(2010/12) Dec 2010 BTB

rivenwood

sinplyme:yea! i agree with the rest. you sounded much happier and it looks like you had a great holiday! And wah.. 200+ for a tux suit + shirt is cheap!

crazyshopper: haha! same here. I just took what the hotel provide. actually I did consider whether to do hot press printing for the invitation (cuz it looks nicer) but HB say, people won't pay attention to it.

ccharis: maybe you can try studio tangs or tangerine for shoes. I got my ROM shoe from there.

mimi: haha yea I feel strange too. My mom wanted to invite the neighbours,colleagues etc etc. In the end, I think she decided to invite them for the day buffet instead.

deb:haha same. We just asked my parents how many tables they need and they plan according to the tables.

to all: have your parents and your HB parents settled on the ti qing thing? i think we are going to do that on our food tasting although right now I am the middlemen. HB parents asked me how many tables my parents want. Just one question: is there a need for dowry? cuz my parents are asking for 12 tables.

crazyshopper08

rivenwood- I also thought of hot stamping. but I decided that I am one of those types that toss all the wedding invites to the bin even if they are really nice.. so maybe people will do the same to mine ? hence i saved the money..
Ti Qing I have already done.. it was a big hassle back then and a huge story to tell.. but my HB decide to give 15 tables and there is still dowry. Because he believe it is customs so better follow. but don't worry your parents will not take all the $$ but will return some back to your HB...

to all: Is everyone here having a small wedding ? How many tables are you getting ? mine have already reach the 40 tables mark. and it is still increasing... scary for me ..

I need help with wedding favors, my banquet is giving chocolates. should I buy more stuff to give to the guest ?? if i should where to buy them ??

deborahng

crazyshopper> wah.. haha i only max 25-27 tables lor. wedding favours i feel no point cos usually pple dun keep.

agnes> haha cos my hotel one not v nice. only nice one is in cream which htb dun really like. thinking of going JB to print

ccharis

Deb: 15th that week I also buaysai, I'm helping to coordinate BFF's daughter 1st birthday bash & got PS on 13th, so I only got 2 days left in-between to pack goodiebags & do last rush...

Mimi: I had gone thru' the exact as you are now but maybe worse -- Dad wanted to invite his staffs & Mum, her friends. On the other side, both HTB's Mum & Granny want to invite their kakis too! HTB *f* his own side, but was willing to give to my parents -- so I think my parents zidong after I shared what happened on his side.

Deb again: Maybe you wanna try the contact, I think it's fairly cheap & perhaps competitive to Malaysia?
However, I dunno if the designs are as extensive as JB boh loh, but no harm trying lah -- SMS you.

Agnes: If you find anything nice, lemme know too! I need another pair for CS on AD.

Riven: We had somewhat an impromptu Tiqing -- HTB with my parents only. I think it's better lah, so both side parents wont get to "negotiate" face to face, quite paiseh de leh...

I think as for downry and other gifts, it's up to HTB budget. For us, HTB has idea of giving my parents auspicious cash/angbao + pair of watches... He feels, it's better than giving tables & more wuhua for them also.

Crazyshopper: I think I ditched all of Tunglok's add-ons (had the chocolate as favours too). Have you bargain with them (not forgetting we both do not have hotel thrown in woh) so can share the possibilities with you. Anyway they allow you to offset those items (Cards @ 60cents, Favours @ 50cents) & you can try googling for wedding favours, if not -- Elynh has this good idea of cupcakes-tier cake, so it means guests have 2 favours, cupcakes + the 'default' favours.

Otherwise, you can even do candies/sticky-me reception.
Share your budget first, there's so much ideas on the market!

Sorry eh, the bridezilla tail comin' out, heheh!

sinplyme

yea all, the BKK trip was definitely a fun!

rivenwood >
now I really regret not asking htb to MTM his suit there too.. since he can were it on other occasion too.

I did my ti qing back last year or early this year i think. HTB's parents roughly asked the #tables my parents want but I think should need dowry bah... will discuss the stuff on food tasting again bah... :p

haven't made any progress on wedding yet. ;p

crossie

ccharis>> most likely i will be going next week, update you again...

deb>> i chose the cream color too but my hubby take red.. so end up we got 2 colors...

ccharis

Sinplyme: My pleasure lah, think nothing of it!
Most importantly (and I know I v losoh) so glad to know you're back in good form & happy!

ccharis

Crazyshopper: Just random thoughts, to share...

