's better than one of my friends who is having her wedding on a Monday. Zzz.

jellycheese8

Hi xinrou. Yes think we going to have swordbearers. Hahas but it's not anything special anymore cos his brother also officer and they have swordbearers at his wedding this March. Haiz I dislike his bro's wife so bitchy and flirt. Sign~~~

Look like all Oct 2011 BTB are so fortunate! Oversea photoshoot! But rmb to have photographer that will return all the photos to u girls. Cos it's very pity if couldn't get all the photo back!

cherry_chripy

Jim : well.. I am not confirm going oversea shoot la. It really depend on the costs .

Mm.. where r u staying after your wedding ? If not with your parents in law , ok la. You won't be seeing your sister in law often . hee

Kat : I not really worry bout videography cos my VG has the licence. hee
I might engage a band or something if I have the budget if not I will just bring orginal CD to play lor. hahahz..

Michelle Lim : Japan is nice !
which month u going? which place? Is it Hokkaido ? I am going Tokyo for company trip this coming August . hehe

Jim & Bridetobe : I so envy u 2 . have the swordbearers. It will be so princessly n grand . hee
My fiance was thinking of having that initally but hor need to gather all his officer friends to help out so he scrapped off the idea. He is an officer too but he is not a sign on . so a bit troublesome hahahaz.