(2010/09) Sept Brides

tayy0003

think it's okie to send out invitiation cards during 7th month bah.. I did that and mostly cleared..better than hurrying them out during wedding month..a bit rush...

wanted a beetle cabriolet as wedding car...in the end kena from my dad...=( wanna bao ang baos for my jiemeis also kena from my mum...sigh... it's like that I guess...but since small issue sometimes think we can just step back and listen to elderly.

Just done my AD schedule, bought SDJ and final draft of guests' list..

A month more everyone!!! =D

eeyorex

melody: I did not ask my frens for emcees.. I engaged external for $288 for 2 emcees... dun intend to give them extra angbao.. cos already in the package le...

as for xiongdi and jiemeis, maybe give $20 each... see how also...

karen: y cannot use bettle carbriolet as wedding car? if you and your hubby likes, y not... as for ang bao for my jiemei, I got additional give them also.. shld be less than a month.. lol

icyhot

Thanks huisi for the info! I'm getting my friends to be emcee .. not sure of the norm so better to check out first.. Any idea on the norm range?

gixmoz

i have 2 guys as my emcees leh.. shd b alright hor... no special rule to say mus have 1 guy and 1 gal right... hahha...

haf nt come in for awhile.. hows e prep coming along??

i'm still left with e following:
guestlist & table arrangement/meeting e florist for hotel arrangement/GDL items all settled except pillows.. hope to complete them soon..

for emcees we r having guy/gal arrangement..
Huishan, it is alrite to haf 2 guys as emcees..no strict rule.. its ur preferences

chilliinketchup

A colleague has eagerly volunteered to be my emcee, even without me asking, in June.

But her condition is that the other emcee must be someone she knows.
kao_dizzy.gif

Just manage to shortlist the other last week. Tmr shall ask him abt it.

I think two female emcees are fine too. I have seen that before. Whatever the combi, they should ideally be able to click.

eeyorex

morning all..

melody: not sure abt the AP for emcee, maybe $28-68? I depends on individual ba...

huishan: yeah.. I think its ok to find 2 guys as emcee... as long they can click, shldnt be a prob..

jolene: my guestlist and table arrangement also haven finalise... keep changing and changing... my AD schedule plan halfway den stuck there liao...

collected my local bs album and potrait... quite pleased with the final result.. coming sun going to do our video montage.. and to send our bridal shots to my pg for the bridal montage...

I am starting to DIY my guestbook and signage board at the reception table.. :p

chilli: one of my frens also volunteered to be my emcee... but I cant find another candidate.. so end up out-sourcing...

huisi, think table arrangement aft RSVP then do ba.. actualli tat one keep changing..its e hardest of all..
show us some sneak preview sweetie..
btw i saw e pic u taken at Capella Hotel, wat room did u book & rate?

eeyorex

jolene: ya table arrangement is the most headache de... will try to take some pics of the album and post a few sneak preview :p
for Capella Hotel, I booked the room facing the garden view... paid $280++ per night... but actual internet rate is $588++... hubby got the corporate rate, thats y we go book.. cos its quite a gd deal...

smallbee

Hey BTBs! I am new to this thread but my AD is less than 20 days away!! Ha ha need to ask u all, do u think we can just alter the table arrangement on our own? Cos hotel emailed me 34+2 but I only need 28+2.. (my hotel coord on leave leh, need other opinions on this).. Thanks for helping!

gixmoz

wanna ask u all.. how did you slot in your buffet for both bride and groom's side?

the buffet for the groom's side is after the tea ceremony? the couple need to eat at the groom's house or the bride's house? how abt the bride's house buffet? do the relatives eat b4 the couple reach or after? u have any idea?

i intended to have the buffet arrive after tea ceremony at groom's house. then bride's buffet will arrive before we reach. but wonder if it will b too late for my relatives to eat...

vershawn

Hi ladies, its end AUG!!!!...some of us have just 1-2 weeks to go, while ppl like me got 1 month!!!! gosh, time is really running out...

here's my update: almost all settled except GDL items, angpows for others, guestlist & seating arrangment. what about u ladies?

huishan: the buffet for my HTB's side will be after tea ceremony. we might not have enough time to eat there, so it's mainly for guests. Bride's side will start after tea ceremony but will arrive before we reach too. I'm aiming to reach back bride's place at 11am, so it won't be too late for relatives to eat and we get to eat too...=)

gixmoz

sher.. icic... cos my plan is to go for photoshoot after hubby's side tea ceremony then back to my house for tea ceremony. by the time im back its already 1230pm le (tentative).. do u have photoshoot also ? wonder if i shd put photoshoot at end of my side's tea ceremony so relatives can have their lunch..

i still have quite a bit of things to do.. my photo montage still hanging in mid air.. dunno wat to do abt the music leh... that compass thingy abit tricky..

eeyorex

huishan: for me, I plan both buffet to be at our hse b4 we go back.. for hubby's side, we ask the caterer to start setting up at 9.30am.. collection time is 4pm... den, for my side, I ask for the delivery time to be 10am... collection is 2pm...

