(2010/12) Dec 2010 BTB

crossie

sinplyme>>> that's fine...will check out more online...

Jazzy>>> relax, dun give yourself too much stress, some of those mentioned things can be settled together. Like me, i met up with hotel banquet coordinator to discuss on theme together with PG so at least he has a picture of what is impt on AD to be capture. As for sisters and bridemaid, i'll suggest you get a coordinator amoung them and do necessary arrangement for you cos you will be too busy to handle every single detail by yourself, especially the traditional part. I'm consider lucky as my flower, montage and stuffs are all settled by my BS, maybe u wanna try asking for soft copy from them 1st for the montage

sinplyme

jazzy >
few weeks ago, i was like you.. have the tendency to want to settle everything on the to-do list fast.. but I learnt that there's no point worrying.

just slowly pen down your to-do list.
those things that can be done, you can arrange time to do.
for those that you need to wait.. e.g ur wedding shoes, you said you need to know ur gowns before you can buy, then while doing casual shopping.. you can keep a lookout.
or u can start a resource list, you can jot down the places to go for each specific items (which you would only need it in the later part), so by the time you need these items, you can just refer to the list, otherwise, forum is also a got place to get information.

btw, speaking of shoes, I think generally silver bling goes well with the gowns. I got my shoes (cos got pre-wedding shot mah) before I mtm, i never thot it wouldn't match until now that you mentioned about getting gowns then shoes. but like i say, silver blings usually goes with most of the gowns.

i haven't met my florist too...am arranging for one appointment though...
for the theme and food tasting, it's time to arrange for one. hm.. just call ur hotel coordinator and speak to him/her. details can be finalised over the weekends meetups (assuming you are working mon-fri) or even calls/emails.
I confirmed mine over email.

for ur MUA, just call ur BS and arrange with them. mostly after work in the evening...
again, it's easier to write all the to-do stuff u have in mind, then prioritise. don't fret over those things that can only be done at the later part...

RSVP - are ur invites personalise such that u'll need their reply to print ur invites? if not, i always thought the hotel will print a % for you? no?

if you are really unsure, take one day to plan out all the stuff...

take a step at a time.
don't fret k!

maddiejas

haha..Thanks Agnes & Simplyme...

i need to cool down...and have started jotting down again.....actually i did a few copies now and then and left it as it is.....lol..u know its like having a study time-table..

maddiejas

btw, simplyme, i thought food tasting to be done abt 1mth prior to wedding date? no?

and also RSVP is needed to confirm the number of guests attending. And since hotel provides cards for certain % of your no. of guests, i'll have to finalise my no. of guests before i can start sending cards for prints..correct me if i am wrong..

n unfortunately, my MUA, florist n photograher are not by BS now..:p

On shoes, am keeping fingers crossed that nearer to year end, there should be a lot more bling shoes to choose from since its the festive seasons n there will be demand for them cos of parties events..d n d etc...same time, am also afraid i can't find what i want and i'll be dead ..

sinplyme

food tasting is done one or 2 months prior. I'm doing mine 2 months since we need to make payment for the banquet.

for RSVPs, this is how i see it...
Let's say the hotel provides 70% of the total number.
then ur min table for the banquet is 40tables/400 guests.
so i take 400*70%=280
Okie, let's say you have 280 invites.
if most of ur guests are in pairs or relatives, you usually give one out to the whole family/couple. that takes away the worry of not enough invites...
Then if worst case, you can always send e-invites to friends.

this was told to me by my hotel coordinator...

maddiejas

simplyme, if i definitely going to keep my no. of tables at 25 (which is my min) then i can go ahead and print. Problem will come if we exceed min no. of tables and if send for 2nd printing will incur additional printing charges

sinplyme

jazzy >
I agree with you, on the potential problem.

either way, most imptly, you must be comfy with the arrangement.

For me&htb, we are thinking for the relatives, is one invite per family (for instance, maybe we have 50 relatives attending and for this 50 relatives, there's 10 families within, effectively you only need 10invites right?)
and like I said, for friends, we can always fall back on e-invites so we went ahead to confirm the number based on min table requirement & max % provided by the hotel.

remember, most imptly, you must be comfy with the arrangement.

