2010 Looking for Hob and Hood

deborahng

Anyone with good recommendations for hob and hoods?? Heard of Hobz? Looking for some lobang on hob and hood

lisssssy

you can get good cooking hob and hood at the affordable prices.

check out those department stores. they usually have promotions for packages for both hobs and hoods together. worth the check out.

i bought my optic white hob from turbo around a month back when one of the stores were having a promotion. so it's best that you check them out for any in store promotions.

and also, it would be best if you could look for the best design that is suitable for your lifestyle and also budget.

there are many brands in the market right now. brandt, bosch, techno, turbo, electrolux. the brands can go on and go.

so take your time and choose one that you like.

deborahng

lisssssy> the problem is there are so many brands in the market that i dun know which to choose. I saw a brand called hobz but have not seen any reviews about it though.

Can i know how much you got ur hob and hood for?? thanks

lisssssy

hi deb

i can totally understand where you are coming from. there are just so many brands in the market now that you dont know how to choose.

look around before considering what you want to get. work around your budget and see what's the best you can get. then look for the reviews on the brand online.

for mine, my mother just heard it from my aunt and used it at her place before and thus she got it when our previous one started to give problems.

the hob and hood from turbo that my family got cost around 500+. quite a steal as they had a promotion when we got it.

sadly, i have no heard of hobz. maybe it's new in the market?

take your time in choosing alright. there's no rush especially when you'll be using them for the long run. it's best to make your decision carefully.

ellentg

deb > you can read up reviews on Hobz at renotalk... not so new liao actually. and from what i gathered from renotalk, there is not so much difference among different brands, so just choose a common brand with the features you want, shouldn't be much of a prob

lisssssy

ohhh. i never heard about hobz.

i do agree with ellen.

there's not much difference among the brands. just pick a common brand like brandt, bosch, turbo or electrolux.. the list just go on and go.

just get one that suits your family and cooking habits!

deborahng

hi, thanks for the reviews. I got hobz in the end cos i got a v good price plus i dun cook often. will review on it when my reno is done

lisssssy

glad to be of any help dear.

do share your experiences with hobz when its up.

im also waiting for my reno to be done. got the optic white glass hob from turbo. hopefully its good!

honger

you ordered the optic white glass hob? saw it at the turbo showcase at audiohouse once and i think its nice.

thinking of getting it for the new kitchen. have you used it yet? good not?

lisssssy

yup. i ordered the optic white glass hob for my new home. i used it before at my girlfriend's place.

it looks really pretty but like all glass hobs, it has its restrictions.

honger

what restrictions are there for the glass hobs?

thinking of getting the optic white one but still deciding as i heard there's many restrictions on using a glass hob.

lisssssy

hey dear.

before i got my optic white hob, i was told by the turbo sales person that for glass hobs, only certain sizes of pots and pans can be used on it.

with that i think it'll be the main restriction for using a glass hob.

honger

i'm thinking of getting the two burner glass hob

was attracted to the optic white one as it is pure white in color as compared to the other white glass hobs which is slightly bluish.

said to be made from toughened glass, it has heavy duty pot stands as well.

as a light cooker, i think this would be perfect for my kitchen. and it'll be easier to clean as well.

just wanna check around first before getting it.

honger

i went back to check out on the turbo glass hob i saw the other time.

the sales person told me the pros and cons about getting a glass hob and personally i did some research about them as well.

despite looking so pretty, there are quite a few limitations to using a glass hob. for example your wok used for cooking cannot exceed a certain size or something.

headache. -.-

lisssssy

yes dear, getting a glass hob can have quite a few limitations to it. especially when it comes to cooking.

for me, i got the turbo glass hob because it was white in color and that it would go perfectly with my kitchen theme.

maybe you should look around more before deciding on getting anything. it's always best to do so!

honger

i went back over the weekends and look around the showcases.

decided to get the optic white glass hob from turbo since it'll go so well with my kitchen theme as well.

hopefully wont regret!

cutesydew

i saw this white cooking hob from turbo during the weekend when i was out shopping for my new home.

it's really pretty and i wonder if you girls have any recommendations on getting a glass hob?

honger

there's a certain limit to the sizes of woks and pots that a glass hob can support. as for the long run, if the weight of the pots are too heavy, it may cause the hob to shatter after long use.

it's mainly suitable for families who do not cook much. or do light cooking.

i feel in love with the turbo optic white hob and decided to get it for my new house as i dont think there will be much cooking at place. and also it'll be easier to clean and all if things get messy.

cutesydew

thanks dear.

i was thinking if my family should go ahead and get the glass hob or just a normal turbo hob since we have been using one at our old place.

maybe i'll head back to the store and ask about it more.

honger

well. i think it is all based on how much cooking your family does actually. Personally i wouldn't recommend you to get the glass hob if your family does alot of people and usually in large amounts.

if you're family will be like mine, small (just me and my hubby) and we dont cook much, then you can get the glass hob as it would be easy to clean if we do light cooking.

you should go back to the store and ask the promoter and see what they would recommend for your needs.

for me i just like the turbo glass hob as it is white as compared to the other glass hobs which has a tinge of blue in them.

cutesydew

thanks for the information dear.

i went to the showcase the other day to check out more on the glass hobs.

