(2011/03) March 2011 BTB

joyle_t

Candy/Michelle>> i'll be moving in with my PIL and I dun intend to buy a new bed for An Chuang leh.. cos' htb's bed is a queen size simmons, so I dun see a need to change it as I think it's very durable. MIL did ask if we wanna change.. but really really need to buy new bed for an chuang??

hi Rina>> congrats! ur March 5th bride too.. that makes like... how many of us? i lost count! haha~
u doing ur ROM before ur banquet at the function rm?

pinkglove

j0yle: my bestie also getting married on 5th march.. haha.. its's is really a hot hot date!! Good that u've settled ur PG / VG!

candycandy001

joyle, I m not sure. If your parent not very "bantang" tat kind should be ok or you may check with fengshui shifu when choose timing for anchuang...

joyle_t

pinkglove>> i dunno why it is a hot date actually. but that day is "chong" Ox and my lil' nephews are Ox babies, dunno whether they can "roll" my bed not.. I very kiasu until now nothing much to do.. =P

Candy>> ehh, I not pantang actually, but just like to follow traditions if need to, if not, glad to do traditionally without counting the time or date!

jennythesaint

anyone has taken their PS already?? my bf and i plan to ROM on 2012. & i am trying to search for BS now. and i looked thru this BS - Macitto Bridal Works, their PS is nice and simple.

i just wanna share this BS with you guys, who havent take their PS yet. maybe you can take a look at their website - www.macitto.com

:) hopefully i have helped some BTBs who are still headache about their PS. hahaha. cheers! happy wedding people!

joyle_t

candy>> if they pantang, i will follow, worse thing is they say anything, they dunno, then when i siu bian do, they will say "how come like that~"
very ma fan... lol..

monkey_bride

Wow.. So many March BTBs now. I haven't updated since March. I still have not done anything since booking the hotel? Zzzz... Don't know where to start. haha..

candycandy001

Joyle, ya lo ya lo, my SIL also told me the same thing. She said PIL last time said anything also ok, after arranged, elderly asked why like tat, why you nv do this blahblahblah. Haha... I havent experienced yet as AD is next yr.

Monkey brides, think you still have time la. Let say need 3 mths in advance for PS, then you can searching slowly and do it in Nov/Dec, only thing is that time is raining season maybe difficult for outdoor PS. If you choose to take PS overseas, then better start earlier. My friend's wife is teacher, they only can take PS either Jun/Dec. Haha...

monkey_bride

Candysiew: I might be skipping the pre-wedding shots altogether. Right now only looking at the actual day portfolios. Anyone has any good recommendations? My taste is more the Lightedpixels kind. But they are wayyy too ex.. Sighzz

shirleenow

I'm new here. Initially thinking of 27 Feb 2011 for my AD. But Master Tong advise that this date " chong" me.

Anyone went to Master Tong? or is there anyone else who you can recommend for choosing of date?

Hi Monkey_bride,

Me too don't fancy pre-wedding shots. I prefer more natural shoot therefore only looking for actual wedding day photographer.

rinacheong

Hi Shirleen, i went to Master Tong for my Ad dates as well. He gave me a few dates to choose from and 1 of the dates was 05-03-2011.
Since so many ppl are getting married on this date, I guess Master Tong didnt pick the wrong date for me...
If you really want 27 Feb, perhaps you can go to another FS master for advice? If both FS masters say this date is not suitable for you then i guess it is better to heed their advice....

To all other March 2011 BTBs: anything to prepare? though i have settled on venue, BS & AD PG & VG... i still feel like there are many things to get ready for!! perhaps i am too kiasu... hehe

candycandy001

=.=, I am booked BS. Going to book banquet this wkend. If everything goes smoothly, MUA and PG will confirm this wk too. This is what we currently can do, right? I dont know whatelse I can prepare le... havent go thr formal parental meeting to talk about tables, pinjin,etc.

Shirleen, my MIL find shifu one, I anything ok. Agreed with =.=, if you really want the date, can find another shifu and check with can or not..

nihaomah82

=-= (rinacheong):
Ya lor alot to prepare. More or less we are done with the big ones..phew!