If you wish to stick to complimentary invites from TungLok, and dont like what they show you -- you can go down to Focal Ad & choose the design you like, then top-up.

ccharis

In the mood of sharing my handcrafted invites:-
No good must shoot me! Else I'd never be able to improve! Comments please!

1532856.jpg
1532857.jpg
1532858.jpg

mimichan

crazyshopper - yeah me too, just came back from holiday in Munich & Prague, ate so much sausages and potatos!! need to lose weight really quickly before my PS. boo.
i must stop eating ice cream already, ha ha.

deb, crazyshopper, Agnes, rivenwood, ccharis - thanks for sharing. feels much better now. I was so worked up initially but my fiancé told me that it's either I give in or my mum give in, and it's not so nice to make my mum give in for this matter.. so as a daughter, I think I'll give in.
Like all you girls, I'll just give her a no and let her do what she wants with it.. decided not to bother "who" she invites, otherwise i'm just making myself upset for this small matter..

ccharis - your cards looks so well done. very intricate. i like details..i did a board for my cousin's wedding with similar design too, with many xuan-xi stickers.

deb - sounds good, how about 23rd Sat for tea?

sinplyme

ccharis >

nice! but i'm a little confused (due to the size of the pictures), is it a card or box?

deb >
i'm good with Fri dinner.

crazyshopper08

Everyone - I am still considering about the add on favors. Need to see the reception first before I decide. but I did think about having a photo booth..

ccharis- I really love your invites.. so nice... my invites are just simple traditional red.

mimi - I know what you mean about sausages and potato.. Amsterdam ate too much fries.. hamburg too much curry wurst.. that is why I feel so bulky since I am back. haha..really need to stop eating too much.. but the first thing i ate when I leave changi airport was mee pok dry.. bad bad bad...

I guess everyone have more or less fought with someone while preparing this wedding. for me especially spend some really bothering and irritating times a few months back with my parents. and a few snaps at my HB.. so there 2 and a half more months to go I think. so we should all start to take a deep breath !!! Suck in ladies and let it go now..... feel better ???

sinplyme

to be honest, i never have much problem with my parents on the invites or whatever (till now) *fingers-crossed*.

The only problem i face is managing my own expectation and my FPILs. Not that they are demanding or what... but they seemed to paint a beautiful picture of the BIG DAY. And much as I like (I'm sure this goes for all the BTBs), I want it to be a dream wedding...which is bundled with many hurdles..

sorry for this demoralising post..
for me, most of the stuff can only be done/decided after discussion, meetings and more of discussions&meetings!

elynh

Post Number: 314

Posted on Wednesday, September 29, 2010 - 9:30 am: Edit Post Delete Post Print Post Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)
Please add ur name in if free to join us and preferred date ya :)

Meet up
23rd Oct (Sat-tea) or 22 Oct (Fri-dinner)

1)Mimi
2)deb
3)crazyshopper08
4)elynh

crossie

Meet up

1)Mimi
2)deb
3)crazyshopper08
4)elynh
5)Agnes - Friday Dinner preferred

ccharis

Meet up

1)Mimi
2)deb
3)crazyshopper08
4)elynh
6) ccharis -- 22/10, FRI dinner

ccharis

Mimi: Look at the bigger picture, least your Mum has 'work' to do now & wont bother you much till the big day. Hehehe!
Most parents are the same -- marry daughter out usually more busy than bride, heheh!

As for me, I have come to realised, hard+hard doesnt solve anything -- so whatever she says, I would AH! very loud, then left ear in, right out.
I know it sounds kinda mean, but for us, it's better this way then having crossfire... I'm the only that dares to cross the line, so if she's furious, my Dad would get it next! :/

celinepuah

Hi ppl,
Just realize SingaporeBrides Forum stop sending me ‘forum update email’ so I thought no one’s discussing in the forum @_@â€
Didn’t realize I missed so much! Haha..

Btw, it’s less than 70days to Dec 2010 !! SO much to do… yet so little time..

I burnt a big hole in my pocket by Topping up $3000 for my pre-wed photo >_<†Hope it’s worth it...
We sat there 4 hours to choose those photos and bargain…

Gonna go Goodwood Park for Food tasting tonite.. hope things goes well…

Haiz.. I’m super super stress now… have got loads of pimples on my forehead… never got such bad pimple b4… >_<â€
Hope it will subside and turn to normal soon…..

