(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

Ok thanks all...I dun have figure to wear cs! Lol but I kind of like kua coz is once in a lifetime

Mo >> What's ur budget. Most of the VG I checked all charge around $1.5k above.

I bought my wedding shoes yesterday! Bought a silver pair, which I can use for my CS and EG. If I want I can prob match it with the WG as well... but I wanna get another pair for my WG.

It's a good time to buy shoes now, cuz year-end the dept stores will usually have more dressy heels etc to match with the party dresses. Tangs has a good selection, so does Metro and Taka as well.

If u are wearing a tulle gown, make sure the crystals on your shoes are the non-catch kind, ie. no claws on the crystals, cuz the claws will pull and tear the tulle. Most of the shoes at Taka, Metro and Anna Nucci comes with claws, so do take note.

Kass, ya.. now its a good time to buy shoes! And also Jia Zhuang! hahaha... buy first n keep! =p

Mo, normally VG is slightly harder to get compared to PG. And the average ones are like wad Kss said.. ard 1.5k and above. or 1.8k and above.

I got mine at 1.4k plus. =)

Hi Kass, do you mind sharing with me the contact of your coordinator in GWP? Finally went to see Tudor ballroom and we both liked it very much. Thanks!

Yap, Vg is quite hard to find n good ones r too ex! Maybe I will juz make do without 1. Hmmm..

Michelle, What jia zhuang r u getting? Hee..

Jia Zhuang involves clothes, inner wear, etc de ma.. So now sales period coming can buy n keep lorh. Keke.. And make up stuff, luggage, n more!

ermmmm jia zhang is our mum buy for us de things? how do we know what is needed ah?

do u all have hair combing session?

Mo and w3n >> I really think this is family based. Every family has their own traditions, u should ask your mum (or in laws) what is required or not required. Dun follow traditions blindly.
For example, for certain families, this might just be a symbolic sum of money.

yah my mum got me jewellery too liao but the rest of items i need to further discuss with her ba...have you all plan your AD iteneary?

Nope, haven't start planning for ad. Still quite clueless on the timing for everything. W3n, u start planning already? I will most likely b having hair combing session, coz htb side auntie say muz hav although my mum said she didn't hav 1 during her time. So is not a 'must' to have. Anyway... Will juz follow loh.

Anyone found their wedding shoes? Start making corsages for jie Mei yet?

I hav been looking ard for mattress also. Anyone heard of sweet dream brand? Any review on that?

Jia Zhuang can be paid by the bride. Jia Zhuang stuff actually is for ur use in a new place after married! Includes the luggage ma rem?! : )

I will be having a yi si yi si hair combing juz b4 the veil is in place

I am intending to get sweet dream too! Cuz uncle selling, I can get better price from him. We will be buying mattres by Feb! Hhe

Hi Mo, I have been looking ard for mattress too. I finally bought mine at Englander, model: Hotel Deluxe after looking at some many brands. The salesman is veri informative and good. But i have not delivered yet, will deliver next mar-apr ba, so no comments on the mattress yet. The most impt thing when choosing mattress is not to look at the brand first, lie on the various beds, thickness and firmness. If u are planning to get pregnant, its best to get a firm mattress if not it will b hard to get up from the bed.

hi gals, i have not planned anything for my wedding yet, even PS oso haven take, but will b taking next mth. M not sure wad to buy or prepare for wedding. haha. Any ideas wad to buy for GDL? and jia chuang?

I just finished painting my parents flat so that it will look nice during CNY and during May 2011 when my hubby come to fetch me for wedding!! Need recommendations for painting, can ask me. the painters did a veri good job!

i suggest to take PS earlier the better cause i took my shoot in Sept (for JB) and in Oct (for taiwan) but JB de haven see the edited pics yet and on the first edition for taiwan de. i think it takes sometime especially the layout thingy so try to take earlier and settle it without worries first =)

i dunno i going to buy mattress or not leh. sian cause new house ready in 2011 end...and dunno the an chung is at where yet....

Piggy, u can check with those wedding shops. I've took down few photos of the list of things from them it is approved by the auntie. Went to the one at the Chinatown market upstairs de shop. I will be going back to buy all GDL stuff from them.

Jia Zhuang I think u meant? Will be the stuff normally u use. Juz need all new cuz like starting new life. Another is an chuang.