Candysiew (candycandy001):
That's fast. I also checked my date with shifu,
actually I don't believe but my parents insists.

rinacheong

10 months to AD! hehe really excited abt it...
My BS said photoshoot in Nov.. Will that be too late? I've no idea and gown selection in late sept or early oct.

joyle_t

Candy>> so PIL/ parents actually very hard to entertain.. haha~ i kena-ed frm my parents 1st. they say any day I choose. I chose that specific date, then they say how come wkday, how come CNY etc etc...

rina>> same date! after thinking that I'm almost done, i still got shoes to buy, and my htb's shirt to get... jus remembered aft BS told me that the WG and suit will be ready for fitting soon.. =P

rinacheong

j0yle_t (joyle_t): u have chosen ur WG? that's fast! Which BS? My BS is Thomson and the person said choose WG in sept!! And I can't buy shoes till I've chosen my gown so that I'll know what colour to buy... But I will be making a cheongsam for my AD & photoshoot..

joyle_t

hi rina, i'm doing MTM and had my WG design done in jan. most likely getting champagne coloured shoes to match both WG and EG... and another shoe for photoshoot..

thinking of getting some CS-looking dress and a MTM ROM dress from my friend's shop, but have to wait for her AD to be over before disturbing her.. lol..

where u getting ur CS? from the BS as well? u need to get outdoor WG for the shoot ya?

monkey_bride

Hi Shirleen

We used MIL's shi fu. 27 March is the only date doesn't chong any of us (me, HTB, both set of parents).. Think really a lot of pple's AD on the 5 March. But just check out one shi fu.. believe and go ahead with it. Otherwise it's never ending one.. Hehe

Have you started looking at actual day portfolios? Some of them are really gd with pre wedding shots but their actual day shots not my style.. Having a hard time finding one ~~

Oh ya.. What abt your gown? I haven't done anything leh. So slack~~

monkey_bride

Hihi Candysiew.. yah totally understand. Me and HTB also went through a lot of "pain" before finally getting a date. Everyone say ok then suddenly not ok. But am glad it's finally sorted out.

candycandy001

Haha... agreed with all brides to be here. But I am not particular for date so let PIL decide lo. Finally booked my banquet venue in sg. So happy...

Went to check out JB banquet venue just now... The place I want still available but again, small scale cannot get ballroom. But the design for the function room is super simple (plain). If I really wan it, maybe need to top up $ for some deco.

Going to have 1st try for my gown (I was too kiasu, haha) this coming Sat. Excited...

shirleenow

Hi Monkey_bride,

For date, my mother inlaw taking care of it. She said she is going to a shifu her friend recommended. So let her be if not later anything will blame us.

For Actual day portfolio, we just started sourcing. Seen one quite good, don't know if you heard of it. Secret Heaven photography. I attended my collegue's wedding and saw their wedding day express highlight and we quite like Secret Heaven style. Pricing also not too expensive. But they said I need to confirm wedding date first before booking with them therefore have to put on hold first.

I getting a seamstress to do my gown. She only charging me at $1800 for wedding and $980 for evening gown and I get to keep them.

Don't worry, I think we still have time to source it out. I'm more worried about the hotel venue.

toot80

shirleen > SH is advertised on this forum. i got a colleague using them for their studio package and i have considered them for my AD PG as well... they have some very nice pics from their chief photographer lance. however i did not sign up with them as i feel they are quite 'pushy'. i heard it's their sales tactics as it wasnt the first time couples who went down to their studio and got very little time to consider. they will tell u they have another couples with the same date as you coming for appt and will rush you to sign up with them.

monkey_bride

>>Candysiew: Haha. I'm Malaysian too. Parents in JB too... hee

>>Shirleen: Where is ur seamstress? Can she copy whatever designs? Thanks. I will check out Secret Heaven..

cinnamonsol

New BTB! >.<

Planning to be BTB next year march. >.<
So far I only booked my BS ( after shopping and asking around! )

My BS- My Dream Wedding (My FH and I love the photos)
Venue- Not yet, but it will be lunch
PG- Looking around! >.<

I'm a malaysian, don't really have many friends here. Both my FH (he is a singaporean) and I are thinking of a nice high tea buffet thingy. So far, we haven't source for venue yet!

candycandy001

Sola, welcome! Same as me, 1st thing to settle is BS. Haha... I think it is better to book venue here as earlier as possible just in case. high tea buffet sound interesting^^

rinacheong

j0yle_t (joyle_t): im going to tailor made my CS at my ex-boss' tailor. My ex-boss has many CS made by this tailor &amp; they are all so pretty... and she is not expensive too! abt $400-$600 for a long CS with lace. i will be wearing the CS for PS &amp; during the "shake-hand-say-thanks-and-bye" part on AD. hehe

i wanna MTM my EG too... hmmm think i better call my BS &amp; check...

candycandy001

I just confirmed Gilbert Chan as my AD PG.

