(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

chloe_qy

these few days very busy with preps for my business trip next monday, so didnt log in to this thread.

for our banquet dinner, we have to pay $6k with our own $. cos our table is $1.5k each and we chose the highest grade menu, so we already expected to fork out $. actually we set aside $10k for the wedding (prepared to lose) but in the end, we only have to top up $6k, so we r really relieved and happy about it! thanks to my hubby's generous relatives and my japanese bosses, they bao $308 each lor. hehe. at the end of the day, most importantly is we really love our wedding and never regret choosing Oriental! great food, great service! hehe. we r going back for buffet dinner at Melt cafe next weekend (treat by my coordinator).

btw, sorry gals, i cant make it on 17 Jun for the meet up cos my bday is on the 18th and i'm already booked for bday celebration with my frens on the 17th. anyway u girls can still go ahead without me! i will join u all for the 2nd meet up.

jasumine

Hi gals, i m so nervous! dun know if i will forget anything tmr! Spent few hours at the BS for my final fitting and bridesmaid dresses. Hopefully can go sleep..

One of my bosses already bao big anybao for me cos he scared forget to give me on the day itself. His angbao is enuff to cover half of the table. haha.. my ah ma angbao is 1.5 times more den the normal table amt.

Hi Kass, 17th Jun shld b okie.

kittywendwend

Piggy, congrats. enjoy yourself. leave everything to the XDs and JMs. don't worry, everything will turn out well. sleep early, drink more water.

kittywendwend

hi gals, how have you been? today is my 1st day at work. alot of emails to clear.

i'm a one week old Mrs Goh. still trying to get used to that. how's married life for u gals? i don't feel v different for mine. maybe cos we have already been staying together for years (at my parent's place). the only different part is that we have our own place now. it's really nice to have a place where we call home. although have to do the household chores myself, but the feeling of watching tv together in the living room, switching off all the lights before we sleep, checking on the windows before we leave the house etc, is really very sweet.

w3ngal

hi all! i am back from bali! =)
lotsa pics to be uploaded but i am so tired haha. married life about the same for me i guess since i am still staying at the same place for time being.

wed going to start work le...argh how i wish i am still sun tanning in bali! hahaha

preciousgal

ladies,

NID YR HELP URGENTLY

sorry arh.. can i check with u those taking yr photos in singapore hor.

Normally the PS is how many gowns? for example eg and wg is standard den still gt how many gowns which will be taken outdoor and indoor?

kittywendwend

hi jo, i saw ur msg on my FB. will reply u here instead as i cannot access FB in office.

for my BS package, i'm given 5 gowns for PS. for the indoor shoot, i have 2 WG and 1 EG. for outdoor shoot, it's 1 short dress and 1 WG. i'm also allowed to choose 3 locations for my outdoor shoot.

have you signed ur package yet? i think it depends on the negotiation and which package you choose.

strikingreality

kittywendwend - I think I saw you this morning! You normally get onto the train at Tiong Bahru at around 0830h? I was going up the escalator and I think I saw you doing down.
Sorry for being so stalkerish, but I thought kinda remember how u look from FB.

My very lucky hubby just started work yesterday! He has been away for 4 weeks already, cuz after the wedding and Bali, he went to reservist for 2 weeks, so only started work yesterday! Ytd complaining that he had 481 unread mails. LOL.

jasumine

Hi gals, i m back to office! I m Mrs Tan nw! haha.. still feeling abit tired as these two days have been shuttling between our places to take our clothes to new place..

Haven even opened the red packets. but i peeped at my boss's packet. heehee..

missbibi

Jo: Yep, it all depends on what u have agreed upon with the BS, and whether they are open enough for changes in between. Like my own attire, I brought 2 to shoot - one indoor and one outdoor and they are ok with that, as long as we kept to the time of shoot.

Kitty: We're still trying to settle down cos there are just so many backlogs to clear - like keeping/throwing our personalised decor, clearing my cupboards for his stuff etc.

