(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

strikingreality

Good morning all!

Going to confirm my ID today.
Can't wait for the works to start then I can move in soon!

I can't wait to start my furniture shopping!
It's a bit funny though, while you know I have been active here during the wedding planning, I don't feel as enthusiastic about reno works and reading up about renovation, furniture, fittings electronics, stuff like that on Renotalk or in magazines. Dunno why don't have the same level of enthusiasm leh.

kittywendwend

who is your ID?

i think bcos reno is a guy thing thus we are less enthu. i also nv go renotalk when i was doing my reno. i just leave everything to the ID. during furniture & home appliances shopping, i usually go to places like courts, best denki, ikea etc. although i heard from my friends that you can find cheaper places in renotalk forum but me too lazy and less enthu to go to that forum. hahaha..

missbibi

Think reno can be quite technical at times n its often quite hard to visualize. Think we will b more excited to buy furniture n things to decorate the house!

w3ngal

Actually my flat ready by year end only...last qtr to collect keys...do we source for ID now n let them quote? What details do we need to give them since the flat is not even ready yet?

I m quite clueless about flat Reno too! Hope hubby can be more involved in flat Reno cause I m blur about all this

prisci11a

hmmm... i think when u see the plans come take shape you will be more enthu ba... one thing about wedding, guys leave it to us more... so when it comes to house reno, its their turn liao loo

kittywendwend

hahaha.. hard to say.. initially my hubby and i agreed that i will do the wedding prep and he will deal with the house reno.. in the end, i did both.

strikingreality

My HTB is even more excited than me about the house! He is really very enthu about it and took the lead in contacting ID, Contractors, etc, so I just take a back seat and read blogs etc. I am more easygoing when it comes to housing cuz I have lived in very bad, small cramped rooms before during my uni, so nothing can be worse than that. :p Hhahaha. So I am quite shui bian.

Kitty - I am engaging 3DConcept Works. They did a lot of projects in the Tiong Bahru conservation flats... Not cheap though, but I feel they are one of the better ones in terms of understanding the kind of look we are going for.

w3n - I think you can start looking 4-5 months before flat completion. Just bring your floorplan down, give them an idea of what you want in each of the rooms etc, what kind of look you interested in and let them quote you first... You can wait until flat collection or just before then then appoint them.

w3ngal

ermmm ya lor i realise sg like seldom sell stuff that has i love singapore logo sia...unlike other countries hahaha....i just need to find stickers of such...if u all see it anywhere advise me kk! thanks!

kittywendwend

My mobile plan will be expiring in Sep 2011. If i recontract, i can recontract in Jun (3 months before expiry date). However if i wana switch service provider, i have to wait until Sep, if not i will incur early termination penalty.

Qns: if i switch to singtel under my hubby's name, i can enjoy corporate rate, but i got to wait until sep. if i recontract with starhub, i can get my iphone immediately but i got to pay the usual rate. what should i do?

strikingreality

Kitty - depend on how much is the discount with your hubby's corporate rate and whether you are willing to wait.

What is your current phone? How old is it?

I switched to iphone in January cuz my phone got stolen.

Anyway, you might wanna check if Starhub and Singtel got stock now, sometimes they dun have stock immed. I like the new iPhone white! Too bad last time dun have...

kittywendwend

i asked my hubby but he can't rem. he will go check. i rem it's ard $20+.

i have been waiting since beginning of the yr. not too sure if i still wana wait. me now using nokia. i like my nokia too. what i actually wanted is more of the data plan. but to sign a data plan, i might as well get a iphone.

strikingreality

Just wondering... where would you guys like to meet for dinner next week???

Maybe to suggest a mutually convenient location, can roughly list down where we live/work?

Kass - Live in west side, work in Havelock Road.

prisci11a

hi gals, i may not be able to make it cos my dad may be going for a small op on 17... kind of last minute thing, but the doctors will only confirm on this tml. But if i can, i surely come!! will be in punggol.

jasumine

Hi, so nw how many pple can make it? I work at Raffles Place, stay at Sengkang. Y not meet town area? Probably Dhoby Ghaut, convenient for all?

strikingreality

I think Dhoby Ghaut sounds good, cuz got access to Northeast Line as well, for ppl like Jasmine.

But next week still okay?

Prici11a - you still can make it next week? Or we can push it to the week after that...

jasumine

Hmmm, i cannot make it the week after cos my hubby will b back. heehee, northeast line will b convenient for me. but got north south line and circle line too..
and lotsa buses!

jasumine

Hi Kass, i bought aircon from a neighbourhood shop at bedok north called Ban Kim Chuan. System 3 + single split (panasonic inverter, 4 ticks). total $3,600 plus installation plus $200 vouchers.

My toilet bowls and wash basins are provided by hdb. We bought toilet roll holders, clothes hooks, hand towel holder, mirror, bathroom cabinets, the glass plate above wash basins from ikea. onli the towel holder n the triangle shaped glass is bought from a shop at jalan besar. we bought dishwasher from there but not veri good, so we bought another one at Song Cho. so i will not recommend tat shop at jalan besar. But ikea stuff still can buy. we bought alot of things there!

kittywendwend

Kass, i bought my aircon from Hong Tai Aircon & Fridge Trading. below is an extract from my invoice. This is recommended by my ID.

Item Scope of work Amount

[1] To supply and install one set of “Mitsubishi Electric†25,590 BTU R410 multi split inverter $2,930.00
aircon M/N: MXY3A28 / MSYGE10 x 3

To supply and install the air-conditioners in surface mount with G23 copper pipe not exceed 15m per fan coil unit, include upgrade to ½ thick Class “O†thermaflex insulation for indoor unit and Class “1†black rubber insulation for outdoor unit, 16mm pvc pipe, pvc trunking and cable.

Note:
[1] Aircon warranty: One year’s on spare part & five years’ on compressor from agent.
Workmanship warranty: One year from date of installation on aircon
[2] Price excludes power point, stainless steel bracket and any items not mentioned.
[3] Provide two times installation and one site survey for Intra customer.
[4] Should there be any aircon need to dismantle, we will dismantle and dispose it. If you wish to keep existing aircon, a dismantle fee will be charged.

i bought my toilet accessories from Royal Fanco. my ID recommended Heritage but i found it too expensive. did some research and alot of forum pple recommended Royal Fanco. bought my toilet bowls, toilet basin, kitchen basin, cooker + hood, water heater and alot of other small accessories from there. so far so good.