(2010/12) Dec 2010 BTB

sinplyme

it seems like so quiet out here... every1 out on holies?

xinyue

Hello Happy Girl n Sinplyme...

LOl.. Yeah, it's quiet here.. I am not on Hols too..
Aiyo.. i am lost on what else to prepare next for wedding..

Since My house is almost done up, only left the buyings of essential furnitures/appliances like
washing machines, fridge, TV console, etc. How about you gals??

Happy Girl : We can also chat in MSN if you like..
add me, [email protected]

charray

HTB and i are thinking of having our AD in Dec 2010 too.. but still have to settle on the exact date... just wanna ask you girls, are all of you just going to use the decor (tables, stage, reception table) that the hotel provide? I'm thinking of getting an external florist to do it.. saw some their websites...sooooo nice the decor!! But i'm not sure which one is good... anybody has any experience?

sinplyme

belinda >> ya, it's quiet here. seldom log on to msn. so chat here!

charRay >> hmm, i'm not too sure but i suppose simple decor like table cloth and such they'll provide bah.. but if you want sthg more, may have to check with them...

sinplyme

happy girl >> my place won't be here until 2012 last qtr or 2013 1st qtr... i forgot, always get mixed up so there wont be any reno for now. not doing anything also. just keeping a lookout for AD PG & VG. that's a headache cos got budget and must look at their portfolios too.

happygirl198230

belinda,

my msn cant log in leh. think need to reinstall or something. hahaha... so hv u made ur appointment? have u thought of who u are going to ask w u to try ur gowns n give u opinions? i think ill get my sis.
so excited about the gown trying! but i think ill feel sad if i cant fit into the gowns. sigh... initially i told myself hv to lose weight b4 wedding and not to be a fat bride. but its really difficult esp with this festive season! this month so many eating sessions lor! cham...

charRay,

yeah think they can provide simple stuff. other than flowers, u can also put those wedding ornaments fr precious moments, some bears or u know those lacey stuff meant for wedding deco. can buy fr online website. then after wedding, u can still keep. hee

simplyme,

then u staying at hubby's place aft customary? for me, we got resale. gonna collect keys in Jan. finally! really a long process, cos we actually exercised the OTP in aug! now gonna look for reno stuff...

so which PG/VG do u have in mind? Mirage for VG is quite good. My friend used their services.

sinplyme

yvonne > i'm intending to get one more for my mom and mil. but this one i havent get down to doing~

happy_girl > yah, most prob staying with in-laws. As for AD PG and VG i'm keeping a lookout. is there any portfolios to view or u know their price package? can PM me?

xinyue

hello happy girl...

LoL... ya, maybe need to re-install..
Have yet to make appointment with BS.

Sigh.. the only person I can think of is my mom! Weird right? where got ladies bringing their moms for choosing of wedding gowns?

I am not excited about gown trying since I am fat!
And.. it would really be demoralising to hear about negative comments or not being able to fit into a gown which I happen to fancy.

Hai.. why is wedding sooooo stressful? More issues coming up, I suppose. Argh!

sinplyme

happy_girl > i got ur PM. thanks!

belinda > maybe you can ask a few of ur close girl friends or people who knows ur taste so they can tell whether is it 'you' or not when u are in the gown. When i signed the bridal package, i brought my sister along and tried a few gown before signing, and my sis will just tells me whether it's my style or not..

Don't be too stress okie~

xinyue

hello sinplyme...

Sigh.. the only close girl fren I have.. is overseas and might not even be back in time for my wedding. T_T. I see.. hmm..

sinplyme

ic, well, i'm sure there are ladies who brings along their moms when choosing gown. anw, what matter most is comfy and u like it bah~

dont worry too much alright! it will be fine!

happygirl198230

for me, i will be asking my sis to come with me. cos i think she wont be too diplomatic with me, which is good. my mum has different taste as me, so asking her is not a gd idea. haha...

but i wonder if asking friend along to the first appointment is necessary... cos i dun really know what is done during the first appointment.

zephyr2010

Hi all, am looking to sell my package with Bliss, that includes photoshoot at Bintan, inclusive of ferry to and fro Bintan (i.e. no need to pay for yourself and Photographer, etc.)
Package is $3988 inclusive of 40poses of pre-wedding album, metalic finishes for full album, and 2x Sisters' Dresses and 2x Brother suits to rent.
Pls email me for full package details, at [email protected] if you are interested. Thank you!

