(2011/03) March 2011 BTB

mckx

ahgargar > same as joyle, I'm going to get a modern lookin CS for tea dress because I do not want to wear kua.

2009_gal

Hi Joyle & Michelle, as for the bed / mattress, old one ok for "an chuang"? I am having the same situation as well...hope to hear you guys opinion.

stickytape

@joyle yup.. min 40 tbls.. but we managed to negotiate for 38+2 tables. Mine's the bigger ballroom so it's at level 1. I think the one with the curvy staircases will be the ballroom @JF is using. =)

and we're in the same boat! Will be staying with in-laws alll the way.

@ahgargar I'm gg with Damon Low for my VG! am very happy with my choice. =))) what about you?

wah you all think so far ahead abt the kua/CS liao.. I think I'll just get what's in the BS.. don't wanna make a CS especially for this.. quite exp leh. Anyway my figure also not very good. not suitable for CS. haaa.

ahgargar

hihi beautiful ladies

stickytape: i am with firewerks sean for VG. PG Tinydots Yu Hsin. You should be happy :) Both your PG and VG are great. You can be v rest assured and focus on other stuffs nw :)

Joyle: Thinking of getting MTM CS for evening gown. hmm but i do not know what to wear for tea dress.Like michelle chua, i dont want to wear Kua also. May i ask what ideas you have for your EG?

joyle_t

**gal**>> i think it's fine.. u have any concerns? BIL got married with old bed, no issues. got a cute lil' son now, so everything should be fine! think now they "shift" the bed a lil' as an chuang procedure to signify the installation.

stickytape>> that's gd, at least they r flexible.

yeah! staying all under one roof, BIL/SIL/lil' nephew-in-law/MIL/FIL... but still ok cos' still got our own space.

ahgargar>> my EG is mermaid gown, which is like really a EG, whh I dun think is practical as a tea dress cos mermaid very hard to kneel down to serve tea? i thot my package is ok with MTM WG and EG, but just found out that i got more dresses to bother about.

will need to get a dancing dress (shorter EG) and tea dress... i love my BS (Blush Blush) adv in the magazine, looks like CS, bare back, with the chinese collar and a lil' train. probably wanna check that out?

ahgargar

Joyle: BS (Blush Blush) adv in style bridal magazine? the latest month with jeanette aw as cover page model? will check it out thanks babe! muackies..

Are you going to dance with ur HTB on that night? ME too! :) so the shorter EG you are looking for is meant for the dance? Cool...

joyle_t

ahgargar>> yeap~ it's in style mag with jeanette aw.

what dance will u be doing? i still want a il' train for my actual EG so i dun think can dance salsa in it.. My designer dun think I shld MTM my EG just for the dance cos' he thinks not worth paying so much for dancing dress! so probbly getting something casual frm shopping malls.

ahgargar

Joyle: might be doing salsa or alittle of rnb? ha ha... i am gg for salsa classes next month!

how abt u? what dance u will be doing? :) are u gg for classes?

joyle_t

ahgargar>> probbly doing salsa/bachata/merengue mix.. stopped classes when i started wrk, gg back for classes again.. where u taking ur classes? i took at Attitude & Jitterbugs. Will probbly ask a friend to choreo something for the wedding and just practice that.

sourcing for another dance sch to learn other styles..

ahgargar

joyle: i might be gg for JJ salsa dancing classes @ tanjong pagar there.

i heard its quite gd. i do not know.. going next mth but i have no dancing backgrd! keke

joyle_t

JJ is quite good.. got a few friends who learned salsa there. enjoy ur dance classes! it's gg to be fun to learn with ur htb..

nihaomah82

ahgargar (ahgargar): You know I really can't stop eating when the food taste good.. hee:p
Salsa is interesting too. Where are the classes?

j0yle_t (joyle_t): Yeh I will head down the bridal shops. Anyone heard of Satin Bridal? Is is good?

JF (toot80): I heard Coffee & Tea name a lot too from other topic. They are popular. I checked with them, they will also be there at the wedding show in MM. Probably I can kill 2 birds in one stone!

