(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

LL customized shoes minimum 200 plus ah? I thinking of them too but budget 100 plus n I wan make flat covered bling white shoes haha does it look weird if don't wear heels? Coz I m about same height as bf...dun wanna look like a giant coz I m pretty tall...

Tailor made for evening gowns....u got any intro?

w3n (w3ngal) >> The design I like is $200++, but there are many many designs avail. Do go down and talk to the owners, Isaac and Wendy, they are very friendly. There are many many samples as well which u can try on.

I don't think there is anything wrong with very flats, or v low kitten heels lah. As long as u are comfortable with it.

My mum's dress was done in Shanghai, so I don't have a contact, but I saw this blog of a tailor in Tanjong Pagar and the dresses turned out quite nice, so u might want to take a look: http://youdecidelor.wordpress.com/2009/04/05/moms-day-out/

There are also quite a few tailors in People's Park (above the hawker centre), so u might wanna go there and shop around. Prices vary there. But cheaper might not always be better, cuz my bro-in-law's mom went to the cheapest tailor there and the fit wasn't quite right, had to ask them to make some adjustments (and kenna scolding from them too).

w3n, i did think of doing it at home. but i wonder if it will feel less... formal or special? and also it means i have to decorate the place really nicely to give it a good feel?

quite confused.

Ermmm I think convenience is impt too cause ur relatives n parents will b there to witness soleminsation too...I think u can decor living room with some balloons etc to have the feel...buffet lunch can be at home after the ceremony too! I attended one before in my friend hse n is simple n sweet cause she deco with her pics n balloons etc...the ceremony is simple n very fast...maybe u can clean up ur living room abit ( the place where u will be taking the formal pics with certs n family) should b ok! DIY some decor

ok tks for the webby I shall go cc...

Coz my mum feels that heels can help in our posture when standing haha sure I will go take a look at the shoes, c
maybe next yr

w3n (w3ngal), if u do intend to get the shoes from Leapin Lizards, do give them at least a month's notice. Are u also going to wear the same shoes for you photoshoot and for your final fitting?? If so, u will also need take that into consideration.

Btw, wanna ask... MUAs will help in trimming eyebrows too right?

Sure mayb around feb I go cc the shoes...yah tks for reminding for the gown fitting with shoes

My brows is very sparse n seem like dun grow out le sia sian!!

hi gals.... to the subject of mil / mother dress, what is better ... cheong sam or a evening gown?

mil can't decide and asking us to decide since it's our wedding... what do you all thing will b nicer?

Cheongsam if mummy is slim n pettie n evening gowns for more rounded mummies
I guess my mum would prefer evening gowns ba...

My mum is not exactly petite, but we got a cheongsam nonetheless.

If your MIL is the more modern kind, then get an evening gown lor, but I also think cannot be too "modern" or show too much skin, if not look a bit odd.

w3n & Kass, thanks for ur replies..

heee.... my mil is petite and my mum is bigger...
my mum already wants to buy a EG, so she is settled... but do both mil & mum need to get the same style as in both get CS / EG or both can get different dresses, 1 CS & 1 EG?

cos i dun want both mums to end up looking the same, it will be too boring and it may not have them look their best at the wedding!!

prisci11a >> I agree that both mums shouldn't wear the same thing! It looks too boring and too "coordinated"! LOL.

My MIL also wants to get a cheongsam, but she is larger sized than my mum, hence may not look as good in one, so I thought she might look good in a chinese jacket and long skirt instead.

prisci11a >> I agree that both mums shouldn't wear the same thing! It looks too boring and too "coordinated"! LOL.

My MIL also wants to get a cheongsam, but she is larger sized than my mum, hence may not look as good in one, so I thought she might look good in a chinese jacket and long skirt instead.

initially mummy wants CS, but she tried not so nice.. so evening gowns.. not all wear CS will be nice.

My mummy bought her EG liao.. =)
MIL stil need to go find wif her

I dun think need to wear white. You can wear any colour u want, though most wear white, cuz this is the legal aspect of the wedding. I've seen pictures of brides wearing dark blue, aqua, pink, prints, etc.

So fast mummy buy dress le! Hee I haven got time to check it out yet..

