(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

Tangerinez, we are on the same day. 12th right?

Hi Noel congrats!! Yes we are on the same day! Have you booked your banquet and other stuff yet?

Photoshoot should be done latest in Feb. They need abt 3 months to set the album. I will be doing mine in Jan / Feb.

Congrats too! We already got the bridal shop, banquet n rings. Juz confirmed our ad photographer last wkend too! Tats a load of my mind! Nw I think I only need to decide if I need a theme for dinner n I need to find THE shoes! Hmmm... But can't think of wat else to do le. Coz I didn't hav a list, n ppl r always asking abt my preparation, Im so worried tat i'm missing something!...

Wahaha you are doing good! I'm still sourcing for banquet. Lucky ours is on weekday, easier to book. Mind to share where you booked? (then I can forget abt shortlisting it haha)

Sorry I'm prob the slowest bride here so prob can't help much. But always willing to share where I can...

I have sourced for banquet, pg n vg, make up artist, pre wedding pics taken n editing pics now, AD package booked, JP booked, left sister dresses n shopping for wedding shoes etc...anything else impt which I missed?

W3n u r so fast! Now I knw wat I'm missing! Haven't decide if I need a vg yet n no idea who to find also. And I should think abt Shoes, Jie Mei outfits, mum's clothes n my tea dress! But I can't coz I still haven't decide on my wg n eg....

Tangerinez, u still haven't book banquet? Muz faster le wor... I wanted Shang but tat date was taken so I'm with mbs nw. Have u shortlisted any places?

Mo (modcoaster) >> Welcome!

Advice on MBS - please make sure u get everything in black and white and be a bit more proactive in making sure they get things done. Also make sure everything is in B&W. Personal experience from doing a major corporate event with them.

I have done/booked the following
- BS
- PG (Both for AD and PS)
- Hotel Banquet
- MUA
- Entertainment for AD (my frinds)
- Mother's dress
- Wedding Rings

I am not getting a VG also. Just a PG.

I have not done the following though
- Accessories
- Groom's Suits/shoes etc etc
- Wedding Shoes
- Jie Mei's dresses
- Wedding Car (though most likely getting friends)
- Wedding Car decor (flowers is covered but not wedding car decor)
- GDL stuff
- Save The Date cards (for my overseas friends)
- Wedding Cake
- Honeymoon

There is a good wedding checklist here... u can use it as a reference http://www.extraordinary.com.sg/essentials.asp

W3n, how abt bridal car?

Mo, my first choice was meritus mandarin but had a lot of resistance from close frens. Now looking at marina mandarin but not sure if can meet min tables.

Kass, that's a very comprehensive list! You even have save the date cards!

Hi all, I'm new to the forum! Having a split day wedding Church ROM on 28 May & Banquet 29 May at Meritus Mandarin (:

So far I've secured Church and Banquet, BS (inclusive of gown and photoshoot but only 20 photos for album), PG for AD and erm.. thats it. haha

w3ngal: I was browsing the forum and HAD to write a post! In the same predicament as ya, bf stays in tamp while Im in cck. Gatecrash at cck, tea ceremony at groom's in tamp and back to cck for tea ceremony at bride's in cck

tangerinez: 3 mths in advance for photoshoot?! Hopefully mine works out fine then as we only manage to secure timeslot for the photoshoot 28 Feb.

Added myself to the list!

peekaboo0939 1 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marina Mandarin
Lin H 1 May 2011 (Sun)
kass 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Goodwood Park
KK 7 May 2011 (Sat)
prisci11a 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Novotel CQ
disneyland 7 May 2011 (Sat)
Hazey 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Mandarin Oriental
tangerinez 12 May 2011 (Thurs)
ethereal 14 May 2011 (Sat) @ Goodwood Park
Blackangel1512 15 May 2011 (Sun)
Chloe 15 May 2011 (Sun)
Shareen 15 May 2011 (Sun) @ Orchard Hotel
Janie 21 May 2011 (Sat) @ Peony Jade Keppel Club
w3ngal 22 May 2011 (Sun)@ Grand Park City Hall
Michelle Chia - 22 May 2011 (Sun) Orchard Hotel
happyprincess - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marina Mandarin
udee - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marriot Hotel
PrinCess 27 May 2011 (Fri)
Phoebe 28 May 2011 (Sat) @ Swiss Merchant Court
Piggy 28 May 2011 (Sat) @ Grand Mecure Roxy Hotel (Poolside)
streamstarz 29 May 2011 (Sun) @ Meritus Mandarin

Hello Kass! I'm a gal too...

