(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

purplemoon85

Mo, how are u losing weight huh? i need to lose a lot a lot! sian, only got 3 more months to loss, i envy those slim slim gals!

purplemoon85

actually i don wanna take any wedding photos one, also don wanna have wedding dinner. but my BS doesnt allowed me to transfer my package so no choice got to utilise it or i lost my $1.5k deposit
then did some research & confirm my hotel & PG & VG within 3 days! haha then think more & decide to do overseas shoots! think that's my motivation to slim down.

purplemoon85

anyway i travel a lot due to work nature. in Bangkok now. anybody needs me to help them buy something? coloured contact lens is cheap here! those brown one to make yr eyes looked bigger! hee

modcoaster

Zenn, me need to lose weight but isn't putting much effort. Juz trying to cut off supper n not taking carb for dinner. Will try to go yoga 1 per wk. Showing little result so far... Sad. N ps is after cny, sure put on more weight de. Sianz. Hw abt u?
U in bkk, can buy clothes for Xmas n cny! So good! Shopping locally can b quite boring. U can even get wedding favors or deco items if u intend to source yr own!

modcoaster

Prisci, good to knw tat they r entertaining! Need something to occupy the guest b4 dinner starts. Do u think that 2 hour is enough? Becoz I hav quite a large no of guest, nt sure if it will b too 'messy' for crowd control

nanasweet

hihi everyone! I'm also may BTB...AD will b on 2may..this wkend will go select my PS gowns..hopefully I can fit in well.
Thinking to do PS end Dec/early Jan!arrhggg..few mths to go..so little things have done!! anxious!! anyone know a good MUA?mind to share?

michecwy

Zenn n happy,

My bridal mua is Dana Chang u can search at fb. I think she is gd. For mother I gt Fanny Rao, she do mu for some bs too! Both of them are from Taiwan.

Enjoy ur ps! It's very fun. The tiring comes only when the ps is over for OD! Haha.. ID I don't feel the tireness.

little_bobdog

Hello, all... I am 2011 May Bride also...
My day is on 15 May. I haven't settled my venue yet but more or less already decided the place. However, i haven't confirmed my guest list, just agak agak who we want to invite.

Do you think it is too early to invite guests now? Like a bit kiasu, but worried that nobody can attend...

modcoaster

Hi Nicole, I think can tell them test water first ba... A bit too early to send out formal invite. But y do u think tat they will nt attend? U knw someone else getting married on the same day?

little_bobdog

No, just that feel not secure if cannot get some confirmation although i know it is still early...

Normally when will start to invite guests?

modcoaster

I think 1-2 mth before is quite safe ba... Any later will look insincere, earlier ppl will tend to forget. For relatives the invitations is traditionally given out on guo da li day.

michecwy

Nic, now really too early. At most also 2 months before send invites. Y not u do a save the date?
I'm doing that and will be emailing it out to my frens by feb and let them be prepared.

Better book ur venue le of it's weekend. Anyway if u confirmed ur guests, always there last min change one. Sometimes 1 week to ur ad the guest attendance still changing. but I guess don't worry sure gt ppl attend de. Juz that first follow the no. of guest in ur agak list first.

Wen, Fanny charges $80 for one mum. Very normal market price.

strikingreality

Nicole Lee >> Welcome! I think it's too early to send the invite! According to the timeline provided by my hotel, we should only collect the cards from them after CNY next year, so I reckon we will only send out in mid March thereabouts?

Anyway, what HTB and I did was to make a Save-the-Date card, which we sent out to our friends, reminding them to "save the date" for us! It will also be good as it allows us to know beforehand who will not be able to make it to our wedding. Our overseas friends will also be able to make their travel plans should they intend to attend our wedding.

There are many templates available online. You can just do a search on google!

w3ngal

save the date cards (online), when do we send to our friends? we can use this method then sometime in mid march then start sending out the official invite cards right?

strikingreality

It's best if you send out early, esp to overseas friends so that they have time to make arrangements. If u look at the preparation lists, the recommendation is to send out 6-8 months ahead, which makes all of us late already, if u have not sent out.