Mine is just a suggestion.

happygirl198230

hi jazzy,

for myself, i printed much more inserts than i need. i told e hotel ill have 34 tables. entitled to 70% of cards=238 cards. but we printed 400 inserts. btw i printed in JB. quite cheap, only RM 170 for 400 inserts. so i reckon printing more wont harm. anyway printing of inserts is in multiples of 50 (or 100). have u printed yours?

gals, have u bought ur guodali items? im thinking of buying fr a shop at amk. they sell in packages, ard $200 for each side (bride or groom). but i think it may be expensive. heard its cheaper to buy in places like chinatown?

have u all planned where to buy? and also are u all having the hair combing ceremony? and an-chuan? like very leh-chey.

crazyshopper08

Jazzy - Is your invites going to be printed by the hotel ? or you have to go to the wedding card vendor directly. I did not have a definite number but I was telling the vendor how many tables i expect and he gave me the number of invites that I should be printing.

sinplyme

happy girl >

not yet but i guess which amk shop i know u are talking about... is it the one at Jubilee?

I leave the GDL stuff to my mom and his mom but of cos, if my mom needs help, i will help her with it.. hehe. :p

yah, me having the hair combing ceremony.. i know for that u need pajamas... both bride&groom

crossie

Jazzy>> i think the most important thing for you now is to sit down and work out the name list and total no of guest, eg if you reckon around 300 guest (30 tables) then book maybe 28 tables so they will prepare at least 70% of the invites and that should be more then enough. I personally feels that if you wants your guest to RSVP now, might be too soon. For my case, total no should be around 240 - 250 guests but i confirmed only 23 tables and spare 3 tables. so at least even on AD, guest didnt turn up, you dont have to pay for the table as well. I read a article in magazine saying that be prepare at least 10% - 20% of guest is not going to turn up due to what so ever reason.

As for MUA and PG, mine is not from BS also, and i managed to meet up with my PG when i visited the hotel for some detail confirmation, be good if can let PG look at the place and let him know what you expect.

As for my trial, i arranged on sunday as i discuss with my MUA on different kind of hairstyle and finalise so advice you to prepare at least minimum 4 hours for that.

florist wise, maybe you would like to check with BS if they can help... they will sure have some good lobang de, worst pay them something extra but that is better for yourself to search high and low...

Hope this helps...

happygirl198230

oh no, we told the hotel we will be having 34 tables. but looks like we may not need so many tables now. they have already given us 70% of the cards. are we bound by contract to have at least 34 tables? hmmm.... headache.

simplyme,

yeah thats the one. on the contrary, my mum is the one saying dun need to buy so many guodali stuff cos most of the stuff, we wont be using next time.

sinplyme

happy girl >
i've been to the shop once during my lunch time. I don't know the market rates but it also gave me a 'costly' feeling but I will double-check it out again... provided I go there for lunch.

maddiejas

Hello All,

thanks for all your valuable inputs.

Crazyshopper, the cards are provided by the hotel, but we have to liase with the printing vendor. Printing charges not included by hotel.

btw, how long does it take to do the printing? And me & HTB decided to invite everyone to both the church & dinner, hence will have the church invite together with the dinner invite..in this case, the english portion is easy, what about the chinese version? the print shop sent us a template but seems the chinese portion did not mention anything about the church leh?!..how? Is it required?

Happy girl, i was also advise by the printer to take the inserts options (than to print on card directly). In this case, he also suggested us to print more inserts in case we write wrongly, but how many more? 10% more? Also, let me know if your hotel will hold u to 34tables now.. should'nt think so though.

Agnes, point taken! i think i should just stick to min 25tables..hole in the pocket is already quite big ..lol.

on my trial make up, i tried arranging on weekends but my MUA don't prefer to since she has wedddings on many thurs thru sundays n taking into consideration now is wedding peak season..on top of that, she also conducts makeup classes & make up for events..

crazyshopper08

gosh, there seem to be so much going on now.
I have just chosen my AD gown on monday. and it took my siblings and my mum 2 hours to confirm which one looks good on me.. bad news is that. i need to lose weight they all voted for a mermaid style gown and as I am bottom heavy I need to lose serious weight.. anyone can share any tips..

Jazzy, your printing vendor is so different from mine .. mine was like no need to print so many because not everyone you will need to give.
because some are family and you only need to give one. etc.

Agnes > your suggestion is like what my mum told me.. those distant relatives that she is unsure of she has allocated them to reserve tables so if they do not turn up I still do not need to pay..

crossie

jazzy>> unable to help on the church part... anyway, you may discuss with your cards vendor since they are the professional...

Mine is quite simple, cos my hotel coordinator did all for me and just emailed me the final draft to confirm..