For MBS, we have made the deposit to secure the date but have yet to sign the contract. There are a couple of things I need to clarify before signing but they are not too prompt with their reply. Took them 3wks to send me an email with a partial reply. Still waiting for them to get back with the rest of the info.

You list is so useful, I think I can breakdown mine now.

I have done the following
- BS
- PG (Both for AD and PS)
- Hotel Banquet
- MUA
- Wedding Rings
- Groom's suit
- Accessories (Wearing SDJ from mum)
- Wedding Car
- Wedding Car decor

Pending List
- Entertainment for AD
- Mum's dress and Dad's Shirt & Tie
- Groom's Shirts, Tie and shoes
- Wedding Shoes (Not sure if I need Day and Evening Shoes, or 1 pair will do. I'm so worried that I cant find. Coz prefer covered shoes to strappy ones.)
- Jie Mei's dresses (No theme, so not sure how to proceed)
- Wedding Invites
- Wedding Favors
- Wedding Cake
- GDL stuff (Already got some stuffs, juz need to compare list to see what is missing)
- VG (Cant decide if I need 1)
- Honeymoon (Will probably plan after the wedding)

Mo >> Sorry! I was looking at your name "Noel Tan" and I assumed you're a guy!

For wedding shoes, if u want the same for both day and night, get a silver pair... can start sourcing around if you intend to use the same pair of shoes for both PS and AD.

Alph >> Welcome to the forum! :-)

Entertainment for ad, do u all mean music band? I m most likely engaging little dream...coz I dun have anyone in mind for emcee..

Alph! Haha so qiao...tamp n cck

welcome to our MAY thread...

GDL stuff by when should we get it prepared?
Are you all going to have hair combing session? If yes is it done the night before the big day?

MO u intend to get ur own wedding cake n favour? Cause usually is in the banquet package le...

Oh yah remember to shop for wedding rings/ band if u all have not ROM...dec usually got end yr or Christmas sale!

Bridal car got lobang to borrow BMW but is cannot open the top de..we are self driving coz two seater de..if can open I scare hair messy too! Haha dunno what I want :/

there will be a mei po to go bride hse with the guys n groom right...then does the mei po follow us to go back groom hse for the tea ceremony?

w3n, Me too! Friends refuse to do emcee and I wan to avoid the music copy-right issue, so most likely getting wedding singers. I'm also thinking abt getting little dream coz they can do chinese and hokkien songs but hav yet to confirm with them.

Wanna get wedding cake, coz I need to cut into a REAL cake! Hee... it have been my dream to have a pretty pretty cake. SO that die die muz have de! Favors might need to get coz MBS's is so boring! But need to think abt that. Too many extra costs

w3n (w3ngal) >> Just have to prepare before your GDL... You can ask Master Tong to help you calculate the GDL date if you haven't. It's complimentary since u got him to calculate your auspicious date.

I also wanna get a wedding cake! LOL I have not budgeted for it though... But it'll be nice after the ROM. I also wanna do ROM favours, for the guests who attend my ROM.

Kass ur rom is not on AD ah...sorry chat with too many people I m confuse...hee

okok I wanted very much for real cake but exceed budget le so better not ba...

Ya master tong says 4-6 mths before can get the date from him...

mo & alph, welcome!!

Mo, i also trying to lose weight for my PS now... jia you!!

kass, i just realise there are 3 7may brides... maybe we will see each other when driving around?

kass / w3n, if you all looking for a wedding cake just for ROM, can try pine cakes or else consider patissiers for their profiterolls...
budget about $300, if is not for too many ppl...

i also want real cake for wedding!!! htb think it is soo extra... but i think it will be niver then cutting a dummy cake... :p

btw, if anybody is still looking for a seamstress / tailor, i just met an aunty today bt timah plaza (forum dun allow me to mention name), saw some of her work and going to get her to do my mil CS/ gown and my ROM dress..
her pricing is pretty decent.. but i like her detailing work.. very nice!!

Pris: the tailor makes cheongsum only or evening gown for mummy too? Do they show any samples at the store? Thanks!

w3n >> No, it's on the same day... just that the people attending my ROM are my closest and dearest friends and relatives, so I wanna have something special for them and have a short chit chat with them first before the actual dinner, cuz GWP did provide soft drinks so I want to mingle around first.

