(2010/12) Dec 2010 BTB

wifey_vicky

hi gigi,

he is an animator, full time teaching in a 3d media school for cert course and diploma course. he doing freelance also when time allowed.

gary wee - www.gwpixel.net, bear with the speed of his website, it is slow because he upload his animation work.

sinplyme

hi <font color="0000ff">rivenwood</font>,

the tower ballroom was taken so i took the bigger ballroom, island ballroom ,weekend package @ $1,138++/per table.

hamtaroqoo

Hi BTB of Dec 2010,

I'm new here!
My AD: 19 Dec 2010
Banquet Venue: Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Bridal Studio: TBC (Most probably Divine Couture)
AD PG AD VG: TBC
ROM Date: 9 Nov 2009
ROM Venue: ROM itself
Lovenest: Signature Park

happygirl198230

hi agnes,

welcome! i have heard of but din really check them out as im not intending to do any animation.

for me, i have booked my videographer just last week. meeting photographer this fri. so happy.

hamtaroqoo

Hi....

Normally BS package doesn't include AD VG and PG right? Wat's the norm price for that, less than $3k? Can anyone advise?

happygirl198230

hi agnes,

usually bridal package dun include AD PG or VG. but sometimes they throw in AD PG as a bonus.

PG or VG can range between around 900 bucks each for freelancer or a few thousands. something mid-range will be around 3k.

princessemma

hey sinplyme, initally i wanted to take 18th dec at island ballroom as well!!! haha but I was next on the waiting list!! but u confirmed and I wasn't able to get!

So i change my date!

Lucky you!!!

by the way, how many tables are u having?

sinplyme

hi <font color="0000ff">amelyn</font>,
yah, the events coordinator did tell me there're 2 couples looking at the same dates previously...
so 1 of them's you...

the other time when I enquired, Marriott was still available on the 18th Dec but felt that Shangri La was better so decided on Shang.

we haven't finalise the guest list yet, tentative list is abt 500+ guest...
the min. reqmt is 55 tables, so should be able to meet the reqmt.

happygirl198230

hi agnes,

i got my VG thru my friend who used his service b4. went to view last week and find the video not bad. most importantly, it is below 1k and i think for that price, it is not bad already.

im gonna meet a photographer eirik tan this week. another bride to be in the 2010 btb thread have engaged his service for her wedding next year. i think he is quite good. check out his blog: www.eiriktanblog.com

hamtaroqoo

Hi Happy Girl

YOur VG is for the whole of AD huh? I was thinking.....will it be cheaper if I only engaged him for the morning session...because I dun find it necessary on the wedding dinner itself leh....

wifey_vicky

hi agnes,

photojournalistic PG can charge on hourly rate but of course come in package will be more worth it. if u intend to engage for morning session, they will charge u by hour.. =)

happygirl198230

hi agnes,

i din ask my videographer, but most of the packages tt i received fr the other videographers do cater for just the morning session only. actually i also think nite is not necessary.

triple78

Hi there, my SO and I are planning for a Dec wedding in 2010.. May I enquire how long so i have to book the hotel for the dinner in advance?

wifey_vicky

hi triple,

best is to book earlier especially for those very 'hot' hotel, nowadays couples start planning 1 year in advance. u can start sourcing for the hotels u like and shortlist few to go down have a look. =)

rivenwood

yea lor, I agree. I've been calling quite a number of hotels to get an available slot for 18 Dec 09. Most of them arre already booked.

triple78

but then i haven got the date yet.. how.. my adviser say she will only help with the date after chinese new year....

happygirl198230

hi triple,

that may be a little late. maybe u can go to another adviser? any reason why ur adviser can only give u the dates aft CNY? dec is a very popular month for weddings. if u book late, maybe u will have limited choice. but if weekdays ok w u, then no problem bah..

summertingz

hi triple,

I think you can start planning and definitely adviser is able to select dates by now for 2010 dates. I had mine selected in early april this year for 2010 dates and started recce for banquet venue. Though my HTB thinks I am super kiasu but then its really not because many couple started early and I am glad I am able to secure the date that I want. You gonna start early if you want a good and weekend date.

