(2011/03) March 2011 BTB

candycandy001

Any recommendation for 'chujia' place? Initially wan to 'chujia' from my hotel, but it costs over $400 (b4 discount). Wish can find other place tat more convenient and cheaper. Any appartment that allows rental of 1 night only?

smilem

hi candy = how come hotel still charge extra?

the country club informed me to go select wedg cards.. but not time to drop time.. this sat may go over see the photo editing..

candycandy001

smilem (smilem) > You mean you suggest me to stay 1 night in country club? but i dont have banquet with u, do u think it is ok? Any idea roughly how much? OCC?

candycandy001

smilem (smilem) > OCC replied, 1 room (non NTUC member) $300++ 1 night, exclude breakfast. If add breakfast for 3 pax, total cost will be over $400 (after ++). Like that, not much difference compared to I stay with Marriott (after 20% discount). Everywhere is so ex. Wuwuwu...

Let me try National Service Resort later

smilem

ya..i also looking for MUA>.. oh my house dun ve little boy.. left my nephew = 12 yrs old.. i tik he will be the one and only choice i have ... :p

candycandy001

I also hav a nephew but I am staying at resort, if he needs to come early in the morning maybe a bit inconvenience for him. Moreover, after the groom fetch me home, my family will have buffet breakfast provided by the resort. If my nephew/aunt's family no breakfast to consume a bit funny hor?

candycandy001

smilem (smilem) > Yes, my mum's sisters & my dad's uncle also here. My nephew is small, I guess abt 5yrs only so sure will need his mum (my mum's god daughter = my 1st aunt's eldest daughter) accompany. 1st aunt's eldest daughter come, 1st aunt will sure come; 1st aunt come, 2nd aunt sure come also. But they have no transportation so their sons may come (fetch them) also. Ha^^ (mayb I think too much).

joyle_t

Candy>> u booked kranji farm resort already? my htb worked for the developer when they built the resort.. i remember him tell me that the units are kinda small...

How bout serviced apartments? like somerset or ascott?

candycandy001

joyle> I have confirmed booking le, about 42sqm. I guess is chalet size bah... somerset/ascott? do you have lobang, roughly how much? I saw some website, min 7night stay? (I only need a night)

candycandy001

smilem> For MUA, if cannot find most probably will use the one tat I tried b4. But my colleague said will recommend her friend to me, shall see how. You? Many btb recommend Dana but too ex to me

weivy

hey gals, how's the wedding invitation cards coming along? I need to go T Dragon to collect the cards according to M Hotel. But i'm not sure if i can collect all when i'm there or still have to wait for them to print? Anyone here has any idea?

joyle_t

ivy>> u chose ur invites already? I've not contacted my hotel to get the cards earlier.. procrastinating..

I think they will give u the cards and the printed inserts all at one go? I'll be printing elsewhere, so I think i'm just gonna get the cards from T-dragon..

rinacheong

hi ivy, according to my hotel coord, u have to go down to T-Dragon to select the card, they will need 3 days to collect the cards from their warehouse.
the printing of inserts can be done with either T-Dragon or somewhere else for printing. the printing will not be completed on the same day but of course u can cnfm the printing with them on the day u select ur card. u need to get the name of your parents etc etc right first before printing mah.

candycandy001

Hi, just to update: I bought the teapot set from AMK (near S11), same design tat I saw in JB, it is abt RM10 cheaper even aft currency conversion. Happy^^

candycandy001

=.= > Yes, but I didnt check out other stuff, only tea set, I found it slightly cheaper. AMK selling the cheapest set is abt $16.90 (if I rem correctly), but I bought the more ex one, with 'xi' deco @ S$29. I saw JB City Sq similar design, ideal collection & another accessory shop at Tun Aminah selling RM79.90.

rinacheong

oh ok.
i m going JB this wed to check out guo da li stuffs.
anyway, can i ask a silly qns: since both sides need to have the tea ceremony, does it mean we have to get 2 tea sets?