Oic, very sweet of u kass

I need to save cost so not preparing rom favours etc

for wedding cakes I think pine garden is good cause I used to eat their cakes since young...their wedding cake looks lovely..

Are you all engaging wedding singers?

Hi prisci, to lose weight is so hard...N my htb doesnt help by always having either late dinner or supper. I really got to learn to control lo!

He also thinks that a real wedding cake is very extra but give in after I insisted. on the condition that it is not too expensive. But but wedding cake is expensive de mah... anyway, will sort that out once I decide on a design n the baker.

I have alot of weight need to be lose but very hard n I m not making the best effort, also go supper or late dinner etc...bf is those eat bu fei one...so both eat but only me getting fatter haha

try my best ba but still, must be healthy n xinfu

Wow! Thread is moving! Lol..

Welcome the 2 new brides in this thread!

My layouts are ready, but been feeling unwell, so not gonna view it yet

Juz a little record of mine.

Banquet venue
AD MUA
AD PG
AD VG
Mother MUA
Mother's Gown
PS
JP
Sister's Day Dress
Wedding Bands
DIY Guest Pens, Corages

Above mentioned all settled Liao..

Dono wad I can do now.. Haha think relax ba, wait for the time gets nearer den will be busy again. Haven done my Guest Book n AB Box. I will be viewing my Layouts next week. Actually it's ready, but I'm sick don't feel like going in to view.

Btw, I have a little wedding website. Feel free to browse. Hehe

Http://www.mywedding.com/ansonmichelle

hi michelle, you have a very sweet wedding blog! love the double-xi! and you know what, i was reading through the website and realized we both had our proposals in the same place at tanjong rhu, and the main action lies within the car boot!
wahahah i think we both have shy husbands!

gosh you gals have settled so many things le.

my done list is pathetic:
wedding bands
BS
PS (one from BS, and one free lance pre-wedding)

i won't even try to note down my to-do list, which is going to be endless...

w3ngal, the aunty does all types of dresses... her CS are from $300 - 400 range, inclusive of cloth. she dun keep samples, but can ask her to show u other customers stuff.. heee... her work is quite good ba, cos my sis brought a badly sewn dress from BKK to her and she fixed it so that it looked flattering on my sis...

w3ngal / michelle, lucky for me, my htb not so small size... ahaha but just my height so i look bigger then him lo :s my PS is in Jan, so i really need to buck up .. stress!!!

agreed, need to diet healthily!! otherwise will not look good on our wedding day...

Prisci, mine is taller than me but when u place our face together, his is so much smaller la! sianz! Anyone have any idea how to slim face? kekekke...

Wen, it's www.thedresscloset.com

I bought the convertible dress in coral! But the BO closed le. I ever asked them if they are opening another one they said no. Maybe u can email them n check again?

I saw another one selling in multiply but super ex! $95 one piece!

Opps! It's thedesigncloset.com

Haha.. Got it wrong! It cost only $29/ea!!
Very cheap and convertible to many many designs. That's y I get it. But it's free size! If ur jm not very bigg diff in size can wear ba.. Cuz material is spandex.

Michelle Chia >> Not bad, the dress quite nice. But I dun think all my jiemeis can wear free size, even then will be v tight for them.

I wanna ask, is there a tradition of wearing a single pair of shoes for the entire wedding or for morning session? I asked my mum and she said she dunno, cuz last time ppl traditionally wear a pair of shoes for the entire day (cuz last time, I suppose weddings are not as extravagant?). So I ask her whether we need to follow or not, she cannot give me an exact answer (Sigh).

I wanna wear a pair of ivory heels for the WG, and a silver pair for the CS and EG...

I dont intend to wear Kua but I have seen my FSIL wore her day gold bling bling shoes with her Kua. Looks alright + skirt so long can hardly notice. Red shoes is not a must but if u want of coz can also de.

Dont think must wear 1 pair for whole wedding. I have frens change their heels. Btw I inten to wear 1 pair for whole day, unless I find it don't match to my AD gowns or CS. I am not going to wear Kua also. Cuz I think CS is nicer cuz tight n can see e shape! Haha

Wen, is not a must to wear matching red shoe for kua. As long as ur heels can match the kua can le. Normally ppl will match with gold heels. Cuz kua gt alot of gold sewing of dragon.