Have you girls meet up with your JM to plan to gate crash games? ..i have 5 JM..but 3 not very enthusiastic on the gatecrash.. 2 moderate… so well.. not as fun … any great ideas on the games? Wanted something interesting..so it will also look nice on the ‘express highlight’ ..

mimichan

Thanks girls so glad I'm not the only one who went through this!

sinplyme - that's really great, must appreciate your parents ;) for me, I thank God that my FMIL is so easy going and respect my opinion &amp; wish.
Hope you get to communicate well with your FPILs, i know it's hard cos our man will be stuck in between, not easy for them also eh..

crazyshopper - yeah!! potato dishes in Germany and Prague was so yummy. But it was salty and oily, so because of this I'm sick now, coughing badly! hope i recover before PS.

ccharis - haha yes my whole family is like that, once one of the daughter/niece getting married, all the mothers/aunties get super excited, worry about losing weight, what to wear etc etc, sometimes dunno who is the bride! :p

girls I have to attend a friend's ROM on 22 (Fri) so if you all are meeting on that night, I'll be late or worse, might not be able to make it. will try to pop by.

I've been contacting all the friends since yesterday, if they can come for wedding or not, before sending out invitation.. if they have made travel plans during that period etc and can't make it for wedding, i'm not sending the invites.. (cos some ppl will still give angpao if they receive invitation, even tho they cannot come at all) and also to fill in with other guests. i guess most of you don't have to do this cos you have many tables.

I am contemplating on going to KL for one weekend to make cheongsam. I've made there before, cheap and great workmanship. sg tailors are so ex (the one I went to check out cost like 1K~1.7K per CS). but i think my fiancé will faint if i tell him, been travelling so much recently.

I just realised I have another test-shoot with PG this Sun! need to get more dresses!!

mimichan

simplesweet - hello! welcome back!
I haven't met up with my JMs yet, I'm planning for a gathering for both Brothers &amp; Sisters in Nov, so that ppl don't forget their duty on the Big day haha. Also thinking of taking my Bridesmaids out (I have 5 BMs atm) for a pampering mani/pedi or high-tea or something before the wedding.

Gate-crash for me will be quite hard core cos my JMs are my cousins (I have 8 JMs) and they're all super sporting ha ha. I was a Gatecrash-in-charge for some of my friends' weddings so I kinda figured what works well for photo/video, I'm not doing any food/drinks (like the spicy sweet sour bitter thingy), but doing more fun games. thinking of going without making them wear bra/granny's panties etc too, haha.

mimichan

Meet up

1)Mimi (Sat lunch/tea preffered. other Weekdays also good)
2)deb
3)crazyshopper08
4)elynh

crossie

mimi>> i also have 8jms and 6 of them are my cousin, sad to say they stay in msia and 2 is in KL studying, guess only be able to discuss the games with them via phone and coordinates with my 2 besties in singapore who will be my jms also... yet to think of any games or ways to 'torture' my hubby and xd..

babes>> any ideas to share?

rivenwood

Meet up

2)deb
3)crazyshopper08
4)elynh
7)rivenwood -Sat lunch/tea preferred. other Weekdays are also good.

happygirl198230

hi girls

saw someone looking for wedding shoes. there's a shop at Northpoint called Kiyo. Same level as DMK shoe shop, on level 1 i think. They sell a lot of bling bling shoes and not as expensive as Anna Nicci. U all can go there take a look.

Note: There are 2 shops call Kiyo. One sells apparel, the other one sells shoes.

happybride12

Just tailor made dresses for my JM at far east. Very fun. Hopefully they can deliver the dresses on time.

Btw any one of you doing DIY corsages?

crossie

hey babes>>> I will be going to collect my albums, guest sign in book, posters and etc tmr, am so so excited! wooh...

sinplyme

tingting >
thanks for the link but my JM is doing it.. so I'm not fretting over it.

btw ladies, +1 to the meet-up list.
Meet up

2)deb
3)crazyshopper08
4)elynh
7)rivenwood -Sat lunch/tea preferred. other Weekdays are also good.
8) Sinplyme -- friday/weekdays dinner preferred,

crossie

Hi babes.... i need help! any ideas other then hotel / chalet where to have short term accomodation for overseas relatives? cos hotel is definitely out of my budget, chalet wise, west area has very limited... chervon is fully book and bukit batok cdans seems obiang le... how??? help help help!

celinepuah

Hey Agnes,
Depends what is your budget and how many u are looking for.. I book 10 rooms for my relative from Malaysia at country Club at a good rate..

