(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

chloe_qy

missbibi, ur outdoor PS r very nice, fun pictures! i also have unused instant mini films, left with 4 boxes. but i've given it to my fren who lend us her camera, i bought mine @ $12 though.

jasumine

I have not graduated!! Just collected my marriage cert today n nw back in office. Will onli b on leave this fri and next mon.

Will go for final fitting n collection of gowns, tying of bridal car this fri!! getting excited liao. haha

First two weeks is abit diff as i got mth end reporting. prob mid month, thur or fri will b good!

strikingreality

missbibi - Wah! Love your vid! I dun think my hubby will ever do this for me! LOL.

prisci11a

Any Friday I'm ok now

Missbibi, love e video!! Soo cool.... N ur pg v fast, already done w morning pics... Hope mine will b ready by next week tio

chloe_qy

Prisc, i also havent get my photos, just got a few sneaks on photo card size, my pg said it will be ready by this wkend!

Missbibi, love ur pre-wed love story! I think it's really worth the spending!

kittywendwend

Hi gals, finally have time to come online. Came back from hotel this morning. Spent whole afternoon setting up Internet connection, unpacking my luggage, and then packed clothes from my old place to our lovenest. Went for a movie in the evening and were packing my luggage just now for my mini moon tomorrow. We are going to Pangkor Laut!!!

My wedding was perfect for me. Although there's a little hiccups on the table arrangement, I left it to my hubby to settle. Haha. My hotel coordinator is very sweet. Keep asking me to order room service but we didn't. And she made a reservation for us at the hotel restaurant for dinner last night. I requested for 5 pax cos I wana ask my parents and sis along. I told her that we will pay for the extra 3 pax. In the end she took care of the total bill. Really sweet.

So glad that everything went well. All the efforts and time spent to prepare this wedding are all worth it. Now I'm lying on my new bed, at my new place. Feel so good to have my own place.

missbibi

Wa Chloe where u get the lobang to buy it at $12 for?

Kass: luckily my husband also very
爱演 n spontaneous. He danced in with me n the brothers m sisters for 2nd march in n surprised me with a song performance. He can dance in front of the crowd but v shy to sing in front of everyone one.

Yup my AD PG very efficient. By the evenin the morning photos were loaded. Then by Mon evening the 2 CDs r ready for collection. Think its cos I'm only getting back uneditted soft copies tts y.

Fri evenings are good for me too!

preciousgal

i am so envy u all all graduated =(

btw i cannot find the jp u all toking about the MR chiang.

That time i still saw it. now is totally removed?

Who has his contact?

preciousgal

kass: Oh.. u gt his contact email? or can goggle to find his email?

I wanted DR phua leh.. But hor he cannot confirm ask me look others first headache..

missbibi: I think is quite miserable to plan.Alot of things nid to be accomodated.

I find that normally if is a bride wedding i thought surrounding should actually accomodate us? but i feel is the other way round?

missbibi

Jo: dun feel too upset. It's like tt one. Esp the parents n in laws, can't say no to them. So need to reach a compromise lo

strikingreality

Joanna - the email is [email protected]

Also you must remember, the wedding is not the bride's (yours). The wedding is both yours and your HTB's. And ultimately a marriage is between you and him and his family.
So yes, unfortunately, you will have to take into account their opinions as well, but don't think in terms of winning or losing when negotiating with them, try to reach some middle ground and compromise...

Today I went home shopping at Tangs and Isetan! Bought 2 more bed sets and the designs are really pretty and pretty reasonable pricing of around $120.
Then also bought cutlery for the new place which we still have not started renovating yet, cuz have not found ID/Contractor... Anyone else will be doing up their homes soon???

I can feel my wallet bleeding already for the next few months...... this time even more so than the wedding, cuz wedding got angpow, but building a home is completely from our own pockets!

prisci11a

Jo, wedding Banquet is about e parents, all the traditional stuff u do will be cos of e parents. Only thing that is e bride's or couples own will be ur gowns n ur rings... N any extra things that u plan to do... Weddings are nvr the bride's wedding, just that u will be the one everybody look at on ur wedding day... That's about it.....

