(2010/12) Dec 2010 BTB

mimichan

hello ladies!!

ccharis - hope you found THE dress!
just enjoy yourself, don't have to worry too much.
From my experience, keep trying many gowns and you will know when you pick "the" gown, the moment I wore the gown it spoke to me (haha) and as I wore it longer it really grew on me, and I couldn't forget the gown.

Deborah - me too, I'm not wearing the AD gown for my photo shoot. I'm going to keep it as a surprise/secret from my fiancé till the very day.

By the way ccharis, for me, my hair & make-up artist was the key for the photoshoot.
I haven't done my real photoshoot, but I did a test-shoot for a photographer (she was looking for a couple to model for her).
On that day, I felt so happy when I saw myself in the mirror - I think it's important that you have the confidence, hence to me, a good MUA is very important.
I've tried a few MUA and they all have different styles, so it's good to try them out before committing to one. A very popular MUA might not be the best for you.

Oh and also, have a good night sleep before the PS, and on the day itself, just enjoy! Be happy, and the photos will turn out well

elynh

lymo:
At least he changed your photo frame for you. =p And that means another "to do" done! And the most important thing is that it turned out to look like you guys!

Have you heard of 53A (Sarah and Alvin)? Can google for them but I'm not sure about their rates.

Ying is also quite good. You can check her out here. There are some videos of her and Sarah as well.
http://www.youtube.com/user/yingchng

____
simplesweet:
I found a vendor for the photo booth thingy. It is like, they take photos and print it for the guests instantly.

I might be using this PG cause his rate for AD is reasonable and he is throwing in a photo montage of the morning event and this photobooth thingy comes FOC with the package. He will be bringing 2 printers for this purpose!

____
ccharis:
sorry dear, IT's the prelims and I've been teaching the whole day. Tired. I'll reply you tmr ya? hugs!

ccharis

Just hit office, so sian...
I'd slowly reply and share yday's journey...

Sigh~
(From the way I sounded, you all know I didnt managed to "kill all with one bullet" le loh)

*sobs!*

ccharis

Thank you everyone for advices & concern for me!
Honestly I am so pekchek as well as lost now, so please do bear with me & I hope I can find a way out (at min. cost incurred).

I have ONLY myself to blame, so what I am sharing are not complains on Sophia, but on the contrary -- I love Beatrice (my assistant) to bits, she was soooo patient with me.
Even when HTB was supposed to come around 6+ to 'confirm' the gowns (thou' in the end he rejected all) -- she was still as sweet & as composed.

I've confirmed all 4 pieces; it was supposed to be 2WG, 1EG + 1OD & the former 3 pieces can pick from latest collection. However, I couldnt find what I like (or rather to HTB likings) cause even he likes embroidery, still he finds Sophia's arent SIMPLE enough *faints* so I ended up choosing from OTR (silly isnt it?) 1WG, 1EG, 2OD. I wanted varieties right from the start, so changing from 1WG for another OD instead wasnt any big hooha for me to accept (I do understand that there are BTBs whom are particular about OTR/New/MTM) but to each their own; so it was easier for me to pick out (1) Ballerina (2) Halfcut (ala. in front short, behind got train) -- both are OD.

Ok, now to the disappointing part -- you girls know all along I wanted a cheongsum so dearly. I was told they had alot of cheongsum but when I was choosing I realised they were different from what I wanted -- the revised/modern version; cut in sleeve style. They really have alot, but they were the traditional ones, capped sleeves! Ugh! Not without struggling, I picked out (1) Champange (2) Black Lace on Red Satin -- HTB say look like Mamasan (so loud in Sophia's!) and to cut a long story short, he picked out an all black satin bustier (abit of a kimono style -- but he wanted it no belt, soooo it looks so plain). It was the ONLY piece HTB confirm, the rest he told me, chinchai lah, pick what you like loh... *sulk*

I was so pekchek, spent 6 hours to shortlist to what he might like, only to end up knowing all is useless, ugh! Beatrice genuinely comforted me; she said, my HTB respect me alot, whereas she have seen MCPs dressing up the bride like wayangs, lol! It's little things like this... A seed is planted in my heart -- I would wear the EG he picked out during PS; respect back...