I feel that if you want to send in mid-March, then there is not much purpose, cuz there is no need to preinform them to save the date, since you will send out the invite cards in 1-2 weeks time and plans usually will not change so much within 1-2 weeks.

michecwy

Wen, it can be 6 months before ur ad to send the save the date. I have done my simple save the date (soft copy) as I don't wanna waste money to buy save the date cards.

prisci11a

just back from hong kong and bought a bunch of stuff there.... but actually besides getting paper cups from hong kong, everything else is about the same as what you can get here or jb ..... if i can, i will post a pict of what i got...

little_bobdog

Hi all, thanks for the advice. Actually what i am mentioning is like the Save-a-date invitation. I know it is too early for my guest to confirm their attendance, just would like to pre-alert them on the event...

Btw, i need a place for me to chujia. Does anyone know whether there is anywhere that we can rent a flat for 3-4days? There are these type of services in Malaysia. However, not sure in Singapore...

kittywendwend

hihi, i'm new to this forum. glad to meet all of the May 2011 BTB. hope we can exchange info here and share our joy towards our big day.

kittywendwend

i have not started any preparations yet. I only locked in the wedding day last weekend when i signed the wedding dinner package with the hotel. now I have to start my engine full force. i think the next thing to do is the bridal package and photoshoot. any advice? i have signed a bridal package. Have arranged appt to meet them on 17 dec for the viewing of gowns. normally what do we do on the 1st visit?

michecwy

U have to see if u like their wedding gown styles n the photo style. This will b the most impt one. Cuz u can like the gowns but not the photo also no point. U see u like those fairy tale (fake type with many computer effect) or natural de.

Den u can go look for pg n vg le. Cuz left 6months many couples confirm this 2 service at least 8-12 months earlier.

kittywendwend

thanks michelle. i think i have alot to do. i also need to prepare my new house. need to start looking for ID. any recommendations? need to get the house ready before AD. so many things to do.. haiz..

nanasweet

thanks michelle. Mua Dana is good but a bit pricey for her service though Taiwanese always have a better skill!I think i'll book for Mua Angel..her review also not bad! Have u decided your honeymoon destination?Oh btw..does anyone have good recommendation for shopping the Guo Da Li stuff?

michecwy

Happy, I have a fren used angel's service ya she is gd. Actually I tot of using her de for mother but I scare mother can't communicate with her.

For GDL I decided to go Chinatown (below got a hawker n market one). The shop is Wawa wedding shop. That time I walked past go see see, the shop juz nice gt 2 pairs of parents buying stuff, but the Aunty really very helpful. Den I asked her wad r the things needed, she let me have a look at the list straight away n allow me to take photo of the list. Haha I got shock also, cuz normally cannot ma. I checked with my fren whom gt married, she mentioned normally GDL cuz ard $500.
lol

w3ngal

GDL 500 so expensive ah....i also intend to buy GDL stuff in chinatown. Already ordered my kua there le...

i have engaged a MUA. but was thinking if i shd engage another MUA for MIL since she would not be reaching hotel early to do the make up. Let her do the make up at home then come hotel. if not everyone (my mum, auntie and MIL) all need to crowd in the bridal room which is not big.

michecwy

Wen, dono the average for GDP leh. I think cuz her's is very traditional so must be alot of things den more ex lo

hazeyger

Hi Babes,

Anybody on 7th May 2011 Wedding confirmed on their JP liao ? Maybe can advise on which JP is taken up le.

latte77

Hello May BTB! Anyone here wedding dinner on 8 May?

I'm very sadly having to give up InterContinental for that night, wonder if any of you are interested? It's a beautiful ballroom. Min is 32 tables.. can email me at [email protected]

ysl77

Hi BTB, I am adding myself to the list too:

peekaboo0939 1 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marina Mandarin
Lin H 1 May 2011 (Sun)
kass 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Goodwood Park
KK 7 May 2011 (Sat)
prisci11a 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Novotel CQ
disneyland 7 May 2011 (Sat)
Hazey 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Mandarin Oriental
tangerinez 12 May 2011 (Thurs)
ethereal 14 May 2011 (Sat) @ Goodwood Park
Blackangel1512 15 May 2011 (Sun)
Chloe 15 May 2011 (Sun)
Shareen 15 May 2011 (Sun) @ Orchard Hotel
Purplemoon85 15 May 2011(Sun) Sheraton Towers Hotel
Janie 21 May 2011 (Sat) @ Peony Jade Keppel Club
w3ngal 22 May 2011 (Sun)@ Grand Park City Hall
Michelle Chia - 22 May 2011 (Sun) Orchard Hotel
happyprincess - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marina Mandarin
udee - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marriot Hotel
ysl77 - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Mandarin Oriental
PrinCess 27 May 2011 (Fri)
Phoebe 28 May 2011 (Sat) @ Swiss Merchant Court
Piggy 28 May 2011 (Sat) @ Grand Mecure Roxy Hotel (Poolside)
streamstarz 29 May 2011 (Sun) @ Meritus Mandarin

Do you have any recommendation for VG? I am looking for those $1500 and below. And, any recommendation for wedding singers? I expect i will not able to find emcees!

