(2010/10) Oct 2010 BTB

thiasy

Pipi: It's common to have some conflicts along the way during the wedding preparation. Don't worry too much, everything will be solved eventually.

michieyun

avatar> ok, will take a look at DFS liquor

u r so lucky & fortunate... 3 sets of 4 dian jin!! alot of couples do face problems like pipi due to $$ issues + gold prices

pipi> since both sides are teochew i tot it will be much easier to prepare? i'm sorry to hear tt u face problems with the wedding preparations.

my hb is hokkien while me teochew so i find it a little complicated... dunno which is which... one thing to ask, if got si dian jin already still need pin jin?

bluemit

Remember I said my parents aren't willing to meet my in-laws for discussion on the GDL issues, till now still half hanging.

If I were to let my mum know my FSIL didn't get her 4 dian jin, she confirmed not happy

bluemit

@ Michieyun
I thot so too...but it's not as easy as I thot

Start off point is wrong, makes my parents unhappy. Now parents dun wanna make request nor to meet up

Pin Jin and Si Dian Jin 2 issues wor..

thiasy

michieyun: Since you are teochew, u can ask for si dian jin. Si dian jin and pinjin is separate one. Even the no of tables to give to bride family are separate issue.

michieyun

pipi> wow!! these 2 issues abit tricky to handle wor coz they involve $$... hmm, both side have to compromise when discussing on these matters... if one party refuse to back down then abit hard to negotiate further... so any plans in mind to tackle these problems?

teochew are quite persistent on the si dian jin issue... coz it all boils down to "face"... all parents want the best for their children esp those marrying off their precious daughter... perhaps asking for 4 dian jing & lesser amt for pin jin will solve ur problem?

thiasy

Pipi: If FIL/MIL not willing to buy, how abt asking HTB to fork out $$ to buy first so as not to make your parents unhappy? Maybe like this will make both side parents cool down.. just a suggestion.

michieyun

avatar> already asked for the si dian jin & bought them juz 2 weeks ago

the banquet will be fully paid by us so no issues on no of tables given... as for pin jin dunno how to ask for it leh, as in how much to ask for... the value is decided by whom?

bluemit

@ Michieyun
All the 'face' issue lor, HTB also dun understand. Tell him relatives will ask de, he replied me y must we reveal how much is the 'pin jin' to others >.<

FFIL told HTB how much pin jin they gave for the elder DIL, my parents got a shock coz of 'face' lor.

@ Avatar
If HTB already not happy le, not possible for him to fork out the $ to buy coz he finds tt my parents are asking for too much. I tried to explain to him, but he dun seem to understand

michieyun

pipi> i agree with avatar's suggestion... or perhaps both u &amp; htb share the burden of forking out the $$? although it may be hard on u &amp; htb, it's impt to settle the problem quickly &amp; get on with the wedding preparation... not much time left

reikoling

Pipi> Me too.. As I will be holding another wedding at Malaysia. My HTB asked why still need tables for Singapore wedding. Explain to him about the Pin Jin. His not really happy too.

michieyun

pipi> since ur in-laws are also teochew, how come they dun understand ur family's concern? i mean, to see if the teochew daughter marries off well relatives tend to look at the gold she dons on her wedding day.. as for pin jin, ppl will ask basically is to compare... to see how much the groom's family values the bride's family's effort in bringing up their daughter (i think ttz the meaning behind pin jin, do correct me if i'm wrong)

like my mum, she insists on the gold coz she knows tt her siblings will sure wanna see &amp; compare

bluemit

@ Michieyun
Good qns, my mum too ask me the same qns. Problem is they dun hv daughter, gave birth to 2 sons so can say no experience in this. My mum nv insist to have gold, she say FMIL will get for me can le.

For me, I'm flexi...FMIL buy me gold I'll wear kua, buy me white gold I'll wear tea dress. So now I've yet to confirm with BS on this

thiasy

michieyun: Where did u buy your SDJ? what is the current gold value now? mine was bought at Poh Heng last yr June when the gold price was $47 per gram.