xinyue

sinplyme > yup.. agreed.. most important is to be comfortable and feel confident in the gowns.. of course, receiving positive comments is a bonus.. when is ur first appointment?

happy girl > good for you! my mom does have different taste from me and she is conservative! @_@
Hmm.. since mine is MTM gown, 1st appointment will be to take my measurement (since that was what co-ordinator told me when i confirmed with her my AD) and maybe discuss with co-ordinator regarding design of gowns?

xinyue

sinplyme > I see.. Good for you! you have more time to look at bridal mags for design ideas. my WG is MTM.. cant remember is it the same for EG. Co-ordinater commented for me to make go down by next month to take measurement.

kat0606

Happy New Year! It's the yr!!! 2010! =)
Been a while since last step in here.
How's everyone's preparation?

I've just settled my gowns for photoshoot, though PS will be in May.

taniatay

Happy New Year!

Had been really busy lately and missed out on catching up on this thread for a while.

Having a hard time now trying to pin down the AD photographer and videographer. It's between moomedia, alvinadelinewedding, Chris Ling or LightedPixel. Anyone has any comments on them to share? PM me please?

Focusing on losing some weight now before visitng the BS to mtm my gowns in March. So many festive season recently, really trying hard to resist temptation.

BTW, saw in an earlier enquiry by Veronica on my BS. I had only visited Felin once to try on some gowns to see which cut fits me best. The designer and owner Rachel was very friendly and helpful though I am just trying and not discussing anything at that point in time. They let me try many styles and colours so that I have a feel of the design and colour to look out for. A pleasing experience with them so far.

sdcl

I really am quite overwhelmed by all the wedding prep, the acronyms you all use (what is AD? what is BS? etc), all the things I have to do, from the dress to the package (what package??) to the dinner etc.

argh!

all I know is, my guy and I plan to get married in december 2010.

ok, so what do I need to do? do I have to engage a wedding planner/organizer? I don't want one, if possible..

all I know and what I want, are:
1. a small intimate wedding dinner (at most 8 tables)
2. preferably outdoors, or at least semi-outdoors
3. weekends (stupid question: is a friday evening considered a weekend?)

can I get a solemnizer (spelling, pardon me) to 'ROM' us just before the dinner? or is it only in the day? how much in advance do I need to 'reserve' this person?

I have a photographer in mind; he's an old friend, so that's settled, but where do I get a wedding dress? is it all in a package, and if so, what's in a package? argh!!

please help! I mean, is there even a step by step FAQ for brides to be in singapore?

thanks so much!

deborahng

morning...

DL> AD is actual day, BS is bridal studio.

I think the first thing you have to do is look for the venue first and book the date. Usually hotels consider fridays as weekend.. you have to check with the venue you chose

Solemnizer Im not sure as i have not booked mine yet.
Wedding dress, you can choose to get from the bridal studios and they will usually offer you a package.. If only for the AD, then it should include wedding gown, Evening gown, tea dress, groom suit and bridal bouquet and things like tt.. Can neg for what you need

hope this helps abit... haha you can always buy bridal mags as they have some helpful info

sdcl

thanks so much deb! really it does help.

yes I figured, that the most important is the date and the venue. at the very least, to 'chope' it, and then the others can plan later.

do you think, if I get the date, venue, and photographer reserved/booked, I can do the dress, suit, make up, etc etc much much later? like, in june 2010? will it be too late by then to start planning for those?

also, what are the little things that the bride/bridgegroom need to plan for that is not done by the hotel or restaurant? like, wedding favours? what else? it's quite overwhelming, with all the small little things that seem to be needed..

sinplyme

hi DL,

yea, the date & venue is quite impt for now.
Others on the list is the AD PG and the bridal gowns.
Based on the info I got, u may need to start choosing ur gowns/suits early for 2 reasons, otherwise later is okie.
The 2 reasons being:
- u using the gowns in ur pre-wedding shoots.
- u are doing MTM for ur gowns.

sdcl

what is PG? actual day programme? package? haha all the acronyms!

on average, how early from the actual day do people do their pre-wedding shoots? 3 months? 6 months??

deborahng

dl> PG is photographer... im doing my pre wedding shoot in May as I will be going taiwan. for my gowns i will be choosing only in August or September as I bought my own wedding gown liao.. so from the bridal is another set

xinyue

jennifer > contact details of jin diao tong ;

Jin Gu Niang at 6253 8168

sry for the late reply. had problems accessing this website.