... BUT I WANT TO TAILOR MY CS FOR AD!

Lastly -- the KUA. You see, my bestie wasnt there with me, so I forgotten about the Tea Dress, I thought they were the same, just diff names, sigh! I reckon I wouldnt have enough time to change into the KUA & she said I should ask to change the KUA into T/D (so perhaps I could find something to replace the existing EG yet wouldnt need to spent add. $ to tailor CS). Anyhow she is my dearest gem, without her, it's like I'm none functionable, lol! We work like left/right brains -- need both. BUT! I have already confirm the gowns yday & as stated, penalty would be imposed for any changes. How?

Ladies, please help me problem solve.
Time's also running out too.

ccharis

Angelia: Do you have any contacts to CS tailors?
Actually on 2nd thoughts, I quite like my WG too -- it's very versatile cause the train can detached (velcro) unlike some, hooked to your back, which still makes the gown looks heavy.

----------

Deb: So in all (PS+AD) how many pieces you're wearing?

----------

Lymo: Thkq, spent nearly the whole day -- still got screw ups, gosh! As for the caricature, you might wanna share which artist is this, so others can learnt from your lesson. I think this kind of artist should NO longer be fed with demands. Kinda crook; cheater.

----------

Elynh: Neednt apologise, I knocked out after I texted you (that was while waiting for dinner!) once home, bathed, KO.!

ccharis: babe, dun sulk. i rem there is a cheong sam shop in far east plaza. i rem they tailor made.

sorry abt this but i cant rem the exact unit execpt its ard the corner on 2nd or 3rd flr. maybe u can shop ard this week end?

try to do it fast cause tailoring takes some time...

ccharis

I've taken the liberty to call up Sophia this afternoon, hoping that they would allow me to change the EG/OD to another WG out of goodwill -- but sadly I had just received their call to turn me down, sigh!

After reading some of your experiences, it seemed that most BS are quite understanding & so I thought I may stand good chances.

Moreover, this was running through my mind: I picked the gowns till very late; almost shop-closing & in less than 24 hours, I request for the above. They said they had already prepared for tailor! Well, to me it's like WT* because the piece I wanted to exchange for another WG is tied-back & I remembered so clearly b'cause someone would be using it on the 3rd (my PS is on 7th) and initially they were afraid no time to turnover for me. I can only sadly comment that they are not as customer-orientated as I had initially thought -- beat around the bush, still tell me cannot, etc... *bangwall* really cannot be confused or go there lone-ranger loh.

To make things, I was reminded by another friend that if I had not taken ANY from their new collection, I could have paid lesser -- I think they have an identical package, but thats strictly for OTR gowns. So that's *bangwall* no 2.

I should have heeded my bestie's advice -- learn never to trust anyone even if they "appear" to be very nice. She repeated so many times (even before I signed with Sophia's but it fell on deaf ears). Now, I can only leave it into Jesus hands that I have not made a wrong decision with the PG, which was huge reason why I signed with Sophia's or for a matter of fact, signed up with a BS lah.

Oh well... What's done cannot be undone le, and again, if wanna blame, can only blame myself loh... Anyway I've already prepared for the worse, that is to tailor CS for AD liao... Should I move on sulking or continue being happy -- I pick the latter. I agree with you girls, look forward & be prepared then be happy on PS-day & leave all else to God so everything would still turn out pretty.

----------

Angelia: Thanks SO much for the site, I love Mazzario's CS, I've really not imagine they can be so pretty & versatile! I have to owe this to you! Thkq again! By the way when you mean do it fast, you took the deadline for PS or AD -- b'cause I planned to wear the tailor CS only on AD dinner.

deborahng

ccharis> there is a CS shop at katong shopping centre, but cant remember the name at this time.there is a thread for CS, can look for references there.

