(2010/11) November 2010 BTB

dinitegrity

Ching Ching,

Has you settled ur stuff? Gosh, if is really bad year, then needa change lo.. Hope u & ur htb is flexible, no worries, still more than enough time to plan alright though i know is a big jump from Nov next yr to pull forward to this yr if that is a must..

dj4eva

I have just booked my BS with Sattine last Friday. Actually shortlisted 3 BS; Satiago, Julias and Sattine. Feel that Sattine's service is more sinerce than the rest. Well, this is my personal option.

Our ROM will be on 26th May 09 and AD will still be on 26th Nov 2010. Abit too early to book BS rite? Well, they allow us to choose our ROM gown and Jacket without any additional charges. I feel that it's a waste of $ if wanna buy just for ROM. Furthermore, there will be a trial makeup also. =)

How's the rest doing? Found your Banquet and BS?

tianai83

I had a very big problem!!!
I have tried to sound my mom out on either to give her a lump sum or to give them table.

Then my mom wanted to take table...... But I have calculated if I give her 10 tables then it will cost us around 12K or more.... then the worst thing is ang bao she gonna keep....

SO i initially was thinking giving her 8888K as a lump sum... But she won't agree....
She is eyeing the ang bao from my relative.....

This time jia lah... How?

You all got suggestion for me? I scare she ask my husband for more.... cause she quite demanding one.... Haiz.... HELP!!!

dinitegrity

Lau Tian Ai,

I don have this kinda problem lei. I told my mom that me & my htb pays all, take all the APs also. I feel that you gif her $8888 is alot le.. You mean $8888 rite (not 8888K aka $8888000)? LOL, I believe some typo ba..

Your mom wanted take tables? Did she said how many tables she wants? How you concluded on the 10 tables? I think perhaps you give her 8 tables or so lo.. Cos I do not know how your relatives's jia jing is. But based on majority, is a sure lose kinda thing for banquet.

Perhaps you can tell her this: So let's take it this way, if you give her $8888 and she nv take the APs, she cfm get $8888. But if you give her the table den she earn APs from the tables, at the end of the day might not be as much as $8888 lo..

Personally, I feel that marriage is more on both me & my htb. Parents better don come and want this want that & add more pressure on us. I even told my mom to prepare I not giving her Ping Jing.. LOL.. Kidding la.. I will still give but wont alot la.. But my mom understand. Since I am still studying now, I only save from my Pocket Money, most of the savings come from my htb..

$8888 will alot not? Like selling daughter and not marrying them off lei (No offence).. I have a feeling that my mom is saving up now for my wedding next yr... Not that I need her money but I guess she starting to save to gif us as APs ba.. My dad will be sponsoring our air fare for Honeymoon in Europe..

dinitegrity

Jenn,

My wedding and ROM will be on the same day Nov 2010 but I have ardy bk BS and actual day VG etc ardy. So no worries, is not too early at all... My package is quite comprehensive that it comes with ROM gown, make up etc etc.. So I'll recommand you to join up for BS for a package that includes everything like ROM & AD de lo.. Den don needa spend extra for ROM ma..

Regarding the 3 BS you mentioned, I only know Santiago, I saw their works in Roadshow which I find it quite good. I do not know bout the other 2 BS so I couldnt comment. Well, mine BS is My Dream Wedding

tianai83

Dear Diane,

Ya that's right is pin jin or 8 / 10 tables. We just hit an agreement yesterday..... Hmmm for my side we are collecting rental and also saving up... Well My mom she is still saving up for my sis's wedding.

Well to her her thinking is i brought up my daughter so big should have some returns.... I oso not sure which is a better way...

My friend advice me to give her 2 table and pin jin she say this is the standard.

Last night we calculating even with 42K of savings, we might run out of budget.

Could anyone advice me how much you guys set aside for you whole wedding?

Thanks you!

dj4eva

Hi Diane,

yes, my BS also include ROM package which can save some $$ also.. Hehe... Will be going down to choose my ROM dress next Month.. =)

Hi Ai,

My HTB and I set 15k for the reception coz we want to do a very intimate dinner reception for around 100 guest. And we have factored 4k for BS. Our Love Nest will be ready in 3yrs times and we reckon we would need 40k for renovation and furniture. It all voice down to how elaborate your wedding going to be. If you have the budget, then go ahead, If not, try to work within our budget ba.

tianai83

Dear Jenn,

Thannks for sharing.... We are still trying to save up hopefullly we wont lose too much for the banquet.