And unlike u girls, many of whom are staying with your in-laws, we're staying in my house for the time being while waiting for our new house to be built, so I didn't feel any difference at all. Somemore the last 2 days he was lazy to come my place so we slept separately in our houses.

preciousgal

Kitty: thanks babe for yr reply. saw yr reply already.

because my outdoor shoots is one short dress and one casual shots? i feel weird lor.. tat's y thinking of changing.

missbibi: i agree to yr advise too but just feel weird without a gown for outdoor shoot?

Piggy: Hhehee are u staying near each other before tat?

missbibi

Jo: it's actually up to ur personal preference. for me i think need to have long gown cos i wun ever get to wear long gowns for PS outdoor anymore except for AD. ask ur BS to change short dress to long gown if they unwilling to lend u one more?

preciousgal

yeah i am trying to change one of the indoor costumes to outdoor shoot want to go 3 locations leh.

But i am wondering if u all go for outdoor shoots. yr hairdo same for all outdoor?

kittywendwend

Kass, how come never call me wor? so u work at tiong bahru area? where r u working? me stay there and ya, i usually will take mrt around 8.30am.

missbibi

Jo: it will have to depend on whether ur locations are near and if within each location if u have many sub-locations not. for us, we have 1 outdoor location and within the big location, there were a lot of different places to take.. u can also ask ur MUA to do a hairstyle that you can transform easily on ur own e.g. from a bun to a half bun/pony tail. this was wad my MUA did for me.

strikingreality

kittywendwend - Not sure whether it was you wat. Later call wrongly, so paiseh. :p It was like I walked past you then realised, eh, that person v familiar. Your hair looks damn nice, soft and shiny kind.

LOL. Yeah, I work in one of the hotels in the Havelock Road area, so will get off in Tiong Bahru and take bus to Havelock Road.

Are you girls used to staying with your in laws? My MIL always cook so much food that I end up eating a lot for evenings! Damn scared I put on weight! But other than a slightly longer journey to and from work, not much has changed. Must be the comfortable bed!

Piggy/Kitty - Where did you guys buy your home furnishings from? Going to start shopping for furniture, home deco etc soon...

preciousgal

MISSBIBI: thanks for yr suggestion. it really helps me alot. Really thank u wor...

You gals always have solutions.. Xie xie ni meng wor..

Kass: U should eat more lor.. so skinny hehehe..

prisci11a

missbibi, i same as you.... he's staying with me too.... till we finally buy a place.... still hoping that it will happen soon.. keeping my fingers cross :D

kass, i got furnitures from JB, if you dun find it too troublesome, the prices are really good - i bought my room furniture for around SGD2500 - 4.5 cupboards, 1 dressing table, 2 side tables, 2 work chairs and 1 work table....

went to Lian huat: at ta mah hua yuan, they have a shop...just tell them that you want solid wood for everything and no compressed wood like ikea stuff, they got a whole bunch of catalogues.. :D i ordered from the catalogue, but they got fixed up stuff at the show room as well... they charge GST in MYR and do deliveries every saturday. they don't have additional cost for singapore delivery cos they delivery by consol.

michecwy

Kass, i stay with PIL for e time being...
What do u do when u r at home ah? I always v bored leh.. i always complain to hubby. lol.. wanna help when MIL cooking, MIL also didnt give me much to do, wanna fold clothes, FIL everytime noon fold liao.. wanna mop floor FIL also mop in e noon... faint! lol

Pris, i told hubby to buy in JB b4, cuz i have a fren bought there and say it's cheap n quality good. But he say troublesome, etc.. Gonna shop for furniture soon... as in check prices n compare prices.. cuz hubby dont wanna buy so early and keep in their storage space. So i think we will only start buying furniture end of the yr ba... Hse is coming 1st Q! hehe.. so excited!!

strikingreality

I am shuttling in between my place and my in laws place right now, 3 days here, 2 days there etc.

When I am at my PIL's place, I don't go back too early. Usually around 8plus then reach home. Reach home, chat with hubby for a while, then have dinner. After dinner, most of the time I end up in the room reading, watching the shows i downloaded etc. And cuz not enough sitting room, so I end up watching TV etc on the bed until I fall asleep, that's why sleeping more than normal.

I dun usually go outside in the living room etc, cuz my MIL and FIL got their own shows to watch, so I just stay in the room lor. My hubby also spend most of his time in the rooms. My MIL also don't let me help out. She don't let me do anything then always say with her son and daughter (ie. my hubby and sister in law) they also dun do anything. Okay lor. If you say so.

