(2010/11) November 2010 BTB

loewe79

Ges, thanks for the information.. I shd be gg on sat

mayshalws, I hope it is...

chili_padi11

Flyingstar - true cos wedding already spend so much of $$$ so try to save. Yr colleague's one is the one my HB wants to print - but i dont want! hahaha

Loewe - I m going down this evening, if i can get the price list. will let you knw

loewe79

Ges, so u finalised ur guest list already?
I dunno how many cards i need too..hotel provide 135. maybe i need to top up to 150 cards..

appreciate if could update mi if u have the details. Thanks!

flyingstar

Ges> wah, investment leh. i think my colleague top up 300 bucks lo. somemore printing was initially included in her hotel package.

better ask your HB reconsider. I would rather on the actual wedding day itself take photos with my friends and give them. heh. coz i feel that it's more meaningful (and less likely to throw away since got their own pics!).

chili_padi11

Loewe - Estimate. Cos a lof of single invitation. Estimate about 250 cards. Huh.. How come yours so little? shd be at least 70% of yr invites, right?

flyingstar

loewe> u confirmed ur no. of guests? usually hotels like to give percentage of the guests lo. like 60% or 70%.

but if your hotel dun have right, then you gauge by having around 70% of your total number of guests. usually should be enough, coz 1 family around 2-4 people ma.

but inserts must print more just in case you write wrongly can use new piece.

chili_padi11

flyingstar - I wont let the cost of the invites more than S$100... hahaha... I wont go for that lah, i will use the $$ for other things..

Loewe - check with yr hotel for the number of cards..

loewe79

Ges, Flyingstar.. ours is 70% of confirmed 18 tables.. so 135 cards lor. we are looking at abt 20-22 tables only.. (max 24 for that ballroom).

ya hor..insertts need more, cos i clumsy,. sure write wrong or super ugly.hahaha

mayshalws

loewe: hmmm..better check again. 135 cards was little.

agreed with flyingstar, i rather save the printing cost on other things else. cos seldom ppls keep invitation card, usually end up in dustbin.

loewe79

mayshalws> its correct..
stated in hotel email to mi "You are entitled to 135 number of cards which is 70% of your guaranteed attendances."

rite lo.. rarely gt pple kp the invites de..

flyingstar

loewe, if you confirm 22 tables, then the 70% will adjust accordingly ba. so u should get like 154 cards?

i don't think you need to worry not enough cards. 70% usually is more than enough.
anyway inserts usually print more better, coz if you want to reprint, according to my planner is that they won't just print 1 or 2 sheets...usually got min. qty (like 50 sheets)

Ges> good tt u have budget. just my opinion when it comes to invites. coz the other day my bf got 1 whole stack of invites and i was helping him to clear...of course majority went into the bin. and he already kept them since 2007 lo. so tts y i really think it's an area to save some $$ (although it's a small amount compared to bridal packages, etc.)

chili_padi11

Loewe - I agreed with flyingstar that if yrs is confirm 22 tables then is not the number le.

Flyingstar - Thanks, cos we dont have short of the cards then also got problem. Yes, insert will have more....

mayshalws

here save a bit, there save a bit. end up will be a lot liao..

my banquet package provided 70% of the confirmed table, including standard printing. but what is standard printing ??

loewe79

mayshalws, thats soo nice!
my hotel only provide the "blank" cards and matching envelopes, printed literature and decorative ribbons/gold strings will be at our own cost.

flyingstar

loewe> u confirm 18+2? hmm...maybe it's 70% of 18 or 70% of 20. but try to ask for 70% of 20. since they already shortchanged u on so many things the least they can do is to give u more cards...

mayshalws> standard printing i guess covers the printing of inserts ba. but no special requests like adding photos... i think it's gd leh...just take their offer lo.

i intend to use the glue to stick the inserts into the card. not going to use ribbon coz it will be a hassle. hahaa!

loewe79

flyingstar >I done a calculation, even based on 70% of 20 tables oso extra 5 cards only.

need to go back n count the number of guests 1st and estimate how many invites i need.

mayshalws

yeap, save some $$ and no headache. just wondering if standard printing means hot stamp on the card or another insert on the card..

flyingstar: i tot the company will glue for you ??

flyingstar

nope...usually will give u 1 stack of cards and 1 stack of inserts. as you write the inserts you will put it with the card.

even the cards are not folded de...so you gotta do everything yourself. usually spend a few hours to settle...

tts y inserts can print more ma, in case write wrongly still can change.

maybe you can check with your hotel the definition of standard printing...nowadays seldom print direct onto the card le, usually is print inserts.

mayshalws

flyingstar: thx for the info..woo..still need to do the folding part and insert..tot done nicely by printing company..haha..
i prefer print insert more cos still got back up if write wrongly..

shoppngqn

Hi, I am helping my friend to post. He is looking for couples to do pre-wedding shoots for his portfolio. Anyone is interested here? He do have some experiences taking wedding photos but not much that's why he need more portfolio for his website. If interested, pls pm me for his contact.

chili_padi11

Back from T-dragon.

Normal Printing on the inserts:-
1st 200 pcs @ S$100
Subsequent pc - S$0.20 each

Hot print
1st 100 pcs @ S$130
Subsequent pc - S$0.40 each...