Will u be wearing it on AD? Is it compulsory to wear it during tea ceremony? hmm.. don't intend to wear it cos scared might lost it due to too many outfit changes.

blueystar

u all r making me feeling guilty cos i thought my mum was demanding but I m quite surprised w the fact u all kinda of followed the tradition... my MILs r boh chup so i feel my mum is demanding in wanting too many things n i was unhappy abt it ... we r financing the hse n wedding so just wan everything easy can liao... wat matters is the couple is happy cos i feel all the traditions r just for show lor.... but in the end, my mum being a cantonese just wan 2 angbaos, one for the diaper n another for the wat 5 seafood, 2 wines n roasted pig... phew... I dun even care abt the jewellery to be frank... pple will always find something to talk la imo

bluemit

I juz had a talk with my mum, she's thinking to call up FMIL and discuss abt the GDL stuffs. Really happy to hear tt...coz I intend to draw up the list and pass to FIL. My mum say dad too petty, dun wanna let both daddies involve

@ Blueystar
Dun be guilty. I thot tt my parents were asking for too much but come to think of it, they bring us up de..

shoppngqn

Hi, I am helping my friend to post. He is looking for couples to do pre-wedding shoots for his portfolio. Anyone is interested here? He do have some experiences taking wedding photos but not much that's why he need more portfolio for his website. If interested, pls pm me for his contact.

michieyun

pipi> glad to hear that things are starting progress liao

avatar> i bought my SDJ at heng heng... there's one in AMK &amp; another at bedok... went to both but prefer the sales person @ AMK although i stay in the east... lolz.. bought the gold at $60.50

have to wear them when returning to bride's home for tea ceremony... i will be wearing them... my mum mentioned smtg like this is the time where all ur relatives will focus on... the SDL... dunno if it's compulsory but it's part of the jia zhuang... if u r afraid of losing them, rem to appoint one of ur JMs (the most trusted one) to be solely in charge of your valueables

bluey> dun be guilty... u r right... wat matters most is for the couple to be happy
me too, i'm in the same situation as u... my hb &amp; i are the ones paying for the hse + wedding (honeymoon has to be sacrificed)... but we feel that wedding is once in a lifetime... it's meaningful to follow traditions although a little troublesome + costly... wat to do? for the experience, we wld rather fork out the $$ now than to regret for nt doing certain procedures in future

missybrooklynn

i juz settled my wedding cakes for GDL.. now looking at my guest lists....
for frds that are hardly in touch, i will have to put them in the B lists cos im having prob with the no of tables.. i really dun wanna exceed 48, or best 46!!

blueystar

Pipi: glad to hear tt things r working out... Parents will afterall think for ur happiness even though they may not have their ways... frankly speaking, one party has to give in lah cos things won't work as long as both parties insisted on their ways...

Michieyun: yah i agreed, meanwhile i am just glad tt the stuff for my GDL is settled n my date for GDL is 12 Sept... 1 mth slightly more b4 my AD...

Missy: u took sweetest moments? As for the tables, dun worry,,, i m sure u can do it !!! lolx...

I feel I m so lagging behind now... just got news tt my wedding co-ordinator for the hotel has tendered... sianz x2... I still haven't selected 1 more EG, haven't confirmed my invites theme n WGs, flowers, shoes, printing of cards, GDL cakes &amp; guestlist &amp; etc.....
Collecting my hse keys coming Monday... stress level x 2 liao.... plus heavy workload... i think i nd to b like paul the octopus... have more hands

thiasy

Blueystar> No need to feel guilty lah. Actually parents just want the best for their kids, so just follow some traditions to make them happy. hehe.. Me and HTB also paid everything ourselves except for pin jin &amp; si dian jin which will be given by FIL/MIL. HTB paid for the full banquet and other GDL stuff. I also help out by paying for wedding reception, bed, dowry, bridal package etc....The only lucky thing is our new flat will only come nxt yr.. have a few mths rest on our pocket.

Pipi> Sounds great!! at least there are some development for your wedding now. Gd luck!!!!

