(2010/12) Dec 2010 BTB

crossie

sinplyme>> relax... i had that feeling previously as well... oh anyway, im not sure about the gel nails also..

Angelia>> what is the organic gel about? im not someone who go mani / pedi frequently tho..

deb>> since you go mani quite frequent, do you happen to know the diff btw gel and arcylic? cos my nails are very very soft..

ccharis>> thanks for advising on the hair style, guess will start sourcing now then..

sinplyme

ccharis > I don't think the 'taking a break' works for me especially i just came back from a big break from wedding planning *stopped work during lunar 7th mth*.

i'm almost on the verge of calling off.. ;(

rivenwood

ccharis: you've got mail.

sinplyme: take a break from the preparations. maybe you can start allocating some stuffs to your jiemeis or siblings to help or you can arrow your HB to take care of things. I am arrowing my HB to execute the AD schedule.
I had gone to the point where I just boh chup already. Haha.

We will be using our own cars. Haha. Expensive to go and rent another car too.

xgeniex

u gals r already planning so many things?! I've only just started and I've only done a bit... I still feel Dec is very far away...

deborahng

sinplyme> dun get too stress out ya.. u wanna share wat happen to see if we can help?? sometimes good to just vent . we using our own car too. htb wanna drive himself.

agnes> i haven done arcylic before cos i usually do gel
l like gel cos lasting la but i usually take a break b/w each session.

angelia> for wedding bands, good to get earlier cos usually need sometime to customise the size

sinplyme

lyra >

you are not alone.
i have yet to print my invites.
not even firmed up my guest list
guestbook not done
GDL things not gotten yet...

sinplyme

deb >
suddenly i feel the wedding/banquet is getting too troublesome... thot of doing ROM is simpler and less costly.
though we are still within budget, i feel abit not worth to go through the trouble and spend the money.

crossie

Thanks deb and angelia for sharing...

Guess i will be doing gels but will check with the manicurist what is the diff btw organic and non organice... As i heard arcylic need in fill and etc, sound troublesome...

babes>> as for my GDL, my granny is saying to keep everything to the basic and as simple as possible as my mil is already not around so no body is handling for my hubby.. so kinda relax when i heard this. phew...
going to meet my PG and banquet coord this weekend to discuss theme and also submit name list liao... be more and more busy over this few wkn liao...

ccharis

Geez, I am so itching for gel extensions too.
Deb, could you share more? How does it differs from acrylics (ie. application, etc...) woh?

-------

Rivenwood: Thanks for sharing the pictures with me, and GOSH, you look amazing! I love your skintone, you're one fair lady eh! On the same note, I was told by PG if we like to shoot at NM, then we need to prebook entrance tickets? Can you roughly run through this process with me as our OD shoot falls on 13th Oct (not sure is it considered too early or late to book them now).

-------

Sinplyme: I ditto to Deb & Rivenw, do you feel comfortable to share what happened -- perhaps we could all help you out in some ways or another & help lighten this load for you. Afterall, we're all in the same boat, so some things we could share & help each other source or buy etc...

If it helps you feel better, I'm quite stubborn, even after the card vendor had ditched me, I still persist & insist on those handmade invitations -- to cut a long story short, I'm resorting to MAKING my own. Alot more obstacles along the way & sometimes we really need to speak to HTB & get it off our chest. It's BOTH your journey so even he's the bochup kind, sometimes they can blurt out amazing ideas too.

It's once in a lifetime, so please dont settle for anything less (and regret later) right?

Please do share with us what's on your list now.
We can all go through it together with you.

-------

Lyra: I used to think like you before I join this forum... Hehe...

Anyway it's good to start early & then relax nearing the date. Also, should there be any hiccups along the way you still have enough time to look for alternatives too.
Take your time, we're all here if you need any help; there's still 3 more months to go.