Dun be too upset with the BS, try again by going down and talking to them. i changed by confirmed PS outfits also and my BS was nice to allow me to change without any penalty. I usually do tag team w my hubby and 你一å¥ï¼Œæˆ‘ä¸€å¥ to get them to change for us.

ccharis

Agnes: I think it's good news! At least your have rid 1 to-do off your mind + you can then make use of soft copies to do some others things if you like. Unlike me, pray it doesnt screw up on PS day (ie. weather, last min emergency, etc...) cause I cant afford that, else album cannot be ready in time le, sigh!

By the way any of you pampered yourself to any extra treats (aside. mani/pedi & facials) before PS -- thinking of going for scrub to radiant the skin & f/body waxing cause I was told will look fairer but I've not been to any so scared painful leh, lol!

Share with me okay?

crossie

>> ccharis, i only did mani before the shoot as for facial... i'm those kind who do it regulary so nothing special abt it... as for skin to look fairer, i actually applied body foundation only... oh ya, i brought a coset and its work to make myself look slimer.. LOLs...

>> deb, mine is all done by the BS already, cant think of any others to do withy the soft copies... haha.. cos my BS gave me guest sign in, poster and some others all customise with our pixs liao.... Guess will only be collecting it after the lunar 7th month cos the BS also gave us free PS session for QUAN JIA FU so was thinking to take on the day of collection as well..

crossie

>>deb, i cant really rem when i took my pixs.. but if its not wrong should be around June.. all editing are done, layouts all ok tho! i still think like abit too soon.. hahaha

ccharis

Agnes: Sorry ah, so KPO -- you applied the body foundation yourself or BS did for you. In that case, I also put lah, waxing very painful, lol! As for corset, have thot of it (cause I'm just too rush to be even dieting -- counting down to PS liao) but my budd & BS told me gurder (wrong spelling) enough leh, cause they can edit the images also. I think I would PM you shortly for more info, can?

By the way the list wasnt updated, which BS you signed with -- so nice to throw in QJF shots!

Hmm, maybe because I only want the main album, didnt even take the small album, so I thought maybe can go outside & make another album with different pictures blown up (I have already thought of taking magazine-style for album design) as I have 40poses on 17pages, thats why loh. But I wont have the time privi like you, sigh...

----------

Deb: You neednt worry loh, at least you went through the PS liao, so things are stablised. I'm so worried about weather, see these few days -- AM got cool air after rain; but PM hot like desert!

Then again, if I complain, I think Elynh wanna scream le, she's only flying to Taiwan in Sept for BS *zips!* just wish ALL of us got no more hiccups till the big day & can enjoy this journey.

----------

Angelia: About CS -- today we went to Millenia Walk to shopshop, chanced upon this shop that has quite nice CS woh, shown HTB the mannequin's (it's silver; knee-length) and he nodded, so he ask me to go in ask price, S$198 & they can alter for you. Maybe this can add to your list: Danica (www.danicastyle.com) and Add: #P2/27 PARCO, Millenia Walk. They got another shop in Far East Plaza, #03-29.

I havent buy yet, will only do so after the PS, so can suanbian bring my Mum & Sis to shop for their clothes too.

ccharis

Agnes: Aiyah, you disabled your PM function: "Sorry, but the user you have selected does not accept private messages." opps!

ccharis

Hey babes! Before I forget, I've only a week left to pick on a pair of heels for PS.
Been to CK Tangs & Taka (departmental) but couldnt find the ideal. Please share more locations with me? Thanks alot!

Just in case, I'm looking for a pair of silver, about 3" would do, so if you come across nice de, or had seen something similar during your search, please shout to me, thanks!

evanthlyn

Ccharis: maybe you can try pedro? They have some really nice heels.

