(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

michecwy

Wen, jia you!! U r on leaves all e way le ma?

22nd brides, we have 4 more days!!! Heeeha! :p

How's all of ur preps for the 22nd brides?
My guestlist is confirmed, whatever changes from now on, I won't bother liao, no point bother also, it's too late. And my whole day schedule I'm so gonna print e final copies to xd/jm. As well as the emcee script! We r ready......!!

But htb told me that he is down with fever last night! Hopefully he can recover real soon. Both of us flu bugs bride n groom! Hahaha...

Oh ya! We've booked our 3D2N Genting trip le.. $88 per pax.. He says that his xd told him after wedding very prosperity one and he wanna go gamble abit.. Hahaha.. We shall see ya! And my cough is getting much better, I don't cough till so "jia lat n loud" liao.. Thanks god!

prisci11a

wen, change your $$ here else if you need extra there, draw from the bank ATMs. the surcharge is cheaper then the moneychanger comissions!!

ya, make sure that you keep $$ for the airport tax, we met a couple that did'nt have enough rupiah left for taxes. If you going free n easy, i got a guide contact - anton tel:081236778728, tell him reccomended by Patrick, charge about SGD50 per day, speaks decent english and are used to Singapore tourist, cheaper then the day tours u will find there... my fren reccomended to me but i already booked a day tour so i didn't get to try him....

go eat mdm oka babi guling and Dirty duck - bebek bengil & duck sate at ubud...

strikingreality

Ah... that's why the rates are too good to be true! LOL.

I changed at Crante the famous long queue money changer at People's Park at close to SGD1 = IDR6,900.

And yes, please go to Iku Oka for babi guling! It's in the Ubud town centre! I had crispy duck at Warong Eroupa in Seminyak town centre, but I also wanna go to Dirty Duck next time. If you want a nice high end restaurant to pamper yourself, of course there is Kudeta, but we went to Metis in Seminyak. Very beautiful restaurant overlooking lotus ponds.

We also went white water rafting and had a driver as part of our hotel package so we went on a day tour to Ubud, the rice terrace, Goa Rajah, Spring Water Temple etc etc. I totally love the Spring Water Temple!
My must go!

missbibi

Kitty: need to save into dvd n cd format for vid m music cos they using cd n dvd player to play. Ie use a burner prog n not drag n drop into the disc drive, unless u playing fr ur laptop.

strikingreality

Kitty and missbibi - for music, best to save to CD-R, then can play directly on CD Player.

For montages, write onto DVD-R to play, or you can play directly from your laptop. Quality may differ whether you play from laptop or from DVD. Best to test both to see which works better for you.

w3ngal

Hey tks for the info! But u all mean the money changer there will cheat our money? Cox my hubby say change some here and change half there...but I scare rate not good etc...but u say is good to be true?

w3ngal

Ya I m looking forward to Bali trip! Haha more than wedding day leh oh no!

yah mich I am on leave all the way le...u?

prisci11a

wen, change more $$ here, need to then draw from the ATM there....only a $6 bank surcharge or something. :D

changing at the airport or banks, rate also not attractive de..

the exchange rates at the road side money exchangers are really really good, the further you walk the higher the exchange rate but they charge commission.. which really adds up and if you dun want to change after u hear the charges they will try to bargain with u on it... just to save a few dollars, its not worth it lo....

kass, ur trip v happening, my trip is just nuaness...ahahahahah ... eat shop and nua :D

strikingreality

Ching Yan = Missbibi.

Actually I wanna nua in Bali, but hubby wanted to go White Water Rafting! I've done it before, but since he has not, we went! It's damn nice seeing Ayung River and the river valley from another view. Damn good fun though the water was damn cold. We said the next time we go to Bali we will do it again from another river!

kittywendwend

I think we stopped at No. 7 for the FB list. please continue to add on.

1) Nick: Piggy
Name: Jasmine Chu
FB: [email protected]

2) Nick: Chloe
Name: Chloe Ong

3)Nick: Kass
Name: KS Goh
FB: kngsuan[at]gmail[dot]com

4) Nick: kittywendwend
Name: Ferlyn Ng

5) Nick: missbibi
Name: Ching Yan
FB: pangchingyan[at]hotmail[dot]com

6) Nick: Mo
Name: Noel

7) 6) Nick: Michelle Chia
Name: Michelle Chia

chloe_qy

Jia you to all 22nd bride!! 3 more days to go!

