(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

michi

Hi Calister, weclome!

When is ur big day?

piggeekgirl

MC, I never really take note of local MUA's makeup. Haha! I just go with how I feel towards looking at their portfolio. Hiakz. I personally also like Cherry's makeup. Hehez.

Hi Calister, welcome to the October BTB thread! Do tell us when is your big day and the many information that you have confirmed!

lokiewedslydia

carebear
thank u for sharin! i checked out le.. nt bad but i prefer dana!!

hehe.. maybe cos i witness wat she did wif my fren n i truly adore it! hehe

shanshan, did u walk in to dana place or call her 1st whn discussin price? issit too earli to book her now? haha..

my other fren wanted to book her but she's taken le! i dunno whn
so now she gt to find another MUA

meteor_starry

Lydia, can see how your friend got transformmed into a goddess with Dana's makeup, keen to see ....btw I believe Dana has a wide selection of accessories, and she actually quoted my friend ~$750 for AD makeup

Welcome Dyleen and Cali to our discussion...yeah we have two more future "brides" here....

piggeekgirl

carebear, thanks for sharing the link! Hehez. I think she's not bad in her makeup skills also.

Lydia, previously for my solemnization I emailed her to find out 'bout the package. Anyway it's not too early to book her. I already booked her for my AD during my trial makeup, which was in February this year. Haha! 'Cos I really like her makeup so decided to just book her in advance. Hehez. My friend also interested in getting her after seeing the process of Dana's transformation for me. Haha!

And heartiest welcome to dyleen! Do enjoy your stay here and join in the discussion to being a pretty and lovely October 2011 BTB!

piggeekgirl

Anyway this is just for your information, this package information I got from her was 2 years back. Considering that her price increase by 50 bucks for the ROM package, for the AD package maybe you can increase 'bout the similar amount for this year. Not sure the cost for next year though.

Actual day (AD) Morning and evening makeup and hairdo - S$680 nett

Inclusive of the below services;

1) AD Morning - 1 x Makeup and 1 x Hairstyling
2) AD Evening - 1 x Makeup and 1 x Hairstyling
3) Eyelashes - 1 for morning and 1 for evening
4) Ampoule - both morning and evening
5) Bridal Accessories provided for your use - ($100 deposit refundable in full upon return of accessories)

6) Hair Wig/Strands if required
7) Trial Makeup and Hairdo at my home studio (both morning and evening styling will be tried)

8) Trimming of eyebrow – usually done at trial makeup, and if required on actual day
9) Service done at location of your choice - no transport charges
10) No additional charges for early makeup and separate day makeup
11) Touch up hairdo for groom on actual day prior to dinner (on condition that groom is at same location as bride and available for hairdo touch up immediately after bride makeup)

Optional items
a) Mum and sisters’ makeup and hairdo -$80/person exclusive of eye lashes and ampoule
b) 2nd March in makeup and hairdo - $150
- inclusive of change of hairdo, touch up makeup and change of accessories

piggeekgirl

Hahaha! Your hubby should be happy to know you can find someone who can make you prettier than you are now!

Just plan wisely should be fine. Else can always consider Cherry, since she was Dana's student and her makeup portfolio is also quite good.

lokiewedslydia

i jus called dana

oh man her actual day wif exactly the same package as shan is nw

$750 (be4 $680)

but ala carte services for mum etc.. is still the same @

$80 each

2nd march in xtra $150

haf to close 1 eye n pay her extra $70
smelly smelly ..
10brides she earn xtra $700
100brides $7000

smart ah this lady =)

lokiewedslydia

aniwhr i can view cherry's work?

hehe.. i definateli have a budget as im gg prague for photoshoot..

i feel lk backin out fr prague lor..

still gt to buy gown, veil, props, air ticket, accomodation

i mus sit down n realli write everythin in monetary terms

piggeekgirl

Lydia, here's Cherry's facebook >>
http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/pages/Cherry-Au-Makeup-Artisty/111890488041?ref=ts

Actually nowadays there is nothing that actually reminds at the same price. Wedding dinner, photographer, videographers so on and so forth. Wedding is so not cheap! Can only work within our means and get the best out of everything! Hehez.