Added myself to the list! Im on the 15th May!

peekaboo0939 1 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marina Mandarin
Lin H 1 May 2011 (Sun)
kass 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Goodwood Park
KK 7 May 2011 (Sat)
prisci11a 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Novotel CQ
disneyland 7 May 2011 (Sat)
Hazey 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Mandarin Oriental
tangerinez 12 May 2011 (Thurs)
ethereal 14 May 2011 (Sat) @ Goodwood Park
Blackangel1512 15 May 2011 (Sun)
Chloe 15 May 2011 (Sun)
Shareen 15 May 2011 (Sun) @ Orchard Hotel
Purplemoon85 15 May 2011(Sun) Sheraton Towers Hotel
Janie 21 May 2011 (Sat) @ Peony Jade Keppel Club
w3ngal 22 May 2011 (Sun)@ Grand Park City Hall
Michelle Chia - 22 May 2011 (Sun) Orchard Hotel
happyprincess - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marina Mandarin
udee - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marriot Hotel
PrinCess 27 May 2011 (Fri)
Phoebe 28 May 2011 (Sat) @ Swiss Merchant Court
Piggy 28 May 2011 (Sat) @ Grand Mecure Roxy Hotel (Poolside)
streamstarz 29 May 2011 (Sun) @ Meritus Mandarin

Piggy, at least you are taking yr PS nt mth, mine is late March as i still need to lose weight so push as late as possible!

Michelle, I also chose Dr Phua for my ROM on 18 Oct 2009 (i kn its a long time back haha). He is very friendly & experienced and is on time so you dont have to worry abt him. Yr invited guests understand english? if don need Chinese better cos he is a bit long-winded if both languages needed!

This is what i have settled:
Banquet-Sheraton (seem like not very popular here)
BS-whitelink
PG & VG (both less than 2k! very gd deal!)
Guest lists more or less confirmed
6 bros & 5 jie-meis
main bridal car + 2 following cars

Still to worried abt:
have nt chose gowns yet!
pre-wedding Bali in early Mar
local indoor & outdoor - late Mar
wedding cards & printing, food tasting
Wine for banquet-need to go wine-tasting
mil gown-she says want to use gown for my bro-in-law wedding but i rather buy another one
mum's gown-she worst say no need cos she wear top & pants, OMG! i think she worry her figure don dare wear gown
shoes, ang bao box,
mua for mum & mil

Haha my list is so long already! think i very slow leh

Zenn

Zenn, I think many of the thigs in ur list still gt some time, can only can settle when the day comes. Jia you!

Anyway, u r taking ur ps so late! How come ah? Cuz yr end monsoon huh? I took mins during jul n sept. Very early cuz I wanna prevent monsoon period. As my ps od is at desaru.

haha cos i need to lose more weight so drag as long as possible loh.

Bali is a last min decision, cannot go b4 CNY so gg after CNY loh. think okie lah, photographer is my fren's son so he will make sure everything is done well!

Must see how "fussy" u r towards ur layouts.
I gt fren take 6months den she satisfied with her layouts!! Lol! But she v fussy la! Haha

My layouts are ready Liao, going in to view next sat! Weee

Piggy n Zenn, I haven't take ps also! Me onli doing it after cny. Most likely end feb or early mar. Also need to lose weight n gowns also still nt ready! Juz confirm design for wg n eg still haven't even see design!

Michelle, aiyah! Should hav ask u for discount then! hee...I Juz got mine at the furniture fair at expo. Sweet dream feels realli comfi when we tried it. Hopefully it will feel this way when we receive it.

Piggy, mine will also b delivered ard apr. Love the plush mid firm feel. Nv think abt the bb aspect during the decision making but should b ok ba. Anyway, will b too broke to hav bb so soon lo. Bt mum was already telling to let nature take it's course. Oh oh...

Mo, haha no need envy la. Photos take Liao also keep in store room one. Lol. I already plan to buy a storage box den after wedding those things put inside, neater also. Hahaha!