you're correct. the turbo one is pure white in color as compared to the other white glass hobs.

now we just have to wait and see what the family decides.

honger

hopefully that helps. getting a glass hob is really hard work as there are many things to take into consideration.

i think at the end of the day it's all about getting from a trusted brand and also to get something that suits your lifestyle best.

for me i can't wait for my new kitchen. the optic white glass hob will surely go perfect with my kitchen theme.

cutesydew

yeah it does actually.

going to the showcase and asking the sales person about it.

recently i went to the showcase and saw that turbo now has smaller hobs for their optic white range.

so small so cute. very suitable for houses with small kitchens.

honger

i'm actually quite excited about getting my new place up. getting the keys in dec and i already got all the design and layout done.

hmmm. should i consider changing to the small hob since my kitchen is quite small? hmmm. do you have any idea if they function the same way as the normal turbo ones?

cutesydew

yes maybe you should check out the small hobs that are designed especially for smaller kitchens to accommodate smaller spaces.

it looks exactly the same as the normal sized ones. just small. you can go to the turbo showcase and check it out.

honger

thanks. do you know where is it located ah? would like to go and take a look. maybe the sales person there can help explain and all.

i supposed the hobs all look the same as the original glass hobs? just maybe smaller?

cutesydew

i think the turbo show room is at jalan besar. but sure about the actual location. maybe you can go google?

the glass hobs look the same as the original sized ones. just smaller. and it functions the same way. do go take a look!

honger

thanks dear.

will go to the turbo showcase and check it out. maybe they will have some fantastic deals during the festive period.

cutesydew

you should go and check it out. maybe got year end sales. haha.

i'm just waiting for the turbo cooking hob to arrive after the new year.

honger

thanks dear. didn't go in the end because i was pretty busy during the year end.

saw from the papers that turbo is one of the sponsors for an upcoming working workshop. my mum has signed up for it. maybe during the workshop they will have some promotions for their products.

cutesydew

the showcase will always be there. so nothing to worry about.

so did your mum get anything from the workshop? hopefully turbo offered good offers for the attendees.

honger

ya. the showcase will always be there.

my mum went to the workshop and got a new oven from turbo. quite worth it as they were giving the participants a special price for it.

she was quite lucky to go to the workshop. heard that alot of people sign up for it and only limited people where picked to go.

cutesydew

lucky her. i supposed it's better also with the sales staff from turbo advising her on which would be ideal to get for the household.

honger

yeah. she was lucky enough to get the sales stuff to advise her on what to purchase.

getting our new turbo hob from them after the cny. finally get to change away the old one. getting a 3 burner stainless steel one.

cutesydew

i think for the glass hob it depends on the person using it.

my aunt's place is using a turbo glass hob and her maid is very good and she takes very good care of it. Easy to clean and maintain. and they have been using it for a few years already.

must be quite gentle when it comes to using the glass hob unlike the normal stainless steel ones.

honger

i think for glass hob it all depends on the user.

for my family i dont think it's advisable for us to get it as my mum likes to cook alot. and in no time it would sure give way.

just waiting for the new turbo hob to arrive next week. hopefully it's as good as it!

cutesydew

thanks for the information.

do you know where are the stores located? would like to take a look as well.

my family just ordered the a new hob from turbo and they will be delivering it this week. finally can get rid of the crappy one we have at home!

honger

i just realized one of my aunts have been using the turbo glass hob for almost ten years and she has been cooking almost every day.

i'm quite surprised that it's still in good condition!

honger

i was at the turbo showroom the other day and this auntie was there with her friends.

she bought her glass hob almost 10 yrs ago already and been using it since then. she says she don't remember being told of any restrictions on the glass hob so i don't know who to believe.

i guess as long as you know how to maintain it, it's all good then!

cutesydew

the glass hob is that good eh? i supposed if you know how to use it, it'll work perfectly fine like any other type of hob.

my parents got the normal stainless steel hob from turbo instead. so far no complains about it. it's working perfectly fine!

honger

the glass hobs can last as long as you know how to use it. i guess turbo is one of the brands that has good quality ones since i read quite a few good reviews from other forums as well.

cutesydew

icic. i read about the glass hobs at other forums. apparently they can last as long as they are being used the correct way.

i don't know if it's from turbo or not. but glass hobs wont crack that easily.

honger

according to the sales lady from turbo, she asked if i do heavy cooking which i dont and thus told me that it's fine getting a glass hob.

however i do have to note that regardless of brand, glass can shatter, of course. it is how you take care of it. if you drop something sharp accidentally, it may break after sometime, even in the middle of the night.

cutesydew

icic. i guess regardless of brand, things do wear and tear.

thankfully my mum got the stainless steel one from turbo. she cooks alot so i'm glad that she bought that instead.

honger

you're right. wear and tear is just a norm.

i got my turbo optic white glass hob already and it looks stunning in my kitchen. and it works just as well as i was told. just need to be careful on my selection of woks and pans.

cutesydew

yup. wear and tear is common.

i think the most important thing is that you know how to take care of the hobs. even normal stainless steel ones suffer from wear and tear if you don't take care of it properly much less a glass hob.

i read somewhere that turbo has very good fire control to help with the cooking and im quite assured by the brand quality since it has so many good reviews.