I'm enjoying the newly-wed life with my hubby haha. He bought me my new apple toy, so happy! Thesecfew days have been shopping ard with his family cos they r returning to Canada this wkend.

preciousgal

Ladies I m wondering what time u all held the wedding? At 7pm indicated on the invitation card but guest reach only at 8pm?

Hw about those doing Yr solemisation? What time did u start solemnizing? And venue same as Yr banquet?

missbibi

Jo: my ROM time has been calculated one. So it will start at 7. Then my dinner will start at 8. Hopefully, ppl wun come even later than 8. It's like the latest time u can hv dinner. Any later will be supper.

Gg to fit n collect our gowns n suits later. Super excited!

prisci11a

My invite indicated 7pm reception n dinner at 730pm. Cos my rom at 630pm so all the relatives were here early... Hit 90%around 730pm and our march in about 8pm cos I had my hair re-done for march in ... So lucky enough for me most of my guests were pretty punctual

prisci11a

o, one more thing, if you wanna have rom during ur wedding banquet, make sure you indicate in the invite... cos my friend did not and people were still coming in during her solemnization....

strikingreality

Yeah... I wanted to keep my ROM small and cosy, so I only had my immediate family and xiongdi jie meis around and had it at 6pm at a separate location within the hotel before the dinner. My guests are all pretty early. We were 90% by 8pm (which is quite typical actually for most big weddings) and started at 8.10pm, finished by 10.50pm.

Agree with Priscilla that if you wanna have your ROM just before the wedding dinner, make sure you indicate "Please be seated by XX for the solemnisation which will begin at YY sharp".

strikingreality

For those of you who are renovating houses or planning to do so or just wanna shop for appliances, you may want to head down to the Philips Office at TPY Lorong 1 on 28/29th May,9 to 6pm for the Philips Carnival Sale.

preciousgal

missbibi: Oh but den yr invitation cards indicated what time wor?

So early collect wedding gowns? Hehe

Piscillia: Yr friend wedding is at the same venue for the rom as well? den what happen to the guest who came?

Kass: Oh you did yr solemisation on the same day? outdoor?

anyone have their solemisation at the same venue with your banquet? just tat u rom at 6.30pm and the invitation to your banquet u put 7pm and the pple actually came early tat kind of situation?

chloe_qy

Jo, i bought the materials from a push cart @ bugis junction. i think mich bought her stuff there too.

for my case, it's quite similar to kass, we had our solemnisation at 6pm (only close frens & relatives). Our guests are pretty punctual too, so by 8:05pm, all guests are seated already. We march in at 8:15pm and ended the dinner at 10:45pm+/- (all as planned).

strikingreality

Joanna - Yes, my ROM is outdoor by the poolside. It's quite a visible location, cuz it's right by the lobby, but it's very beautiful, yet a little casual, due to its poolside location. I paid extra to have my solemnisation by the pool.

You can have it in the same venue as your banquet. Just need to word it correctly on your invite or spread by word of mouth if you only want to invite certain people.

w3ngal

Missbibi my rom aso starts 7pm and...hope everything goes smoothly....straight after rom I will be at reception to mingle with my guests...

By the way anyone knows what type of pen or marker can be used on poster material? I have a guest scoll from tw bridal but the marker I used like will smudge! Now I dunno how sia...the material of the scoll is those smooth de...

preciousgal

chole: OH the one outside SASA? Because i thought u made it wor =(

Oh care to share your details for the night? But what time did u indicate on the invitation card for those not attending yr solemisation?