Where will be your banquet? As i haven't really decide and are going to some bridal workshop soon.

dinitegrity

Lau Tian Ai,

If $42k still not enough, I strongly think u should revise your budget. I strongly think the amt mounting up your expenditure is e ping jing u gonna gif ur mom? I feel that nth such as 'brought u up so big liao blah blah blah'.. Unless you are telling me that after you marry off, you wont be financially supporting ur parents le (which in reality is not e case. U and me know jolly well that even after marry off, we will still financially support our own family. In e past why ping jing big big is bcos after the daughter is marry off, she wont earn back $ for her niang jia liao. Thus the ping jing applies here to pay off her parents' hard work for bringing her up. Which is so different from now.)

My BS is very ex $8888. (i don tink anyone can more ex unless those super star or whatever tai tai la..), to a normal person i believe should consider quite a lavish de liao. (summore needa go HK take the shoot spend another $4k on air fare, accomodation etc)
My AD VG, PG, Animation etc $3800.
5* Hotel Banquet set at 20 tables ard $18k.
Total: <$35k.

I tink u needa work out something le.. I dono isit you gt many tables or isit bcos u choose very expensive de hotel as banquet venue that is why your xps so high...

I found a good formula u try used c can a not la.

You take your banquet full xps: eg: $20k, you divide by 2 = $10k (this is on the basis that you can get back half of the banquet xps which I think shouldnt be a problem la).

Den add your BS, AD VG &amp; PG etc etc.. Den you c how much lo..

But really a word of advice, I really tink don needa gif parents so much de.. Jus a yi si yi si lo.. If my mom really dare ask from me, I will really shoot her far far away lo.. I hope u don mind me saying this, yes she brought me up, i'll repay her using my whole life.. Not a small amount $10k or $100k during ping jing is enough to repay the love she gaven me..

So... I tink it all boils down to whether you wanna please everyone (which is impossible to please EVERYONE) and push back your wedding in order to have more savings. Or to please yourself. I always tot and think that yes wedding is not just the 2 of us. But the main factor and criteria is the both of us. If parents don even know how to respect us. I feel no need to respect them with the obligations they set making us more and more uncomfy. Why we have dinner? To make them happy. If they don appreciate, den so be it.. Do they tink we enjoy goin thru the hassle of a banquet dinner (well i do admit i enjoy the planning process, lol!!)?

tianai83

Dear Diane,

Well..... ya we are changing venue to a restaurant located in RELC... As for the ping jin, we are still negotiating, but my mom understand now that she should not expect so much from us...

So hopefuilly my AD can be push to next yr 10th of Oct.

ev3

Diana > your Bridal package with MDW is really premium! I chanced upon them last wk at Expo, seems attractive but have yet to compare with other BS. How did you make your decision with MDW?

dinitegrity

Ev3,

I feel very comfortable with the wedding coordinator. She is very good.. Beside I am a very fussy and perfectionist.
She did not push me the highest package. She ask what I want 1st (Singapore or Hongkong bridal shoot?). I told her I want to go HK for shoots. Den she 1st intro me the lower pricing de $5688. But I feel that the number of photos given in e package is too little so I ask her for higher package de.. So sign the $8888 de lo..

My coordinator is YULIN.. She is good!!

Hi ladies, long time no'see'~ How are u all?

Hi Tian Ai> Thanks for your help. In the end, I have seek David Tong's help on the wedding selection date. He's good and flexible. *Thumbs up* Hehe~ My AD will be on 25 July 2010, ao now seems to be unfit in this Nov forum. LOL~ Anyway, saw ur headache too on the ping jin. Think shun qi zi ran, when the time really comes, your mum will know that the most important thing to see u marry and live happily and thus become less demanding. Cheer up!!!!