Till now my mil is asking y we didn't do a childhood montage :p

prisci11a

Kass, u so domestic Liao.... I went tangs and got 2 dresses at island shop for $50.... Renovating is alot of fun!! Any idea in mind yet? Got a friend's dad who does renos

preciousgal

Missbibi: yeah quite true lah. But sometimes just feel miserable like everything is not going Yr way

Kass: thanks for the email address. True lor nO matter Hw some parties will be unhappy

Great Singapore sales start le wor..Can start to buy those electrical appliances.I think maybe my wedding I m completely broke.

By the way u gals banquet able go break-even?

Priscilla: I agree but some htb thinks that the whole wedding is a gals thing like planning all this should be done by us instead. Sometimes I feel that Is not fair at all.

Wah $50 is a good deAl for that brand dresses

Kass and pricilla u all Ck tang member arh? Gt newsletter meh? Cos I nv receive leh

prisci11a

Jo, its like dat... Guys dun want to get e whole barrage of wedding preps. You need to filter down before you talk to him... Like choosing PG / vg... U short list mb 5 and show him e website of the 5... Sit w him, else he will 'forget' to see. Also assign duties n responsibilities for him - eg his xd, how many he inviting, his guests lists, his parents lists, any request or requirements from his parents.. And anything you think he will do and is better at it then you..

Wedding is a family thing but yup, you get to do most of e work. Suggest to make things easier for you, list down all the things that you want to do n have, what your parents want n get him to check what his parents want ... The parents list will grow when your wedding date gets closer, because of all e 'helpful' advise from their friends n relatives.. Bear w that....

Wah damn long lo ... Ahahah

strikingreality

Yes... It's meant to be a joint effort, not the effort of one party only. So do assign tasks to him and always remind him. Give him a due date as well. Girls are generally more kan cheong and will plan ahead, while guys like having the pressure of time. Get him to liaise with his parents on his parents requests and requirements. Cuz it will be easier on you and if your in laws have unreasonable requests, ur hubby will know how to reject them or deal with it better than you.

And YES, parents list will always grow longer closer to the date! And always expect the unexpected from the parents! Don't think they are modern and won't follow traditions, deep down, they can be v traditional. LOL. THat's what I learnt about my mum.

Btw, my mobile no. is registered with Tangs, so 12% rebate they will normally send sms. I dun think I have received their newsletter before leh.

I tentatively set 17 June as the meetup date can? Sent you guys an FB event invite! Joanna, you wanna join us?

strikingreality

Joanna - when are you moving to your new home? If not before your wedding, don't buy too early, cuz electrical appliances go outdated quite quickly. If you buy now for December, there might be a newer model by December.

You can start shopping for bedlinen, kitchenware and furniture though.

preciousgal

priscilla: ya this is what i did lor. But he will say ni xi huan jiu hao. because he thinks that the wedding thing is women's dream wedding so everything will be decided by us. Even though, he give us opinion we may not like it and ultimately we will still make the decisions.However we ourselves sometimes has indecisive decision tat's y ask him for opinions.

Yeah i guess his family side he will handle if not will be damm busy.

KASS: Quite true. I think my mother is much more traditional kind definitely will have a long list..

i totally agree with what u say. however, sometimes i see other guys like very helpful like some of yr husband actually quite helpful which i am so envy about.

No wor.. my new home still building not so fast!! If not hor, i really think is quite stressful cos u wan yr new home to be nice need to engage designer to design and buy those furniture also $$
Just DIY the room will do.

May i ask u all gotten new flats? or joining yr husband family first?

preciousgal

oh no wonder so is not under a collabration of those credit card with tangs?

Kass thanks for the invite. will let u know again hehe =X. But definitely will be glad to join all of u..

michecwy

Girls, I'm back in sin! :D

The first night at his hse after the hotel stay i got too emotional and cried. Cuz I missed my family..
I think it takes time to get use ba..

I will update those videos soon. however videos n photos from the PG/VG gonna wait for about 1 month. I love my wedding! And I miss to wear gowns and those pretty hairdo! I managed to change 4 gowns for the evening! Including one during ROM. I love everything about my wedding!

michecwy

Jo, I think u were asking on break-even for e banquet? I wanna know about others too!! For us, we "earned" about $3k-$4k.

Am staying at kallang at PIL hse. Our lovenest is still building e interior. Should be ready 1st quarter.

