(2010) 2010 Brides

bluerosie

ya..else is 2 wks later then deliver kind..hur..so this time round, buying the bed maybe wait till my bf back from wallaby then get..by then will be 1 mth b4 AD..juz nice

2 weeks is too much lah...1-2 days still considered acceptable. where u bought from huh? never complain to their customer service???

delivered after her AD? then an chuang no need to do??? =P

darrelandgeri

jaq > maybe u shop liao, only like that particular brand and model only marr...

anyway my GDL date got un-set. cos my sis will be giving birth around that period, and got the 49 day pantang thing :S ... now have to pick another date.

my sis bought a place near my parents, option signed, the owner wanted to back out. So it kick start a long troublesome process. Hope mine will be ok.

bluerosie

wahahahaha.2mths is ridiculous leh unless is CNY.. an chuang the chuang is on floor lor :p

GDL can be within 2 wks of ur AD de..

wah backout? coz cannot find house to stay?
my bf house got put a note at the lift - 1 newlywed next yr urgently required a flat ard his area n even put how much COV they can afford..pengz..

darrelandgeri

jaq > actually mine was on boxing day ... about 3 months b4 my wedding date =P. we wanted to settle everything ASAP, then can go distribute cards during CNY when relatives come visit.

yah ... buyer can't find a place to buy, so they wanted to back out. my sis spoke to her bank, and the bank said if the transaction never go through they have to pay a penalty for the loan. So if the owner really back out, they have to sue the owner to cover the penalty.

darrelandgeri

alicia > now mine invites... have to change status to pending... cos dunno when is the GDL date

I know my an chuang is on the night before my AD. so i have to bring kids over to jump on the bed or something. so many things to do :S

jaq > yah... somemore they held on to a high COV (at that time). so my sister LL buy from them, now they say dun want to sell. my sis told the agent to go and settle. I think this is every buyer's nightmare.

xiaofeizhu83

Morning ALL!!

Thomas - DS_Gerl is right, serta mattress are usually 12 to 14 inches... like the one I bought is 14 inches cos have the extra either memory or latex top... Serta stock usually will come once every 2 weeks...

DS_Gerl - I agree the 14 inches bedsheets are much more expensive... especially if you wanna go for higher threadcount type... brands like King Coil, Sintex, Akemi @ Metro, John Little, Robinson does sell these bedsheets... best to buy only during sales period.. but after discount also need abt $150 for one set (good one)... abt $80-$90 for 300 threadcount type.... pls note, for some if include quilt cover will be even more exp...

p.s. one quilt will also cost $100 plus for a good one hehe...

Good chance to ask for bedsheet as house-warming present =)

alicia_yong

Darrel> Oh! So how long b4 u intend to change to? Me will be sending invites during CNY partly oso bcoz my parents says they dunno how to write the wordings in chinese on the envelopes. My parents says muz write like, eg my uncle's name is Yang Bao Xing, they gotta write like "Yang Fu Bao Xing Xian Di He Jia Tai Sheng". -_-" So for my sis's invites, my dad onli calls the relatives & told them the venue, din send out invites to them, unless they request for an invite (for the address), den my dad will tell them it'll be a "blank" invite, meaning no names of relatives written. I will be skipping an chuang most prob. GDL depends on MIL liao, if she wanna do. My parents ok not to do it.

darrelandgeri

alicia > depend on the fengshui master i guess... hopefully the GDL still before CNY. i think my in law's the more traditional type, so they want to GDL before giving out the cards... but then they also dun want it too close to CNY, cos they are busy... and also got certain months we cannot use cos not auspicious for us .... *ARRRGGGHHH*

all> for how to address relatives on invitation cards, i found this link ( and bookmarked it) some time ago. seems very accurate.

http://puroland.multiply.com/journal/item/33/Traditional_Chinese_Addressing_on_Invitation_Card

darrelandgeri

oh ... almost forgot. My wife said its important for the groom side to remember to write an invitation card to the bride's family. Its one of the customnary things to do, cos technically speaking, the groom side is the host.

dinitegrity

DS-Gerl,

is ur MDW MV a video clip of ur PS shots from HK? if so, u can consider playing it (with auto playback) during the reception.... some guests may turn up quite early.. so can keep them occupied... like this u can also save on displaying the actual photo album... everybody will get to see the MV... no need to q up to see...

- But if I play during reception, not all will see and also keep repeating also not good ma.. Got music de, the music and video keep replaying very irritating sia.. LOL..

thn u can plan to play ur animation b4 1st march in and express highlight after 2nd march in.... since u dun hv any cake cutting or champange pouring.... like that, u will also be able to see the "happenings" in the morning....

u dun hv to worry wat to make plans for ur guests during the 4hr all round...
guests can mingle ard themselves and u can take grp photos with them...

it wud be advisable to get a few of ur close frens to help u ard...
a emcee - to introduce/announce couple for 1st & 2nd march in...
an overall coordinator - a "Bao Ka Liao" person so that the couple do not hv to worry abt a single thing
a gal fren - to help u in changing... unless ur MUA is there to help....

