(2011/09) SEPT BTB

mrsng

Dear May>> Wah.... hehe i guess u have not attend singapore wedding before right? Hmmm normally we have cocktail reception first, dinner halfway got montag i guess, then after that, groom n brides got to go out of banquet hall get ready for second march in, second march in, wine toasting, den thank you speech den group photo taking. But i heard my coordinator say everything can changed as per your liking, normally they will advice second march in will be the timing before they serve the fish.

Bliss Girl>> I am not pretty sure, but i guess it will be better to go to the shop itself, before i went, i thot it is quite simple, but after talking to the lady from the shop, i realize got some items really need them to enlighten us. They are more pro and will write down what u need in case u forgot, of cos some of the item is only a convenience to us which can dun need to be bought, but overall i still enjoy the GDL Shopping experience. If u wan can go this place at jurong west, Blk 506, Jurong West St 52,#01-180
Tel no.: 6566 0311
The shop name is call CheoK Keow Bridal Co.
She told me the fan i bought, must bring it throughout the whole journey which me n my mom din know, n told me cannot use it to fan myself.... which i intend to do that previously...

maybebabe

@mrs Ng haha no.. Last wedding I attended in SG must be more than a decade ago.. Chinese wedding at least! Seems like our order all tobalek.. March in, speeches, buffet dinner, don't think will hv vid montage, couple of games maybe, cake cutting, dessert then bye-bye! Don't want to do the go-ard-table-group photo.. That's why wondering when to take photos! Maybe during cocktail hour..

dncl

Mrs Ng,
if i'm not wrong there will be 2 fan, is it?
1 for us to throw it out from the car window when we are leaving to groom place. and another one is for us to bring it until reach the groom place (after that i dont know where should i put the fan... hahah)

correct me if i'm wrong.

Bliss Girl, if you want to go to city area. Chinatown market also have it. the old shop have more complete stuff compare to the new one. (they have 2 shops selling GDL.

missing

finally got time to log in..

Sher> sorry for the late reply! have you selected ur cards? I think their cards very beautiful! I alr finalized my card designs, now in the process finalizing the wordings inside the card.. keep getting the chinese character wrong. My dad surname can become my Future Father in law surname, but can get my surname right.. faint~~

anyone of u starting planning ur AD schedule? anyone having solemnization before dinner starts? after planning.. my schedule super tight.. no time to rest.. damn sian...

mrsng

DNCL> You are right, but the lady told us must bring all the journey and put in bag. That fan can block away any unauspicious stuff if there is any.

Hmmmmm my AD Schedule a bit mess up!!! Hmmmm cos i am not pretty sure what time should i let my HB to come n pick me up...

dncl

Mrs Ng, so we must bring all the journey until reach HTB place. then can we leave it there after that?

I'm preparing my AD Schedule.. seem like i will have to wake up at 5am in order for HTB to pick me at 7:30...

puffygal

Hello All!
How's everyone with their preparations?
Im also preparing the AD schedule, gettin HTB to come ard 7.30 too !

Im wondering how long do you gals plan for each tea ceremony? Estimated say 15 relatives to jing cha on both sides. I plan ard 45 min , which need include prepare the hot water, serve tea, take photos.blar blar blar..hopefully it's enough.

Starting to give out the invitation cards too, lolz.. since last week. Whoever I'm meeting, I will just write their name and pass to them.

Josephine, my schedule is even more tight. but i Can R&R after 4pm cos its lunchie.. So from Morning 5 plus busy till 4pm. hehe.

Anyone gg for their Food Tasting and trial Make Up soon ?

missing

Puffygal> you r fast!! my invitation cards still in the confirmation process.. wow.. at least you can rest after 4pm.. i can only rest after the whole dinner end.. faint~~

I alr done my trial make up and going for Food tasting next mth..

I was researching for bridal mani& pedi.. found one charging 138 nett.. is it reasonable?

Still got alot of things to do!! how how how! I nw busying scanning photos for childhood montage, need to prepare GDL items, need to prepare bridemaids corsage..and the list goes on..

maybebabe

Helloo!