Happygirl>> you mean u already signed the contract and they have already printed 70% of 34tables for you... oh man if that is the case then i guess you have to take all, unless your coordinator is kind enough to put 3 / 4 under spare! try talking to the coordinator again, since its still 2 months away, worst come to worst pay them abit for the cards lo.

Another alternative is, try asking if they allow you to go back another time for the table paid. My cousin had 3 tables extra previously, so the restaurant actually give him duno how long to finish the 3 tables... so he invited those who help out on the wedding for another round of dinner after that.

taniatay

It had been a long while since I last pop in.

Just chosen my PS gowns but seriously needs some advice. Do you actually shoot all your AD gowns during your pre-wedding shoots?

mimichan

Hi taniatay, I am going for my pre-wedding photoshoot next week, going to shoot in Perth on Wed (praying for good weather!).
Looking at all my friends, they all wear the AD gowns and evening gowns (some have extra gowns, they rent from the BS) but I'm being abit traditional so I won't be wearing any of my AD gowns.(they are not available yet anyway haha)
Instead I'll be wearing totally different gowns, for me this is more fun (I get to wear many different kinds of gowns) and also to keep the real thing as a surprise to the groom and also to the guests. Ultimately it's really up to you.
Just FYI, I'm gona wear 1 Bridal gown(mermaid), 1 long evening gown(mermaid), 2 short evening gowns and 1-2 casual wear as well for the photoshoot.
On AD, my BG is a huge poufy tulle gown, evening gown is yet to be settled (I'm in trouble) and 1 long lace/silk cheongsam.

Hope it helps

happybride12

OMG. It's 2 months away from our wedding!

For those who are printing inserts, the printer uncle gave me 300 copies though I ask for 210 as I have 210 cards. (my confirmed tables are 27). As for inserts, please factor in the time to fold and to either paste/ put ribbon. Both of us tot it will be done in two hours. But we have only completed 100 in 3 hours :S

Just collected my album n table top. Rejected the portrait as the sticker protective cover came off. Girls please do check for defects in the photo frame and colour printing in the album. Make sure its what you have paid for (eg. no gap in album)

For guo da li, can check out the store in People Park Complex. Think its on the first level. Going next sat with my mum =)

Is there any kind soul here with a checklist of items to prepare as our wedding draws nearer? Thanks =)

celin

Urgent help needed.

Does anyone knw whr I can get Tiffany Blue with white polka dots thick ribbon or fabric? Need it for Sash.

TIA.

Celin

sinplyme

tania > me too, didn't wear any AD gowns for PS.

celin > sorry can't help.

happybride > thanks for tip. I heard those shopkeepers will tell you what to buy when you tell them your husband/your dialect...
me gg to chinatown 2 weekends later too... (cos mom not free next weekend).
Let's share info and keep each other updated yea~

taniatay

Thanks for sharing. I'm having my PS today and still undecided on whether I should choose my AD gowns to shoot. They are gorgeous but I wanted to keep it as a surprise. Well, will let my mood decide there and then.

jedilim

hello BTB, anyone need so last min facial package diamond peel facial, i have 4x to let go. salon is at taka or thiong bahru plaza.
details can email me at [email protected]
allows for couple facial as well.

xiaomau

I have 6 jiemei dresses for sale- all at $11 per piece.

it looks like that:

url]

url]

What happened was that i bought my first piece for $50 at HK... and then .. saw ShangHai selling.

So i asked my Jiemei to tried it - intending to wear the same my the day. When i got my china colleague to buy it for me , it was slightly different in size and my jiemeis canot fit in at all... i bought at RMB 55 per piece, so I'll just let go at this same price... and absorb the shipping charges...because i also bought other clothes...

might be a good idea for jiemeis- it should fit a S or M at max for the dress. It's totally brand new and still in the bags...

Please email me at [email protected] if interested... thank you.

deborahng

Babes , we still meeting up this weekend?? can we do fri dinner??

