(2010/12) Dec 2010 BTB

celinepuah

Hi sinply,
I just finish writing my invites too ^O^†.. loads to write..

Btw, I saw this shop selling wedding stuff at Far East, they are selling Page boy’s vest, white shirt & black pants, think it’s less than $40, u might wanna pop by =)

peusecret

all the BTBs, shld we settle the full payment with BS before we collect the photos?

I realized they have changed their attitude after they manage to get the deal..

Now the BS wants me to settle the remaining amt before I collect my album..

pls advise..thanks

happygirl198230

u mean its normal to make full payment before our actual day? im actually going down to collect my album later.

but if we make full payment, what if their attitude change when we need alteration to our bridal gown for ad?

ccharis

Ya, I'm feeling the 'heat' now too!

Just done with invitations, we should start distributing from today onwards as our guests more kancheong to receive the tiap then us! Lol!

Sinply: Try Mothercare @ Harbour Front, 2nd Level.
I do like the F/G dresses, quality is nice & yet not overpriced (heard from my friend, on/off they have sales, so you might like to check it out).

My personal take is, give it a look at those kiddy stores first, I'm sure you can find something you like. At least, if you're going to spend quite a bit on the kids, you want something that they can wear it more than once loh. Usual de made of satin, abit sian leh...

peusecret: It all depends on the agreed terms when you signed with them loh, they should had explained how the payment terms are like (ie. deposit, 1st payment on PS, 2nd payment confirmed pictures, 3rd payment before album, etc...) different bridal shops have different policies bah, try looking for the answers in your contract? It should be stated.

As for the attitude, most if not all of them are very "xian shi" de, I have to agree -- keeping my fingers crossed that I wont suffer the same predicament.
Then again, I fell into their "trap" again, b'cause I could not tahan & added alot more pictures, sigh!

sinplyme

simplesweet >
i just wrote on the envelope... i didn't write on the inserts. *lazy, i know* ;p

will check out FEP soon... wow.. so many things un-done and it's NOVEMBER already! ;p

peusecret >
for my BS, they only require full payment upon collection of album though it's only left with 900+ of payment undone. :x

ccharis >
my flower girls and page boys are of different ages.. i have 2yo, 7/8yo and 9yo pairs. HTB is contemplating to do away with the flower girls and page boys cos he scare too troublesome and expensive (since i think we need to pay for their suits/dresses & not forgetting the angbaos..)...

ccharis

Happy Girl: Just sharing my thoughts aloud...

Whether or not their attitude changes is another thing but usually by the 2nd installment (which is on/before PS day) they would have made their bucks from you already.
Next thing they would look forward to -- to stretch their profit from you is when you add more pictures loh. That's PURE profit for them.

Along the way there are always those nitty-gritty stuffs which basically if you want anything other than as stated on it -- $$$ loh.
So, no matter what -- attitude sure change de.

Most if not all human beings live by the sight of their eyes... It's reality.

ccharis

Sinplyme: I dont wanna influence you lah, but we also do away with the F/G and P/B.

There's simply too much hassle aside the monetary issues -- (maybe I'm thinking too much into it) but ie. kids are so unpredictable.
Not forgetting if they are not well socialised then they might freak out on the big day itself too, esp. the 2YO loh.

Comic relief: Imagine, having the cute lil' 2YO ringbearer, but on AD itself, he panic the moment he see that he need to walk down the aisle with sooooo many adults.
Crying is already an issue but what if he take the ring pillow, then throw & stomp his feet how? *roll eyeballs & shakes head*

I told my Mum that I will still give APs to them, but I dont need any 'fancy stunts' so this kind of disaster can avert de leh, heh!

ccharis

Babes, back to JINCHA topic again: Share your thoughts with me please please!!!

Honestly the time is pretty rigid now so max out we could only have an hour to do the JC else I got no time to change alr...
+ I do not wanna miss the cocktail reception where I could catch up with friends, and photo taking with them also.