Prisci11a - what kind of place are you guys looking for? HDB or Private? Resale? BTO? I bought a resale, just got keys in April, going to engage someone to do up the place soon, so need to start shopping around. Thanks for the tip on furniture. I might buy lights in JB... not sure if can buy furniture there as we are v specific on what we want. Looking for those Scandinavian/Mid Modern Century furniture. Does Lian Huat have different styles?

prisci11a

Fwah... Kass, Michelle, you 2 v lucky lei, Bo need to anything at pil home... Enjoy honeymoon time ba
will be so fun to start decorating, I really enjoy renovations... Going through mags, books and shopping around imm for ideas heee

Kass, dun really know what you mean on Scandinavian / mid modern century... Is not like ikea style? I'm waiting for jurongs dbss release, bto or private if the price is really good...

kittywendwend

Kass, then it's definitely not me cos my hair quite chui. haaha. have been dropping alot of hair. hubby was commenting that how come i drop so much hair. he is abit worried. cos just a few days in our new toilet, the whole drainage hole is covered with my hair. and our walk-in wardrobe floor also got alot of hair. me abit worried nw. any advice?

my home reno consists of the tv console (living room + master bedroom), walk-in wardrobe, shoe cabinet, bed head, thus i don't have to buy alot of furnishing. i bought my bed and 46" tv from courts, sofa and dining table set in a shop called modern living in Parkmall.

jasumine

Hi, i boguht my sofa (1.4k) + dining table & 6 chairs-wooden ($888) from picket and rail. the sofa is so comfortable tat whenever we hav guests ard, they will fall asleep on our sofa.. but washing will b veri difficult cos its fabric.

We bought curtain rods from ikea and ask contractor to fix in all rooms except mbr. den my hubby auntie helped us to sew curtains cos she say the curtains at ikea not veri gd. keke.. if u all wan, i can try ask my hubby auntie whether she wan to earn extra income.. disclaimer: curtains may not b same height. but its hidden at behind the sofa, so still acceptable. we veri chin cai. but the materials n colour she chose for us is veri nice. shall take pictures n post on fb.

strikingreality

Kitty - is not you?? From far the hair looks quite soft and shiny leh. Never see up Close lah. :p. Quite straight, never tie up, reddish brown. I think you may be quite stressed from the wedding?? I drop hair when I v stressed... You can monitor and see if situation improve now that wedding's over. Also watch your sodium intake.

Prisci11a - got Jurong DBSS?? I never knew but clementi should have a DBSS releasing within the next 12 months. Land already sold by HDB so waiting for developer to come up with plans and prices. It's near the police Stn there if you know clementi well.
I also dunno how to explain mid modern century. It's referring to designs from the 1930s to 1970s. Retro but not quite as well... Hard to explain. If you google mid modern century can find many image examples. :p

w3ngal

I m starting to research for Reno n decor for house too, which magazines r gd? Btw u all go which part of JB to buy the furniture ah?

prisci11a

Kass, taman jurong n lakeside had 2 land tenders last year end. Ooo also will look out for clementi de
police station v good location. Heee went to google - look retro but more clean lines, so u going to look for vintage furniture? Nice
can do something special for e walls as well
fun!

Wen, ta ma hua yuan has a shop - lian huat or if you drive can go to taman molek got quite a lot of furniture, light n sanitary ware shops. Its nearby to carrefoure in jb..

prisci11a

Kitty, mb u wanna cut your hair, give ur hair roots a rest, after my perm and trim, hair drop reduced.. But could it b cos u pregnant so experiencing hair loss? My Fren had it quite bad when she was pregnant...

strikingreality

Prisci11a - yeah... vintage may be the right word to use. Modern Vintage. LOL. Sounds like an oxymoron. :p My house already have an existing feature wall, so intending to keep it and update it to a nicer finish.

w3n - maybe you can start by looking at the local mags like Home&Decor and SquareRooms and look at the kind of looks you like for your house. After graduating from here, can also head to Renotalk, read the t-blogs, lots of interesting information in there as well.