Fabulosity

Makeup Artist

Do take a moment to check out our makeup services on www.fabulosity-web.com if you're looking for a makeup artist.

Please feel free to call me at 9101 4995 for more information. We provide makeup services for mom/ bridesmaids as well.

We also provide made-to-measure gowns through our appointed designers.

DL: usually ppl do their PS 3mths or more before their AD, some even 1yr before. I did mine abt 5mths before my AD

dun worry, just follow the sequence below cos this is what most ppl do to prepare for their AD, most important thing to do is denoted by 1, followed by 2 and so on

1. Wedding date
2. Venue (hotel or restaurant)
3. AD PG/VG
4. BS

U need to fix ur wedding date first before u can go look for ur venue, otherwise u can't get anything done. After that settle ur venue, then AD PG/VG. Last wld be BS cos they dun work on dates, so many to choose from somemore.

Have fun

summerdays

I am new here. I am a Dec 2010 BTB as well.

My mum insisted on auspicious times for my AD. But I have no idea how to go about finding the auspicious timing. Can anyone help me up? Thanks!

Lin, a geomancer can help u on that. If u want, u can try Master David Tong located in this forum (see Advice by the Experts column, his contact is there)

no prob. do take note that what david can give u FOC in the forum is general auspicious dates only which are reflected in the tongshu, its not accurate. for dates specifically good to ur and ur other half, u have to pay $100 and get him to calculate for u by bazi method.

and yes, I paid him $100 to calculate for me cos we are quite particular abt auspicious dates

xinyue

DL> suggest that you settle your wedding date, venue ,BS and lastly AD PG and VG.
Yes, you need the wedding date to book venue and yes, there are lots of BS to choose from.
But it might take time for you to look for the gown which suits you and the bridal studio/bridal packages that you are comfortable with..

Furthermore, if you are thinking of MTM for your WG, you need to choose a BS first.. This is because it takes time to make the WG.
Sometimes, a certain Make Up Artist in the Bridal Studio is quite popular and you might need to 'book' them early.
If you find price and photo quality (of AD PG & VG) offered by BS is reasonable, that would save u hassle of sourcing for AD PG & VG.

This is just my 2 cents worth.

serchan

Dear Dec 2010 brides....

I'm here to join the fun too. have been reading this forum and yes i'm also Dec 2010 bride after we've decided the AD.

DL> Belinda is right, settle your wedding date & venue first because the good places are usually taken. My friend was left with very little choices in the end. have at least 3-4 dates.

For me, next step is to settle my BS.

I'm considering SBroadway@AMK, any review or good recommendation. My budget is $3500.

cheers,
Serene

xinyue

Hello Serene..

Welcome on board...

sinplyme > yes, very very quiet at this side.. i wonder where is everyone.. I went for my 1st appoinment last weeknd and choosen the design for my gown.. hope the end result looks nice on me!

sinplyme

belinda >

so fast? I'm planning to go in after CNY.
hm.. now, I'm still sourcing for AD PG and VG and worrying who can do a montage for us...
and the angbao box + guestbook since the hotel is not providing it.

any recommendations?

oh, anyone preparing bridemaids' dresses for ur jiemeis as well... any recommendation?

xinyue

sinplyme>

both my WG and EG is MTM, co-ordinator has told me to pay her a visit within this month. So, went down last sunday for choosing of design for gowns and also take measurement, of course, we had to pay the 2nd deposit.

Hmm... err.. what is montage? For my BS, George the photographer seems good.. not sure abour price though..

Have you signed up with any BS? you can bargain for free angbao box and guestbox from BS. Because, I bargained for my guestbook with BS. :p

Do not intend to have any jiemeis' dresses, meaning they can wear whatever they are comfortable with.

Btw, my BS is offering rental of bridemaids' dresses at $80 each (fees inclusive of alteration and washing)