(2010) ROM in 2010

bunstarz2010

hi, i am also roming in jan. I will like to clarify your question. Do you mean book the dates with registry of marriage or venue? think we can only efile with registry of marriage 3 months before the date you want to rom.For the venue, it depends whether the place is open for reservation.

Fabulosity

Makeup Artist

Wonder if you girls have found your makeup artist yet? Please feel free to check out our portfolio at www.fabulosity-web.com

We're having promotion for ROM package at the moment for a limited period only. Please feel free to call Dorcas or Sandy at 9101 4995/ 9852 3087 for more information if you're interested. Cheers!

eil3en

I am going to ROM on 10 Oct 2010!!!

apangsjasmin

Hi! im going to ROM in March 2010! found my ROM location but have not started looking for bridal studio/photographers.

any suggestions/recommendations?

shanghaitang

Hi BTB/HTB, there will be a wedding workshop this sat 24 oct 2009 at holiday inn parkview...
heard the participating vendors are sattine bridal house and coffee n tea dreamworks...powerhouses + newly reno ballrom!

rubbishcow

jasmine, you wanna try Moo Media for PG? I am taking La Belle for Bridal and Moo Media for both ROM and AD PG n VG..

corrina

Hi, I'm new here..
going to ROM in 1st May 2010..
planning to hold my solemnization at Aloha Changi Chalet but one of their regulation stated that no wedding related event to be held..

anyone gt any suggestion??

btw,anyone looking for BS?
i have a package at Bridal De Couture..
i think their service is very good and friendly..
anyone interested can look pm me for more details..

aloha does not permit wedding events..

i suggest u hold it somewhere else.. dont hold it at chalet unless it has got significant meaning to be at a chalet..

jermjerm

we are going to ROM on 14 November 2010 (Sunday), at Singapore Marriott Hotel, on the same day as our lunch banquet at the Grand Ballroom!

now in the midst of researching on the recommended JPs to be our solemnizer. any recommendations?

the popular Mr. Chan Kai Yau is not able to solemnize for us (he don't solemnize on Sundays).

lyn_sg

Can anyone recommend ROM venues by the beach or on a Yacht?

I have about 20-60 guest. Looking at 3-4 hours venue rental with food. Budget is a concern so cannot afford something too high end (<5k). Any suggestion or experience to share will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

corrina

cow cow,

at first I was thinking of holding by the beach but due to budget wise we gave up the idea..

u got any recommendation? jus found out that Aloha dun allow ROM anymore.. =(

rubbishcow

jermjerm, your solemnization is on 14 Nov 2010 and you started looking for JP? Thought JP can only be booked 3 months before?

lyn_sg, I know AMEX Platinum card can rent yatch for few hours but not sure how much they will charge. You can check it out.. at the mean time i help you ask my friend how much she spent for hers because she did it on the yatch as well but don't think can hold 60 pax.. too many people..

corrina, you can try beach culture @ watercross.. Its at Elias Road..

jermjerm

hi cow cow,

i am not booking the JP now. usually can only book 3 months before. but i read somewhere else in the forum, for some popular JPs, it's better to start enquiring at least 6 months before, confirm with the JP first then efile 3 months before ur ROM.

i think it's good to know who are the recommended JPs now so that when the time is right, we know who to look for. at least can have some back ups if the JP that you want is not available on your day. =)

jermjerm

cow cow: hee, no la...if can book now, we also will want to book now. booking a good JP just have gotta be a bit more kiasu. =p

rubbishcow

jermjerm, haha! ya... at least gotta book someone you are comfortable with..

This is my fiance job since i am holding majority of the planning and execution of major things.. so gotta lighten my load.. hehehe.. when's your AD?

porcelain

Hi everyone! I am new here! My BF just proposed on Saturday and so I am here to seek ideas and advice from you nice people as I am clueless on how to start on planning our ROM. We hope to have our ROM on March as he wants it to fall on the same day as his birthday.