Michie> Heng Heng jewellery quite nice. Went to AMK branch before. Regret not buying from there.. cos Poh Heng charge too expensive workmanship.. Not v worth it although design is nice. My tea ceremony is done in the hotel, so was thinking dun dare to bring along too much valuables just in case i lost it at the hotel... maybe need to relook into how i plan my logistics.

ds_gerl

avatar> hv juz asked further regarding the timing with david… he says the serve tea to groom’s parents hv to be by 1059… relatives late nvm… initially I thot is hv to complete the whole tea ceremony at groom’s side by 1059…

missy> I was also reading princesspanda’s blog… she inspired me a few things which I’m contemplating to do…

I also dun really follow our dialect traditions… my parents say no need cos our grandparents r not ard ardy… so save the hassle… his side only left grandmother… but they r fine with it…
But FMIL insists to buy some jewellery for my GDL and during tea ceremony… we hv also juz bot the table lamp at AMK jubilee today… $42 for a pair… thot it was quite ex for the design we bot cos rem we saw elsewhere selling cheaper but afraid that there will be no more stk at that place, so juz buy lah… we initially saw a nicer one quite some time back but did not buy cos thot the date is still far away… got time to look for better ones… but when we want to go back buy, no more stk liao and the staff also dunno when the new stk will be in

all the rest of the wedding preps r all work in progress… some here some there… do bit by bit lor…
guest lists also done half half… will start off with frens first… cos is the easiest… perhaps can get them to RSVP thru FB b4 sending them invites? I believe those close frens will def attend ur wedding… and like that u wun waste ur cards also…

hv done some homework on wine… chk out carrefour’s consignment as well… for every carton u paid, u can rtn 3 bottles… any amt of wine also can…
I think the wine mansion price still quite reasonable… min. purchase of 24btls and they will consign another 24btls…

bluey> yah, my workload has also increased... not only need to work late in ofc but also need to work from hm over the wkends...
I also haven’t decide on GDL cakes… hotel informed that they will be changing new themes… so can only select our themes in aug or sep… as well as favours… my jie mei dresses not yet settle…

I wanted to write down a check list but dunno hw or where to start also… :S

missybrooklynn

Bluey>> yup, im taking sweetestmoments.
same here, my workload oso increasing
and i feel im getting fatter, STRESS....

DS>> my mum oso said no need to follow tradition too closely.
i will go look at carrefour consignment on this sat. sighhh...

i juz worked out on my guest list... eliminated all not-so-closed frds liao.. and have also PM via fb to get my frds to save the date and rsvp. i told them to get back by end of jul due to "limited seats" and we are trying to post the invite b4 lunar 7th mth.

next is my parent's guest list, montage.... i need to draft up a checklist too!!

blueystar

I wonder if we get from wine mansion together, they can give us higher % of consignment? As in lesser pch of wine higher no. Of consignment wine?

bluemit

@ Blueystar &amp; Avatar
Ya...situation seems to be picking up. Hope that my mum will be calling up FMIL to discuss

Me still yet to draft out the guest list. It'll be easy to draft out the seatings for friends &amp; colleagues, but nv easy for relatives

deborahng

bluey> congrats .. haha its shiok to open the door to your new house. ID all settled?? starting reno once u get key??

pipi> dun worry too much.Im sure things will get settled.

missy> i also getting fatter...

deborahng

thiasy> i got my SDJ from Poh Heng. but got a friend to help me get staff price.
the rest of the jewellery, i went to customize. so end up i got 3 sets from FMIL. I shld be wearing 1 set during morning ceremony but haven cfm.. Usually tea ceremony, FMIL will give jewellery and wear for u??

thiasy

DS gerl: hehe.. it's gd to clarify the timing with david tong.. the other time i also blur as to how to keep within the timing of 9 to 11am.

bluey: hehe... so are u going to buy pineapple and roll in your new hse? hehe.. congrats!!!! Huat ah!!!!

deb: hehe... Not too sure whether MIL will still give me jewellery for tea ceremony lah.. but i know my mother will. hehehe... From what i heard, SDJ and jewellery for tea ceremony are separate one. hehehe...