@all anyone having dancing at their wedding?

@Josephine I know what you mean! I've drawn up a timeline for everything that needs to be done.. There's always something! I think it's key to allocate jobs so you don't stress yourself out too much.

bliss_girl

Thank you Mrs Ng and DNCL!

Josephine, i'm having my solemnisation before my dinner also.. solemnisation is at 6.30pm.. so my MUA will help me to make up at 4.30pm.. =) and you can check this out for ur bridal nails.. my fren recommended this manicurist to me.. and i did my bridal nails here for my PS.. http://www.miraclez-nails.com/

May, I wanted so badlyyyyy to dance for my second march in.. get a few friends to join us to dance also.. i even went to google where we can learn wedding dance.. but my HTB don't agree.. so i'm gonna give it a miss.. *sadsss~~~

angelme

question, for those that ROM same day on AD, if you were to do two makeup - one for ROM and one for 1st and 2nd march-in, do you tink the bridal shop should charge the 1st one as ROM cost? when i took my bridal package it says ROM makeup at a certain price, now i want to do one more look for my ROM before my AD they are way over-charging me! should they not charge the ROM rate? anyone has experience?

missing

bliss girl> my MUA told me she needs two hrs to do my make up + hair do, for my FMIL and mum.. need one hr each.. then my soleminzation start at 6pm. so think 2pm my MUA need to reach liao.
btw thanks for the link.. the rates looks reasonable!

I attended a few weddings that has dance for 2nd march in.. looks fun leh. but i doubt my HTB is keen on such thing..

bliss_girl

Angelme~ i've asked my BS before.. they will charge $180/session for touch up for 2nd march in.. they said normally the bride will touch up for 2nd march in only.. =)

Josephine~ wah.. 2pm start to do make up seems like very earlyyyy.. no wonder you said your AD schedule like very tight.. hehe.. maybe get your MIL and your mum to do make up first? so you can rest in between.. ;P yes, the rates are reasonable and she don't charge by the number of blings used.. i've went to a manicurist before and they charge like $0.30 - $0.50 for each bling.. -_-"""

pretty_snow

Sun xuan (smileydolly11): did you buy bridemaid dress from DRESSINGCHANNEL? how are the dresses? Beautiful? How much did you pay for them?

missing

have you gals settle ur bridemaids corsage, vip corsage and hand bouquet??

any idea what is the typical pricing of these items?

maybebabe

Hi Josephine

I've only briefly looked at hand bouquet.. and I'll probably get hte florist Im going with to do the corsages etc when I know what i need to get done, so only have prices for bouquet atm.

Depends on the flowers you want..simple bouquet of roses can be $60 - $80 (which is a very good price).. $100 - 120 seems normal for a mixed bunch and it can go up to $180 and above (ive seen bouquets that cost $300?)

rururoo

hello all, if florist i recommend Christina from FleurDesign, she's my florist for church deco and all the misc stuff like bouquets, car deco, corasages etc, everything to do with flowers.

i also have serious problem with my AD schedule as we have church ceremony at 1130am. From the looks of it i think gatecrash is at 7am HAHAHA.

puffygal

Josephine, I also hvnt find bridemaids corsage , although my studio say will lend me, it means i need to return so troublesome.

short survey, how mani days of leave are you girls gg to take before the actual day wedding? Mine falls on a sunday, so was intending to take Friday so I can have 2 days of rest..

any one gg to fly for honeymoon straightaway after wedding? I havent plan anytink yet.. lolz

mrsng

Yeah everyone how's ur prep!!! Rururoo!!! I second u! I oso engage her for my bridal car deco n oso the bridal bouquet!

juz_gal

I'm also missing from this thread for so long.. I think 25 sep is such a popular date (it's my date too)..

I've decided on my ballroom theme, flavors.. Sent some SMS invitations but pending replies.. Invitation I'm not getting from the hotel so I'm currently checking out another.. Will share the contact if they r good..

