(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

tangerinez >> Yup yup, I am at GWP but at the bigger Windsor ballroom. Tudor is cosy and intimate and I like that area near the entrance and the tower! V pretty. Are u intending to ROM during the dinner? If u intend to ROM before that, GWP has 3 different ROM venues, the Mayfair poolside, the poolside terrace or the Minjiang terrace.

U're doing a small wedding?

thanks prisci11a!

kass, ROM is in the afternoon cos of auspicious timing. i would have much preferred to ROM just before or during dinner though.

currently, the very-unconfirmed-guest-list is only 16 tables (no relatives, just friends). it may reduce if some people can't make it (or just don't want to attend) but it may increase if friends request to bring partners.

this is the reason why i'm more keen on mandarin court.

GWP has a min of 18 tables, which even if we are willing to top up the difference, i'm worried that the ballroom will look really sparse if i have only 15 to 17 tables. not to mention the ultra-small stage and low ceiling. why am i undecided then? because GWP has really good food and ambience!

do you mind to share who is your coordinator at GWP and whether you find he/she alright? i'm not sure i'm that keen about Anthony (he was the one who responded to my emails)

tangerinez >> I am with Mei Fung. I like her. She is quite prompt in replying her emails and always available on the phone calls.

Have u considered other places? Since it is just friends, u can afford to be more creative and choose more unconventional locations, such as My Humble House, The Sentosa Resort and Spa, among others.

How about relatives then? What r u doing for them?

Thanks kass. If I consider GWP I'll go to Mei Fung directly.

We are not doing anything for the relatives. Our relatives are complicated souls who do not get along with one another and our parents did not mind not having a banquet.

You are right that we could get creative but we don't have any creativity juices in us. Also we enjoy Chinese cuisine. So we are thinking of doing a sit down dinner but do away with other traditional stuff like yum seng, several montage etc. And spend more time mingling with our friends instead.

Does this make sense? Actually I'm quite confused. Haha

In the meantime I'll check out humble house.

I held my wedding dinner at Peony Jade Clarke Quay and it was good. Alot of praise on the food from my guests
. Maybe if some of you who might be interested , can ask for their 2011 rates.

I like Peony Jade at Clarke Quay too, it's a cozy restaurant if u have the whole place to yourself. However, I am not sure what is their min number of tables for you to book the entire restaurant? If u dun have the entire restaurant, it will not be as exclusive and cosy.

kass, humble house is not cheap wor! haha... might end up being more expensive than GWP...

i'm heading down to my bridal room tonight with a gal fren to check out the gowns. excited!

Tangerinez, The Aisle is not bad, though I have not taken PS. But the pple there are veri friendly and The Aisle forum pple are veri helpful too.
For small wedding, can consider Tung Lok at Central overlooking Clarke Quay. Was tinking of the restaurant too, but my bf wants a poolside wedding, so no choice.

tangerinez >> I think the ambience of the location is v nice though! It's considered the flagship of the Tung Lok group, so prob the price. I also like Tung Lok Classics in Orchard Parade Hotel, the former Club Chinois.

piggy, I just went to take a look at my bridal room and I'm moved. Haha. Going to see the aisle this sat I hope, and then make a decision between the 2.

Time is running out!!!

Kass, thanks! You have so many suggestions on venues! I'm really one confused BTB, still cant make up my mind abt whether to do a sit down or buffet style. All I know is my heart is with mandarin court... Sigh...

Kass, because 3 of my friends, who dunno one another, and attended 3 different weddings, all said the food is not up to standard!

On one hand I tell myself relatives not involved food not good still ok. On the other hand I don't want my guests to leave feeling 'short changed'....

Hey all dressmeup got customise sizes for dresses at 69.90 each. Considered until now the best n most suitable deal for me...u all can go take a look
is at far east plaza....but hor frankly speaking the service is just so so!

dear all, i hope someone can brief me on this..

if my cocktail starts at 7pm, follow by 730pm dinner commerence, then wad time should my ROM (in function rm) be on? 6pm or 630pm ah? Cuz after ROM i will need to go up change for cocktail rite?

i think is change into the gown already then go for ROM then straight to the reception?

mine will be around 7pm (ROM) then 730pm appear at the reception straight. ( i need to choose 7pm cause of the auspicious hour) i find it abit late but hotel says is fine cause ppl seldom turn up so early.

Michelle,

If you intend to change, then I suggest that u have it earlier at 6pm, then u give yourself ample time to change, relax and then mingle with the crowd during cocktail.

But then again, if u have it at 6.30pm, change and then go down late at 7plus, no one will think too much, cuz not many ppl may think that the bride will be at the cocktail. And it's okay if the bride is late, cuz she's the star.

Wen, i seen my fren change after rom for cocktail wor.. lol..

kass, i like ur sentence! star**

think having at 6pm ba. Thanks, i wanna mingle with my guest also.

ermmmm but your friend de rom is what time? if is later timing i think very rush also?

if u have it at 6pm i think can change ba...should be sufficient time...