Kass: which hotel u held at? Hw much u top up?

yeah i scared what happen on that day. Because intend to solemise at 6.30pm where the hotel only allows me to solemise at this timing but is at the cocktail area outside the banquet directly. But i wanted to put 7pm instead of 8pm due to if i put 8pm the pple will comes in late. But if i indicate 7pm i scared they come early and will be waiting outside the solemisation area =(

w3ngal

Yah but is too fine for the poster...coz they will sign against the background which has flowers pictures etc...can't see anything when using pen..

preciousgal

if perm marker also cannot help maybe u wanna go paper market ask the sales person? because paper market gt alot of this but not sure will it helps u anot?

prisci11a

Jo, the guests were stopped at e reception area to wait for e ceremony to b over

The Solemnization ceremony only takes at most, 20mins. So even if guests came early, can get ur reception team to inform them that the ceremony is taking place if they really come before 7pm... Suggest not to indicate reception time too late else dunno Wat time den u can start

kittywendwend

Chloe, what did ur hubby give u? ipad 2? sooo sweet...

Jo, my solemnization will be at 6pm, in another small ballroom. i did not indicate in my wedding card. it's only meant for relatives and closer friends.

Missbibi, i have just collected my gowns. alot of things to carry lor. have to stock-take every single item. i hope i wun lose them after the wedding. haha. i even got wirst corsages for my JMs. have to remind them to return me after the morning session, else got to pay $$$ to the BS.

w3n, you can try perm marker. is ur material similar to photo paper? cos my DIY wedding card is printed on photo paper. i use perm marker. let it dry fr abt 10sec should be fine. at first i use whiteboard marker. hahaha.. blur me. can use tissue paper to wipe off. hahaah..

chloe_qy

Jo, ya I made the pen myself using the materials bought from bugis push cart.
one of the pen is stolen by one of my hubby's guy fren! My xiongdi already told him cannot take but he still took it when nobody is looking at him! So angry!! Anyway forget it.

Kitty, yup yup my hubby bought iPad 2 for me hehe.

We r now looking for our honeymoon tour package, wanna go Hokkaido & Tokyo...

Kitty, I lost the BS corsages! As in I forgot to ask my jms to return after use, so I told my coor that the corsages is toooo pretty Liao so my jms wanna keep haha. In this case, she didn't charge me. U remember to ask ur jm to remind u the accessories cos on AD it will be very messy, so need someone to tidy up for u n pack nicely in case u lost it.

strikingreality

Chloe - How is ur 1st day back at work?? After Bali we already planning our next trip, also looking at Japan and possibly US as well but prefer to do free and easy.
So nice of your hubby to give you post wedding present! My hubby got me shopping vouchers a few days before my wedding to thank me for being the project lead for the wedding. Haha. I was surprised that he went to town juz to get them.

strikingreality

Joanna - did mine at GWP and paid $500 for it. I think the Four Seasons ballroom foyer is v nice for solemnization. You might want to consider starting earlier if you are concerned ppl will walk
In on the solemnization. Start at 6.15pm?? Ppl usually won't come so before the cocktails times.

jasumine

i wan to vent my frustrations!! being involved in project and doing BAU stuff is so stressing! on top of tat, my two assistants gave me nonsense.. haiz, dun know how long can i tahan. i wan to take leave oso veri difficult. even my boss is loaded with more stuff den me!

I m definitely not coming back next weekend to work! its my wedding!!! keke..

missbibi

Piggy: I also just ended wrk at 8 two days in a row le. Luckily I had 2hrs time off at 4pm to do gown fitting.

Jo: 2 out of 4dresses didn't fit so I can only collect on sat when we send the car for decor.

Btw I put cocktail start at 730 n dinner at 8. I will put fb reminder to come on time to enjoy the snacks bar n photo booth. Those tt come late then too bad for them, haha. Plus if I put 8 then they prob wun come 830 cos its damn late. Wun they b hungry?

missbibi

Anyway I'm a bit pissed off with my htb. 3 mths or longer ago I told him he's in charge of guest bk DIY. Abt-2 mths back I brought him to Papermarket n he say I'm stressing him up by asking him do so early n he hasn't even thought of wad to do so cannot start buying materials. 1 mth ago he finally suggested to check out PM again but the things want not enough stocks so we didn't buy. 3 wks ago I went down PM MYSELF n bought the materials for him. I even bring to his house so he can start wrking on it. These few days he keep tellin ppl I'm stressing him up cos I hv high expectations of the guest book. If he hadn't procrastinated all his tasks, will he b so stress now? N now he's putting the blame on me tt I'm expecting too much for the wedding. Now where's the logic behind this?

strikingreality

missbibi - I think guys cannot do scrapbooking/arts and craft! I did all my DIY myself with help from my 2 (real) sisters, jiemeis, cuz I dun trust that they will be as detailed and as careful as us. They don't care about small things like guest books etc. They prefer to work on big impactful stuff! My HTB told me that he can screw all this and just marry in ROM. Do u think you can take over the guest book and give him something more "important" (in his eyes) to do???

jasumine

haha.. missbibi, i oso put cocktail at 7.30pm, dinner starts at 8pm. but i dun hav snack bar leh. but i got early bird gift, paper flowers. wad kind of snack can i provide??