candycandy001

=.= My colleague told me, she did her tea ceremony at her parent's place using her mum's teapot (which was last time her mum's jiazhuang), she only bought 1 set to her in-law place. That's mean next time if her daughter chujia, at home also using her current teapot... I checked with my mum, she said she doesnt have any last time,ha... initially plan to do tea ceremony at hotel (for my parent) then can use hotel one, nw mayb need to prepared another set.

smilem

candy is right.. i also using my mum's tea set for tea cermony.. but for my bf's side, we ve to buy 1 set ..
Rina.. so how the shopping at JB? which shops u went to? anything to update /share wif us?

i take next week 1 week leave to do up the wedding stuff. :D

smilem

Candy = this thurs i b trying 1 MUA For a D&D event. let see how is it... if not toobad.. i recommend her to you.. u can see n i tik her rate still acceptable :D

Nxt week on leave to go see the T-dragon select cards too..

smilem

keke.. ya clearing leave (even though may come bk ofc for 1-2hrs to clear some work)..

my whole ofc staff duno i''m marrying next yr..hhaha.. i kept it as secret till CNY then throw them a bomb..

edwinbs

Hi hi... Anyone here got a good and cheap Video and photographer to recommend?
I was thinking of using Simon video, but dun know if he is good anot.
Going to be Groom on March liao, so now a little 'gan chong'

stickytape

hey, what's the typical rate for MUA ah? I thinking of asking my BS MUA to do make up for my sisters and mom + mom-in-law also... i haven't asked her what's her charges but juz wanna see how much it's approx?

candycandy001

stickytape (stickytape) > I guess abt $45-$80. My MUA (freelance) charge me $45 for my mum & sister. Last time my sister-in-law helped us to book $80 per pax (not sure is attached to her BS or not).

rinacheong

hi stickytape: if ur BS MUA is going to do make-up for ur sisters & mum + MIL, got sufficient time?
for me, i engaged another MUA for my mum & MIL.
my 2 sisters enagaged another MUA for themselves.
cos i have another hotel room, the other 2 MUAs will do the making up & hairstyling in that room. they will start ard 4 - 4:30pm. if 1 MUA do for all of them, the MUA has to start ard 3.

hi edwin & smilem, have you tried contacting moving pics? my frd engaged him. the video not bad & rate quite cheap.

smilem: i asked my colleagues directly if they wanna attend... haha if they cant or dun wan i can invite other ppl.

stickytape

weeeeeeeeeeee have i said this before?? you girls are THE BEST!!!

so helpful always!!

I haven't really thought about the time issue.. cause I had my PS and i thought my MUA didn't really take a long time to do my make up and hair. I'm going for another PS this friday so maybe i'll time how long she took. hehehehe.

btw, any additional charges for the MUA? e.g., ampoule, lashes.. etc?

my BS MUA charges me extra for ampoule, falsies and to tong my hair. i feel abit ripped off sia. but boh pian. need to be pretty. pay lor.

rinacheong

yes! i felt very ripped off!
my MUA charged me $25 for ampoule & $20 per pair of falsies.
she used ampoules on me & my hubby thats $50 bucks.. and i had to use 1 pair of falsies for each eye that makes 2 pairs of falsies at $40 bucks! i had to pay $90 for my PS... & u noe what.. the falsies she used can be bought for less than $10 per box of at least 10 pairs of falsies!! how i noe? cos i have at home... haha, but i remembered my colleague once told me, just pay ur MUA so that she will doll u up pretty.. if she nt happy nvr "yong xin" make-up, the photos wun look nice, the regret is worth much more than ampoules & falsies...

joyle_t

rina/stickytape>> my MUA (who is also the designer and the owner) does not use ampoules and doesn't charge for the falsies, his rate for per session is $150.. but he doesn't charge me for PS, so dun feel so bad cos' all included in the bridal package..

i think it all adds up to the same thing.. as long as u feel pretty without ur own effort, think it's money well spent!

candycandy001

rina/stickytape> My BS MUA also charge me additional for amp and eyelash during the PS. But it is mentioned by the consultant before I signed the package, total RM155 (abt S$60-70) for both me & my hubby. So I m feeling ok... My friend last time take those personal album, she brought her own fake eyelashes, the MUA looked like not very happy.