For jia zhuang, must all be NEW clothes and stuff?

Actually I already ROM and moved into my new place, so it is like moving some of my things back to my mum's place, put into the luggage and bring over again. haha.. that's what I thought. =)

michecwy

Ysl, i got Istudio as my VG. They r from JB.

Ya, jia zhuang clothes must have few sets of new ones. Inner wear n make up stuff also. And new shoes! But still depends u wanna buy anot la. Not compusory. But I am getting it except make up stuff.

btb2011

Hello!!! Haven't been logging in for sooo long.. Good to see that the thread is movingg.. =)

Just to update my venue onto the list:

Lin H 1 May 2011 (Sun)@ Sheraton Towers
KK 7 May 2011 (Sat)
Chloe 15 May 2011 (Sun)

kittywendwend

I'm new to this thread. Din go thru the archives hence i din know the existence of this list. i'm adding myself to this list.

KK 7 May 2011 (Sat)
Chloe 15 May 2011 (Sun)
kittywendwend - 22 May 2011 (Sun) Pan Pacific S'pore

kittywendwend

Michelle, ysl,

Sounds like an opportunity to go shopping to buy new clothes and shoes. hahah. i'm sure our HTB cannot object to this.

i'm also looking fr PG & VG. currently getting quotes.

nanasweet

I've also updated mine one =)
happy 2 May 2011 (Sun)
KK 7 May 2011 (Sat)
Chloe 15 May 2011 (Sun)
kittywendwend - 22 May 2011 (Sun) Pan Pacific S'pore

modcoaster

I bought my wedding shoes! So happy! Hee...

Need u ladies advise on this... Me intend to get my own wedding invites but is not sure abt the Chinese copy inside the invite. Do u think it's possible for me to get a copy of that from the hotel? Or do u need that they would nt entertain me as I didn't use their invite?

modcoaster

Hi kitty, I'm doing up my rm too. They r going to start work tmr. Can't wait to see the finished product! Tot I hav nt seen his work but his 3d drawing n ideas is good! V clean n urban feel! We also only decide on him after comparing prices from 5 quotes. But he doesn't nt hav a office n works from hm. If u r interested can let me know, I pass u his contact.

strikingreality

Hello everyone... been a while since I logged in due to family matters, hope everyone is doing well.

Nicole Lee (little_bobdog) >> if u need a plce to chujia, have u considered chalet? My friend fetched his bride from the chalet.

Hazey >> What time is ur ROM on 7 May? So far, Dr Phua Tan Tee is not avail on my requested timing at 6plus. And Mr Yeo Woon Soo does not want to commit so early.

modcoaster

Hi kass, I'm thinking of doing them overseas to cut cost but am worried abt the words inside as they do nt have a sample for me to copy. Headache...

strikingreality

Mo (modcoaster) >> If you are doing in JB, they will have samples of the chinese wording, cuz they get a lot of business from Singapore.
If you are doing elsewhere, you might want to have a sample of the wordings such as name of your venue in Chinese etc

Actually it's not that difficult, just get a old invite and change the names to your details.

modcoaster

Kass, ya... But I do not hav an old invite from my venue. So hope tat they can help me with it but I hav been leaving voice message n calling my in charge but can't seem to get her! N since I hav get yet to finalize the details, I also hav nt sign the contract. But we hav already paid the deposit. Now I'm panicing n thinking if I hav been cheated n they hav run away with my $! Told my bf, he said tat I'm thinking too much n that I'm being silly! But realli can't help having tat feeling when I can't get to speak to tat person n email goes unanswered too! I even left messages with her colleague still no respond fro her. Wat should I do?

I'm starting to think that mbs service really sucks!

candycandy001

Nicole Lee (little_bobdog) > Maybe you can try Kranji Farm Resort. I most probably will book superior plus villa from them, reasonable price.. They said got car pouch (attached carpark, instead of public carpark)

strikingreality

She probably left the hotel already... MBS turnover really high. When I first asked them for a quote, they took 4 months before returning my email.