(2011/03) March 2011 BTB

nihaomah82

** hihi**
I am thinking of having wedding in march too. My bf just proposed to me few weeks ago.
Getting nervous, can I know where to start preparing? **

joyle_t

pinkglove>> my BS did not mention abt the shirt, so i think its only the suit (minus the shirt). will probably ask designer nex wk when i see him. most prob gg to personality like what u recommended. =)

JF>> my BS only provide 1 MTM suit for htb. Will need one more cos' Htb wants 2 sets, he wanna wear a clean set for dinner cos' we probably hanging out till very late (after party). friend recommended Silver Strip at Excelsior whom has done suits for many Hight court judges.

ahgargar>> for me cos' MTM need to settle soon cos' i have been procrastinating! yeah.. some BS will recommend later cos' they also dun want to commit to u to keep the gowns till ur AD. and new designs come in now and then.

toot80

nihaomah > congratz! there's a link posted earlier by joyle for wedding preparation.

joyle > icic... not confirm to get additional MTM shirts.. i let you know again. ;)

joyle_t

i'm with blush blush at club street... seems like no 2011 BTBs in the forum r with him. sooo quiet!
maybe cos' the price went up this yr..

JF>> sure~ anyway not in a hurry to get the shirts too.

mckx

I think the boss, Yvonne is very friendly. I signed up with them last year at Suntec bridal fair and I signed up with one of her staff. Yvonne only saw me once and when I went to BOWS, she remembered me and ask me when I wanted to do my PS.

Now concentrating on slimming down before the PS.

joyle_t

michelle>> u chose what designs u want for ur WG already? i've done my measurements.. not too sure if i wanna slim down actually! i think just keep fit will do~...

xiaop03

Hi Galz.. i am a March 2011 BTB as well. Booked ROM and wedding banquet at Grand Copthorne Hotel, BS with SG Bridal, AD PG and VG with Mark Photography..

mckx

joyle > I've not done my measurements yet. Trying hard to slim down now. Having too much fats, need to tone up as well.

ahgargar > I did not receive your email. can u pls send to me again? [email protected]

Pikachu > Congrats to u! I like GCW! The ballroom is nice...

nihaomah82

JF (toot80):
My cousin recommended me to Marina Mandarin and this company www.dreamzcoffee.com for PG & VG.
I think I will select the choices with my cousin too. ..

Anyone going for LONDON slimming program? I am hesitating .., because I am a bit flabby, so worried I cannot wear beautiful gowns but their package very costly.

joyle_t

michelle>> i done both WG/EG, just hope that i wun gain weight!

ni hao mah>> how bout just trying to slim down urself and save the money to get MTM from BS tat can cover flaws and show ur beautiful features? i think that will save quite abit!

stickytape

@ahgargar No.. i don't stay near bishan.. why??

hie gals! haven't been checking back for awhile.. still on the hunt for my VG!! Sobz. wanted to get firewerkz but they have been taken! Meeting a few this weekend. Hope i get it settled soooonnn

@nihaomah Wow, MM is quite popular it seems. There's an upcoming fair on the 18th. You may want to check it out?

Btw, the latest copy of HerWorldbrides (or issit blissful brides?/wedding&travel.. can't rem) has a checklist.. so if you're clueless.. maybe can check those mags out!

They give great ideas and inspiration as to how u may want to hold you wedding. Check them out!

I also needa lose weight.. but i can't stop eating! bOO! bad bad.

mckx

Ni hao mah > I'm a customer at London weight. My consultant is quite good. I'm quite satisfied with the result, but a bit slow because I'm still not eating wisely. I managed to slim down about 3 kgs after first 4 sessions. After that, I stop and started eating unhealthyly again. So my weight went up again. So if you want to start, you need to control as well. Now, I'm going back to my consultant again.

joyle > I think I will do my measurement in May. By then, I think I've shed quite a bit of my fats already.

joyle_t

stickytape>> welcome back! done with most stuff but still bought the new copies of blissful brides, her world brides and style! style has the same checklist for every copy.. got some ideas from the mag..

michelle>> all the best! but shld be fine since will alter quite abit now and then till ur AD!

sheryce

I'm also a Mar 11 BTB, AD is on 27 Mar.
I've done my ROM last year so lesser things to get ready for AD :p

I'm going for the pre-wed photoshoot at Taiwan next month. AD gowns will be from Sophia wedding, so gown selection will prob be this Aug and another round of photoshoot in Nov. My AD package comes with photoshoot as well thats why I have 2 photoshoot! AD banquet will be a Marina Marine.

