(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

piggeekgirl

So envious of you, carebear! Hehez. I can only confirm everything most probably and hopefully in July since June is for my solemnization and mini honyemoon! Need to relax in June and think 'bout nothing at all. Haha!

Maybe some day we ladies should meet up for fun! :D

meteor_starry

ha that's the difference Kat, coz you have a solemnization to work on, at this present moment, so the focus is on your upcoming engagement party.

and agree with u, preparations for your solemnization will be tiring, so you really need to find some time to relax and enjoy in July, your "mini honeymoon" =)

but the process of confirming things can be either "exciting" or "demoralizing", "exciting" when you contact different pple and get to see their beautiful artwork etc, and deciding on your choice.

"demoralizing" when you realize you made a rash decision and actually there are more "Promos" upcoming or better deals, anyway its still early, so can still scout around for better offers and deals......

Yes, agree we can meet up for fun....."if not for the old pple's saying that we cannot attend weddings or funerals" prior to and after our wedding, would have definitely invited all of you for wedding....coz its such a rare opportunity to find friends who can talk to you on a common thing

piggeekgirl

carebear: That's so nice of you to want to invite us! Hehez. That never cross my mind since October everyone should be really tired and want to rest after much planning and all. Hiakz.

I guess what you said is right but sometimes promotions and all might be coming later but doesn't mean it's still available for you. So think on the brighter side~

meteor_starry

Yes, we can go shopping together, or even choosing gowns together to give opinion on the gown selections =) and next time we can even celebrate our wedding aniversary together

lokiewedslydia

hihi!!

ya we can go shoppin n haf tea.. chit chat abt our weddin.. my htb say im too engrossed!

u noe some htb comes to forum n chat abt weddin too.. hw cum mine nt lk tt.. haha..!

michi

Agree...we can meet out for shopping & chit chat, exchange, share ideas on our wedding plan

Lydia, mine too...hehe, i think they are not as patient as us.

Kat, where are u going for ur ROM honeymoon?

piggeekgirl

Lydia, this is not called engrossed. Hahaha! It's the usual excitement that BTBs have but HTB doesn't have. :p

MC, I will be having my mini honeymoon at Taiwan! 'Cos I'm going there for Jay Chou's concert so just treat it as a honeymoon also loh.

Just had my nails done at Nail Haven by Fiona! Looks pretty pretty now but got to be real careful with the 3D art for one whole week! Counting down 1 week to solemnization!

michi

Kat congrats to u...wow nw its counting down to 1 wk. Wah u muz be a big fan of Jay Chou...can also visit his restaurant...Mr Jay, the food is nice

thesepthia

hai , i doubt i can go holiday this yr, although i am no longer in retrenchment but new job where got time to go travel leh, previously was planning for long weekend in august loh

piggeekgirl

Yah MC! I already made reservation for the restaurant and dessert shop. I went to the Secret-theme restaurant two years back.

thesepthia, just save the leave for next year loh. If not can always go for short weekend trip. No need to travel too far also can relax. No worries!

thesepthia

no lah , was planning phuket during the august long weekend, probably still workable .

haha next yr leave is saved up for Photoshoot, planning and actual day and honey moon mah hahaha

cherry_chripy

hey ladies !! I am back ! hahahaz.. was very busy searching for housing . But well.. now everything will be put to a STOP till year end . Sighz .. Frustrating . My future parents in law don't believe in ROM early lo . I really don't understand why cannot . They asked us to wait till next year then get a house unit so we can have our ROM on the same day as our banquet . Arghh .. so frustrating . I don't know what logic is that .. my fiance said his parents are traditional . This is not traditional at all.

So now I have to put my housing search on hold !
My Fiance tried his best to cheer me and making lots of efforts to make me feel better. He giving me a short treat to Genting this June end. hahaz..

Hey Kat , u really tried Nail Haven .
Do u like it ?
So when u going Taiwan ?

Wow.. u gals so on ar.. hahaz.. wanna have outing to discuss on wedding stuff . hee

I agree that next year , we need to take lots of leave . I am hoping that I will be having a new job by next year and the new job also give me wedding leave. hehe

Hey thesepthia, I am also going a beach holiday , but that will be in Sept . hee. It will be a Hens party for my gal friend who getting marry this year in Nov
. hee

michi

Hey ladies, good news for myself..juz confirmed my new job today, will start work this Wed, benefit is better & more leave..quite lucky with my job hunt..perhaps the market is good now

Thesepthia, so u've sucessful gone thru the interview, congrats
..means u'll be transfer to new co. but all benefits will remain the same?

Cherry, i understand how fustrating it is, perhaps a blessing in disguise, may be housing rate will drop next yr haha?