For nails, how long in advance do we need to book? I was thinking if I may sound too ks if i made the reservation too early.. I was thinking of deniz nailz.. (if you seen channel u's ladies nite 2 weeks ago, u would seen his designs)

missing

May> thanks for the pricing.. keke.. i think i will start asking quotation for these items and do some comparison liao.

Puffygal> my wedding also falls on sunday. most prob taking 3 day leave, one day on fri (before the wedding).. then 2 days on monday and tuesday. cos I got 2 night stay at my hotel.. I have yet plan for honeymoon also.. so many things to plan.. honeymoon nw is the least priority nw...

juz_gal> my wedding date also 25th Sept!
I planning to make reservation by end of next week for the nails bah.. nt ks lo.. jus to be safe than sorry.. keke

xiao_xin7

Hello all Sept BTB! Congrats!

I'm oso a sept btb..

Will be having my tea ceremony on 11 sep and banquet on 16 sept..

have you all settle everything yet?

I have yet to settle quite a lot of things.. now getting into a panicky mood.. Invite cards still pending from the hotel and still looking for videographers (any good and affordable recommendation??)

Less than 10 weeks to go! *cold sweat*

ahsher

Hello ladies...

TGIF!
Its a 2 month count down now!! Guess everyone is quietly preparing yea? hehee

I'd been busy with work.. got a new role in my project work.. thus was spending some time to getting stablised.

Mrs Ng, I don't really have a tracking schedule. So far now, only got my Wedding cards ready. Collected my wedding albums n stuff. Picking my gown on the 7th August only.
What's your email addy for facebook?

Yes, I'm doing my guodali next weekend. 16th July. Well, we have to do it this early to avoid the lunar 7th month ya. Gotta get all the invitation sent out by then as well.

For the picking up bride part, still waiting for his mum to come back with the timing also. But should be very early for me. coz the guys need to come into JB to pick me up. and to avoid jam, we should be heading off early.

Josephine, i'd gotten my cards. The location is really bad. no place to park car.. and the shop hor.. no signboard one. very weird. They don't have any nice silver color design that I wanted. In the end, i just pick a really red one.. haha.. anyhow. Red BOMB ma. :p
and yes.. they got both father's name wrong. plus chinese one print 7.30 dinner, english one print 8pm dinner. and lastly. got the DAY wrong. so it says 4th Sept, Saturday.! its a SUNDAY lo.
Got back n forth a few times before its settled.
Dinner planning for AD? My solemnization is done already. So guess will just stick to normal timeline guide from hotel.

Puffygal, my wedding on Sunday too. and yes, am taking the Friday before off. will start to hangout with my jiemeis on that day. consider my hen's day celebration. haha. getting 2 night stay from hotel. so after Tuesday checkout, straight away head to airport and heading to phuket. back on Saturday. So i'm taking one week full ofleave.
This is just a short honeymoon gettaway. PLanning a real good one at year end! hehee

If anyone going for honeymoon, on F&E. should start to look around le ya. get cheaper airtics. Looking at year end going for a real good trip. WIll be waiting to go NATAS at end August.
My nail wise, i signed up a package with a nail place when i did my nails for my PS. So, I had used them for my PS, my melb oversea trip, plus my ROM so far. Already made an appt with them for my wedding day nails as well. Not planning to very fanciful stuff.. I don't really like. But hor.. its like a norm to do until big big n bling bling??
I'm sure my manicurist will persuade me to take up all those fancyful design. sigh..

Am in the process of inviting ppl now.. really quite a headache. quite a number of ppl is like saying can't confirm now, willlet you know again later.