AD PG is from the bridal studio and I'm still considering whether to have a VG. At times I feel that VG is not that essential and it cost quite alot of money. But I'm afraid I'll regret if i don't have a VG. Any advise?

joyle_t

hi sheryce, welcome! u took 2 packages, 1 for TW PS and another for AD gowns?

does ur bridal shop have any contacts for VG? maybe u wanna see their works first b4 u consider for VG? for me I have 2 VG and 1 PG for AD package. wanted 2 PGs actually but they recommended 2 VGs. ur preference actually. cos' some BTBs commented that they wanna see the gatecrashing so they will opt for VG.

nihaomah82

stickytape:
TQ for your information, I didn't know MM have wedding show. I will go and see.

Michelle Chua (mckx) :
You are using London too. Oh I thought I too "Ai Mei", still trying to convince my bf to let me go. I always see their TV ad, very attractive hor. Which outlet you go? Can you recommend your consultant to me? :p

j0yle_t (joyle_t):
You are right as well hor. But very hard to cover my fats lei. I got very flabby arms

Which bridal shop gown is nice huh?

ahgargar

Michelle Chua: There are mails for u :) Chk and do let me know if u have received

Ladies, i am also on diet too. Seem that its really a tough process! haiz

Nihaomah: i have flabby arms TOO! trying really hard to cut dwn on carbo..

ahgargar

btw Nihaomah: you can go dwn to a few BS. try on the gowns. see if u like it...

My pt of view is that do not go to too many BS as it might make u even more confused.

joyle_t

ni hao mah>> like what ahgargar said, can go down and have a look at some BS. for me, I only went to 3 bridal shops, but chose the first one that i like in the end. More or less enticed by the gowns that i see on their website and magazines. The BS I chose only have 2/3 gowns published in mags, but good enuff to have a feel of the types of gowns i like.

Can check out the forum to see whh BS specialises in the type of gowns u like, the BTBs give quite accurate feedback.

ahgargar/michelle>> i nv really go on diet regime cos' of the nature of my work.. but think abit of exercising will do the trick.. like i tried dragonboat, really tones the arms! and rollerblading tones ur calf if u gonna wear some short tea dress with heels will look really good. =)

mckx

ahgargar > I've received it! Thank you very much.

Nihaomah > My consultant is at Wheelock. Her name is Linda. Maybe you would like to try some exercise like wat joyle mentioned? I've just started to do a bit of exercise as well. Hope that by combining the treatment, exercise and my diet, I can slim down faster.

toot80

ni hao mah > i think dreamzcoffee is quite popular. My younger sister also taking them for pg and vg for her nov 10 wedding. if you like their work better book them fast.

ah_maine

I'm also a BTB on 05-Mar-2011
So I guess that makes 6 couples on that day!
I have booked my BS/hotel venue
I'm still searching for my VG & PG for AD!

toot80

Hi ahmaine, congratz n welcome to the 050311 club lol
btw, u choose the date based on fensgui master? what's ur BS $ hotel?

ah_maine

JF>> Yap, I've choose this date base on a Geomancer.
BS: Golden Horse
Hotel: Novotel

Any recommendations for wedding bands and PG & VG?

ahgargar

wooo!!! 6 couples on same date 05.03.2011!
WOW!!!! :)

Cheers...

AhMaine: Congrats!!whats ur email address? i can send a few PG and VG.. from Joyle and myself.. haha :)

ahgargar

joyle: Yup i heard that roller blading really helps! but i do not know how to leh... 伤脑筋了啦

My arms are really flabby and i do not want to spend so much money on my PG & VG to shoot a bride so ba ba one leh...haha

what i am doing now is really cutting dwn on carbo and start exercising like jogging three times a week? u think it will help?

joyle_t

ahgargar>> dun worry so much! PGs do wonders... dun diet too much till u look pale and tired.

ah maine>> hi and congrats to completion of ur AD tasks! im also 05032011 BTB and will be at Novotel too! u taking cinnamon room for dinner or phoenix ballrm for lunch? cos' mine's phoenix ballrm dinner!

joyle_t

JF/Stickytape>> both of u at MM for ur AD? how many ballrooms are there at MM? so fun.. can see each other along the way!

ah_maine

ahgargar>> I think cutting a little carbo will do. Especially eating lesser carbo during dinner. Lost a few kilos by eating lesser carbo at dinner time.

j0yle>> I will be taking Cinnamon room for Dinner!! =)

stickytape

@Joyle yup!! we both at MM! 2 ballrooms. We take one of each! =))

I think i'm finally settled with my VG! I'm totally happy and relieved.

Time to focus on losing weight. =( =( No more excusessssss.

toot80

haha joyle and ahmaine also can see each other on the same day too... ^^

stickytape > saw the same nick on regalia thread...

stickytape

wow, congrats!

applied for Oct09 Sale of Balance Flats.. at bkt merah. but was squeezed out. Chinese quota up 1 day b4 my turn.