Most chinese parent thinks that only going thru the customary process then we are considered as hubsand & wife..so staying together after ROM is a 'No' to them...For my case, i'm still calling them auntie & uncle everyday, moving in with them after ROM due to some personal reasons...lucky they never say no haha..but i think they also want 'face', think their relatives dunno we are staying together liao...hee

Hee lucky i had a short break before my new job, went to Batam during the long wkend :D

May be we can arrange to meet out end of this year?...=D

cherry_chripy

hey MC, but I am not thinking of staying together after ROM . I will only want to stay with my fiance after banquet . hahaz..

I don't mind ROM early is because of the housing . If I have the green light to ROM early, I will still stay with my own parents until actual day . Cos I wanna spend more time with my family . hee.

Congrats to you , michelle for securing a job u like.

thesepthia

well transfering headcount to new company 1st July, but no change in job , no change in office, only change of payroll, benefits slightly different, but watever they lack in benefits, they are making up with increase in the salary loh

piggeekgirl

Cherry, cheers kz? That's what your name stands for right?! Hehez. Marriage is usually an affair that involves more than 2 person that's why sometimes even more frustration than normal. For us there's no issue since actually I have been staying over at my HTB's house every weekend since don't know when. Haha! So we all kind of used to it already, married or not. :X But anyway I wouldn't move in to live with him after ROM also 'cos prefer to stay with my family until AD. And also since next year we are getting our flat, no point moving in. Somemore his brother getting married this year, the house also more crowded le. Haha!

Anyway Fiona from Nail Haven is not bad but just that that day the acrylic she's using seems to have some issues so it took longer than usual to finish. Total of 5 hours! Haha! I was dozing off. :X But since it's a home-based salon and she doesn't have air-con, my poor HTB who was with me was feeling hot in the room. Oops. But will be better if she goes to being a full-time manicurist since now kind of restricted to only being able to visit her at 8PM onwards for weekday.
Maybe next time I should try gel extension, seems to look more natural!

I will be going to Taiwan next Thursday! So having a relaxing June this year. Hahaha! Relax through June and start planning again in July! :D

Anyway congratulations to getting a new job, Michelle!

michi

Thanks ladies, hope i can stay on to the new job at least till end of next yr

Thesepthia, at least there are increment to make up for the lost..hehe not bad

Kat, so envy..u can go taiwan in summer to shop & watch ur jay chou

Sooner or later, at least most of us will have our love nest to start our own family ^.^ Haha seem like we are abit slack in wedding planning.. hee let us relax awhile & recharge the battery =)

piggeekgirl

Michelle, luckily it's already after solemnization. Can't imagine getting so tanned for it since it's summer in Taiwan now and weather might be damn hot. Hahaha!

I'm sure you will do well in your new job!

thesepthia

hahah, i seriously dun noe wat should i do for the wedding preparations for now .

Cos its too early to do the alterations on the gown and my photo shoot is only like exactly one year away .

I am only thinking of DIYing the corsages and bountainaires like in july , Wedding invitations to be printed ard June, and distributed in Aug.

So what should i do for now?

michi

Kat, i think june is taiwan raining season, perhaps can put an umbrella with u

Haha actually quite true..especially for those who has settled the venue, PG, VG & BS stuff hee. Thesepthia, since u are doing ala-carte, do u need MUA for AD?

Currently i'm googling around, looking for inspiration & style for gown, hair, things to add & diy for the wedding theme. Will be going for a makeup trial in Jul, gonna let the MUA know what i want...

michi

I juz happen to see a checklist from 2009 Her World Brides magazine on the task to do while counting down:

18 months before:
- Set wedding date, have standby dates ready
- Determine your wedding style and budget
- Get recommendations for wedding sites & service providers. Start attending wedding shows & scouting for locations.
- Book venue. Some months are particularly popular, eg Aug-Jan, so u'll need to book early.
- Begin a diet/exercise regime &U start getting into shape
- Start a folder with sections dress, suits, flowers etc to file away ideas. MAke a checklist & tick off as items get done.
- Start reading bridal magazines & checkout bridal salons.

12 months to go:
- Book a wedding planner if u need/want help
- Shop for wedding bands
- Select ur bridal party attendants, bridesmaids, etc. Assign them their duties.
- Shop for florists, makeup artists, planners, favours, etc.
- Settle ur wedding stationery design if urs is custom made.