-------

Angelia: Based on experience, start browsing around. Initially I thought this was the EASIER part -- thankfully Deb is so nice to offer help.
Anyway I only managed to get my shoes 1 day before the PS. I also went barefooted for my EG -_-"

Till now I havent even gotten down to setting my rock on the E/band. I've been draggin' on this like ages...
As for W/bands, done-d but thats not forgetting we've waited 2+ months, cause they need to customised to my size (too small, so dont even have OTR that suits my fingers)

So I agree with Deb again, get earlier.
You save yourself from risking into more headache/stress later on too, afterall the bands are key items needed...

ccharis

Sinplyme:

If you agree with Lyra, I agree with you.
I have not done:-

- Printing of Invites, no artwork yet!
- Havent start crafting our Invitations yet
- Wedding Favors, havent order yet
- Haven't check Guestlist
- No Guestbook yet
- No AP box yet
- Havent look for Floral Deco vendor
- Corsages & everything else for JMs
- Havent gotten AD de CS
- Havent gotten shoes for AD de CS
- Havent do the application in ROM yet.
+ alot more...

Although I'm not going thru the elaborate GDL, but still there are certain things I need to get like suckling pigs, gifting cakes, etc...
I havent even got down to researching for them too.

Seriously you are not alone even I *worked/planned* through the 7th month loh...
I'm more depressed than you.

So cheer up my dear...

deborahng

sinplyme> haha i also haven done the invites, the guestlist also not done. my house only starting reno next week so gonna be busy with that. then haven chosen the gowns for AD. haha so everything also not done... GDL also dunno wat to do.

ccharis> haha do do... i love doing nails
Arcylic is those stick on to the nails one. gel is layer by layer kinda. haha i also dunno how to explain but pretty can liao

ccharis

Deb: Hehehe, you know my butt got nails de right? So hor, need to ask sit there how long to 'layer by layer' and also, how to remove the varnish, say if I wanna change nail colour (since you mentioned it can last for months). Paiseh, I feel I am so suaku...

I'm gonna google/youtube for how gel's like! I'm so keen to do gel for our O/D shoot, I saw your PS nail, very pretty! Gel also right?

sinplyme

ccharis / deb>

know what... I really find it happier to not think of the wedding stuff *though it would mean i am procractinating and not on 'healthy' schedule*

am going to take a short holies from tml to sun...
hopefully things will be better upon return.

anw, i'm going to BKK and hopefully I can get cheaper ties&shirts for the xiongdis aka brothers and also get some printing done.

Otherwise I will come back to singapore to buy&print.
Anything recommended that I should buy from BKK or Any places recommended to go?

ccharis

Hey Peeps!
Esp. to share with Agnes too!

I found a link on gel extensions: http://www.kidstube.com/play.php?vid=22520
Deb: Ya, now I know what is 'layer-by-layer' liao, lol!

I think it's so cool & with gel, neednt do French manicure liao, lol! Just apply top coat and ready to go!

I should have tried this the other time; I always have 2-3 broken nails, but my manicurist said not as sturdy as acrylics, ugh! I think the key factor is that gel seemed to take a longer time to create? As for acrylics, it's just sticking the nail-form, apply liquid acrylic then file/buff. I agree gel looks more natural too.

ccharis

Sinplyme: Just go with the flow & dont force yourself to prepare anything for now.
I'm sure you can get cheaper resources for the XDs in BKK!

I'm not too sure what you would like to print?
Just inserts, or invitation cards as well? What is the quantity like?

I'm asking because I dont own a good printer at home, which means I also need to outsource my 'inserts/printing-related' too -- I just found this freelancer whom's willing to accept small orders, and price to me is quite reasonable (free artwork & embossing too). So if you want, can also share the information with you.

Let us know how things are like for you, we could all chip in ideas, resources, etc...

rivenwood

ccharis: Thanks for the compliment but I think it's the camera effect. My skin is not that fair. Hah.

If you like to shoot at NM, you need to email to Lucas or LiLi. The charge for doing a PS there is $107 for 3 hours. There are no cancellation penalties.

They will send you a form and you have to fill in the attached application form and fax/email it back to them at least 3 working days before the photoshoot.

Sinplyme: A holiday is always good! haha. Time for you to recharge too. Oh I read from somewhere you can buy same color ties from BKK. It should be cheap. BKK is like the usual. MBK, Chatuchak? Haha. Go there for the massages! Are you heading there with your HB?

deborahng

ccharis> haha ya my PS nails is gel. i have extension for 2 nails cos they chipped. Ehh removal abit troublesome cos need to go back to remove.

sinplyme> enjoy shopping at bkk... i wanna go too haha.. can buy lots of stuff there. i saw v pretty wedding shoes before but that time htb refused to let me buy. dun worry bout wedding stuff ya

crossie

ccharis > Thanks for sharing the video... but just to check, how come you need to do so much on your own? like wedding favours, AP box, flower deco, guest book and etc?