* We have scrap the idea to have the younger gen JC to us.
* Immediate (Her) only 4pax/2coup
* Immediate (His) only his Mum
* Extended (Her) planning only to JC to Big Aunt & Big Uncle -- both are alone & we're skipping all my elder cousins which is 20pax/10coups!
(Mum agrees to this, since we have not seen each other for ages + my sis said their wedding only invite my Dad & Mum only, so...)
* Extended (His/Mum) total of 10paxs but need to go for 8 rounds as cause most are alone.
* Extended (His/Dad) total of 4 paxs, 2 rounds.

So how much time do you guys actually allocate for per couple/per pax? 5-10 mins was what I heard but with my situation it would take freaking close to 2 hours, sigh!
Jialat jialat!

crossie

Hey all>> quite headache about the JC also... as for FG dress and PB suit, i am also not getting for them...

Peu & happy>> my advice is to try to drag till you c your AD gown and after alteration, tell them you are not free to go specially just to make payment, maybe want to wait till you are there to collect you album or what... cos like my case, they totally change the attitude lo, or maybe i shd say, my coordinator was posted overseas so her coll is not getting any cut of com so simply dont care...

sinplyme

ccharis >
that's exactly what my htb thought too.. he was telling me how high the possibility of the kids freaking out last minute on the AD and then all the effort would be wasted but must coordinate and take care of them during the rehearsals.. :x

i'm having the tea ceremony in the morning, catered one hour for each side.

peusecret

The BS said my pkg is promotion pkg, so she insisted us to settle 100% before we take photo.

Now pray everything will go smoothly..

meebo

hi all, been long time since i log in here again.

what can i say. BUSY BUSY BUSY!!!

Seems like all btb here have settled most of the stuffs.

Can i just check, any btb here haven collected their wedding album? I have just selected my photos and understand that will only get to see the 1st layout in 1st week of Dec. Is that consider late? What if i dun like the layout and want to amend. oh gosh!!!

My printer still haven send the draft for the invitation card to me. Normally how long do they need to print after the draft is ok.

Time running short!!!

peusecret

me!

i haven collected my album.. and havent collected my invitation card also =x
and finalize on seating & AD schedule also..

hi me(meebo), when is ur AD? mine is 12 Dec..

I now waiting for the designer to show me the 2nd Draft.. hopefully can receive the album by end of Nov..if not really nothing to show guests

meebo

haha... thanks simplyme!!!

So my 1st layout in 1st week of Dec is still ok hah.

peusecret: all u mention above i oso haven do. My AD is on 23 Dec. Now still doing the guest list. Starting to feel shortage of time.

ccharis

Maybe you girls can seek consolation in my case lah -- AD on 11th & last week just choose pictures only. At least peusecret already saw her 1st draft but me leh, soft edited copies also don't have yet! Not blaming BS thou' cause we split our PS + we more than doubled our initial shots (40 to 100 now). BA assured no matter what, both albums will arrive on AD but maybe worse case pick on the day together with the WG loh, sigh. Imagine I also haven't decide on the blown ups, framing, etc... I was told I need to wait 2 more weeks before I could view 1st layout *fingers tightly crossed*

ccharis

Peu: I reckon you work fullspeed on invitations first, good to have at least a month of notice, at least with the tiap, guest know it's confirmed or otherwise it's holiday season, very hectic when you do RSVP also. Exams period ending & everyone start thinking about overseas trip.

I've just started "bombing" and our AD is 11th, a day before you, so I share thots with you. Personal exp, even relatives also keep forgetting the date (to avoid clashing) and kept calling -- bobian, to us easy to rem but not their big day leh, lololol!

ccharis

Ladies, I'm coming up with checklist for our wedding preps, sametime my bestie is reminding me of what I might have missed out (ie. 2 weeks before AD to RSVP, 1 week before to confirm floorplan & itinery, etc lah...)

I do have a plan to help each other here, if you like to join this 'help/reminder' system -- drop your names/email here & I'd send you an excel so that I could compile the info together the upload screenshot (so we can track each other, etc...)

I'd update it weekly twice, until the last Dec BTB.
Somewhat like sinplyme's but for different purposes.