Btw regards to e meetup, it's on e 17th?

jasumine

Hey gals, glad tat u all had a great wedding! Hope mine will b as fun as yours! Pls do not rain today n Tmr!!

Ask u ah, if mua comes in the morning n evening, do I give 1 or 2 red packets??

preciousgal

michelle: Wah not bad wor.. hw much is yr banquet per table?

Omg did your hubby and his parents ask u what happen? Is normal tat u cry. OMG u manage to have time to change 4 X? hw about hairdo? did u change 4X too.

Piggy: last lap to your preparation. Sleep early and be a pretty bride.

prisci11a

piggy, jiayou and have fun tml!!

michelle, steady lor, can change 4 times.... i too lazy only had my WG & EG... spent my little bit of extra time taking photos at my photo booth...ahahahah

i also breakeven, which was quite miraculous cos my mum kept her 6 tables of APs and my MIL tables lost $$.... so blessed for the generosity of my friends and so glad i never nio with AP going to all my friends wedding ahahahahahah!!

preciousgal

ladies i got something in mind. when u all gate crashing hor. how do yr JM knows that the angbao money is sufficient? like won't they ask for more?

strikingreality

piggy - I put 17 June, cuz you mentioned 1st 2 weeks u need to do month end reporting. Maybe you suggest what date is good for you? Preferably with at least 1-2 weeks notice, so that everyone can make it???

Michelle - I think it's normal to cry. In the 1st 2 days I went back to my parents place, I also cry when I am about to leave for my in laws, cuz I don't wanna leave. Usually just tear in front of hubby, not in front of my parents lah, though I think they know.

I changed 3 times in the evening, changed my hairstyle once, and look twice. WG for solemnisation, then change to tea dress and change hairstyle and makeup for cocktail, then change back to WG for 1st march in and and EG for 2nd march in.
Everyone loved my tea dress, so I am glad I managed to "parade" it.

Do you also include parents angpow to us during tea ceremony in counting whether you break even? For us, we are surprised we managed to break even even without considering parents angpow, cuz we have about 1 table of guests who are our XDs who were also singing. Realised that they didn't give AP, which to be honest, is a lil disappointing.

Also got some other cheeky guests never give angpow, cuz even including the APs with no names, we still have quite a few guests "unaccounted for". Having said that, I also had some friends who gave a lot more than expected.

prisci11a - For me, it's our relatives that saved us! They were all really generous, esp from my parent's and my MIL's side of relatives.

I also had a guest who gave me Taka vouchers for my APs. And I also had an angpow in RMB (China currency)! It was a huge angpow though - 4 digit sum. Just not in the correct currency. :p

I am SO glad I booked my table early and got a very good rate for my banquet. If I had booked later, I confirm would not have broke even. My cousin who had her wedding a few months before mine (but booked later than me) in the same venue lost 8-9k.

kittywendwend

Hi gals, greetings from Pangkor Laut. It's my last day here. I'm waiting for the ferry to bring us to the jetty and from there take a van to the airport.

I lost quite alot of money for my banquet, around $5k+. quite sian but nvm. Lucky the tea ceremony saved us abit so nett nett we lost about $2k.

Me moved to my new place after I came back from the hotel stay. I didn't cry cos I was actually quite looking forward to it. Hahah. Anyway my new place is very near my parents' place. Just one street away.

Jo, just to share some of my experience during the wedding. When I was doing the itinerary, I realized that only my JMs took the effort to read. My hubby told me that during the XDs meeting, they never read. They only go through verbally. But only the actual day, they really did very well. I think the most important thing is to get a reliable and experience overall coordinator. Our overall OIC is quite experienced cos he just had his wedding last year and most of the XDs have experience being a XD so everything turned out well.

michecwy

Jo, wad mine is... Day I wore the day time wedding gown, den back to mil hse I changed into CS. Then my rom I wore a purple evening gown. And managed to mingle awhile with that gown. Then I changed to night time wedding gown, followed by my champagne evening gown, and before the dessert I told e manager to serve e dessert later as I wanna change to my CS again to send guests off.
Cuz I love e CS and all my relatives love it too!

For AP, my parents takes 9 tables of ap to keep. As 5 tables given by groom n 4 tables dad pays for it. And the ap all included as in ceremony n dinner. There's still some ap not included yet (yea ceremony at my hse) cuz I kept it there nv bring to hotel.