Hey gals, i have already booked my JP. But i too kiasu, i booked him 2 months ago!! haha..
He was the JP of Christopher Lee and Fann Wong. He was also formerly my ex colleague, though he was HOD. haha..
My fren engaged him for solemnisation and she said he is veri funny..

Kasse, mine will be DR Phua. Heard alot of gd reviews, and one of my fren alot of her frens also engage him! Even she, herself.

I emailed him on last fri. He replied v fast. And I juz sent him my details yester, and it gt confirmed.

Updated! Not sure correct or not and there may be dupes since some of u changed your nicks...

peekaboo0939 1 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marina Mandarin
Lin H 1 May 2011 (Sun)
kass 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Goodwood Park
KK 7 May 2011 (Sat)
prisci11a 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Novotel CQ
disneyland 7 May 2011 (Sat)
Hazey 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Mandarin Oriental
tangerinez 12 May 2011 (Thurs)
ethereal 14 May 2011 (Sat) @ Goodwood Park
Blackangel1512 15 May 2011 (Sun)
Chloe 15 May 2011 (Sun)
Shareen 15 May 2011 (Sun) @ Orchard Hotel
Janie 21 May 2011 (Sat) @ Peony Jade Keppel Club
w3ngal 22 May 2011 (Sun)@ Grand Park City Hall
Michelle Chia - 22 May 2011 (Sun) Orchard Hotel
happyprincess - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marina Mandarin
udee - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marriot Hotel
PrinCess 27 May 2011 (Fri)
Phoebe 28 May 2011 (Sat) @ Swiss Merchant Court
Piggy 28 May 2011 (Sat) @ Grand Mecure Roxy Hotel (Poolside)

normally is 15-20 mins. have to see if he talks other stuff like how to maintain marriage anot.. but i think he dont. urs so late? on stage ah?

icic yah i holding mine at 7pm due to auspicious hours reasons and the venue is a function room besides the grand ballroom so i think should be enough time ba, finish at around 730pm then mingle around at the reception area straight ba thats y i need to change into gown first le...

i hope he can rush to my hotel in time heee since orchard and grand park is pretty near, does he drives do u know?

Yes, Dr Phua drives... but he cannot solemnise for us cuz he's taken at 6plus and I cannot do it later due to auspicious hour.
Now have to look for alternative.

You guys shortlisted any other JPs?

I need someone who can conduct both English and Mandarin solemnisation simultaneously cuz my parents speak mandarin while my in laws speak english!

hey gals, sorry i MIA... been real busy with work.

w3n, you have an auspicious timing for ROM, like me! when i mentioned it to the coordinator at mandarin court, she laughed jokingly cos she said she's never heard of it. haha

all, dr phua is my first choice too! but i haven't written to him yet. mine is on a weekday so i'm not worried about him being tied up with other couples. but more so that he can't make it for my timing cos he has a full time job.

i have been told that he will only be available for lunch.

do you gals think it's strange to do the solemnization at 12noon, then have the banquet in the night?

hey michelle, after u submitted ur details to Dr Phua, how long did he reply to you with the consent form? juz checking coz i see his first reply very first then no reply le hee...thanks!

tangerinez, ROM also got auspicious hr i guess haha since tea ceremony we are following so i intend to follow for ROM also lo. 12noon i think is fine coz by the time groom go bride hse nd return for tea etc, finish everything aso around 12 liao...but better to have it t either party's home rather then going to the hotel so early i guess? at first i considering 11am also de cause that is the "best" time but end up decided at night ba...

hey gals, i m planning to have my rom and banquet on the same day. But i will b getting my bto keys this dec, and i understand from pple in forum saying hdb requires u to produce yur rom cert before u get yur keys because if u apply grant from them, there is a clause stating it. haiz. mayb i need to appeal to hdb or rom earlier!!

Can consider Mr. Chiang Heng Liang as JP.

Wen, I sent him details den he email saying willsend consent form after a day lor.

I juz received his email saying the consent form is mailed put to me already! Fast replies n action! Lol!!

Btw, ask u all ah..
My solemnisation at 6pm, den my coord book the function rm from 6- 7, is it abit too on the dot? Den wad time should I write on the invite to ask guests (only relatives n close) to reach for solemnisation?

I think u can ask ur relatives to come around 20-30 mins before start of ceremony. I attended my friend de...the guests will mingle around, take pics etc n then take some time to settle down...the JP came on time but guest all not ready, end up did not start on time...which is not too good ba...

Oh yah he also replied me le...really effective n efficient!

Yah I think ok ba...ur relatives n friends usually late king n queen? If not then I think 15mins is fine...

Y u sad that you bought ur mum's gown? Where did u get it?I have no idea where to buy for mummy...

w3n (w3ngal) >> Why dun you tailor for your mum? I think there are quite a few tailors that can do this and it is not that expensive.

My mum and I went to get our cheongsams made together!
I love her dress! She looks so good in it.