Anyway, what do you girls think about novotel clarke quay. Been there for any wedding before?

crossie

>> ccharis you email me at [email protected] ba; anyway the body foundation is recommended by the BS so they applied for me, its those liquid form so its easy to apply. Anyway my BS is in Msia near to my mum home town; good deal (after converting the currency, its only abt less then SGD2.5k)lols... not so much pix tho; 30 over 12pages. full negatives return.

I chosen corset because i'm abit on the 'overweight' side; hence corset will make me look more shape (agenda achived!) LoLs... If you are not like me then prehaps, girlde should be good enough; cos i will need the corset on the AD as well; to look slimer, just in case i'm not able to lose enough weight by AD...(stress over preparation and eat MORE) =.=!

deborahng

ccharis> i bought mine from anna nucci. they have it in white, silver and black, with crystal so bling bling.But bring flats ya and only change to heels if needed. haha i only wore heels for 1 photo. the rest either barefooted or the dress covered

rivenwood

hey ladies, just wanna ask.. must the GDL be done 1 month before the AD? Can it be earlier?

Oh yea, normally what do we do for GDL?

maddiejas

no pictures wor...its still on sale..i saw it at the wisma atria branch yesterday..simple silver one ..for photoshoot should be good enough. or take over from me lor..what's your feet size :p

Oh ya, also saw a pretty new bling bling range at DMG...check it out!

If willing to spend more, check leapin lizard to custom made, or Loe & behold..bought my Wedding shoes there..ehehehe

crossie

Jazzy> i was thinking to get something cheap as my normal dressing style is not bling bling kind so i think the pair of bling bling is only meant for wedding day nia... Lols.. Wore a pair of plain white for PS as all the dress is long enough to cover, but scare on AD will be painful to wear that cos that is 4" and will need to walk so much...

anyway, my shoe size is 7

ccharis

Thanks Eve & Jazzy!
I'm so happy that this thread is alive now! Hehe!

Btw, Jazzy: Anna Nucci aside Far East Plaza, any idea where else in town have? I didnt managed to google for the outlets leh. TIA!

----------

Deb: I just realised, the ODs I picked all gotta wear heels de leh, (1) got 'lobang' infront; behind train, (2) ballerina. Ugh! -___-||

----------

Rivenwood: I think in modern context, it doesnt really matter, but suggest you communicate to understand the folks bettwe. For superstitous AND traditional folks, they might be more concern about the date ('ji ri'/good) bah? My friend had it 3+ months before their AD -- b'cause the maiden side also picked 'ji ri' to return gift too. Case in point, she went thru the ultra-detailed GDL (ie. baskets, pails, etc...) & I remembered -1month is for 7th month.

On another note, some 2-3 pages before, I enclosed a link for simplesweet on GDL too. Hope it helps!

----------

Agnes: Pedro 313@ Somerset also have!

happy106

Remaining wine from my wedding for sale.

12 bottles of Goldleaf red classic.

This is fruity red wine which is meant for easy drinking. It is a combination of three major grapes, Cabernet/Shiraz/Merlot providing a rich, smooth and strong flavored red wine. Smooth Mulberry flavors from the Merlot slowly convert into the stronger Cabernet and Shiraz characteristics.

* 1 full carton (12 bottles)
* 750ml each. 13.5% alcohol.
* $18 per bottle only. Total = $216.
* Arrange your own delivery

PM me if interested.

crossie

Thanks Eve...

I went to Anna Nucci the other day the shoe NICE! but the design i like is too HIGH so sad...

I prefer sonething not more then 3" cos if not i have a leg pain day on my AD

ccharis

Thanks Jazzy again!