1)Mimi (Sat lunch/tea preffered. other Weekdays also good)
2)deb
3)crazyshopper08
4)elynh
5)Agnes - Friday Dinner preferred
6) ccharis -- 22/10, FRI dinner
7)rivenwood -Sat lunch/tea preferred. other Weekdays are also good.
8) Sinplyme -- friday/weekdays dinner preferred,

sinplyme

deb > I think I can't make it anymore. got a last min appt.

girls, how's wedding preps for u?
I just got my invites and we are still working out on the tables.

crossie

deb>> you finally back... I also cant make it liao... gotta go make payment at the travel agency for the honey moon thingie.. arrange again?

deborahng

babes so we arrange again ya

agnes> been super crazy on my side. Many assignments due, my house progress is slow, haven done any wedding things. Just had food tasting last sat. Haven printed invite

crazyshopper08

deb > I also have been busy but I am not sure with what because i have a problem, i have not bought my jiemei dresses, house is not ready, food tasting haven prepare, now should be time to arrange my GDL but i have not started anything yet..
Am i the slowest ??

deborahng

crazyshopper> lol i also haven settled jiemei dresses, GDL also not yet.

when will ur hse be ready?? food tasting no need to rush. Mine is I just wanna get it out of the way. You are not the slowest.. haha

crazyshopper08

haha. I am so worried that too many things and too little time.. anyway my house is ready but the furniture is not ready. also I want to check any recommendations for guo da li cakes. I need hokkien style, teochew style and modern... so many. dunno where to buy them think have to get them separately.

crossie

deb & crasyshopper>> me and my hubby went back to my in law house to do painting lo... imagine just 2 of us painted the whole unit!! SHAG!!! Anyway, luckily its now all done and we will be heading to chose furnitures for our new room and will starting to write up the invites liao...

deb>> JM dresses, mine will be handled by 1 of my cousin so.. 1 off my list! haha!! GDL.. mine also alot undone, only brought like 3 items to date! invite, so long you have the design and etc then will be quite fast, but i think the difficult thing is seating arrangement and distributing the invites lo... cos my hubby are quite particular and he hope to pass all the invitation to family and friends BY HAND!! >.<

Shall arrange and meet up soon ya...

BTW, you gals has any 'Thank You' speech to share?

mimichan

hello girls, I'm back from my photoshoot in Perth!! We were blessed with great weather.. can't wait to see all the photos, some are already up on the PG's facebook page and I love it

crazyshopper - haha don't worry you're not the only one! I haven't done:
-food tasting (not in hurry to do this.. maybe next month)
-Bridesmaids' dresses
-Groom's suit
-Evening Gown
-Cheongsam x 2 (day and night)
-Invitation (plan to order printing this week.. still being anal about fonts and format)
-haven't chosen jewelleries MIL-to-be is getting for me (she's letting me choose)
-house not ready too. reno is starting tomorrow, furnitures all bought, prob moving in late Oct or early Nov..
-church wedding program

I'm not doing any wrist corsages for Jiemeis/bridesmaids. Will be giving them fascinators(head-piece) instead.

btw,I've whitened my teeth! no more yellow teeth, yay.

HG, I bought all my GDL/AC stuff from Chinatown. Very cheap. Name of shop is KK Marriage Goods, Booy also bought hers from there.

rivenwood

deb: I can't make it on friday. Shall we rearrange again?

mimi: where did you do the whitening? how much did you spend? I heard doing whitening will cause sensitivity which is why I have not tried it yet. hee.

to all: yea there's so many things to do. I am so going crazy.

deborahng

okie.. babes so cfm not meeting on friday liao. We arrange again ya.

crazyshopper> i think i will get GDL cake from pine garden haha cos it looks nice and good. The rest of GDL stuff just simple one cos both sides parents say anything. My house ready only end of mth or early NOV but my furniture mostly settled liao. so need reno to be done cos major rehaul

happygirl198230

thomas,

yeah i think ill go chinatown to buy after all. at first tot of buying fr amk. cos easier to buy one package. but u know lah, so many expenses, i think try to save whatever we can. how much did u spend for the gdl stuff?

crazyshopper08

Deb> I wanted pine garden too. but the teochew and hokkien biscuits are not the correct one so decided not to in the end.

okie i need to go check out chinatown soon for GDL stuff..

mimichan

I just ordered my short Cheongsam yesterday. this will be for tea-ceremony. Long cheongsam to wear during dinner is yet to be confirmed..

rivenwood - there are many dentists who does laser teeth whitening. I think it's all around 1-1.2K. I did mine at a dentist called Toof Doctor and it was 1K. It was super sensitive for the day but it was ok from the next day. You have to avoid coloured food/drinks like curry, tomato, wine, chinese tea etc for few days.

deb - yes let's rearrange

I'm good on 27(Wed), 28(Thu), 29(Fri) and most weekdays on 1st week of Nov is fine too. If it's weekend I prefer lunch.