(2011/01) Jan 2011 BTB

pinkcoral

Hi snowdoll.. I'm pretty new too.

Now shopping around for a bridal studio. There's a bridal show going on in suntec and tomorrow's the last day.
You should go take a look. I just went today.

amanda75

weixiang,
u are really moving fast....... we are still very hesistant about the venues. Will be gg to Bows next weekend though...

So far, I have only confirmed on
- ROM venue
- ROM package (gown + makeup)
- ROM photography to be done by a friend who is freelancer =)
- RP flat in Oct 2009 HDB Exercise

Can you share with me which BS did you go for? And wad venue did you select?

weixiang_06

I am with Bridal Concept.

its a very experienced BS with very good selection of gowns.. not only its extensive, but the designs and finishes are good. in fact, my wtb's rom gown, we were given like many gowns to select... till after more than trying of 10 gowns, we told our coordinator, we have found our ideal rom gown...

heehee... my wtb's brother had his with Bridal Concept too.. its very good...

my venue is Grand Park City Hall, a 4 star hotel in City Hall. Not the best, but its very decent with good food and ambience... just that it's located right next to Pennisula Plaza, which spolit its image to some extent.. once you stepped in, its very different le..
Prices are reasonable too! below 1k for weekends wedding dinners...

my AD PG is from envisagephotography...
http://envisagephotography.com.sg/

my AD VG is from idoproduction
http://idoproduction.wordpress.com/

hope it helps

amanda75

Thanks a million

Haiz... How come some HTBs can be so proactive, while some are forever waiting to be moved??

Btw, can share with me your bridal package as well as banquet details (and of cos the freebies thrown in)? So far, my shortlisted venues are: GPCH, GCW and NCQ. We are very flexible on the dates, hence will take awhile more to decide. My email and msn is [email protected]. Thanks

snowdoll

I just signed up with Feline at the bridal show at suntec today. Went to their shop and they really have a lot of nice gowns. So despite the bad reviews in the past,decided to go for it. Next would be booking of banquet..really a headache, seems like many nice hotels already booked on the weekends in Jan..

kale

I am planning my wedding to be on 1st Jan 2011. Any brides has booked their banquet on this date too? Are the prices much more ex than usual?

pinkcoral

Hi Kale. I'm getting married on the same day as you are, but mine will be done in Bali.
Think most of the popular hotels are taken up already. You gotta do it quick now.

stickytape

Kale, i'm one of those who wanted to hold my AD on 1 Jan 2011. But in the end I changed my date cause many many hotels have already been booked. (You can see my process in the earlier posts... ahhaa)

Do act fast fast...

weixiang_06

Amanda, i have provided the contacts.. as for the package, i can't reveal it. coz perks differ from time to time... what i got back then will definitely differ from what you are asking now...

a good example would be an AD PG & VG company.. someone i knew personally had hers for this sum.. when its my turn to nego, it had risen to an additional $400.. reason quoted, back then the prices have yet to increase...

likewise back then when i was in bridal concept thread, i asked for people to share their package with me.. no one did.. only when i went down then i realise why is this so... anyway, i got a good package... dun worrie, the prices won't differ that much..

all the best...

julesy

Hi brides-to-be!

I have a precious Vera Wang gown for sale. Have uploaded pics for viewing too.

ABOUT THE DRESS:
Ivory colour in full taffeta silk.
Modern, clean A-line shape with asymmetrical ruffle details.
Size 4, and has been tailored (at the Link) to fit a size XS-S bride, height 158-164cm
As with all Vera Wang gowns, it has an in-built corset and doesn't need a separate can-can to fluff up the skirt.
Bought from The Link.

If you like it, the gown will be yours for S$3,200. It is in perfect condition as it will be perfectly cleaned and pressed by a professional laundry for vera wang gowns.

Please email me at [email protected] as i don't use the PM function.

Thanks all!
1359299.jpg

weixiang_06

Amanda, my tips for you is that prior to signing on the dotted line with the BS..

Please ensure you have looked through at least 3-4 other boutiques.. Get through the motion, and try your nego skills.. by the 3rd BS, you would roughly know what you can ask for and etc.... even if you are super intent on signing the dotted line with a BS, refrain from doing them.. you will eventually know why. simple logic..

my big day is in Jan 2011.. still some time away.. haha.. reason why i also dun want to reveal my package, coz i got into some ugly squabble with a company about their inflexibility... i was willing to top up the surcharges that they had imposed but they need to see $$$ first.. long story.. won't dig out the past.. in short, that company is just simply very $$$ oriented. $ comes, date secured... cannot hold date even for a couple of days, citing reasons beyond my control... like going overseas vocation...

the date difference between my AD and another was only like 3+ months.. however prices and perks have changed alot...

therefore, its no point asking for the packages.. coz for some perks, like 2 nights stay in BS... it comes as a promotional package, once the promotion is over.. its super duper hard to ask for it again.. unless your wedding dinner is like very big business for them.. for example >50tables?

think you should get my drift..
but no worries, the hotel, BS, AD PG and AD VG are very reasonable people....

additional note: for AD PG and VG, the prices are usually firm... so its quite pointless asking for discount, unless you are taking alot of sub packages from them... hope it helps...

amanda75

Hi weixiang,
thank you for these information. I will take good note of the pointers. And i am glad that you found a better BS, and may all things goes smoothly for you as planned.