Things not yet done:
1. Loan car
2. Corsages for sisters
3. Order wine
4. Brothers not confirmed
5. Picking photos for Montage
6. Prewedding video
7. Confirm AD timing, for MUA and VG & PG

BUt i guess... should still have time right? hehee..

xiaoxin7, you can try my videograher, Shawn's Gallery. their pricing is ok but I'm not sure if they are still available on your day. http://www.facebook.com/shawngallery.

missing

Sher> yes I have to agree on the bad location!! I was also quite puzzled with the lack of signboard. as though it was some 'hei dian'. lol. am collecting my cards this wednesday. i also pick red color cards.. keke..

dont worry. you still have for all this.. keke.. i also yet to settle corsages for sisters, prewedding video, AD timing and photos for Montage. One add on to the list is to efile at ROM! need to do it soon man..

xiaoxin7> I'm using Rye Media for my AD videography.. pm me for his contact number if u still need.

alot of my frens ask me am i excited or nt. less than 3 mths to wedding.. i told them i have yet to feel the excitement cos still got so many things not done!! more anxious abt the outstanding items to do!

xiao_xin7

Hi Josephine & Sher!

Thanks for the recommendation! I should be signing up with mirorcreations.. 1 more thing done.. *phew*

Things not done yet:
1. invites
2. wines
3. colour theme (still deciding between baby pink or lavender.. @_@")
4. MUA for mothers
5. bedsheet for an chuang
6. appointments to do nails
7. Projectors!

anything else that i can look out for? that's all that i can rem for now.. running out of time!

Josephine: me too.. i'm getting more panicky rather than excited.. haha!

happydolly

I am thinking of getting dresses for my bridesmaid , is considering Dressing Channel , heard they sell pretty and cheap dresses and accessories. Anyone tried?

angelme

hi bliss-ger, which BS are you with ? My MUA is charging me 300 for the touch up! =(

Xiao xin, my wedding is also split into two days. May i ask do you give ang pao to the VG, PG, MUA twice or only once?

xiao_xin7

Hi angelme,

My VG and PG already include the split day charges in the packages that they quoted me. So i don't think need to pao them extra angbao right?
i think the mua charge me for transportation only..

bliss_girl

Angelme, i'm with La Belle Couture.. =) Is your $300 written black and white in Contract? Can bargain? Oops..

My wedding is also split into 2 days.. And the VG, PG and MUA have charged the split day charges in their package.. I think just give them 1 small token at the end of the 2nd day will be sufficient? ;)

charlenelim

Hi Girls, I am also a Sept BTB! Invitation cards are in the midst of processing. Photos are in the midst of editing! However, I have no idea on the process for guo da li and have not gotten any dresses for my jimmies yet! Any recommendation?

And also because I will chu Jia from my banquet's hotel for AD and I dont have a elderly from my side to comb hair for me. Any idea when can I look for one?

Thanks in advance and congratulations to all! So excited and ganchiong now! Lol

angelme

hi xiao xin, my VG, PG and MUA charged me split day charges too! i tink maybe token angbao ba... split the ang bao into 2 at least look nicer right? haha... have yet to decide anyway.

Bliss-girl, it's not in the contract, nothing black and white, what was quoted was by the MUA, i heard my BS MUA have diff charges for diff MUA u choose. cannot bargin i think. now i'm having serious issues with my BS over my MUA ! haiz.. hope it gets resolved soon ! are you girls asking the MUA to stay on to help change ur makeup for 2nd march in ?

txl

Hi everyone!!!
Its really been a long time since i came in =(
Have been so busy with work and only started with my preparation recently =(
Realized there is really alot to be done feeling real stress now...

Me> I am thinking of getting my MUA to change my hairdo for my 2nd march in too... have checked with her and realized need to top up =(

xiao_xin7

hi angelme & blissgal, i didn't know need to give additional angbao leh...hw much are u planning to give den?

hello xingli, can i know u need to top up if mua stay to help u change hairdo for 2nd march in?

txl

xaio_xin7> ya =( need to top up and even with top up, she cant change my 1st march-in hairdo as im having my rom before that. Only strictly for 2nd march-in.

angelme

Hi xiao xin, for example if u plan to gif ur VG, PG and MUA each a $20 ang pao, u can split it into two $10 AP instead. looks nicer oso.

btw wat time are you girls doing ur makeup for the morning part?