Since Prague has a special meaning to both of you, I rather you try to cut down on other costs than to back out of Prague now. Don't want you to live with regrets that you didn't go there for a photoshoot. Just try to work out the cost and then decide from there with your hubby.

cali

Hi all, thanks for the welcome

My big day is on 8 Oct 2011, the only thing that I've decided is the hotel; I'll be doing a church wedding followed by a lunch banquet at Mandarin Oriental..

so I've got alot more to go!! need to learn alot from all of you
still trying to get used to all the terms like MUA, BTB etc haha

michi

Lydia this is cherry's website: http://iciclediamond.multiply.com/ ..u can find my before & after pics inside hehe :p I agree with Kat, since Prague is a special place for both of u..may be try to reduce cost on somewhere else
Tot u've a local BS, they don't include MA for ur AD?

Cherry's hairstyle skill is good but makeup i think average only..considering with her little yrs of experience, i think her rate is more exp than dana lor..she is charging $680 this yr & next yr is $700 if u confirm by this yr..i recommend my gf to her, she also can't give me discount
then i must well pay $50 more for the teacher =) I'll see if her makeup skill has improved a not in 3 wks time, will update u girls again...hee

Carebear, thanks for sharing..the makeup & hairstyle are quite impressive too

Cali, high five..we've the same date

larrby

hello all, i have been a silent reader for the past weeks. Have not done research on what you gals are discussing *blush*

welcome dyleen and cali! oh, dyleen we have the same AD!

thesepthia

October 2011 BTB List:

8 Oct 2011, Calister Dyeo (cali)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

9 Oct 2011, Doragal
Venue: Grand Copthorne Waterfront
PG:
VG:
BS: Amanda Lee Weddings (ala carte)

9 Oct 2011, TheSepthia
Venue: Holiday Inn Atrium
PG: Blissful Reminiscence
VG: NA
BS: NA (ala- carte)

9 Oct 2011, HelovesmiIlovehim(lydia)
Venue: Mandarin Oriental Hotel
PG: Derrick Than
VG: Ideal productions, Stanley Oh
BS:

22 Oct 2011, Kat(pigglegirl)
Venue: M Hotel (TBC)
PG: Grace (MY)
VG:

22 Oct 2011, lowpyng
Venue: Grand Park City Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

23 Oct 2011, Cherrychripy
Venue: Marina Mandarin Hotel
PG: Eulee
VG: Damon Low
BS: My Bridal Room

29 Oct 2011, Babydino
Venue: Swissotel the Stamford/Fairmont
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, dyleen (dyleen)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, CaiHongLim
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, Larrby
Venue: Orchard Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, carebear(meteor_starry)
PG: Lighted Pixels and Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
VG: Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
BS: Cangai

30 Oct 2011, Michelle Lim(michimichi)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

lokiewedslydia

hihi!!

u noe..................... im no more a 09oct11 bride

i dunno wat date yet

suddenli ther was a change of plan n a master was involved in choosin a date

haiz.

michi i contacted cherry au but she didnt repli mi.. so she'd change her price too..

mmm y so unethical..

i feel tt if we book this yr for service rendered nex yr

by rite, it shld be the amt quoted for this yr..

mmm.. i dun lk this all this pattern

haha..stay tuned for my new date =(

lokiewedslydia

thesep!!

im so sad.. no more

long story tt i dun wan to mention here
its to mk someone impt happie.. hence an auspicious date has to be carefully chosen

piggeekgirl

larrby, do join in our discussion when you're free!

Lydia, oh no. Does it mean you're gonna leave this thread and leave us?!
Shall wait for your update on your new date loh.

cali

Michi - yes, same date!! wa but it seems you have so many things done..i've still got a long way to go.

Am thinking of getting Simplemotion for my videography and Yu Hsin from Tiny Dot Photography for my photographs, any comments?

thesepthia

hai whats new, i already tell the old folks , i have paid the deposit , and i dun wan any money from u guys, so dun expect me to change my date, anyway i have check the tong shu, it doesnt clash with our horoscope, i think thats fine by me

michi

Oh lydia, sad to hear that...hope ur date is still in oct...:D Cherry is slow in reply 1..if its not related to $$ issue, i think she might not even reply lor :p

I've also got my date from a geomancer to please them, my MIL said its not gd to get married in chinese 3,6,7 & 9 month after we've calculated the date..end up the months so limited, she asked those aunties to double check, lucky later she said ok :D So for me i'll stick with all tradtional stuffs to avoid any unnecessary comment in future

Cali, coz i'm kiasu hee..already start my planning since last yr :p I like Tiny Dot Photography style too, not bad though, can consider, their website is also quite creative =)

Thesepthia, my details on the list, think u might have mixed up me with another michi hehe but nvm

michi

October 2011 BTB List:

8 Oct 2011, Michelle Chong (michi aka MC)
Venue: The Amara Hotel
PG: RMG
VG: RMG
BS: SG Bridal House (JB)

8 Oct 2011, Calister Dyeo (cali)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

9 Oct 2011, Doragal
Venue: Grand Copthorne Waterfront
PG:
VG:
BS: Amanda Lee Weddings (ala carte)

9 Oct 2011, TheSepthia
Venue: Holiday Inn Atrium
PG: Blissful Reminiscence
VG: NA

9 Oct 2011, HelovesmiIlovehim (lydia)
Venue: Mandarin Oriental Hotel
PG: Derrick Than
VG: Ideal productions, Stanley Oh
BS:

22 Oct 2011, Kat (pigglegirl)
Venue: M Hotel (TBC)
PG: Grace (MY)
VG:

22 Oct 2011, lowpyng
PG:
VG:
BS:

23 Oct 2011, Cherrychripy
PG: Eulee
VG: Damon Low
BS: My Bridal Room

29 Oct 2011, Babydino
Venue: Swissotel the Stamford/Fairmont
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, dyleen (dyleen)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, CaiHongLim
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, Larrby
Venue: Orchard Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, carebear (meteor_starry)
PG: Lighted Pixels and Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
VG: Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
BS: Cangai

30 Oct 2011, Michelle Lim (michimichi)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

I've included mine

lowpyng

Hi Kat,

Looking around for manicurists
How much does nailhaven charges for full set of arylic nails? with 3D nail art?

joy79

i am disappointed. there is another person with tentative booking for fullerton straits room on the day i want in oct 2011. But my family still wants to see the ballroom before making the decision/put deposit and the earliest weekend the wedding co-ordinator can meet us is in july

joy79

as i am looking at smaller ballrooms, choices are limited.
raffles ballroom not as nice as fullerton and raffles package is more expensive as well.

michimichi

Hey hey Sorry have been away from the discussion board for sooo long... work has been bonkus... and i too may be looking for a new job...

Been busy finding a venue and we finally got it! =D
Will be holding our wedding at The Amara Santuary in Sentosa!! Am so excited! Very much please with the service they have been giving me so far... and the fact that they only have one ballroom and an "outdoor" solemnization area fits our criteria very well...

Think the only problem we have to work on will be the transportation issues... thinking of renting buses for the guests.

Joy79: whats the number of tables that your looking at?

lokiewedslydia

dear joy

den u shld try oriental!
i went to their weddin show.. their smaller ballrooms r very pretty.. infact i prefer their smaller rooms den the grand ballroom..

u can check em out..! since u chose fullerton as ur 1st choice, $ shld nt be an issue ya

sureli gt many choices dear!

cali

hi joy,

yes, would like to highly recommend mandarin oriental! the food's very good, the svc is good and the ballrooms are very pretty

joy79

i looking at 10-15 tables.
mandarin oriental co-ordinator couldn't show me the ballroom although i purposely went to meet her with the intention to see the ballroom as stated in the email. so i was disappointed with mandarin oriental's service.

lokiewedslydia

whose ur coor. joy?!?!

mine's sandy she is super gd!!!

find sandy? give em another chance!! maybe tt coor. jus eager to close deal she nv spare a tot for ur feelin =)

lokiewedslydia

ladies!!
i found this lady who is doin a clearance sale of her gowns.. it looks promisin here

http://topgown.multiply.com/

do nt see the price stated in the website.. cos they r closin down..
they jus wanna sell at clearance price of $250nett

i made appt to visit her on

17jun at 1130am near aljunied

anione int to go wif mi? hehe..

lokiewedslydia

hi thesep!!
i bought the gown le!!
very gd quality u can contact e lady viviane
she's fr paris.. she n partner used to own this online co.
http://topgown.multiply.com/

but her partner is migratin to hkg
so she decide to jus close e co.
hence e leftover gowns r bein let go @ 250nett

happiness!!!!

piggeekgirl

Yay! I have confirmed my venue loh! M Hotel!

Eugene was really nice to offer us a dinner treat after the signing of the wedding confirmation form at the restaurant at M Hotel. Hehez.

larrby

wow.. so many 30 Oct! I hope we dun have common friends! :p

Lydia, no 091011 is ok, 011011 also nice! 01+10=11!

yipsl

I am BTB on 10 Oct 2010... anyone on the same date as me too???
pretty excited, yet quite lost about what to prepare for customary purpose... mixed feeling...!