Diane> Yo Xiao Mei, when u going for ur photoshooting? I going to HK next month, maybe can help u keep a lookout of any nice scenary for photoshooting. Feeling excited now? Hehe~ Its great to see that u already have a proper budget planning for your wedding. =)

Is any brides here have any photographer/ videographer to recommend? After my april exams, I gonna chiong to see those photographers liao,so wanna do some homework first.Hehe~~

rierie

hey girls!!! i'm ching ching's friend. hahaha..
going to get married this nov!

diane - for balloting exercise, they will include both new and old flats. hdb will specify if it's new or old. like my new home, it's from a balloting exercise but totally new. that means, we even have to do the flooring. best way to find out is to call hdb and enquire when they have a new launch.

lau tian ai - for my case, i've agreed with my parents that i'm gg to give them eight tables of APs. considering that i'll be holding my banquet at marina mandarin, think that will come up to be a large sum. but think thats the norm among my friends. i've a friend who got married last year and she also gave her parents about 10 tables. in the end, they got about $5000 profit. so, i guess it depends on who you invite and how much they give as ang pao.

all - i gave ching ching a copy of my homework for AD PG and VG. and i'm gg to extend it to her friends as well. let me know if you want one.

dinitegrity

Evelyn,

Thanks for e info.. I understand more le..

Getting married this nov? Is fast, u must be very bz n excited nw.. I had like 20 more mth to go b4 wedding...

Haha~ Faint.. Evelyn has really do up the homework, so u all can ask from her~ =)

Hey Diane, i not going there for photoshooting. Just for vacation nia.. but next year when u going? dun choose march as it's foggy...

dinitegrity

Ching Ching,

So nice ar? Go holidays?? Me save save save, no extra go holidays
sad sad.. But u enjoy urself there, is a heaven of Branded!!! Woohoo!!
Aiyo March foggy? Why foggy? I suku suku really zhun zhun tink of going during March lei, cos my bday at Mar ma.. Aiyo.. Hw? Which mth most suitable?

Diane> My holiday is planned quite some time ago, so finally can't wait to go there shopping~ Hehe... But too bad heard that the sales are all winter clothes~~ =(

Ya lo, my boss just come back and he say very foggy. Somemore march to april is consider raining season, so not very advisable to go for photoshooting. I suggest u ask your coordinator when is the best time to go for photoshooting, like that you can plan in advance. But somewhere sept to nov is not bad, not so cold~ Hehe~

yuki_21

i plan to be a nov bride in 2010 ,same day as my planned ROM on 11 Nov 2009 =)Looking around at bridal and hotel/restaurant...Below are some option i have...

Bridal
- La belle
- My Bridal Room
- Di Gio

Hotel/Restaurant
- Furama riverfront (seems like alot of Nov bride is holding it here ^-^)
- M Hotel
- Amara
- Peony Jade
- Yan Palace

dinitegrity

Yuki,

Welcome!
I dono if there're many nov 2010 brides holdin at furama.. LOL..

But try to hold ur banquet in a hotel if your budget allows lo cos for me, i really don like e fact of a restaurant wedding..

aceng

Any nice bridal shop you will recommed to me and my partners?

We are new, so yup, lost in everywhere

dinitegrity

Yes!! My bridal boutique is: My Dream Wedding..
Personally and many in MDW thread is gifing it lots &amp; lotsa raves.. Go for it. Make an appointment down and view. My coordinator's name is YuLin (v gd! e most best service in mdw thread), if you need help let me know. I shall call her and make an appointment for you..

aceng

Hi Diane; Wow! My Dream Wedding, I heard many good review on them, shall really visit them soon. I got friends from other thread also recommend MDW.

yuki_21

Diane Ng (dinitegrity) : hey !! ya..reading through the thread and realise alot are holding it there. hahaha.. i don mind restaurant since food is suppose to be nicer then hotel .And i am ok as long as i feel ok there .

However i do love to have a room to spend the night over with my dear..

Well.. just got to see number of tables we need and the price lo..

yuki_21

C*** (seemegal): Whitelink is nice but is known to be ex.. unless u are ok with it. hee hee

going to bridal to see the gown on fri before signing the package. hee ^-^ looking forward..hee

aceng

C*** (seemegal): I dont know. like others say, its quite ex.
I'm actually have another thinking, like not taking up bridal package, but source on my own, cause its cheaper and also some PG that I shortlisted got such service; as in photobook but outfit on our own

*headache*

crazybebe

Hey Hey... me too me too

14.11.2010 ROM &amp; AD...

date pick but haven out souce anything yet~~!!