Summary:-
Banquet venue - booked
BZ - booked
AD PG - booked
AD MUA - to be confirmed
Whatelse should I taking care of?

mckx

Ladies, I read halfway after my last post and feel so tired.

Just to share, I've went for the selection of my gowns for PS yesterday. I'm so happy that my BS has very nice lady. I tried a lot of gowns till I got super tired and not trying any further. So I chose the gowns I want for PS from those that I tried.

My PS date is fixed in September. My AD gown will not be the same as my PS fotos.

candycandy001

Michelle, how long did you choose? I going down this weekend. Excited too...

Last time the consultant told me if I am those very fast one, can settle within 2 hours. I need to choose 5 gowns, hope I can find the design I like and suit me the most.

smilem

Txs Candy

ur PS = next sat? woa.. actuali is gd to ve it earlier so tat u ve enuf time to do all amendment of design. which BS shop u engage?

Keep us upate.

I thinking of getting VENUS JB.. any 1 can share the experience n package of this BS?

And having venue @ Orchid country club... still discussing..

candycandy001

smilem> I used Printemp City Square.
Heard that Venus has a lot of backdrop. There is a btb-avatar82 (if my memory serves right), she is taking Venus, very nice photos.

Food from Orchid country club is not bad, you better check with them for availablity earlier o!

I have booked BS, AD PG, Venue, MUA. Planned to change job in end of Aug. Haha... so must get all things ready 1st.

shirleenow

Hi Monkey_bride,

Oh my seamstress is a lady from Malaysia. She is a friend of relative. U just need to give her your design and she will give you a quote. She will takes about 2 months to do. I find that the price is reasonable and I get to keep the gowns.

Hi JF,

I visited Secret Heaven photography last week. They not pushy le. Just that they have different packages on hand. If you book them upon 1st appt got special offer. Spoke to this lady SK, she did gave me some advise and ask me to consider and get back to them after decided.

Anyone have good make up artist to recommend?

candycandy001

Haha... initially plan to hold customary by end of 2010 de, but Master said not suitable for "pig" to get married in tiger yr... therefore we postponed to Mar 2011. Since PS already booked, then take lo, lazy to postpone. Moreover, me n my hubby 2nd half yr schedule has a lot of uncertainties, take earlier also not bad la.

rinacheong

u also "pig"?
hehe me also born in year of pig...

i reserving all my energy for last qtr of 2010...already plan to take my block leave in Nov! foresee will have many things to do... choose gowns, PS etc... so excited!

joyle_t

taking PS so soon~ good to settle more stuff soon, so that u dun have so many things on hand nearing ur special day...

i still waitin.. waiting.. gg to have my first fitting this coming monday.. =)

navyv

hello gals! I'm also a march BTB! Just wondering when are you having photoshoot?
I wanna be abit kiasu and have it in Sept 2010, wondering if it might be abit too early? Any thoughts?

candycandy001

Smilem> I only heard of peach garden b4...
JOyle> you also try gown so soon? Haha...
=.=> ya! cute piglet...

Just back from trying gowns, quite fun. The consultant is very friendly and experienced. Quite fast, I choose 4 gowns in 1 hr.

candycandy001

Navyv> actually still ok la. Sep takes photos, 3mths for album to ready -> Dec... If you not satisfy or still wan to have more fun, you may want to take photos from other places/other BS then still have time ya.

joyle_t

candy>> yeah, but just first fitting, so dunno how "raw" the gown is actually.. but PS will not be so so soon!

ur 4 gowns for PS only or for AD as well?

for March 2011, I think around Sep take PS just nice..

toot80

shirleen > i think i know which special promo lio.. 2 pg for AD (chief pg + assistance)at a special price. it's good u have enugh time to consider... ^^

anyway, they have more than 1 pg. so if u decided using them, u might wana check the different pg portfolio unless u taking chief pg ;)