I aso think rom dun need muz wear white, some other color short gowns is aso nice, nowadays alot have theme so can follow the theme color

have u all de both side parents meet up to discuss? What is needed to be discuss ah...

hmm.... i think i let mil go try on some OTR CS & EG, see which she feel more comfortable in...then we will go from there...

i soo agree!! both mums dressing alike is going to be so boring and yup.. some ppl may be mean enough to compare them and make comments :p

i was thinking of a purple dress for my ROM, which means i end up with 3 or maybe 4 changes in 1 night, cos my ROM will be in the evening before the dinner .... ahahahah...

btw, do brides still wear quah for the sending off? or is it too much effort to change back again? cos i dun want to wear the EG to say bye to the guests...

prisci11a (prisci11a) > Why you dont wan to say bye bye in EG? not nice? I think the last gown will take the most pictures though... I seldom see ppl wear kua when sending off guests. Do you have any short tea dress? Mine will be wedding lunch so I planned to change to a short CS to say bye bye to my guests.

Wen, mid DEC they will meet. But this isn't their first time to meet thou.

I would be choosing CS for my tea dress I think I won't prefer to wear kua. (my thinking la) no offense. Den I shall be wearing back that CS for sending guest off.

I am entitled to 2 EG, den I dono wad colour to choose yet. Hehe.. Shall see how ba.. So maybe I need an extra gown for rom Liao..

Er.. I tot of another thing leh.. Lol, suddenly so many ques to ask.. Pai seh ah.. :p

On AD, u all plan to go for both side tea ceremony den go for short shoot or groom side tea ceremony den shoot den bride side tea ceremony ah?

Cuz my main concern is normally this short shoot is take during before bride side tea ceremony or? And normally is wear wedding gown for short shoot one right? If wear tea dress is it weird ah?

i think the shoot takes place anytime after the auspicious hr for FTB! as long as time permits. cause there is no auspicious hr to follow for going back to bride's house for tea ceremony. so personally i feel after all the tea ceremony then shoot better if not the elderly at bride house will be waiting for us at home =) and maybe can just shoot nearby de places ba to save time hee...

ermmm i also got two evening gowns but i dun feel like changing so many for the night leh prefer to mingle around with guests....i only have less than 30 tables so if time permits, maybe will change into another gown before sending them off...is there people choosing two white gowns? one wear during morning, another at night then change into evening gown?

Wen, initially I also tot of having 2 diff wedding gown so day n nite gt diff ones. But to think ofbit, all white white, the design unlea very big diff den ppl will take notice of it. Lol.. So i still prefer change egown.

candysiew, cos my EG is very princessy and yeah, i'm being really vain now... thinking that i wear the EG for the table photos, want to wear something else for sending the guests off... otherwise the photos look a bit boring..

haha the bridal shop staff was surprise cause usually wedding only one wedding gown...but can have many evening gowns haha...

michelle, u received the letter from Dr Phua already? This letter we need to keep and he say bring to somewhere. Btw now what should we do? Wait for Feb 2011 to efile?

I Nv open letter box yet!

He did mentioned to sign n submit docs to rom. Den efile 3 months b4. But however I guess the submit docs part it's still too early ba!

prisci11a >> I am thinking though... will u have time to change between table photos and sending off?? Cuz when u finish taking table photos, almost last dish liao, ppl will be starting to leave.... if u dun wanna take table shots, then might have more time...

Besides WG, tea dress and EG, if there will be another gown, I will think it is better for the ROM dress to be different... cuz u got time to change into it, and change back to the WG, if u so prefer, for the march in....

Michelle >> back to the question on photoshoot on AD itself, it really depends on what you wanna wear for your shoot, cuz after fetching you, the couple will proceed to groom's place, tea ceremony, after tea ceremony, u will then change into tea dress and then head back to bride's place. So if u wanna have a shoot in your WG, it will have to be before u head to the groom's place, no?? That was what my AD photographer advised.

Otherwise, if u are wearing the gown for your ROM, can have ur shoot before the ROM itself.

Yes kass u r right! If take pics after bride side tea ceremony then need to take pics with kua or tea dress...

Michelle: I open le but the letter like got nothing to sign layz or is it I did not read carefully...

kass, have to do table photos le :s .. i will b getting a ROM dress, so that i can go mingle with my guests during the reception, u think it has to be very dressy as well?

time is going to b really tight...maybe end up miss out saying goodbye to the kiasu guests that leave before dessert.. hmm... maybe easier to just stay in my EG ba, at least more time to go back 2nd round to my frens tables
think that is more impt...

My plan is this..

Groom's place (kallang), change TD, Bride's place (tampines) den go for shoot (at kallang area). Like that abit waste time hor?