1. ccharis [email protected]

rivenwood

ccharis: pls include me as well! [email protected]
thanks babe! And alamak, I just saw your email! Ill reply you via there

For us, we also just started writing our invites. Seems like alot of things haven't settle too. Meeting my hotel coordinator in 2 weeks time to finalise the wedding favours.
I haven't gone down my BS to collect my album and portrait and try on my Tea Dress and others.
I haven't met up with my JMs to discuss on that day. haha. SHUCKS!

ccharis

Ladies, I'm coming up with checklist for our wedding preps, sametime my bestie is reminding me of what I might have missed out (ie. 2 weeks before AD to RSVP, 1 week before to confirm floorplan & itinery, etc lah...)

I do have a plan to help each other here, if you like to join this 'help/reminder' system -- drop your names/email here & I'd send you an excel so that I could compile the info together the upload screenshot (so we can track each other, etc...)

1. ccharis -- [email protected]
2. crossie -- [email protected]
3. meebo -- [email protected]
4. rivenwood -- [email protected]

--------------------------------------------

I have sent out the HELPLIST to the above.
Please fill in & send back to me so I can start compiling and post here.

ccharis

5. peusecret -- [email protected]

Peu: I've just sent!

sinplyme

haha.. how can I be left out leh.. ccharis, can i PM you.. cos I tend to get a lot of spam mails if i leave emails on the forum openly...

ccharis

6. sinplyme

Sinply: Babe, sent too!

ccharis

6. sinplyme
7. crazyshopper08 -- [email protected]

Crazy: Over to you!

ALL babes, please fill the forms up & send back to me so I could create the spreadsheet to be posted here.
*** I machiam camping here siah, lol! ***

peusecret

hi everyone, I have a question, pls enlighten me.

Because after marriage, I am not moving in to live with my HTB and his family, so we do not need to prepare the 新房 and we also skip the 安床..

my parents insist to buy us new towel, slipper and etc.. so may I know what are the things I need to bring to the hotel on the AD?

I heard some ppl said dun use the towel/slipper provide by the hotel, cause newly wed must use "brand new" items..

i am lost..and the best thing is my mum ask me to prepare the things myself.. haha.. so how ah?

mimichan

hello ladies, been awhile.. it's less than a month before Dec! exciting! but so many things to do eh.

I just moved to my new place, but some reno is not finished so it's quite messy. hope they finish by this week.
I am still waiting for my invitation cards to be printed out, so I haven't written any yet.

to everyone: I just wana say this (even thought it may sound silly) please be careful when you walk, cos I just fell down badly yesterday on the road and my knee has a big wound now. Don't want any scarred bride here. I'm just hoping that the wound will heal nicely before my wedding. i'm sure I'm the only clumsy one but just be careful k..

ccharis - I've helped many Tea Ceremony at my cousins' weddings, and from experience, I think 5-10min per couple is too long. You don't need that long.. you will probably just give tea, they will take a few sips, talk to you abit, hug you, give you angbao or gifts, then over to next couple. I am only allocating about 2-3min for each couple.

Also, you may want to consider serving tea to the single aunts/uncles together.. I have 2 single aunts and we will serve them together, not one by one. But I guess this is up to your family, if they mind or not..
ccharis could you also include me in the list, I'll PM you my email too, not comfortable posting personal email here cos I wana avoid spam emails too.. thanks!
oh ya and your honeypot is very cute. I'm thinking of giving out pot of jam, but haven't been able to find any suitable jar. Is your honey pot arranged by your hotel? Mind sharing the contact if you know which company is making this honey? I just want the pot but it's so hard to find!

moonprincess - wah from JB! have a good rest the night before, you need lotsa energy on AD since you're travelling a lot!

peusecret - hmm I will probably just get the towels but maybe not slippers, don't want to carry too many things ha ha.

ccharis

peu: I dunno about the traditions, but hor, even if wear the hotel disposable slippers -- it's also new right? If your Mum is superstitious, then bedsheet also need to bring loh?