bliss_girl

angelme~ u still got any bargaining power for ur BS? have u chosen ur wedding photos? if no, maybe u can bargain with them on that when they 'psycho' u to buy more photos.. =X

xiao xin~ actually i dunno what is the standard amount for the PG, VG and MUA ang bao.. haaa.. but angelme's proposal of $20 sounds good.. ;P or maybe $28 or $38? sounds nicer?

puffygal

@sher, i also do not like complicated nails, just a simple french manicure with a little blings will do
I have also book my appt for appt..2 days before the wedding.
Im also gg to take fri off and one week after the wedding ! Although I havent plan what to do for that one week,
maybe a bali trip?

Are you girls getting the wedding mattress sheet for an chuang? I dont like the red red one , so was thinking a normal sheet. Any gd places to recommend?

@char, I dont have combing hair cos he dont have, so I also dont need.

@angel, mine b cming at 5am, and my soon-to-be hubby b cming ard 715am

So we need to gif angbao to our fotographer, MUA, small boy who open car door for us, jiemeis, .. and..? I heard that small cousins who are present also need to gif?? so many angbaos to prepare! these are the hidden costs haha..of a wedding

I am now in midst of choosing my march in song, hehe so exciting! :D

angelme

hi bliss_girl, unfortunately no, my BS sucks big time and i am so upset with them.

puffy, 5AM is sooo early! mine will be at 9AM instead, since i'm doing split day.

xiao_xin7

hi angelme,

hmmm.. if unhappy with the mua den dun need to give ang bao? ;p
can share which bs are u with? i havent check with my bs mua hw much she will charge if she still on for a change of hairdo..

btw ladies, on the topic of ang bao, how much are u giving to the jiemei/brothers and the boy who open car door and the boy who "bring" the bride home? need to work out my expenses already.. $18? $28?

hi puffygal, i got a purple bedsheet for my bed instead of those wedding one.. althou i saw a nice sintex wedding one.. but i think a normal one will do la.. u can check out John Little and Metro.. they are still having GSS sales i think..

bliss_girl

angelme~ don't let that affect your mood ya~ must be a happy bride! ;)

xiao xin~ *side track* who is the boy who will 'bring' the bride home? the younger male sibling/cousin of the GROOM family?

puffygal~ i'm going to get my 'plain' red bedsheet from OG sintex.. the SA said there's 70% discount.. so after discount, it's bout $140.. their wedding bedsheet are really niceeeeeeee though.. =/

xiao_xin7

bliss_girl,
no leh.. according to my mil, there must be a boy (brother or cousin from girl's side of family) to 'fetch' the bride from the groom's home and 'escort' her back to the bride's home.. if not the bride cannot 'hui liang jia'..

did u get the shuang xi bedsheet from OG sintex? the wedding one (with 2 dolls) i saw from sintex cost $199.. abit above our budget.. so may not be getting it already.. me and my hubby redeem metro vouchers from our uob/citibank points to offset the bedsheet cost.. heehee..

txl

xiao_xin7> is your a king size bed? Coz i got mine which is a queen size for $99 from Bugis junction. but we might be talking about the different thing
you have fb?
I have a picture of my bedsheet in it hee hee

bliss_girl

xiao xin~ same same!!! haha.. i redeemed my UOB points for OG voucher.. oops.. but i only redeemed 1 voucher.. i don't know if can combine voucher? =X i saw the shuang xi bedsheet with the modern couple print from OG sintex is about $240 wor.. for queen size bed.. my HTB and i feel that it's kinda overprice even though it's after a 30% discount so we didn't buy.. okay.. so the boy who 'bring' us back home can be the same boy who opened the groom's car in the morning right? =)

my fren just forwarded me an email from her Aussino mailing list.. see image below.. for all brides info.. looks kinda cute ya~ =)

1751885.jpg

*pardon the lousy quality cropped pic.. clearer pic from the weblink here.. http://newsletter.aussino.com/archives/Singapore/2011/1310695422160/