So , do help me out. where do I start?

rubbishcow

hi porcelain, welcome! there are a few things which you need to know when starting to prepare the ROM.

- Budget (this is the most impt, if not, the below few points cannot be done)
- Location for ROM
- Photography (or Videography)
- Number of guests
- ROM dress (provided by Bridal shop or buy)
- Makeup (provided by BS or self sourced)
- Flower (provided by BS or self sourced)

Since your ROM is in Mar, you may want to start sourcing your JP as well.
Have fun planning your wedding and make sure you communicate well with your fiance so that both of you understand the need and wants of each individual.

porcelain

thank you, cowcow. we don't really have a strict budget and he is seldom in Sg, so i need to do all this mostly on my own. So I might go look at venues first when he is around. Any recommendation for a grand old type of place? We want it really formal.

porcelain

By the way, we have decided the party to be around 80 people, mostly relatives and very close friends. a very small affair. So now I will do up the list and check out venues first. Any other things that I might miss out? thanks!

rubbishcow

porcelain, you can go gown shopping at this time as well. also, you can list out who you and your fiance would wanna invite because i think it is quite common that when you started listing out who you actually wanna invite, the list will get longer than expected..

porcelain

Yes I have shortlisted the places I will view the gowns. Olive suite, Renee...

My family is not very big so easy for me to list the guest. 'wipes sweat'

Ill shop for MA and Photographers soon. My friend was telling me the rates for MA is from $250-600?

rubbishcow

hmm..not quite sure about MUA coz mine comes with it.. you can see if Olive Suite or Renee tie up with any MUA not.. It will save you lotsa troubles from finding one if they do tie up with MUA..

ya.. MUA is usually almost the price now...

porcelain

I got contacts for 2 MUAs from friends. Will probably see how they are and check with the gown studios. How about Photographer's rates? Probably for a 4 hour reception?

Thanks, you have been a great help.

rubbishcow

hmm.. for photographers their rate will be from 1k-3k for a 4 hours reception.. some may charge less than 1K..

My PG is Moo Media, you can check with them.. for PG, it is better to view their works before deciding them since the way everyone capture emotions are different. Some PG will charge the Somlenization photography at a package rate while some will charge it by hourly rate.

hehe.. you r welcome.. understand that wedding is a very tiring event and it will be great to share information as well..

rubbishcow

porcelain, these are the PGs which i had shortlisted, you can take a look at their work if you are interested.

- Moo Media
- 39 East
- 36 Frames
- Andrew Choi
- Tinydot
- Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
- Raymond Phang
- John Lim

porcelain

Hi cow, sorry I did not see your reply earlier. I have already booked my MUA, PG and flowers. More like one stop shop since the MUA is more like a co-ordinator too! I highly recommend Mua Joie.
We will be having our ROM at One rochester instead. ROM gown I will be looking for it when I go on my trip next week to Hongkong. So happy to have settled most part of the ROM. Thank you cow cow for your help!

judyeng

hi guys,

i am having my rom on 25 march 2010. have some problems regarding guest list.

i feel that i dnt need to invite like the whole grp of relatives cos i want to leave the 'surprise' till the AD.. plus my dad's side all msians.. so i only have abt 20+ on my side(parents, siblings, friends. no relatives at all). but my bf insist on having his whole bunch of people to grace the ceremony.. he has abt 90+ on his side! like relatives from both side and nephews and nieces..

i just feel that its not a very good idea bt he wants it that way.. something about face lah..

just wanna ask u guys who u invite for ur rom? fyi, my AD is not so soon. until we get a flat, and we applied bt didnt get queue number so got to try and try. now staying at inlaws place for abt a yr alr..

veronica

For me, we are thinking to invite only close family/relative and close fren nia...Anyway,I feel that ROM need not be a grand grand affair, can do grand one for AD lor

jennaeeyore

I am new here, roming in 2010 Oct 16th. I will be probably inviting about 50 to 60 guests for my rom cos im inviting my colleagues as I will not have space to invite them for my actual day banquet as me and my fiance are thinking of having the banquet at a smaller and coy venue.
I have heard of pple inviting more than a 100 for ROM before. I guess it really depends on the individual.