What about Quality hotel.. think the rate not as x...

crossie

simplesweet>> thanks, maybe i will check out quality hotel, btw, mind to share which country club u book?

sinplyme>> any service apartments to recommend? cos i check somerset service apartments and their min is 7days

celinepuah

Hey Agnes,

I book Orchid Country Club coz it's very near my htb's place =) I'll be holding my Holy Matrimony there as well.. so it's really convenient.

crazyshopper08

Agnes, there is this hotel in west coast near the famous prata place. my office HR always arrange for my colleagues to stay there as it is near the port.. think it is called santa grand. or something like that. Do you want to try that ?

sinplyme

agnes >
I was looking for a place for staycation some time last year and explored the option of service apartments... in the end i never did cos we went out to nearby countries instead. so i can recommend but i remember some apartments charge by daily also...

but why don't u consider aloha chalets.. i think they are pretty new and worth it for a 2or 3nights stay...

maddiejas

long time no talk...anyway, just wanted to check where are you girls at in planning already? LOL.
i am really nervous already because so many things not done and confirmed! ....

happybride12

sinplyme:i went to ziyi cos i did my bridesmaid dress last year with that shop. price is a bit steep though. I did not go love portion as saw a huge quarrel between a bride and the lady staff just 2 days away from her wedding.

Just want to ask, are your parents asking any tables from the male side? if they are, are they keeping the ang baos also?

crossie

simplesweet>> that's located at Yishun? thanks anyway, cos might not be Convenince for me..

crazyshopper>> thanks for sharing, will check out that hotel...

sinplyme>> mind sharing the daily rate places? aloha is good ideas but way too far, cos i am staying at jurong and my banquet is at bugis area, so for my relative to stay at east area is too out of the way for them...

sinplyme

happybride >
i see.

how's the worksmanship and design wise for Ziyi?

traditionally, yes, the bride's parents will keep the angbao from the tables given to them.
but nowadays i heard that if the couple is paying for the banquet, sometimes they parents won't take cos it's their children's money...

jazzy >
hi there... me haven't set or prepare for any GDL stuff...
haven't got my invites printed...
am slowing asking my friends if they can attend my wedding...
am going for food tasting next week which i hopefully can confirm the menu and table linens.
haven't confirmed my wedding favours...
haven't seen my mtm gown..
i still got a lot of "haven't"s. For a while I was all stressed and panicky... but now i give up panicking... maybe will panic nearer to date.. but now... i just wait for time to come..;p

sinplyme

agnes >
I am sorry I can't help cos I didn't keep the details... :x

actually, I was thinking you can cater a single trip bus for them... which solves all ur problem! the bus trip is about $120-160, or even cheaper since urs is just one round trip. The above price i got is for a few trips within a stipulated time.

otherwise, i was thinking of hotel81 in the chinatown area... beside the chinatown point. i heard alot of backpackers stay there.. though I'm not sure what's the environment like.

maddiejas

SimplyMe, i haven't chosen my actual day gown &amp; EG...and hence cannot buy my EG shoes..
haven't decided on my florist..
booked my MUA but haven't fix a date for trial..LOL

did my pre wedding shoot but have not received the final thing..

and my fren is chasing me for my photos to start the montage...haiz.

haven't thought about wedding march in songs..

nothing done for church except attended MPC!
need to schedule interview with priest..
need to select my readings..print them....and work out the agenda.
need to meet the church florist and discuss the decor..

I need to meet up with my PG &amp; VG to discuss closer to the date..
haven't gone or even schedule date for food tasting
haven't met up with hotel to finalise themes etc
haven't receive all my RSVP, hence cannot print my invites yet...OMG..after which should be planning seating..

haven't schedule a date for my sisters on bridesmaid dresses &amp; meet up!...

i guess...i don't even know what to do for GDL nor TQ..

anyway, i am same time trying to pen down my thoughts...my brain is in a mess right now...i need to take leave and do wedding planning full time till the wedding date..lol

someone pls save me..!...