-These really help.. But I think hard to find the Bao Ka Liao people as my fren all so young. BFF is those very softspoken ppl. Gif her settle, I cant trust sia.. Sianz lei... But thanks so much. Actually is the crowd I am worried about.. LOL.. EMcee mayb will get a professional, cannot trust frenz sia.. I once go to a person wedding, she invite her cousin who is a NIE-qualified teacher, really treat the guest like kid lo.. English say 'Sit down' (even e most nerd person would know to say 'Please take a seat') and she give a 'tsk' sound on the mic when crowds r too noisy and don seat down when she said so.. God

darrelandgeri

moooooooooooorning all =)

diane > unfortunately, friends who can be good emcees are hard to find, and those who are willing to be your MC are even harder to find. Professional emcees cost about $800 up so sometimes have to make do

hello all~

hope ev1 is doing fine! i'm so bz preparing and thinking of deco ideas for my ROM..

xiaofeizhu> can i check with you for your ROM, the pink n red rose petals were provided by SMC or u brought it along? n did u remove the table centrepiece too? cos was lookin thru ur ROM pics den realise that the centre piece was gone.. haha..

bluerosie

aveline: u taking korean classes? where wor? I used to take from lingo..

have settled my favors selection..phew..
talking abt emcee..my wedding most probably will be recorded voices of the bride n groom..hahaha

xiaofeizhu83

Hi ALL!!

cloud - The pink and red silk petals are brought by myself... then my gf help me to decor... but for the petals at the solemnization table, my gf stick it on with scotch tape cos when there's wind, it will fly....
Table centrepiece meaning the so call heart shape ring pillow cum flower thingy? I told my co-ordinator that I only need the sound system, mic and pen cos I brought my own ring pillow... the feather pen was prepared by SMC but cannot sign de cos its not black ink so only put there for show... wedding favours also prepared by myself...

neuross

hi hi everybody!

I juz hv my AD cfm on 15 May 2010! Hv to rush get everything prepared now.

Can you all tell me roughly how many mths before AD I should hv taken my PS and boguth wedding bands? So I know how much time I hv left to shop around and think abt it slowly. :S

piger

hihi Nana... Welcome to 2010 BTB thread.. =)

i think if possible.. give yourself at least 6 months to do your things... but firstly... since you have confirm the date.... secure your hotel first.. =)

Have fun in ur preparations.. =)

darrelandgeri

welcome to the 2010 thread nana !

rings generally take 6-8 weeks to customise.
For gown+photography
If you're doing doing MTM, it takes 4-8 months to make, depending on who you pick and the design. Takes about 2 months to produce an album too.

of course, like what eelynn said, most impt is to settle the venue first

Thanks xiaofeizhu!! i think i need to prepare my own petals liao.. cos i dun reli like their colours of peach n yellow.. thinking of getting my own sashes to tie up the chairs.. but realise they also tie up the pillars.. like tat too much work needed liao..
Can check with you where u bought ur wedding favours? Thanks thanks!

neuross

Ty all for fast response!

To summarize up, I die die muz get my PS done and buy wedding bands at least 3 mths in advance :p Kk... not too bad.

I hv booked a few WD venues already. Going to view them and see some bridal shop this wkend. :p

welcome nana =)

get ur venue settled first like what the rest are saying cos it's less than a yr to go and most of the popular hotels wld have been fully booked by now.

After settling ur venue, go hunt for BS and then AD PG/VG. PS can take roughly abt 3-4mths before ur AD, wedding bands give urself abt 2mths before AD. Have fun!

ds_gerl

thomas> like wat some hv mentioned, got to get slightly more expensive bedsheets due to the special height... and if u r into more threadcounts, then even more ex....
but i still think it's a gd investment lor... i heard u dun even hv to turn over the bed every few years...

xfz> gd idea to request bedsheet sets for house warming... but i wud prefer to hv hard cash.... heehee... $_$

diane> u dun hv to turn on the music very load mah... or u can choose to turn off the music....
u can plan to play for a length of period... when more guests hv arrived

u can get ur softspoken BFF to be ur bridesmaid on that day.... and she can help to around with the gown and changing to 2nd gown....
as for other helpers, try to see if u can get some guy helpers from ur HTB or cousins...
for emcee, u can gv them a draft script to follow...

welcome nana =)
most impt things to settle base on priority:
1) Venue (once bk by others, it's gone)
2) PG & VG for AD (if u considering freelance, got to chk their available schedules. some might be bk ardy if it's a hot date)
3) BS (if u not intending for MTM & overseas PS, u can take ur time to source ard)

happy106

Jaq> You got your favours from OH in the end?

Nana> Looks like you have to start now.. Most impt is to plan your finance first, set a budget for everything.. Venue is the toughest to get, esp. weekends.. Plus you need time to view the venues to see it fits into your own criteria.. Jiayou!!

Aveline> Kimchi is sponsored by company?

alicia_yong

Morning all~

Nana> Welcome to this thread. Note tat for wedding bands, if u 1 2 include it in ur PS, u gotta get it ready b4 PS. =) And remb b4 gg to view venues, u gotta haf a rough no. of tables on hand, coz some hotels/restaurants haf limited total no. of tables.

Ave> Ya, saw u! lol~ Go der for class ah? hahhaa!

xiaofeizhu83

cloud - I stick to the peach colour theme provided by SMC cos I din want to spend so much money on the decor as its just for immediate family and a few close frens... but then I spend quite a lot on the favours hehe... got the favour box from http://sgweddingfavors.com/ then inside the box are candies... then gotten a few lollipop cookies from Famouse Amos for the kids...

Booy and Aveline - Jia you for your kimchi and sushi class... Gambatte Kudasai!!

bluerosie

I miss my korean classes~~~sob..now thinking to learn back also lazy LOL..

booy: gotten from the vendor, different signature favors from OH de..we went down to tagore warehouse to pick.

bluerosie

alicia: they provide, but we dun like the favors OH give, so coordinator allow us to discuss with the vendor direct n get equivalent pricing other favors lor..

bluerosie

alicia: those name card display holder, 'xi' key,wedding cake candle, coaster, luggage tag..

I chosen name card holder, book end n letter opener