triple78

Wad about holding a dinner on Sunday? Do i stand better chances if I wanna book for hotel banquet?
I think I have done almost everything I could now...
My ROM is on 26 Dec at Hortpark, bridal is The Aisle Boutique, Gotten a flat in Punggol Residences.. Now is the actual date and the venue. Anything I have miss out?

wifey_vicky

hi triple,

even i booked 1.5 years in advance already have 1 couple confirmed the same ballroom that i wanted, then i have to choose the 2nd choice. even my parent and friends think im kiasu.. hehe

i agree with happy girl, dec is really popular and u can look for other adviser advise on ur auspicious date, even for me, the shi fu can advise 1.5 years earlier. should not be a problem.. =)

if u holding ur dinner on sunday, it's even hot. for what i know, couples tend to book weekend rather than weekday. coz relatives and friends not working. but still better than saturday coz monday they are working they wont stay too if dinner fall on sunday..

happybride12

May i know how much do you guys pay for the deposit? Cos some hotels ask for just 1K but some ask for 30% of the estimated final amount? Is that the norm?

Me running a bit tight on cash as my flat coming in next yr Q3. Should be in time for my AD (planning on 18 Dec, my bdae too but its a very hot date). think will listen to the advice here n plan it on a sun dinner instead =)

happygirl198230

hi happybride12,

we paid 3k for the banquet deposit. i think different hotels work differently. my cousin-in-law paid quite a high % of the total cost of the dinner before the actual day. she held her dinner at Pan Pacific. but for us, i think we only need to settle the total bill after the dinner.

summertingz

triple - friday - sunday is actually quite a hot day for wedding banquet. I suggest u to act fast and start calling up the venues that u have shortlisted.

happybride - I booked tunglok restaurant and we paid $2k but its progressive payment, we need to pay another 2k 6 months ahead of the date again. so in total we have paid 4k + GST before our wedding.

wifey_vicky

happybride,

i booked swissotel stamford, and paid $4k deposit, and 1 week before our actual day, need to pay 50% of the remaining balance. the remaining settle after the dinner plus gst plus service charge..

better to book it earlier.. =)

sinplyme

hi <font color="0000ff">happybride</font>,

me &amp; my htb booked shangri-la and has to pay 25% upon confirmation, and another 25% two months before dinner. Finally 50% on the night itself.

rivenwood

hey happybride,

We booked mandarin oriental and we have to pay 5k deposit.
Subsequently, 50 % of estimated balance to be settled one month prior to actual wedding banquet.
Balance to be settled upon check-out

rivenwood

Any recommendations on the bridal studio? I am super blurred as to what to look out for and what to negotiate for the package. I went to a bridal fair held by a BS earlier in the year and I was pretty turned off cuz they expected us to sign on the spot!!

happygirl198230

u dun have to sign on the spot. haha but i did and now regret a bit cos that was the first day i shopped for bs.

try to negotiate for more freebies. if later on u dun need, can try to exchange for more photos.

freebies include free coats for fathers and bestman, gown for bridesmaid. try to bring down the cost of additional photos in case u need them. hee.

corsages for bridesmaid, free rom stuff (if u need them), free car for ad, free car for PS day... that's all i can think of.

happybride12

Thanks to Jocelyn, Happy Girl, Vicky, Sinplyme and Rivenwood for sharing your info.

Right now, we are looking around for the hotel venues as there are quite a number of hotel wedding shows coming up =) Did anyone of you sign up for the food sampling organised by Style weddings for this Sat? Quite undecided abt the banquet venue.

Rivenwood: I signed up on the spot with Whitelink during one of the roadshows. After which, when i compared my package with my friend, there is some differences. As long as you do not pay the full amount, think there is room/bargaining power for negotiation. especially for the photos in the album. If you do not want to sign packages, there are some shops in Far East which can tailor made really nice gowns for you too (abt $800 - $1K) and you can keep them!

triple78

I've signed up The Aisle Bridal Boutique... after visiting about 9 bridal boutiques...
Services and comfort wise, The Aisle and La Belle Couture is TOP on my HTB and my list..
No hard-selling from both boutiquesand their gowns are pretty too! Both encourage BTB to try their gowns.