Mine is so much so simplier lo, AP box, wedding favours, invitation will all be done by hotel...
car deco, posters by BS

Maybe you want to check with the hotel or BS if all the mentioned are included in your package?

ccharis

*waves* to crazyshopper!
BIG welcome, althou' you have many posts, but we have not greet before, heh!
No worries lah, I'm still at 2233, still far from 7788!

ccharis

Agnes: Truth is, all these items are provided by the venue, but I ditched them lah...

I'm extremely anal about (1) quality (2) details.
Then again, it's gonna be simple affair...

* So, they had favours (2pcs heart choco) which erm, ... me no like!
* Same goes to the cards; even with 4 options. + IMHO cards = sets the mood/impression to the event.
* Corsages/Boutonnière, BS provide but only sufficient for the family but not for JM/XD.
* Fresh petals would be provided, but not floral centerpieces.
* AP box: In fact, we're not accepting AP -- but JM advised that we should have in case, so need a MINI box.
Also, it's not theme/colour matching -- kinda sweet looking & so HUGE too! We're going for contemporary chinese in Red/Gold/Black.

crossie

ccharis>> try discussing with the BS and banquet coordinator, they might be able to help and give you more ideas, mine banquet coordinator even told me to bring the pics of favours so he can try sourcing (Same for the flowers from my BS), else recommend him the suppliers... LOL...

expect for the corsage, same! enuf for family members only so went to the blogshop and order for XDJM..

Try asking them if they can help as they are so call the professional and might have more lobang in getting good stuff, at most, tell them you will top up some $, it will really save you alot of trouble tho... (ps.. that's what i did, cos my hubby bo chap!) LOL

elynh

Hi girls, how's everything so far?

I'm in Taiwan now, hardly contactable via phone anymore, sigh. Picked 3 dresses for PS yesterday, 2 more will be like our image consultant's or photographer's choice and we are going down later to pick dresses for our AD. So far so good. PS is this Sunday and we should be able to select the photos on the first week of Oct. They have a lot of nice bling bling shoes here. I like but I have a height issue. HTB is 175, I'm 172. Even if I don on a 2 inch heels, I'll still be taller than him. =_=

I'm panicking now. Like, I thought they renovated his room when he was away but now that I'm here, nothing is done cause they want my opinion. We have like 2 weeks to break down a wall, build another wall and furnish the place. Arghh. How's that possible?!

sinplyme,lyra, ccharis
I have not done:-
- Printing of Invites
(heard that we will have to visit relatives in Taiwan to give out invites. HTB kept saying that someone can do it for us but I've yet to see the designs. I have a really bad feeling about this)
The only good thing about invites is that I was told that I don't have to give it to my dad's family.
- Guestlist not confirm till nov
- Guestbook (not sure if I shd get)
- AP box not done
- Haven't talk to my florist regarding floral design
- Have yet to confirm the vegetarian menu with GWP
- Theme for the wedding
- Stuff for guo ta li
- furniture shopping etc

Deb:
I just realised you are with cang ai! I like their make-up! Very nice! :p

crazyshopper08

Deb, I am with Cang Ai too.. but I did my PS in singapore what about you..

Anyways..
I will be doing my invites this weekend and my gown for AD on 4th oct.. but there is so many other things not done..

deborahng

crazyshopper> i did mine in singapore as well
decided to get AD gown slightly later

elynh> yupe.. their makeup v nice .haha i like too

crossie

morning babes... brand new week again.. and its nearer to our big day!

was super busy over the weekend, went to meet up with my AD PG, and to chose my invitation card, wedding favours and etc... luckily till now, most of the 'external' things settled; now have to plan to shop for furniture, painting of my hubby's house and etc... gosh! think its gonna be more and more busy, cant even sleep well!