Me have been working past 9pm for 2 weeks straight. if they wan me to come back on sat, i will not agree cos i got to AC!

michecwy

I share e same tots with Kass. Hard for guys to DIY. But those spreadsheet for them is better.

A side update on myself. Early morning went over to htb hse at 8am to an chuang but his parents do the an chuang, I go supervise only. Lol cuz they don't know some of e things.

After an chuang we went to collect our cert den for our lunch. And we went to orchard, as I have my pedi, medi appt. Did my nails for 6.5hrs!! Dead beat! But I love them!!! Haha.. It's even cheaper den my ps nails! Lol..

Anyway, while I am doing my nails, my VG called on e childhood montage thingy. They showed us the video they did. It was so simpliy done! We gave them 2 songs and also notice that it's far too long. So htb redo last night in about 2 hrs. It's so much nicer! And he cut it to one song. Which is better, people see le also won't sian. And confirmed timing with them liao also. As well as my PG? Emailed him e timing le..

Another unexpected call is from my BS!! Starting My coord told me that one of e WG I selected not so nice (she wasn't there when I select, it was her colleague whom helped me) den she say not nice, she got new arrival wan me to try. Den she say honestly speaking e gown is actually torn when a customer try. So Bo bian tmr noon I am going In JB to collect but gonna select another WG. And they can alter immediately.

missbibi

haha, but my htb is slightly diff from the other guys.. he's actually quite creative, and sometimes even more xi xin than me (if he wants to). and his art is better than mine! Which was I tasked him the scrapbook.

The masks were actually done by him:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150344929565647&set=a.10150344929145647.589483.896155646&type=1&theater

He also did the megaphone and drew the proposal banner:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150355938940647&set=a.10150344929145647.589483.896155646&type=1&theater&pid=16810611&id=896155646

chloe_qy

Kass, my first day back to office was fine! We were all talking about my wedding n how funny my hubby was when he went tipsy at the end of the dinner hehe. Yea he's sweet enough to bought the gift for me. Ur hubby is sweet too, still made effort to buy the voucher before ur big day! I have checked with chan brothers for Hokkaido tour, about $2.6k per pax for 7D6N, gonna check with other agency n compare the prices.

Hmm I think guys can DIY if they r creative n good in arts, just like my hubby, he did the DIY on our guestbook, ang bao box n Polaroid photo board. I'm only in charge of the 3 flowery pens n abit here & there. But I spent quite some time to keep reminding him to get his work started too, I think guys need to be push, so missbibi, don't be too work up, cool cool, he will be able to finish it in time if he put in the effort. We finished our DIY in less than 2 days, as long as u got all the materials n ideas ready, it's pretty fast.

missbibi

piggy: i've ordered cupcakes, and will be having candies, biscuits etc.

mich: look on the bright side. now u can be the first one to wear the gowns fr the latest collection that no one has ever worn before!!

Gg to do my nails tmr.. excited and hope i wun be so chor loh and spoil them, lol

strikingreality

2 days for DIY is very good! For my pinwheels I actually took over 1 month plus to do them but I didn't like devote the time juz to work on it. Most of the time I work on my DIY while watching TV or surfing net etc.

Michelle - how come 6.5 hours juz for Mani pedi??? That's v long?! Mine was only 2 hour plus but my nails were much simpler.

So excited for you girls! Almost 22 may already... Am I the only one missing the fun I had on my wedding? Like I having post wedding withdrawal syndrome...

strikingreality

Piggy - I had kit kat, chocolate, gem biscuits (the small one with icing on top), chocolate wafer sticks, nougat, lollipop. Most popular is definitely the chocolates.