AhMaine (ah_maine) : You can try to look at the PG & VG from my shortlist. If you need their website, I can give you:p (www.dreamzcoffee.com)

Michelle Chua (mckx): TQ! But I might not be going wheelock, because it is so far from my home in Tampiness. I still hesitating whether to spend the $ anot.

joyle_t

ni hao mah>> Seen Sattine @Amara Wedding show last yr if im not wrong. photos r quite nice and gowns on magazine looks quite gd too. Can check out the forum. I've seen Satine (without 2 Ts) at orchard hotel when gg down orchard rd, so not sure if u r mentioning this one.

i've seen coffee & tea at friend's wedding. initially thot that they r quite gd, but friend's wedding highlights were bit cheesy, not too sure if it's the VG or myy friend. =X

ahgargar

Ni hao mah: im taking JJ salsa @ tanjong pagar! wana go tog? interested? haha

Me too! u try to cut dwn on carbo! alot of my frenz says it really helps :)

nihaomah82

j0yle_t (joyle_t): My cousin'wedding photo and video taken by Coffee & Tea looks good. Don't know if it is done by same videgrapher or maybe the different preferences..

ahgargar (ahgargar): Is it a community class or dance studio? You tempted me .. how much is the fees?

joyle_t

ahgargar>> have u heard of 2 left feet? its quite gd too cos' u can go for the lower level classes free as u progress upwards, so quite worth it~

ni hao mah>> u shld go with ur other half! fun and good way to know each other better..

ahmaine>> im still waiting for my WG/EG gowns to be ready. BS will help me contact the PG to arrange the dates. how bt u?

ah_maine

ni hao mah>> Thank you for your recommendation!!
When is your wedding date?

j0yle_t (joyle_t)>> Yours is MTM? Mine is OTR, will need to confirm gowns by May. Will be taking PS by June.

Will it be too fast if I take in June?

joyle_t

ahmaine>> yup.. having MTM.. u confirm in may then PS in June, will they keep the gown for u till nex yr? june should be fine, got time to edit the album considering GHA handles quite a lot of brides.. i cant do in june cos' i only taking braces out in 4Q 2010.

my cousin and teacher did MTM at golden horse for their wedding, quite nice. and the MTM that GHA did for my teacher, she complained that it crumples too easily during the PS, so she didnt want it for her wedding, they did another one for her with no extra cost. u not checking out their MTM?

jllim

I'm a BTB on 13-Mar-2011
I have booked my BS/hotel venue
I'm still searching for my VG & PG for AD

Any recommend / ideas...

joyle_t

joeann>> welcome~ which BS and hotel venue have you chosen? U can check out the bridal magazines currently, they are more focused on advertising VG/PG... U looking for VG/PG frm same company or separate?

stteo78

My Ad is on 12/03/2011. Same as Joeann Lim, done with my BS & dinner venue, only left with VG & PG.

ahgargar

Joyle: thanks will check it out then!
nihaomah: join me! its a studio, not cc.

Joyle & nihaomah: my braces can only be removed during later part of this year. My dentist advised me to have ps in dec for Best results. m worried if its too late???

Joeann & hyperangel: Welcome ladies =)

joyle_t

hypergel>> welcome~ same qns to u.. where you holding ur banquet and which BS u with?

ahgargar>> when u started putting ur braces? just worried that ur bridal album will not be done in time? cos' Dec to March is only less than 3 mths! take at least 5mth for editting and finalising?
I planned with my dentist, cos' he warned me b4 he put on my braces. but he did say that he took out for brides for weddings b4 and put them back after.

i did a PS for my company, but with my braces on cos' i thought cannot take out. Dentist said can take out if really need to. Maybe u wanna take out for ur PS date? just for one day shld be fine?

stickytape

yah actually can take out braces and then put back... but need to pay. Check with your dentist?

That's what my hubby's gonna do. In fact he just went to put on his braces like 2 weeks ago. LoL. We also trying to postpone the PS so that the "holes" in his teeth can close up. Hoping to push till End Oct or November...

Will discuss with my PG...

joyle_t

stickytape>> shld be ok by then.. think i wldnt mind paying abit to take it down just for the photos to be ready in time!

stteo78

Thanks for the welcome. My Ad is on 12/03/11, BS is Bliss Bridal and dinner venue is at Grand Shanghai.

joyle_t

probably wanna confirm ur PG/Vg soon cos' they will be increasing the prices to accomodate for the licencing and copyright. get them b4 they trickle down the cost to us!

2009_gal

Hi Joyle, as regarding the license and copyright for PG & VG, if we already confirm before the news, do you think we need to bear the costs? Think it all depends on the PG&VG right? Also quite worry they will pass the costs to us. So far how your preparation? When will be your PS?

joyle_t

**gal**>> i met my PG just b4 and aft the conference, so he did tell me that he is keeping those that who has already signed with him as per the contract. He got apptmts for weddings till Sept nex yr, so can imagine how much extra he gonna fork out.

think they will just revise for new ones..

mangocollon

First post in this thread.
I am a Mar BTB too! 6th Mar. PG is One Eye Click.
Bridal studio is SB. Hotel is Crown Plaza.
Anyone doing Wedding Lunch?

joyle_t

hi Lishan>> congrats! ur AD's one day aft mine!