michecwy

Kass, oh.. cuz i feel weird not helping out and so boring at home! sigh... =x

hubby have been looking thru forums on reno and also reno loan, furnitures, etc.. i basically just listen lor.. haha but the kitchen is mine! =p

kittywendwend

Kass, your desc sounds like me.. hahaha. i was wearing a grey top and a black skirt ytd. anyway we will sure to bump into each other quite often in future.

pris, me also thinkin of cutting my hair but my hubby dun allow. he likes girls with long hair. i'm thinking of switching shampoo. recently there is this shampoo, endorsed by Faye wong. i heard it is made of chinese herb. not sure if it's good. i don't think i'm preg, not so soon bah. hahaah.. unless my hubby super accurate. hhaha..

kittywendwend

5 more days to go... in 5days' time, i will be able to recontract and buy myself a iphone. hahaha... have been waiting for the longest time. me still using nokia phone now. i think i shld be one of the minority still using a non-iphone phone.

kittywendwend

so mich, do you still drop hair now? mine quite jialat. hubby said tat my scalp is quite unhealthy and is starting to bald, esp on the hair parting line.

jasumine

Hi Kitty, mayb u can use loreal damaged hair conditioner? I used to drop alot of hair when blowing, combing hair. but after my wedding, i went guardian n bought a small bottle of conditioner, my hair oso dropped, but not so much, n its much smoother. mayb u can buy a small bottle to try.

I miss Tiong Bahru!! sob sob..

kittywendwend

Piggy, your parents' place is at tiong bahru? so qiao. where do u stay in tiong bahru and where do you stay now?

pris, me also thinking of trying the BA WANG. hahaha.. my friend told me that it doesn't work for him. maybe i will try both "chase wind" and "ba wang" when i finish my current shampoo.

michecwy

kitty, the salon actually told me those chinese herbs shampoo makes hair dry... an "crispy - like" which i think so.. but can use alternately sometimes ba...

missbibi

kitty: my hubby prefers me with short hair cos it looks like his fave video character haha.. maybe u shd try changing the parting of your hair so the weight of the hair doesn't pull the line even farther apart. Also try cutting ur hair shorter, like shoulder length if he still wants u to have long hair so it's not so heavy and the dry ends can be trimmed away.

kittywendwend

Piggy, i used to hang around bukit purmei cos i have a group of friends staying there.

missbibi, i'm thinking of trimming it so that it wun be too heavy. changing hair parting is a challenge aahaha... cos i have this parting for quite some time already. may be abit hard.

btw, i just received some comments from my colleagues who attended my wedding dinner on 22 may. 2 got mild food poisoning, 1 got diarrohea and 1 vomitted. i have sent an email to my hotel coord. hopefully she can give me a satisfactory answer.

strikingreality

kittywendwend - Then I am quite sure I saw u ytd... I remember the grey shirt, think the chiffon kind...

Your hotel is Pan Pacific right? Let me know if you need help if you're not getting a satisfactory response from them. Who is your coord? Linda?
I also wanna change hair parting, but everything I go to my hairdresser, tell her wanna change, then she will change for me, but go back home, parting go back to original liao... maybe just trim a bit shorter lor... I am tempted to curl my hair though....

missbibi

Kass & Kitty: use clip for the first few wks.. no choice, after a while it will be ok le.

Kass: u go girl! i always believe in ur lifetime, when u still have the youth, to try every hairstyle at least once. so i've done long, short, straight, permed, bangs & long fringe le

kittywendwend

kass, i have sent a few emails to Linda. i think she is on leave cos another lady called me today to follow up. she said she will investigate and revert. let's wait for the outcome.

and yes, i think it's me that u saw ytd. ahahah.. such coincidence. i will look out for u when i go to work. hahaha..

prisci11a

kass, i second missbibi, go try a perm if you haven't done it before :D i find after perm, my hair alot easier to manage ...ahahahahah

i also enjoy changing my hair style, else i get really bored :S anyway long thick straight hair - too long to dry

kitty, must make your hotel give you a good answer!! how can serve food like dat!! for your hair - you wanna go thinner your hair if you want to keep it long to lighten the scalp load, or else try some scalp treatment? yup, referring to ba wang, but if that is too drying, use it on alternative days and then with conditioner?