9 months to go:
- Book wedding date with ROM, church or Justice of Peace
- Confirm venue if u haven't done so. Discuss menu
- Buy wedding bands
- Organise ur entertainment. Ask for vendors'quotes & plan ur music selection
- Confirm salon, dress & suits. Book hair & makeup
- Shop for bridesmaids'& groomsmen's outfits, & ur accessories such as heels & jewellery.
- Compile the guest list with ur fiance & both parents
- Enquire abount wedding car rental
- If u're having a church ceremony, plan the programme & get quotations from vendors
- Plan ur honeymoon trip, places to go & the budget

6 months to go:
- Confirm all vendors for music, flowers, etc. They can begin work.
- Go for pre-wedding shoot
- Reserve rooms for overseas guests
- If u're having chinese customary, plan on the 'guo da li'& án chuan' stuff
- Confirm menus & liquor list
- Book ur honeymoon trip

3 months to go:
- Finalise guest list & start planning seating arrangements
- Confirm Transportation for urself & out-of-town guests
- Send reminders for venues & solemnisation officiant
- Research & book photography/videography packages
- Confirm all wedding decor ideas, bouquets, centrepieces
- Send out invitations for out-of-town guests
- Discuss different looks with hair & makeup people & go for trial runs. Confirm looks.
- Go for banquet food tasting & to collect invitation cards from hotel.
- To arrange for invitation card printing & collection
- Confirm on the 'guo da li'& án chuan' stuff

2 months to go:
- Send out local invitations
- Confirm that out-of-town guests have received invitations & settled accommodation details
- Choose thank-you gifts for attendants
- Organise seating arrangement

1 month to go:
- Chase late RSVPs, finalise guest list & seating arrangement
- Confirm that ur gown & bridesmaid dress will be ready on time
- Prepare fees/angbao where applicable, eg. for JP, helpers, 'xiongxi'& 'jiemei'.
- Fix a date for a church rehearsal. Notify attendants.
- Arrangement for 'guo da li'& án chuan' stuff

2 weeks to go:
- Have ur church rehearsal
- Collect dresses & coats
- Enjoy hen & stag dos

1 week to go:
- Finalise all minor arrangements that haven't been done.
- Arrange & inform bridesmaides/bestman or helpers the task to do on ur wedding
- Go for spa, facial & medicure

On the Day:
- Let ur chief bridesmaids or planner take charge of everthing.
- Relax & enjoy ur wedding day!

Phew..finally finished the typing, added some of stuffs that i think should be included
Did i missed out anything?

thesepthia

hey michi, i already have MUA cos she is my cousin. so basically the basic stuff like venue, gown, PG, MUA all done liao loh

piggeekgirl

Michelle, we intend to buy our brollies there. Hahaha! Actually June's weather is more random of hot or rainy. Something like Singapore's weather eh. :p

I guess most of us are doing the 18 months to wedding preparation now! Hehez. I already shortlisted some photos of gowns I like so that I can show to the gown designer when the time comes for me to visit one.
But for hairstyle I'm always not certain what to get. Haha!

Anyway thanks for sharing that long list! Hehez. And let's all start our exercise/diet regime to stay fit and pretty~

thesepthia, you really sound like you can relax for the moment. Kekez. Maybe just think of random ideas of what to do during the wedding dinner. Or the theme for the day, style for the day all that stuffs.

thesepthia

haha, actually have already drafted out the day program, seating arrangement and theme also , i also given and run thru my photoshoot conceptualization with my photographer already

michi

Kat, np
I wanted to start my diet...haha but say without any action :p My last trip was 2 yrs bk, i feel their summer is more humit than sg & it was raining everyday, at least u're prepared..so it won't affect ur honeymoon mood..have fun =)

wow thesepthia u are really fast..*thumbs up* =)

piggeekgirl

thesepthia, you're seriously amazing! You can basically sit back and relax now. Hahaha!

Michelle, I can only pray it wouldn't be too rainy! Hehez. I always wanted to start my workup regime but just too lazy. Haha! Luckily my dress for solemnization is not tight-fitting. :X

thesepthia

girls, i have contacted some of the sellers on taobao, they either dun send to singapore or dun accept visa master card out of PRC . I will try to write to tao bao itself to see whether they support international buying .

e only thing i can think of is applying bank of china credit card loh

michi

Thanks thesepthia...oh seems troublesome, do u intend to get another gown from tao bao?

Cherry..do u know what much is the wedding lunch on sun at marina mandarin? I'll be attending my cousin's wedding there soon, dunno what is their rate for lunch..

My pocket gonna have a big hole soon..gonna attend 3 wedding + 2 as jiemei within 3 weeks ^.^

piggeekgirl

Yay~ My solemnization is finally over! Hehez. Was tiring but all's well ends well! The decorations at Dallas Restaurant & Bar was lovely! The service was great and the food was all praises from everyone!

It was a great day for everyone and for us except for this one hiccup when Dr Phua arrived on the dot! Since he doesn't have a mobile phone number given to us and he didn't contacted us, both my hubby and I were panicking as the time was nearing 3.15PM. And he arrived on the dot! Maybe 'cos of the rain and traffic. But phew! All was well and Dr Phua is a really good solemnizer! He was really funny and made all of us relax and brought us through the whole process in laughter.