By the way, anyone else from here is going to BOWs this weekend?

stickytape

me too.. will be going for bows even tho i've got most of my stuff settled.

@czs the best is to bargain for price discounts.. free flow beer/wine, more free nights in hotel, higher % of invites, carpark passes, and any other frills which you like? Must see what you need also lar. Good luck! where are u looking to book?

amanda75

You can log onto bows website (www.bows.sg) and find out who are the participating merchants. And go to the individual websites to find out. Most will only reveal during event to avoid letting competitors know beforehand. I will be heading down today after work. May all of you be able to squeeze and get good deals too =)

@stickytape: i am looking at NCQ, Orchard Hotel, Intercontinental =)

snowdoll

@stickytape: im looking at legends fortcanning.
i would love to have another night stay. wonder if they can give that. where would ur banquet be?

stickytape

@czs oh legends.. the view there is not bad i think. where do they provide the night stay? since it's not a hotel? I booked my banquet with marina mandarin alr.

@Amanda wow intercon is like much more exp than Orchard and NCQ.. you like that place v much in particular?

amanda75

@czs: a fren of mine had wedding at legends. Their aircon broke down and all guests were covered in sweat.. But then, they did offer appropriate compensation. In my opinion, having the perfect wedding is better than gaining monetary benefits =)

@stikytape: Intercon does not offer sharksfin in their package becos of WWF Save the Killer-sharks?! =( Its out of my shortlist now..

TO ALL BTBs: BAD EXPERIENCE AT BOWS (MY DREAM WEDDING BS)
I had a very bad experience with the above BS, simply to say, i was totally put off with their attitude, stating the below encounter:
- Very pushy
- Over priced package
- Incomprehensive package (especially for AD)
- Overseas package but need to pay your own air tickets, accommodation, transport etc.
- Not my style of photography
- Tried to use alot of sales tactics just to make pple sign (but it din work on us)
- Criticized other BS
- Made remarks like:
@ Couples who go into JB to take wedding package are only taking advantage of the currency exchange, nothing else (meaning to say, Cheapos)
@ Photography in JB BS are of sub-standard and are very fake

Personally, i am very fond of JB's photography style, album layouts and gowns. The only concern i have is only the hassle to travel to and fro. I felt offended when i hear their comments.
After this episode, i left BOWs immediately as i lost all the enthusiasm i went in with. But then, this may only be MY EXPERIENCE. You may beg to differ.

peko08

Hi All!

I'm Jan 2011 BTB! Great to have all the BTB here to exchange info.

Thought I'm too early to start planning now... After reading all the above threads, Gosh realised in fact I'm consider late as I have not booked anything yet!

amanda75

Hihi peko08 welcome!
You can first go settle for your AD dinner and decide for a BS later. AD dates booked up as early as one and a half year in advanced for popular venues.
Do let me know where you are interested in and i can probably help as i've already done some sourcings.
Cheers =)

amanda75

Dear peko08,
I have consolidated the latest promos at the Bows Wedding Fair (www.bows.sg) from my visit with them yesterday, you can still grab these perks when you sign with any of the below venues by tomorrow =):
1) M Hotel
Free flow of beer & red wine from commencement of dinner till 2300hr
Banquet Suite: $1388nett off total bill, Anson Room: $1088nett off total bill,
Day use standard room to extend to overnight stay with BF for 2 pax
1st year anniversary stay in deluxe room
Lunch at either rooms:
Complimentary 12 btls of house red wine
Waiver of corkage
$688nett off total bill
1st year anniversary stay in deluxe room

2)NCQ
Pleasure Package
Complimentary 1 table with 20 tables confirmed
Free flow beer 8pm-11pm
One day-use room 2-7pm
Destiny/Eternity Package
Complimentary 1 table with 20 tables confirmed
Free flow beer 8pm-11pm
One day-use room 2-7pm
Anniversary night stay in superior room
Minimum 35 tables confirmed (with any wedding package)
Complimentary 2 tables with 35 tables confirmed
Free flow beer 8pm-11pm
One day-use room 2-7pm
Wedding Lunch Promotion
Cinnamon Room
Minimum 16 tables, free 1 table
Phoenix Ballroom
Minimum 28 tables, free 2 tables

$10 nett off per table confirmed in addition to all packages above (To be held by 30 June 2011)

3) Orchard Hotel
Cash rebate of $39 nett off per table Mon-Thu Gold package
Cash rebate of $49 nett off per table Fri,Sat,Sun,PH Signature package
Free flow of beer 3 hours
Free flow of wine 3 hours
Not applicable for booking on HOT dates
Weddings to be held before 31 Aug 2011