For dinner part wise, it would be...
Rom at 6pm wear ROM gown, den change to WG or cocktail gown n mingle with guests, den 2nd march in EG, den send guest off in EG.

I am thinking of having a cocktail gown instead of WG leh!
Or maybe I can wear rom gown for cocktail den go change WG for march in? So no need cocktail gown liao?! Lol!!

Wen,

Got la.. the letter got space u n groom must sign one.. =.= Lol.. u too kan jiong read too fast har... =x

Priscila, I choose my JP based on the fourm feedbacks n also i have one fren almost all her fren engaged Dr Phua. Haha! So, I assume he is really gd.

juz to ask, u all de master for timing one is hu? Mine's Long Shifu

prisci11a (prisci11a) > I think do wat u prefer la. Everything is possible but need to well managed the timing. I saw many brides change gown when sending guests off also, maybe you have to skip more dishes... If you wan to take more pic with closer friends, then better dont change. Otherwise, next time when you trying to retain your memory of marriage, it only only left 'fashion show', keep on changing & changing only. To me, I have no issue bcos I only hav 8 tables and many of them are groom's relatives. I think I should be more happy to keep on changing rather than stay in the hall. Ha^^

Michelle Chia (michecwy)> No issue bah, your banquet is at night, morning should have plenty of time to take those PS.

I haven really plan our AD but my bf stays in tampines n I stay in Choa chu kang very far haha so I feel is like not much free time to take shots too...thinking if I should give it a miss...what time do u all thnk we shd reach the hotel to prepare for the rom n banquet?

Okok Michelle I go check the letter again, must be dreaming!

Yah I aso choose dr phua cause I see alot of good reviews in forum...seeing that he is so efficient I feel safe...n so happy he agreed to help us when is like still months away

ermmm frm bride hse gate crashing n praying n bf fetch me to groom hse for the tea ceremony...then wear the gown go outdoor shoot nearby, then go back groom hse change into kua...wah like very mafan hor...

wen, haha.. yeah.. it sure sounds ma fan n tiring..zZZzz

wow, u n ur bf stay really far.. must plan properly. I confirm wan a shoot during AD. haha..

I am planning to reach hotel by 1 or 2pm. actually i did up my schedule le. Roughly one ah.. so aga i know my time..

Michelle >> wah, u plan so far ahead liao...

w3n >> I think once u have finished your morning session, can go to hotel and check in already... Ur travelling time is damn long leh... When u guys go out for dates, does he send you home before going home?? I can imagine the journey for him.

My SO and I are quite lucky, we live only 3.1km apart (according to taxi receipt).

yah we really stay far so i think not alot of time for us to spend on shoot on AD too...so i may give it a miss...

okie i also hope to reach hotel earlier...then sisters can start setting those things and decor cause i am setting candy/ dessert corner...

yes lor for the past yrs he always send me home but luckily my mum allows him to stay over so no worries for us =) if not is really tiring for him haha...

heee......since Dr Phua soo highly reccomended by both of u, check with my htb, to see what he say.... ahahah

w3ngal, wow... really travel through SG -_-!!!

prisci11a >> U also getting married on 7 May right? What time is ur ROM? I have contacted Dr Phua and he is already occupied for my timing (same day).

hey gals, i finally settled one thing for the wedding, and that is sign up with My Bridal Room! wahaha... finally some progress. i'm so happy.

Dr Phua is good. I've seen him in action once. he is very fatherly and friendly. speaks in both mandarin and english. and humorous too. the only possible downside is, he can be a little long winded. but it's the fatherly sort.

but i still can't write to him because havent decided where and what time to do my ROM!

and gals, what's a cocktail gown?

Cocktail gown is so called I invented one.. Lol. No la if u prefer not to wear ur first march in gown for cocktail, u can wear another EG for cocktail den go change into ur WG when u wanna do ur 1st march. I've seen ppl doing this!

A cocktail gown is a short gown that is often worn at cocktails/late afternoon hence the name. It is often used when long evening gowns are deemed too formal for the occasion.

Thanks gals for the definition of cocktail dress. Haha.

What a cool idea. Cos I have 4 outfits on the actual day and I don't really need a tea dress so I can prob choose a cocktail dress instead. Hmm.

Hi Gals, I'm also a May btb.
Can I find out if you ladies have done yr pre-wedding shoot already? If not, when will u be doing it?