Oh well... i'll be moving into hubby's flat lor. Anyway he wanted to stay with in-laws anyway. But it's kinda tuff cos he's all the way west and i've been staying at the east all my life.

mckx

Anybody staying with in-laws after customary?

I will be staying with my in-laws for about a yr before i get the keys to my own home. Wonder if we need to get new bed or just change mattress.

ahgargar

Sad to say that i balloted BTO a few times and each time was unsuccessful. Think 4 or 5 attempts...

Like stickytape, he is staying west and im staying east. Might be staying w in laws too.

MIchelle Chua: so have you settled ur VG? is ur bed v old?if not. just change mattress. since u are staying there only for a year. *envious*

mckx

ahgargar -> I've not chosen any VG yet. I'm still discussing with my bf about it.
The bed is not very old. It does not have headboard, so it is a simple bed. We bought it about 4 years back and still looks good.
I balloted for BTO and the q number I got is way out of the number of units they supply. But was lucky that economic downturn the year before and I guess many people gave up their chances. So I got the leftovers. But was really lucky to get high floor (13th floor). The flat is 25-storey high.

toot80

stickytape > thanks! my number wasnt really fantastic.. queue no. 325 out of 546 units available but am thankful i got it on my 1st try.

michelle > wow.. 25 storeys... so good.. mine max oni 16..

for me i'll be staying with my in-laws too for abt 1 yr after customary till the new flat is rdy. my own bedroom is too small..

stickytape

@Michelle Since you're moving house soon, buy something you can bring over to the new house? If not, then just get a cheap ikea frame to "heng heng" lor. Up to you.

For me, the mattress my bf uses is just a few months old, so we're not getting a new one. But we'll def be buying a new bed... I personally prefer it that way. haha.

Btw, care to share which estate you've gotten?

@JF It's really near the MRT, should be pretty good buy. So envious, settle the biggest headache for many le.

I probably won't be looking to buy any flats for at least 2-3 yrs... until we saved more money for a decent upgrade from the current one. But i'm still looking forward to the day when i can have a house i can call my own. =)

mckx

JF > Congrats! u r so lucky to be within the number of units available. At least u can choose first.

stickytape > I think I will not be moving much things to my new home. It would be strange to move the bed and the room left empty. Unless my in-laws wants it to be empty.

The flat I got is in Bukit Panjang area. It is call Senja Green.

toot80

stickytape > yea... prices for a rooftop over our head are riddiculous... n the coe prices now is like omfg.. everything is getting more n more expensive living in sg. to make things worse, going to pay for wedding songs by those RIPS, MPS, COMPASS n god knows whoelse going forward. wish u the best of luck in getting ur own place soon.

michelle > xiexie.. i rmb the application for ur estate is like 4-5x oversubscribed. congratz to u, very near JB can go over shopping n eat seafood ^^

ahgargar > yea.. i got frens also damn frustrated after several failed attempts in bto. got to keep trying.. good luck.

joyle_t

Ah maine>> that’s nice! So we’ll probably see each other along the way.. hope there’s enuff parking for both sides. Planning to get friends to stay at somerset liang court so that most wun drive.

Stickytape>> MM’s ballrm for weekend is like min 40tables? I rem going to one with the entrance just in front of the two sided curvy stairway.. think that’s quite nice.. you all taking that ballrm?

I’m also settled with my VG/PG.. just signed the contract.. so who u r with in the end?

Michelle>> I’ll be staying with in-laws ALL the Way~. If the bed is in good condition, I dun think need to buy. There are some customs that ppl do to “an chuangâ€, can check them out cos they also accommodate old beds/mattresses. I’m just gg to reno the room to have more storage.. maybe get a new headboard, if u wanna move it into ur new house, if not u r incurring more cost to move it in and out to ur new home.

All>> since I can’t buy a new house, I’m deciding whether to get staff quarters, entitlement from my work.. it’s like $100/mth, and the apartment is like condominium, with fantastic view (nothing blocking cos’ of restricted landuse in the area), just to have some place to have ‘er ren shi jie’.. but still hovering ard a decision. Afraid that my MIL think that I dun like to stay with her…

ahgargar

JF : Thanks! yup no choice but to keep trying lot.. what to do hor?

Stickytape: Ya was wondering which VG you settled with?

Michelle: same thinking with Joyle..No need to buy if it still looks gd and usable.

Any BTBs wearing CS as evening gowns????

joyle_t

ahgargar>> planning to get a modern looking CS for tea dress, cos' got other ideas for EG..
u planning to get OTR or MTM CS?