michieyun

bluey> glad to hear tt u have settled ur GDL stuff... 1 down, more to come... jiayou in ur preparation

avatar> last year i had checked out Poh Heng's SDJ and enquired on the set that I had taken a liking... tt time the gold px is like $46/gm kind and the set of gold costs almost $9K... heart dropped! then while looking for gold wedding bands we chanced upon heng heng @ amk.. designs are comparable to poh heng but workmanship charged are so much cheaper... we got our wedding bands there last yr... so this time we went back there to look see look see... in the end we bought our SDJ there too
my mum also bought me a bangle for the tea ceremony

tea ceremony @ the hotel... hmm, have to consider the security if wanna bring all ur gold there... assign 2 helpers to take charge of them instead of one? rem to keep all valuables in the safe deposit box at all times unless u wanna use them

deb> it depends whether or not FMIL will give jewellery during tea ceremony... sometimes some FMIL may jus give angbows... i dunno wat my MIL will give during the tea ceremony but my mum has gotten me gold bangle and a ring for my hb for the tea ceremony

michieyun

DS/ missy> i did a wedding event invitation on fb earlier... although most friends had rsvp, some responded "maybe" &amp; ttz how the guest list gets stucked again
dunno whether to include them in the seat arrangement planning *sigh*

deborahng

thiasy> ohh haha i think i bought everything together
haha my mum getting us a pair of matching rings for tea ceremony and i haven chosen my jewellery on my mum's side

missybrooklynn

Bluey>> idea!! Maybe we can ask wine mansion for better rates if we get from them together. Wat do the rest think? If ok, we can do so over the weekend, say sat afternoon?

Mich>> mine is so far ok. Only 1 or 2 that are tentative or partners might not come. Wat we can do now is gather as much as poss then rework on the tables on nearer date when they are more firmed. I think on the day of event, there will still be changes...

thiasy

deb: how abt u change ur PS date to weekday if you really wish to take photos at Chimjes? less crowded too. hehe...

xinyue

avatar82 > If you have an oily face, it is not recommended for you to use lose powder. Compact powder or the 2 way cake is recommended. Get those from MAC, works well for oily face.

thiasy

deb: hmm... icic... too bad sch holidays over liao. if wait till Sept 1 week term break, too late also. maybe find another place for PS?

Berlinda: Compact power? hehehe... will go and find out more from Mac. hehe... Thanks for the recommendation.

blueystar

Avatar: lolx.... yah i saw some1 hung 1 pineapple outside the hse tt time n i told my HTB I wana hang 2 pineapples hahhaa... cos dbl wang... huat arh.... heez... at the same time can buy n eat the sarawak pineapples... dunno y eat other types of pineapples my tongue will itch... but really nd to roll the pineapples ah? lolx... i dnno abt such things lei...

Missy: this weekend i can't but i can tell u an estimate of btls i nd... we can consolidate since so many of us either 10 or 23 oct (though i m 20 oct)... our remainings can sell to Deb... lolx... (think she will faint)

Deb: yah but i think my bf is damn excited ... the crazy fella suggested staying there overnight (w no lights).... he thinks he is camping lor.... he can sleep w the dust for all he wants... contractor tentatively confirmed but let's pray for no changes ...

Michieyun: I meant settled as in finalised the GDL stuff... FILs said they will get those things but i dunno r they settling the cakes anot.... .

ds_gerl

deb> anna nucci all yr round also having sales leh... hehee~

missy, bluey> i cant make it on this sat too...
perhaps can call or write in to ask if that is feasible b4 we go down? else later wasted trip...

thiasy

Blueystar: haha...i only know need to buy pineapples.. but don't know is it roll or hang there?? hmm... hang finish liao still can eat ah? hahaha.. thought have to put for many days till it rot. hehe...

Deb/ DS_ gerl: Yup yup.. anna nucci forever on sale one. I bought one pair from there too.. I bought the one where i can tie the ribbon in different ways. anna nucci design not too bad.

ds_gerl

avatar> deb has bot the same pair and i hv 1 also

i bot that pair for function use... cant figure out hw to tie the ribbon and hence only wear with normal ankle strap

thiasy

DS_gerl: oh really...all of us bought the same pair? hehehe... such a coincidence! hehe... i also havent figure out how to tie. i intend to use it for church wedding only.. it doesnt match my evening gown and tea dress.