Babes.. guess we gotta arrange a day to meet up and 'de-stress' together manz...

deborahng

crazyshopper> i haven gotten my album. Just saw my layout.. hopefully can get the album by nov.

agnes> haha my house just started reno today
I have not chosen the wedding cards yet too. Let's arrange to meet up. preference?? friday nites okie?

mimichan

morning! MIA for a week, I just came back from holiday with my fiancé, so fat now!! Need to lose weight urgently before my photoshoot next month... hopefully I can shape up in time

Agnes, and to everyone, just to share that I've been trying Gel manicure for the past 3 months, it's been great (no chip, only need to re-do every 5 weeks, and it looks pretty) BUT my nails became abit brittle and now 2 of them are breaking from the middle. I'm quite upset with this as my photoshoot is nearing. I think it's best to do it just before PS and AD, to prevent nails from getting weak and break.. guess my nails were not too strong to start with
hope they grow back in time... BTW, I use soft gel mani with LED light, not the usual UV light ones, cos it's more harmful to your nails and skin. hard gel made my nails v thin..

sinplyme, I haven't decided on cars yet.. thinking of renting one.

ccharis, I'm also doing most stuff by myself, and I agree with you on the invitation card, it sets the mood of the whole wedding.

elynh, you are a tall bride too! I'm 171, but still thinking of wearing high heels on AD

Agnes, get-together sounds good!

Deb, good that your house renovation has started! I need to arrange for quotation with contractor this weekend... hope it's not too steep.

ccharis

Woah, all my dears here...

I just realised, it's only another 2 more months to go!
I thought it was just 3 months mark when I spoke to Deb not long ago! Where have the time gone?

-_____-"

crazyshopper08

Mimi - I guess trying to slim down is the number 1 priority for every bride. I am trying very hard too but i love to eat and it is really becoming really tough..

cars are so hard, can i check if anyone know is possible to get a chauffeur ?

crossie

wooh... i just need to go back to my hubby house to paint the whole place with him for the next 2 weekend..

as for my album, i told you gals previously its ready but.. till now i have yet to collect. haha
will be collecting them over this weekend...

also, as for slimming down, i think its just too late for me, cos i am plus plus size loh. *faintz* luckily manage to get MTM gown and the designer is nice enough to give suggestions on how to make me look slimer! >.<

I have yet to get my shoe for AD, went Anna Nucci the other day and saw a pair quite satisfying but the size just not right and the sales asst keep pushing and telling me that only 1 pair of the size is available in each store, sounded agressive so i didnt buy! haas... i think the shoe is my biggest concern now!

as for the nails, i will get it done at my MUA shop, will be doing gel for sure but will check if they provide organic gel...

Friday nitez to get together sounds good! since all of us is Dec bride, why not we arrange around end Nov as our get together Hens night!!

sinplyme

I'm back!

ccharis > i couldn't find any cheap printers in BKK at all! they see us *as foreigners* then try to 'chop' us!!

mind to share ur contacts on the printing?

rivenwood >
yes, we bought ties there... not exactly cheap but it's the thrill of slashing prices there... haha.
my htb also managed to get the shirts for his brothers... and his dad made a suit in BKK, 200+ for a tux suit+shirt!

deb >
indeed there is alot of bling bling shoes, NOT the "obiang" type... but too bad, I already bought mine from Anna Nucci.

I saw some shoes at BKK, which is also available in SGP but selling at S$4-5 or more cheaper!

Went to BKK for a 4D-3N trip. Didn't manage to shop at all the places I want to go but I found some new places to shop!

Also managed to squeeze some time for a one day trip to pattaya and I found one place, really suitable for pre-wedding shoots! should have gone there man! kaoz~ one place many backgrounds...;x

mimichan >
initially thought of renting from weddingcars.sg but now we changed mind and decided to borrow from his uncle.

crazyshopper08

sinplyme - seems like your BKK trip was really fruitful.. so lucky.. I bought my xiong di ties all in China.. which is really cheap as well.

Cars... I wanted to rent but my mum ask me to borrow their car.. so I need a chauffeur. Anyone got lobang for this let me know.