Had a hard time deciding cos both are just superb in our opinion.

Ultimately we chose The Aisle cos they have a cosy enviroment and make us feel at ease.

carolyee

Hello to all Dec 2010 BTBs!

I am here to join you all.. hehe.. my AD is in 4th Dec 2010.

Having bad headaches over banquet venues... budget etc... so many things.
Bridal studio I am going to settle nxt sat.

sinplyme

hi tania,

mind if you roughly share the bridal package with me?

saw the gowns on the magazine but i couldn't find the thread in the bridal studios forum section.

just realised after hitting the post button that even posting name of ur BS on this thread is also not allowed...

pls PM me

taniatay

Hi sinplyme,

You've got mail.

Hope it helps. Though I believe all will turn out well but I still decide to have some backup plans.

For my bridal gown, I have my solemnisation gown which is grand enough for the wedding day. For evening, I have the Ted Collection cheong sum and I got a really cool short frilly cheong sum from Tong Tong at Shaw Centre (Beach Road) as my tea dress.

If all turns out well, I will have to plan for a few gown changes. Very vain hor?

sinplyme

Hi tania,

it certainly helps! replied you.

You mean a few gown changes during the dinner?
If so, will there enough time for that?

taniatay

I mean the whole day. My sis said I am crazy but I think it can work.

Here goes:

Wedding gown for morning
Gua for returning home
Short Cheong sum for tea ceremony at hotel
Evening gown for 2nd March-In
Long Cheong Sum for photography during dinner
Tea dress for sending off guests

Ok, typing this out makes me feel a little cazy now. But hey, it's just a dream a year ahead. Will fine-tune when the time comes.

sinplyme

wow! i see... i think it's feasible but might be a bit rush.

any of u having wedding themes?
I am running short of ideas... any themes/websites to recommend on doing themes?

hamtaroqoo

Hi to all Dec 2010 BTBs,

2 qns to ask, is it too early to sign up for any BS since my AD is on 19th Dec which is still so faraway? Coz I'm still deciding to go JB ones or just stick to SG loh...

Another thing is, how much do u all normally pay for PG and VG service? I'm currently looking at packge which includes PG/VG/PhotoM/Animation and it costs abt 3k. Is it too much?

wifey_vicky

tania,

i also plan to change few gowns during AD..

wedding gown - morning session
cheong sam - returning home and cocktail reception
gown - 1st march-in
gown - 2nd march-in
gown - sending guests

BS provides 5 gowns on AD including morning and night session. i only think to utilise 4 gowns, as i will MTM my cheongsam at ted collection too.. anyone has any ideas how to utilise the remaining extra 1 gown? hehe

happygirl198230

hi agnes,

do u need rom dress? if no, u dun hv to sign up so early, but u can. i think usually brides do their photoshoot 6 months in advance. if u dun need mtm, then u just need to choose ur gown 1-2 months b4 the photoshoot.

for me, my vg and pg will be about $2500. it is considered quite resonable already. cos there are so many more exp ones....

tylee87

Hi Agnes,

I am also looking around. Not early to plan because my wedding is next year end too. Most prices are quite same about $2 to $3k for PG &amp; VG.
Not many doing animation except got one company called Coffee &amp; Tea Dreamworks. Their package also around the price. If everything into one package, their package quite reasonable.
I also shortlisting now...

hamtaroqoo

Hi both HappyGirl &amp; Tylee

I just wana keep my ROM simple and short with only immediate family + a separate casual celebration at night with our close friends. That's why I'm planning to just sign up a simple cheap package (make-up + hairstyle) at Far East leh. Then if there is any nice OTR rom dress at her shop, I would probably just rent one of them loh...

As for PG/VG, Im considering cartoon animation + photo montage leh. And I saw this www.mojoideas.com and quite like their animation. And I thought it would be convenient to just select ONE company to BAO everything I need instead of looking for different co in different areas.

sigh........so many things to choose and decide...