HAHA.. but looking very forward to the process.. LOLX

yuki_21

finally i sign up with labelle.
$3388.. still ok lah..i like the gown and the service =)
Di Gio photos are really much nicer but prefer la belle gowns.. hee

flyingstar

yuki, u managed to bargain for a lot of perks for your pkg? yours is OTR or MTM?

The other time I went BOWS I sat there for more than 30 mins and they kept psychoing me to sign pkg...in the end i left because I really cannot tolerate any further. haha.

After that i have a lot of phobia for bridal studios...so still torn in between package and ala carte.

aceng

flyingstar: I went to BOWS previously too,
and I agree its quite scary when all the bridal person came 'attack' u. Somemore I went in the afternoon which is lesser ppls

flyingstar

ace...

afternoon lesser ppl so everyone hungry for you!! haha. after seeing 3 BS photos i think all looks the same to me liao... totally have no idea what is considered good and no good.

you set your wedding date already? if want to use tong shu will need to wait till Aug...but if you just count the 8-characters only, can do now. tong shu is generic but 8-characters more specific to you and your htb.

aceng

flying star; haha. ^5. i agree e pictures wwll look more or less the same. which bridal u visited or shortlisted?

my friend has just got me an appoint with Coffee &amp; Tea, they have a pre wed package. Anyone sign up with them?

my AD has not settle leh, worried. like u said e book will only be out in Aug, think by then, alot of dates will be booked :'(

eevee

Am letting go my package deposit due to increase in my guest list.

Date: 16/01/2010 (Sat) or any avail dates in 2010
Hotel: Orchard Parade Hotel

I have paid a deposit of $2140 hence am just transferring the deposit. Package details can still be negotiated with the sales person - Cornelius (either the ballroom or the restaurant, perks, etc).

http://www.tunglok.com/chinois/wedding.html

Located in Orchard Road, the venue is ideal if you are looking at between 20-30 tables, with food served from Tung Lok.

I'm willing to give a discount for the deposit paid, which would in turn be a cash rebate for you.

please email me for details and date required if anyone is interested.
email: [email protected]

Check out photos! http://eevee.multiply.com/photos/album/2

yuki_21

hey flyingstar (flyingstar) :
The person candy is real nice. She gave me alot of things and its very open. All black and white in the invoice of all additional charges.

I did not get MTM for my gown cos la belle had really lots of collection. so feel at ease when i went down to the bridal shop and saw the gowns etc. Alteration all these is FOC.
I suggust u go down to the shop to take a look at the gown and have a feel.look at the material of the gown, whether is it clean ,the staff etc...
overall i am please with labelle. No hard push at all. i Like =)

johnnyandjoan

Like to know whether any one of u had your pre-wedding shoot taken but not from the bridal?

My hubby and I thinking of engaging the service from the PG directly, cause we like their photo and of course refer by friends

aceng

Hey guys, after much consideration, my partner and I have signed up our pre wed package with Coffee &amp; Tea Dreamworks,
really like their ideas of making it into a story...
and the location is in Bintan; just nice. can take a break from our busy schedule and preparation. hee

jj; hi, my package with C&amp;T does not have the WG too; thinking of going to Malaysia to rent it; cheaper

flyingstar

ace...

i haven't visited any other bridal studios other than the one at the BOWs...me and SO feeling lazy to look for BS now...somemore got a bit of phobia.

We are going to settle our banquet first. Then maybe look for BS end this year or early next year.

C&amp;T is just pure photography only?

flyingstar

yuki...

Good to hear your about your pleasant experience with labelle. I forgot who served me the other time, but it was 2 ladies...they kept wanting me and my SO to sign up.

it's a pity because my SO liked labelle a lot...funny lo because not many guys like to bother BS as much as the ladies... so we were quite keen to hear more about their pkgs. but now my SO change his mind already...so we gonna start afresh again.

luckily there's still time!!

aceng

flyingstar; Haha. Ya, sometimes its just so tiring to plan wedding right? Need to work (stress), look for banquet and many other things *double stress*

C&amp;T did PG + VG and animation, you can visit them if interested. My friend got us an appointment previously, and we really like what we saw.

Their animation is really good, no wonder my friend keep talking about it ever since she saw it on her friend's wedding. lolz

Then for me, I signed up their Pre wed, you should really see it, very different, and I guess its sort of love @ first sight for us ba, Esp. when I'm a drama lover. Haha