My house is done via interior designers. Now I just need to buy furniture for some of the rooms.Hope I can get everything done up soon.

deborahng

ccharis> yup.. near to sophia. haha yupe time passing v quickly and I haven printed my cards yet. guestlist not finalised also

sinplyme> haha seems like you had fun at BKK. i wanna go too.

gals > how bout 15 oct Fri??

crazyshopper08

deb - I printed my cards already !! last sat.. but my guest list is not totally confirmed. I just did a rough estimate. Are your cards provided by the hotel ? mine is provided by Noble house where I am having my wedding.. so just need to print inserts.

So have you gals met before ??

ccharis

Sinplyme: Just PM-ed you on the printer contact. You sound MUCH happier from BKK!

As for chauffeur, would you be able to rope help from XD -- I reckon freelance chauffeur would come with hefty price! My friend had taxi-driver as chauffeur and they charge by hour-blocks (ie. 4hours, 8hours, full day) on top of peaks &amp; overtime. Anyway it's moonlighting so to each, rates may differ, start now to keep a lookout...

Agnes: I've got IDENTICAL experience with AN too. To make things worse, if the design comes in 2 colours, like silver &amp; white, then the sizes are staggered. If you really like, place deposit then they'll transfer what you want over, easier that way i/o running to all their other outlets. Also, unless you're on waitlist, otherwise most if not all are display loh. I know the only pair that they might stock abit more, is the flexi-tie with diamontes de.

Deb: You printing your own cards too? Suggest you start soon, cause our timing are kinda clashed with the 101010 weddings -- printers are rushing out orders like hotdogs! I've let mine rush out those orders first, but she'll have to deliver my prints before Oct ends, so that I can distribute the tiaps with 1 month notice...

ccharis

Crazyshopper: My office is at UIC Building too!
We're with My Humble House, also TungLok group.

Just wondering if your banquet co-ordinator is Cornelius Ang too?

crazyshopper08

Hi... ccharis..
Mine co-coordinator is Darren..
Think different co-coordinator for different outlet..

haha so coincidence.. you work in UIC building.

mimichan

Deb, 15th Oct I cannot
will be in Perth for my PS...

girls, just wana ask.. am I the only one who feels strange to invite Parents' guests whom you don't know at all? I am having a rather small wedding dinner, thus the space is limited. This is because we wanted a cosy and intimate affair, with people who are close to us.
I'm having a very bitter and difficult time with my own parent because of this, sigh..

Everything else is going well, other than the little time we have left. (I also have soooooo many things that hasn't done yet!!)

Need to make some props for my PS soon.

busy with my wedding, plus so many weddings to attend this year too, even in Dec!!

deborahng

crazyshopper> Hotel provide but my htb dun really like so thinking shld we print the entire thing ourselves.

ccharis> haha i not so creative so shld be going jb to do the printing.

mimi> i told my parents how many tables they have for their friends and relatives so they plan themselves. Told them no extra space for more guest

crazyshopper08

Mimi > My parents are going to invite many of their friends but we told them the number of tables they can invite and they work around the numbers..
But most of them of close friends of theirs, and I guess they also want to have their friends enjoy their joy.. so maybe you can try to work it out with you parents ? wedding stressful enough including parents will go crazy...

Deb> My printer is focal ad.. in ubi, saw their customization one and think it is not bad. I am not putting too much into the invite.. so i just took what the restaurant provide..

crossie

deb>> u suggested to meet up on 15 oct? i'm okay tho, check with rest of them... oh btw, i saw the design for your wrist corsage, VERY NICE!

ccharis>> hate AN lo... think i will go shop around in major mall like taka, metro, OG etc, cos i heard they sell nice heels as well.

mimi >> for my case, my parent request 3 tables for their friends; my hubby agreed but arrangement to be done by themselves lo. the worst part is because i'm the eldest grand daughter so my grandma actually told my hubby they wanted another few tables for the distance distance relatives whom i dun even know (or simply cant remember) who they are... so my hubby 'entertain' and give them another 2 tables out of respect and to so call 'give my grand parent the face'... think back, consider lucky, cos eldest granddaughter only few tables... and back then my eldest cousin got married, its a 100 table banquet lo... invites all and duno who kind...

to all>> i am so excited, going to collect my album over this weekend and guess my MTM dress will be ready soon... wooh.. cant wait to see my WG &amp; EG...