Michelle, once in a life time can take pretty pretty photo wor... Even if keep in store rm next time can still take out n see de! But htb no time to go overseas n don't believe in spending too much. I guess I also don't mind taking local shoot la, as long as the gown is pretty! Hee... *keeping fingers cross tat gowns will turn out alright!*

hey gals, what do u all tink of soft gel nails for my PS in Dec? Can last for ard 3 weeks. i will b doing it 1.5 weeks in advance. u tink worht it? my nail salon is offering me $40 for full set. I need an answer asap as her slots are filling up soon for the promotion!!

piggy, your salon price ok lei... this is cheaper then when i went to do mine in JB..
share contact? hee... maybe can use for my PS as well

Mo, i was also thinking of doing overseas shots but can't get leave, so decided to just do local PS and spend the money on more stuff for my wedding.. like my photo booth, a real wedding cake and my extra cocktail gown for ROM & reception :D

Hi prisci11a, the price quoted above is for customers with package and onli got 10 slots available. tink the slots all filled up le. haha. Normally is $60 for gel onli. den plus classic mani is additional $20. so still cheaper den JB?
U can always call and enquire. its little dots haven. How is your photo botth like? Can share? heehee

http://www.littledotshaven.com/ Tel: 6275 5886 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting              6275 5886      end_of_the_skype_highlighting

piggy, den jb is slightly cheaper.. but then it saves the trouble of getting in the jam on weekends

i got icleeq - www.icleeq.com for my photobooth. They use a machine to take the photos so its faster to develop the pics and unlimited number of prints!! ahahahahah

Prisci, me too! Thinking of spending on wedding cake, photo booth(pending), wedding singers(pending). Yr quote for photo booth is realli v reasonable! U tried their service b4? Does the booth come with props?

girls, what is soft gel nails? do liao is it hard to do house work type? i have not tot anything about nails yet hee...i was thinking just do a full manicure.

I did my nails at midpoint orchard by dawn. She is quite good. Can search her in fb btw. But very ex la. Haha.. So I only did for Id cuz my Id ps on jul n od on sept (cuz of 1st time round od rain that's y so far apart) my od nails I did my own fake nail arts.
can see in my wedding website under y wedding stuff.

www.mywedding.com/ansonmichelle

... not sure how to expain, but is a color powder or white powder that is mixed with a solvent and applied to your nails, depending on what you prefer... the soft gel is den heat treated.. is supposed to be less damaging den acrylic and hardgel.. and it pretty much peels off... not that you are advised to ahahah... you can do this over nail extentions or directly on your nails...

mo, the photo booth comes with props and a customised back ground... u can even get them to customise the photo background for u....
i went to see how it worked at a school party and also i had a friend that also hired them....
it was a lot of fun and the print was quite fast... but if multiple prints, den need to wait abit..

do u all know what Maid of Honour means? the overall sisters in charge should be the maid of honour or the bride's helper?

From Wikipedia -

"In the United Kingdom, the term "maid of honour" originally referred to the female attendant of a queen. The term bridesmaid is normally used for all bridal attendants in the UK. However, when the attendant is married, or is a mature woman, the term matron of honour is often used. The influence of American English has led to the chief bridesmaid sometimes being called the maid of honor.

In North America, a wedding party might include several bridesmaids, but the maid of honor is the title and position held by the bride's chief attendant, typically her closest friend or sister. In modern day weddings some brides opt to choose a long-time male friend or brother as their head attendant, using the title Best Man or man of honor.

The activities of the principal bridesmaid may be as many or as varied as she allows the bride to impose upon her. Her only required duty is to participate in the wedding ceremony. Typically, however, she is asked for help with the logistics of the wedding as an event, such as addressing invitations, and for her help as a friend, such as attending the bride as she shops for her wedding dress.

On the day of the wedding, her principal duty is to provide practical and emotional support. She might assist the bride with dressing and, if needed, help the bride manage her veil, a bouquet of flowers, a prayer book, or the train of her wedding dress during the day. In a double-ring wedding, the chief bridesmaid is often entrusted with the groom's wedding ring until it is needed during the ceremony. Many brides ask bridesmaids, if they are adults, to be legal witnesses who sign the marriage license after the ceremony. If there is a reception after the wedding, the maid of honor may be asked to offer a toast to the newlyweds."

Essentially, she is a chief bridesmaid.
She can be the overall in charge, or your main helper, as you so wish to designate.

thanks kass. cause my bride helper (the one helping me with my gown etc) is not the overall in charge haha so dunno who is then the Maid of honour.

anyway, ask ur opinions...

after tea ceremony at groom hse, we return to bride house for tea ceremony then after than about 1hr plus later proceed to hotel check in. Is there a saying that after we tea ceremony at bride house, we need to return to groom house again then from there proceed to hotel?

gel extension is very expensive loh! i used to spend abt $150 for a set of extension per month till my colleagues all scold me say waste $$! I think abt it & feels what they say is right also then i decide to learn & do my own acrylic extension! haha save $$