Mimi is also right, try to compact pack your items. I'm sure after the wedding you've got more to bring home + by then, no more JM/XD to help lug home le, lol!

-------

Mimi: Oh dear, pile on more Vit E gel! Thanks for the reminder!
On the honey pots, I got them from Malaysia due to cheaper costing. However, as I was sharing with Crazy the other day -- I've got a friend working in this industry whom can get mini jams (ie. blueberry/strawberry/marmalade/etc..) at dirt cheap price. Only issue would be labelling as I am doing most of the stuffs (even the artwork) by myself. Ah, think mini Yakun kaya too! If you like more information on this, perhaps I could share more with you on email.

As for TC, so you reckon 1 hour for those that I've mentioned should be more than enough? I doubt 'his side' would want because they are not actually 'single' as per say but now alone lah. If you get my drift loh, sigh...

---------

If I could add on to Mimi's concerned note, you brides might like to walk with your AD heels at home/office carpet to "season" it otherwise it might be too painful to walk on AD or even blisters. I know some might be superstitious about it but just imagine those with full day itinery!

ccharis

5. peusecret -- [email protected] *replied*
6. sinplyme
8. mimi

Mimi: Got your PM and just sent you the form.
Peu: I've got your response!

peusecret

my mum not superstitious type one, but she just want me to have blissful marriage, her friends told her to do so, so she å®å¯ä¿¡å…¶æœ‰ä¸å¯ä¿¡å…¶æ—  and hope i will prepare those items loh.. haha..

ccharis

6. sinplyme
8. mimi

1559352.jpg

PEU: I would go thru & keep you posted via email what you're behind schedule now.

To the rest: I will do 1st update tonight, so if possible do send me your files so as for my easier compilation.

ccharis

Crazy: Please confirm your email address again.
Also, could I have fallen into your spam box instead?

Moon: I've sent out, and will update the list here in the next round.

worldangel

Thanks, got it. Find it really useful and at the same time, it causes me to panic cos realise quite a number of things haven't done!

By the way, I only issued my invitation cards to those who confirmed they will be coming. I asked them first if they are free on that date and whether they would be available to attend...only if they say yes, I gave them the card. Do I still need to get them to RSVP? If yes, how do I go about doing it?

Thanks in advance! My AD is on 12 December by the way, same as peusecret it seems ;)

ccharis

Moon: I get what you mean, I'm pretty much doing the same as you cause I crafted my own invites (so am careful with who I give so as not to 'waste' my efforts, heh!) but it's still safer to do RSVP approx. 2 weeks before your AD just in case people "forget" or for whatever sort of reasons such as bringing kids along, partner unable to come, etc...

Also, some might have special dietary request so you might like to double up & take that opportunity to check/confirm.

deborahng

ccharis> babe pls add me as well haha. my email [email protected]. MY AD is 10 dec

I just selected my AD gowns on Tues. going to print insert for invites this weekend and GDL next say. BS told me shld get my album by end of the mth

ccharis

Deb & Happybride12: Form sent, please check! Thanks!

Moon: Yeap! I reckon calls are better but I also lazy lah. Oh well, whichever gets the work done loh. I'd still call the relatives/assign my parents to this & as for HTB side, it's his call (afterall if he doesn't RSVP he'll suffer himself since he's the boss that pays, heh!) and finally I'd settle the friends-category loh. Again, take note to ask about special diets & kiddies part -- I've encountered nor factoring the latter (ie. not clearly written on invitation & forget to ask during RSVP) and ended up the couple had to squeeze in 3 more tables.

sinplyme

ccharis >

thanks for the list, it's really comprehensive...so what are we supposed to do here... fill the form &...?

*headaching*

doing appraisal later... year end is here!

ccharis

4. rivenwood -- [email protected] *replied*
6. sinplyme
8. mimi
9. moonprincess -- [email protected]
10. deb -- [email protected]

1560122.jpg

peusecret

hi all, can I use my own wedding vows instead of the standard vows?

Do I need to seek the approval from JP if I want to use another version?

When do we exchange the vows, after we exchange the rings or before?? =x