Ya, Agnes, I've seen AN shoes on IE (going to their shop soon, hehe!) and they all look pretty but then the height is another matter,
Anything more than 3" also not ideal for me leh, *fingers crossed*

By the way have you all started preparing the invites? I'm tad kancheong now woh, I've ordered some handcrafted ones, but no stock for the oriental-paper I want & dunno can have them ready before Nov or not, sigh...

crossie

ccharis >> my invitation list is 'sort of' ready, still need to finalise again on my hubby's friend list. As for the invitation card, haven decide, but will be provide by the hotel, already saw a few designs but still...
Haha, anyway the staff at the hotel told us, the printing only takes about 2weeks so we will only be submiting the list by end of sep.. still can think and look around..

elynh

Agnes:
I like some of the corsages, what's your theme? You can get them to customize too!

ccharis:
My invitation will only be out in mid Oct. Don't know how it will look. HTB will be travelling for work (today till 21 Sept) and we have to wait for him to get back to Taiwan before sourcing for the card.

He has been really sweet - he spent 20hrs, going through like 5 bridal shops over there. And we have confirmed our BS! Apparently he chose the BS cause they have the la sposa wedding dresses. I goggled and I think it is quite me. Like, there are dresses with laces, and some have that vintage feel. Keeping my fingers crossed. Will be picking my dress on the 23rd Sept & 24th and PS on the 26th.

How's your shoes shopping so far? I rmb walking past some shops in PS, they have some rather bling heels. Forgot which shops though.

crossie

ccharis and elynh> my theme?! Lols... more to pink and light purple to have a princessy and romantic kinda.. not exactly theme like you girls having...

ccharis

Agnes: I like the design "She's the One II" and "Dazzling Romance" -- I think it suit's your princessy theme, and well, the colours can ask them to customise for you to pastel pink/purple loh. Jin swee (very pretty) woh!

Elynh: You are ONE pretty teacher hor! Hehe! Yes, read it over your FB message, geez, I think he is so sweet!
Btw 2 days to do fitting -- got double confirm with them if it's possible or not?

I have not managed to shop for anything since we last chat, but tonight going to CK Tangs (got closed door member sale) so hoping to pick up a pair of heels if possible, and those gurlder/corset too -- last week too stressed over many things then my weight went up from 53 to 54.5 now, sob! This week, having a HUGE ulcer in my mouth; dunno consider good/bad news. Bad mood & no appetite.

I'm going VIVO tonight, anyone knows if there is Anna Nucci there?

crossie

ccharis> thanks for advises, i actually missed out the dazzling romance, its nice! will check with the seller if they can change the color...

celinepuah

Hey CCharis, There's a Anna Nucci at Harbour Front, ground floor... somewhere near esprit..=)

love their hills too... but some are too high..am thinking whether can shorten it..

rivenwood

ccharis> thanks for the reply. i think i am going to anyhow do GDL. lol

Now trying to settle the guestlist, invitation cards and trying to get my skin treated.
recently I am getting alot of skin problems with my face and back!!! ARGHS! Any solutions?

crossie

>Rivenwood... try eating more chillis... Lols sound weird but it helps..

>Simplesweet, if can shorten, let me know... i also felt its too high

> BTW babes... you girls have any ideas if it will be nice to give your JM gifts instead of Ang Pow?

meebo

hi all btb, beens long times since i last log in.

Hey Angelia, i'm oso with WhiteLink. Btw, who's ur coordinator?? Any bad experiences with them??

Coz i kinda have some disputes with them.

elynh

agnes:
really? Maybe I shd try. Having very bad breakouts now.

I will be giving my JMs bracelets instead of corsage and they can keep it as a memento. :p

ccharis:
I know what you mean. We cannot wear heels which are too high. My HTB is a little taller than me. So with a 3 inch heels, I'll probably be taller than him.

Apparently, the BS agreed to have a double fitting. So keeping my fingers crossed.

So much to do, I'm trying to shortlist my PG from a list of 20. Price range for AD is from $580 to $3000. The $580 one seems like a sweet deal but there is one, $1500 which comes with live printing so our guests get to bring back their pics on the same day.

My face is so chui now I can't look for my MUA. =C How to do trial make up like that? I am afraid it will aggravate my skin situation.

Oh! Anyone looking for wall decorations on their AD? I chanced upon some wall decafs and they look really cute!

1511930.png