I cried infront of hubby only. Den next morning eyes swollen, maybe fil knows lor. Haha!!!

I juz went back to Niang Jia, pass mummy some goodies bought from Genting.. And stayed there for awhile... Going back on Sunday too!! :p mummy gonna cook dinner! Hehe

preciousgal

kass: Omg this guest is so thick skin? And the XD abit too much leh. Luckily u manage to breakeven.

How much is yr cousin per table? I am getting worried about mine. Pardon me for asking. how much did u gals saved up for the whole banquet? like set aside?

kass if already set the limit but how do yr JM knows tat this is the price for the gate crashing? did u all tell them in advance?

Kitty: how was yr trip? At least 2k is not so bad. Nvm impt is the process of the whole thing at least u are a happy bride. Wah.. is a good thing that u stay near to your parents.

so overall not so bad since they gt experience. But abit risky to read though verbally and nv rehearse. sometimes the more u get worried, the more things will goes wrong.

preciousgal

michelle: i am totally impressed by you. you really plan yr time beri well. I like it so much.

Btw did u all go for outdoor shoot on the actual day? if yes normally is after yr husband come and fetch u den go for photoshoot den go to groom house serve tea den change to tea dress den go back to your own hse for tea serving?

and which CS u referring the purple one in the PS? the one bare yr body behind de?

is normal every bride will cry de. But i try not to because if i cry all my make up will go messy and also at one glance can see that i did cry before. but very hard to control tears from rolling down.

michecwy

Jo, we didn't really put aside money for banquet. Only use our money on PG/VG/MUA/BS those small stuff. The banquet money, we paid by credit card ma.. Asked bank to increase limit. And we juz paid to bank only.. We don't count our ap immediately on Sunday. Monday night den count. Thankfully most of hubby's relatives bao alot.

julia85

michelle chia: The first night at his hse after the hotel stay i got too emotional and cried. Cuz I missed my family.. I think it takes time to get use ba..

sis! i miss u too! feels weird w/o u in the room!

michecwy

I didnt cry on AD. Only tears in mu eyes frame. I cried on Monday night when I am about to slp. :x

The CS I have is fushia in colour, high collar plus bare back. Purple one is my rom evening gown!

We went PS after he fetch me. Cuz I wanna wear WG for e shoot. If I go his hse den go ps I will be wearing CS le.

preciousgal

michelle: yeah i think i saw the one is damm pretty.but i know there is one is bare back all the way den u take picture and show yr back in yr bridal shoot. But cannot remember the colour. Nid to go and peek again haha..

Oh but gt ample time for ps? dun have shi chen when jin cha?

OH same lor..but am wondering nid to save until how much in case banquet lose money mah =X

strikingreality

Joanna - yeah, tell them in advance. Or else they also dunno what is the target amount to open the door... In fact, all the gatecrash angpow is bao by me, so I know how much my HTB has and is going to give and in what order. LOL.

My wedding dinner was $1038++ for nine course, My cousin paid $1188++. Both on Saturdays. The more expensive your dinner, the less probability of earning, cuz friends may not necessary give according to table price.

michecwy

Jo, that one is my ps gown. All my ad gowns r diff from my ps.
I got diff sets of gowns for ps n ad.

Sis, haha.. Yalo. I feel weird also.

michecwy

Jo, tea ceremony no time one.. Time given is groom between 7-11 must reach my hse. But also cannot too late, later reach hotel late. I initially wanted to slp awhile in e hotel, but no time at all. Haha!

Yes, I have ample time for PS.
it's fun having sisters n brothers to join in e fun!

prisci11a

Kass, my relatives were also generous but mil friends all give $50 - 80 angpows and there were 4 tables of them so that y her side lost $$ overall. My tables cheaper lah, only $968++

For my mum, she keep all e Ang pows n din pay for any of e tables... Thinking of that hor, think I should go claim table costs for her extra tables since we only agree ti give her 3 tables n she took 5 more extra. She even had 2 tables w 4 n 5 ppl each .....

preciousgal

michelle: opps i think i better go check it out which one u toking about.

Oh but the PS place near yr place? lol.. not bad sia still wanna sleep hahaa.. so relaxing..

Priscilla: Lol.. nevermind overall is still yr mum. But abit loggy leh.. cos only 4 to 5 ppls turns up..