For me if normal print = S$110
Hot print = $190

Is very expensive... So we just opt for normal print of insert to be done in jb. heehee :p

periperi

hey gals. ours is also t-dragon. flyingstar, thanks for d point on getting more inserts! can foresee mis-spelling names. btw, wat is hot printing huh? can enlighten me a lil?

oh. I read from another thread that for t-dragon, best is to look for connie. so, look out for her

just a note,1 of my frens printed directly on d card. she regretted it cos d card's glossy texture made it very difficult to write d guests' names.

periperi

oh. tang+co having 15% off if charge to Amex card. so, head down if need to get shoes. I just got mine d
2 pairs of d same design in different colours :p

(have a feeling that u gals hv gotten ur wedding shoes alr though... but that doesn't stop u from buying more rite .. 15% leh.. hee)

flyingstar

i think during 7th month don't give out invites. SMS ok but then don't give the actual card. even if you not pantang but the people receiving it could be pantang (esp old folks).

i still want to get wedding shoes! lol. coz the one i bought for PS already so dirty, walk on grass and got stains and can't get it off. sighs. i shall check out tang+co. thanks periperi.

loewe79

mayshalws, I think its depend on individual leh..
I will still proceed to email/ sms RSVP in aug ( which will be the 7th mth)

mayshalws

haiz..a lot of pantang..

btw..had confirmed my food tasting on 08 Sept and printing company provided by hotel is T-Dragon.
plan next month do printing den giving invitation card after 7 months.

loewe79

mayshalws, ya.. mi too.. shd be sending the emails/ sms to friends to confirm their attendence..then by end aug can print invites and send out in mid- end Sept.

oct can settle the GDL things.. i think shd be abt it le.

loewe79

ashlie, i have settle on GDL things but since GDL is in end oct, so have to buy the thing b4 that.

having same problem, dunno what to buy..so during Food tasting might discuss further on this

ashlie

mine oso will be on oct.... now the problem is... my mum ask me wat to buy... i was like !!!!!!!! Me: i have marry before leh... u ask me... *FAINT*

newae i discuss with HTB... we'll throw to the ppl of those GDL shop... ask them to settle for us ba..

loewe79

ya.. my mum oso dunno.. n his mum oso nv say anything..
the problem is the list from online , the shifu and the shop..not same leh..
so dunno which to follow too.. n many things i find it not neccessary, so might replace by ang bao.
will still have to work out a list b4 gg to the shop

flyingstar

loewe> u stick to 1 list and then work from there.

tt time food tasting so gao xiao, my bf's mom ask my mom what she want for GDL. my mom automatically say everything will tell my bf. lol. so my bf mom say ok, whatever we want just tell him and they will give.

so basically they did not discuss at all. hahaha.

anyway i made use of David's list becoz i think his is the most simple de (i think the more simple the better).

so basically got the following:

1. pin jin
2. oranges
3. pig's trotters
4. 2 pairs dragon/phoenix candles
5. wedding cakes (going to buy vouchers for this!)
6. liquor (will be substituted with ang bao)
7. peanut cake
8. 5 types of nuts
9. si dian jin

for girl side my mom will give ang bao as dowry. the rest of the GDL stuff will take 50%.

for me, i think like that ok le. what are you all having?

mayshalws

ahslie: becareful when shop at GDL shop..those ppls may chop you when see you know nothing n blur blur..

my GDL list almost same with flyingstar except roasted pig instead of pig's trotters.

my mom will give angpow for dowry. and she also will buy new pants, wallets for hubby and return some stuff of the GDL items to groom side.

loewe79

flyinstar, I guess David's list has the least thing to buy..

ya agree with Mayshalws,so better prepare the list then head to the shop

mayshalws

a lot of GDL shop commented this need to buy that need to buy but end up most is unnecessary stuff..

i'll try to cut down some stuff to save cost. example, i not buying wedding lamp and using normal angpow instead of wedding angpow

loewe79

mayshalws , is there any meaning in getting wallet?
I did heard abt the pants la but not wallet.

Im wondering if those baby tub, pail neccessary anot.. can replace by ang bao?

yingoinkoink

Morning ladies =)

mayshalws, I tot the wedding lamp is very important?

I also thinking whether should I replace the baby tubs & stuffs with ang bao..

chili_padi11

Wah. So many things for GDL? Omg! Think I m not too sure of wat to buy, my FIL says will ask the cake shop ppl to do. as simple as possible (save money) kekeke

mayshalws

heard from my mom giving wallet with money inside which hope the groom will having prosperous and luck in career path.

i'm not going to buy baby tub, pail, neddles, wooden clog and etc..
i using dowry angpow buy red umbrealla, bedsheet, nuptials bowls and pillows

mayshalws

kai ying: cos i see most couple will sell out after the wedding in S'pore bride forum. so never tot want to spend on it..
anyway what the wedding lamps symbolies ??

loewe79

ya tok abt bedsheet.. those for wedding ones soo ex.. i saw a few sets at robinson.. $300+ each!

ya most of the items are only use on that day, after that pple will sell away liao..so im oso considering if wan to buy anot..