Judy: If your htb wants to invite all his pple, I guess it will be wise to go along and since you guys are not doing the actual day so soon, you will have time to "recover" from the ROM expenses so why not make it a grand affair?

dimsummeimei

Hey all,

Any makeup artist to recommend? I will be having my ROM on 26 April 2010. Being the kaisu singaporean i am trying to settle everything by the end of this year.

porcelain

Queen, you might like to check out my Make up Artist joie. www.joieleong.com. tel 97661869

Judy, I guess you have to sit down and really discuss this through with your fiance as there must be some mutal agreement as this is both your party. If budget is not a worry, then I think might be ok to invite more people?

asprah

i'm having my solemnization on june 2010, will it be too early for me to start looking for BS and ROM packages from hotels and restaurants now?

i was planning to start preparations from jan 2010, but feeling a bit gan cheong, so am wondering if i'm being too kiasu if i start searching now.

porcelain

Hi Asprah,

As what I have learnt from Sgbrides. It depends on how extravagant you want your ROM to be. And if it falls on a popular date , then you might need to book venue early. I think PG and MUA also important to book early. Gown I am still looking, and mine is in March.

eeyorex

hi, I am 'newbie' in this thread =)

my ROM on 06 Feb 2010.

anyone invited Dr. Phua to be their solemniser? what's his practice usually?

dimsummeimei

@ Asprah my ROM is in April next yr. But i have already book the PG and the venue and the JP liao.. Is better to be kiasu then no venue for u when ur day draw nearer. If u plan to have it out of the ROM office, u can start sourcing for quotes n stuff liao coz before u noe it. Ur ROM date is drawing near

asprah

Thanks Porcelain and Queen. The only thing that is confirmed for me is PG since my jie meis are paying for me as a gift.
Guess it's time to drag my HTB around and start researching.

porcelain

Asprah,

As what Queen has mentioned. You should also look up the JP in case he/she is booked already. You can look on ROM website, they have the full list of JPs if you choose to do it out of ROM.

Your jiemeis are so sweet got you the PG. What about gowns, make up &amp; hair? I have not found the gown that I want.
and my MUA wants to have a look at my gown before we do the trial. Says better for me to visualise what look and style I want.

asprah

@Porcelain
I haven't started looking for dress and the works, though I have a few BS in mind already. Btw, don't all BS provide MUA as well? Or is it better to look for my own?
As for JPs, I didn't dare to ask yet since I have no location confirmed and I heard some JPs are anal about dates (can only book 3 mths beforehand).

porcelain

Hey Asprah,

I hope I do not offend anyone here, but I got too many feedback about unpro MUA with BS and plus they charge you for everything eventhough you already pay the BS. So end up you paying for ampoules, lashes and even curling of hair?

I rather seek my own MUA and I know what I will be getting. And the MUA I got includes everything mentioned above, so I won't have a heart attack on the ROM day itself when I am told to pay for this and that. haha

Ya, some JPs say no booking with ROM they don't commit. But mind told us he will keep date for us, just inform him when we book for the day when the 3 mths is up.

asprah

@Porcelain

So nice your JP! Anyway thanks for the advice, I shall keep this option in mind. Who knows, perhaps finding my own MUA will indeed be a better choice.

dimsummeimei

i do ala cartel style. My partner worry that if we sign up with BS he worry that they won't commit 100% into the job. At least if u source separetly it will be better as they r getting their pay from you.

Some JP r anal about the dates but at least you try to ask ma.. if he sae call back 3mths later to confirm means he will keep a lookout for you too.