So all's well, ends well! Am officially married! Hahaha! Time to relax before doing more homework!

lokiewedslydia

shan
hw muc did dana chang charge u?
i wanna use her for my weddin too!!!
im thinkin of doin everythin ala carte
so im consolidatin prices but have nt contact her
love hw naturalli beautiful she made u up! hehe

my fren used her for her AD n i tell u she turned my fren into a goddess!!!

piggeekgirl

Hey Lydia, call me Ms Woo! Wahaha! Always think Mdm sounds old leh. :X

Anyway solemnization and AD charge is different oh. Just so you know. Hehez. Below is her package:

ROM makeup and hairdo - S$350 nett

Inclusive of the below services;

1) Morning - 1 x Makeup and 1 x Hairstyling
2) Eyelashes - 1 for day
3) Ampoule - 1 for day
4) Bridal Accessories (incl veil if required) provided for your use - ($100 deposit refundable in full upon return of accessories)

5) Hair Wig/Strands if required
6) Trial Makeup and Hairdo at my home studio (ROM styling will be tried)

7) Trimming of eyebrow – usually done at trial makeup, and if required on ROM day
8) Service done at location of your choice - no transport charges
9) No additional charges for early makeup

I love her portfoliao a lot that time that's why I got her for my solemnization. Hehez. And yesh. Love the natural look she gave me. Hehez. I will be getting her for my AD too. :D

lokiewedslydia

ic
$350 nett is on the high side
so dana is mid range MUA
hehe now i noe..
i love hw she did the mk up for my fren
i'll attach a pic to show u the style i fancy!
urs was so pretty too!

did she quote u an amt for AD?
hehe luckili our AD nt the same! if nt we have to fight for dana! hehe!

piggeekgirl

Hahaha! She haven quote me but I'm assuming the amount will increase for next year 'cos last year I emailed her to find out for solemnization, the price was 300 and then it increased to 350.

I'm trying to get her for my photoshoot also but she might not be able to go if the hubby can't handle her 2 kids. Haha! So yeah.

cherry_chripy

hey michelle! Mm.. sorry for the late reply .
For wedding lunch at Marina Mandarin , I not very sure, But i recalled like seeing it only like 688++ to 788++ or so for a very standard lunch. I think $88 bucks should be safe. But since it your cousin , you might like to give more??? It up to you .

For mine wedding dinner, I upgrade my dinner menu so it was much expensive than the ones on published for sales . I don't like some of the dishes. hee

Congrat, Kat !
Newly wed , a new status ! hehe
Seen your pics , you look really lovely . Love your hairstyle.

Yes, Lydia, please show us your friend's pic !

lokiewedslydia

hihi!!

oophs my fren paiseh to post her pic here
but this is the MUA fb account
i realli wanna engage her.. i love hw she does different hairstyle with diff ppl

she realli gives what u envision hehe..

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Dana-Chang-makeup-hairdo/120549181573?ref=ts

shan!! do u think we 2 can negotiate for lk a better rate fr dana n book her?

hehe.. im gg to prague for PS but i wan her to share wif mi some simple hairdo n mk up so tt i can diy in prague..

piggeekgirl

Thanks Cherry! I'm waiting for my friend to finish editing the photos from the solemnization. Hehez. It's really tough to take photos at Dallas Restaurant & bar, even with flash so have to wait a while more for the photos to be ready!

Lydia, I'm not sure if can negotiate for a better rate wor. Haha! Never cross my mind to do that. :p

lokiewedslydia

oophs
cos im cheapo bride! hehe.. nah la but so far.. my weddin stuffs all gt bargain de..
lk my overseas + AD pg
fr 6.9 to 5.8
nv try nv noe! hehe..

piggeekgirl

True... But 'cos when you know what the wedding show is going to offer and then you have no choice but to sign before that, it's just a feeling of disappointment. Haha! Oh well. Can't change anything 'bout that.

michi

hee i'm also considering Dana..deciding between her & Angel

Thanks Cherry, but oops sorry my dad told me the wrong info..should be conrad hotel instead hee.

Kat..congrats to u once again..great that everything turn out well..enjoy ur upcoming holiday & concert

If u really like M hotel, better settle the deposit quick, some places will tell u its first come first serve..see who pay first. Try to request for more perks...but their usual package is already more attractive then most hotels :D

piggeekgirl

MC, will be meeting the wedding co-ordinator after we come back loh. Hehez. Think my hubby already told the other wedding co-ordinator that we are confirming the venue. Next week will probably settle my venue then! Will try to get some more perks.

Wow, now so many of you considering Dana? Hehez. She's really good. You will be in good hands. :D

michi

Kat, hope u can settle the venue soon

Hee coz i like taiwan style..more fancy on the hairstyle, s'pore MUA style more simple & plain which i don't like.. so i only managed to shortlist 2 MUA, but mostly will engage Angel