4) Intercontinental (No sharks fin menu)
Lunch Min 25 tables
At promo price $688++ per table (Till 30 June 2010)$688 off total bill
At promo price $738++ per table (1 July till 31 Dec 2010) $738 off total bill
Dinner Mon-Thu Min 27 tables
At promo price $888++ per table (Till 31 Dec 2010)$50 off per table
Free flow beer
Dinner Fridays Min 32 tables
At promo price $988++ per table (Till 31 Dec 2010)$50 off per table
Free flow beer
Dinner Sun & PH Min 32 tables
At $1088++ (usual price) per table (Till 31 Dec 2010)
Dinner Sat/Eve of PH Min 35 tables
At $1188++ (usual price) per table (Till 31 Dec 2010)
Year 2011 rates are also released but no promos
DBS privileges
Complimentary 1 night weekend stay at Shophouse Suite for Anniversary

juz_gal

czs, i oso signed up with feline.. signed on impulse.. and could not find any reviews of feline here... anybody keen to share?

evon_gladys

Amanda: actually Amara SIngapore gives quite good offer too...
weekday dinner is only $718... the rest, i didnt take note thou....

peko08

Thanks for the warm welcome!

@Amanda: Wow u do very detailed comparison! Impressive!

Am thinking of St Regis or Ritez? Anyone has any comment about St Regis....esp their food?

BS... looking at feline, bridalVeil... Any good/bad reviews to share? Any other good BS to share?

amanda75

peko08,
You can actually go to the different links in this forum to browse through reviews of individual banquet venues and bridal boutiques you have interest in.

The only 1 tip i can provide is, you will probably get better deals during wedding fairs as they will have promotions for that purpose.

For venues, look at what you consider important to you: Atmosphere/Food/Service/Perks etc. Also you need to take note of their min/max capacity, corkage charges and any other surcharges etc.

For BS, check out your preferred style of photography, gowns and service standards (can differ from one coordinator to another even with the same BS).

Hope you can have a good time shopping =)

amanda75

Evon_Gladys,
I met with Amara, but found out that they are not offering any additional perks for Bows, therefore did not sign on spot.

Anyway, its always better to go down personally to have a feel of the place right? =)

yuki_21

Amanda (amanda75) : wow...thats pretty detailed !! why don't you appear earlier !!I already got my venue... kidding ya..hahaha.. But sure u are of great help to those still sourcing ! =P

joyle_t

evon_gladys>> would be gd if u can attend some amara bridal show. I went for the one last yr and personally didn't really like the food. htb say very zhi char. like got oatmeal prawn and stuff? but if menu change, worth a try? the ballroom quite interesting, got lil' lights like stars on the ceiling. but bit low. so depends on ur preference.

princess_girl

dun get amara hotels, their service is lousy. they change their event coordinator and sale managers very often with very high turnaround and somemore replies are not prompt..

joyle_t

amanda, i really liked peony jade initially, then really happy to know that there was peony jade (keppel) just further down vivo city can fit up to 40tables. was so sure that we went down with htb's whole family... then realised that the keppel "ballroom" is not carpeted. u probably wanna see the place when it's done up? the coordinator told us to go down b4 a wedding, as the setting is different.

jacqurine

wah.. quite sometime hv not login le... congrate to all brides who are getting marry on 01 Jan 2011. tat including myself also.. hehe

evon_gladys

oh isit? well, coz we wan something not super ex.. n i tot e food was okok.... :/ it doesnt look grand la... but like more of "contemporary"? and i agree that our coordinator doesnt have a very good attitude but i still can accommodate (i look into service as first aspect... haha!)

wanted GCW but its kinda ex and our date have a tentative booking alrdy...

hmm.. however boyfriend and me might be dropping amara (haven pay! lol) coz their max only 38 tables... our church is nt sure if we can get our booking... which means, i might need to go up to 45 max tables if no church wedding... (coz some ppl i invite for church, but not dinner)

hhmmm... any suggestions on other locations that can accommodate more tables but not very ex?

pinkcoral

My FIL just told us last night that they want us to hold another dinner in Singapore. And he will prefer our solemnization be done here also.
I want to accommodate their wishes as much as possible.. so might be canceling all of Bali and holding it here if we can find a church and a hotel.
But where can we find any unbooked venues for 01 Jan at this time.

jacqurine

Pinkcoral: oh, very sad to hear tat. I know how u feel everything plan already yet hv to change everything again. you can try and call to check with the hotel is available. will u consider resturant as well?

sbearie

oh no. sorry to here this pinkcoral.

Hope u can find a place for banquet! u looking at how many tables and targeting which area? maybe we can help to source abit too! hehehe

joyle_t

pinkcoral>> carry on with the Bali plans and prep for the rest (ROM/AD) on another date? btw, just curious, can bring doc to another cty and ROM there?