Crowne Plaza is nice.. short-listed it cos' it was near our home and near all my colleagues, nice ballroom too! but didn't fit our no. of tables.

most of us are dinner I think.. think most of us here are having dinner banquet..

giraffe~

hi lishan! i'm with one eye click too! who's your PG? mine will be gabriel + 1 associate. my AD is on 26&27 mar

stickytape

When signing with my VG, he did mention that the music is not an issue as he's in the process of getting some license.. so no fee hikes because of that..

joyle_t

sitckytape>> he'd probbly already included some additional costs for such instances... for my PG/VG, he has always been paying cos' he uploads online for ppl to view.

those who have passwords actually did not pay for the licences and thus cannot "share" online.

mangocollon

j0yle_t (joyle_t)>> Yeah the number of table is one problem for us too but we really love the ball room so decided to try our best and squeeze into it..

* (giraffe~) >>My photographer is Gabriel too! But I din get the additional associate as we have some friends who will be helping to take pics on that day too. Terry pics looks great but much more expensive..

joyle_t

shan>> i saw some who did like a lil' pavilion on the stage of the ballrm and it looks really nice, fits into the foresty theme..

candycandy001

Hi all, my FMIL just give me the date: 6Mar2010 yesterday. I haven't informed my parent, not sure will change or not. Am I too slow to prepare now? Haha...

I have booked BS. But haven't started searching hotel (AD just fixed yesterday).

joyle_t

clint!>> i not sure whether the groom bald! but this is so funny! hahah~ the venue too pretty, didn't notice the groom!

Candy>> same as Shan over here! check with ur parents? they should be ok. it's chinese 2nd mth 2nd day.. unless if they dun like sundays.. but wkends shld be quite flexible for parents..

ning0101

Hi Everyone!
Nice knowing you all..=)
I'm a March 2011 bride too, would like to share wedding preparations with you all. My details:
Date: 12/03/2011
Venue: Amara Hotel
Bridal: La Belle Couture
PG & VG: Still searching

candycandy001

Joyle, thanks. I also don't know why my is on Sunday. Ha... They said the Shifu choose one. Seem like a lot of btb here already booked hotel... I will be in trouble. Hope not many ppl having banquet on Sunday. Got to start searching hotel with small scale, maybe 7-10tables. Challenging...

blissfultyrant

Hello

Looks like there will be another 5March Bride

Date:05/03/2011
ROM Venue:
Dinner: Noble house (pending)
BS: French Bridal
PG & VG: (thinking of moomedia)

mangocollon

Hi Candy! we having AD on same day!
I think it is better that you come up with a draft guest list so that u know how many tables u will need.7-10 seems quite small so not sure if those hotel ball room can accommodate.You can try those restaurant in the hotel too.

joyle_t

hi RV>> welcome~ Noble House still pending? waiting for confirmation?

Candy>> 7/10 tables in hotel yah? from SGBrides, Pan Pac Orchard sounds gd, Royal Plaza on Scotts food is quite nice too.. and they also listed Grand Hyatt... where else you looking at?

Maybe can check out the boutique hotels as well if you don't mind something different.

candycandy001

Thanks shan and joyle. I started sending inquiry emails today. Don't think can get ballroom, maybe function room only.

Actually don't want to spend too much for banquet but FFIL said my hubby's bro in hotel, we must be in hotel too and he will pay. But money still not ours, better think twice. We haven't discussed the guest list yet but we needs around 7tables for relatives, then I est. 3 tables for our colleagues and close friends.

May I know normally how do you derive the guest list / decide how many tables? Is there discussion between parents before searching banquet venue and number of tables?

joyle_t

Candy>> for me we did a rough gauge. I asked my parents who they want to invite and my htb asked his.

his bro had 30 tables and his dad did not invite some of their biz partners, but so he say now invite the rest who were not invited.

also used cousin's wedding as gauge..

candycandy001

But his bro have around 40tables last time, hold ballroom @ MM. Heard that is bcos dasao's parent have a lot of business partners/friends.

My hubby side only has around 7 tables of relatives. I don't have many close friends here, so intend to invite colleagues only. Do you group your friends? eg. Poly friends 1 table, CCA friends 1 table, colleague 2 tables that kind? I have 3 CCA friends (very close) but I don't think they would like to sit with strangers, that's why I didn't count them in, maybe have a simple gathering with them after the AD. How do you think?