I am planning the time for photoshoot also... initially I wanted to have photoshoot before reaching hubby's side, but dunno got time or not.. if have photoshoot b4 reaching my place, den I cannot wear my WG... haha..

sher: mine is 90% completed.. left with guest list, seating arrangement and some misc things.. now headache on when to re-paint my hubby's room... we need to go back msia to pray ancestors also.. also need to find time... my own room also haven pack... seems like many things haven do also.. haha...

tayy0003

huishan: think buffet for both sides should be early like 9plus 10 if not the relatives will be so hungry while waiting leh..=)

now thinking of it a bit nervous..just had my trial AD make-up..GDL stuff settled. Guest list + arrangement settled. only pyjamas and collection of hard liquor and wedding pens left.

Which songs are you all using for the march-ins?? =)

eeyorex

karen: me too... start to get nervous liao... so scared we cannot stick to our plan...

1st march in song will most likely use From This Moment On.. 2nd march in and food parade songs haven decide yet...still thinking whether to buy the original CDs or use the hotel de...

xinyue

huishan > my hubby decided to play the photo slide show and music separately. For the music, we need to come up with the original disc. As our restuarant has the license for playing original music, the COMPASS thingy is solved for us.

However, am worried that there might be a problem getting the photo and music to synchronise.

Any idea? How long should the slideshow be?

My 1st march in song is From The Moment, provided by restaurant. Hmm, seems like I am so lagging behind. Yet to settle GDL and An Chuang stuffs..
Not yet write the invitation cards too.. >.<

eeyorex

xinyue: GDL and AC stuffs very fast de.. just go to those wedding shops can le.. can settle in 1/2 a day.. dont worry...

gixmoz

xinyue>> isit.. u mean once the restaurant/hotel has the licence and we have original music cd, we can use the music for the photos montage? haha.. i tink slideshow keep it short bah..5min max? cos sometimes i will get bored watching too many photos..

vitamincc18

For pyjamas, how many sets should we buy? Is it for bride only or groom as well eh?

Do bride also have to get new set of clothes?

Appreciate your advise. Thanks

gixmoz

vitamincc>> i bought 2 sets for both of us. eh new set of clothes, i dunno leh.. but better get new set of lingerie to wear..

tayy0003

Yah, i was told new set for myself and hubby..+ new undies and blah blah..everything must be new! =) the aunty says must everything must have a start and an ending..so i was especially told not to get those sexy sexy lingerie or nightwear.. must but buy those long sleeves and long pants type..so aunty..=S

But if wear those cotton ones with the big tweety bird kind sure very ugly when taking morning photos as advised by my jie meis..

eeyorex

vitamincc: I heard that if you got hair combing, den need to buy new PJ... for me, I dun have hair combing, but my mum still buy a set of PJ for me.. I guess all depends on parents whether need to buy or not..

I also heard that brides need to get a few sets of new clothes and lingerie to bring over to groom's side/new hse to symbolise new life...

this I not sure also.. but I dun mind though.. got the excuse to shop for new clothes :p

gixmoz

karen.. i bought those silky ones.. those shops selling GDL stuff most likely would sell those pj.. haha long sleeve and long pants got meaning one leh.. but i forgot wat liaoz... most likely wear once and i wun wear le...

this reminds me, i haven buy the couple slippers yet...

xinyue

Hello All..

Just saw this in another thread ;

My list of Jia zhuang
1) pillow/bolster
2) blanket (I replaced with quilt cover)
3) new bedsheet/pillow cases
4) sewing machine
5) bridal chest (replaced with luggage) - to put new cloth, undies, etc
6) baby bath tub/ face basin
7) potty
8) mug
9) toothbrush/toothpaste
10) 1 pair New bowl/spoon/chopstick
11) 1 pair of chopstick (to open mouth for baby in the future)
12) zi sun ruler (as we dun have the comb hair ceremony, this will be brought over on Guo Da Li)
13) 1 pair of oil lamp (battery operated)
14) 2 pair of slippers (bride/groom)
15) 1 new set of pyjamas (for the wedding night)
16) 1 new teapot (for tea ceremony at FH house, must put lotus, longnan, red dates, etc)
17) 1 set of sewing kit in a box (to symbolise the bride can only do needlework, no HARD LABOUR work)
18) makeup set (I bought new lipstick, and powders)(to symbolise the bride can put on make up everyday, so no need to do hard work)
19) some barang barang for an chuang purpose
20) my kwa and shoes
21) ring pillow which i made (a piece of needlework the bride do)
22) 1 pair of new towels

asked my mom about it, she said this is traditional jia zhuang.

xinyue

huisi > am skipping item 4, 9, 20 and 21.

btw, has any of your JMs asked about the amount of the ang bao for gatecrashing?

smallbee

Wow so many posts in 2 days! Yup it's nearing!! Ok table arrangements abt 80% done, but do u gals think it's ok to place 2 Chinese with 8 Malay guests or I shld spread them out around?Really not sure if it's ok for the guests cos they all dun know each other..

Hotel said I can do a 11-12 pax table arrangement thingy if II have more than 10 guests from same sch/ company who want to sit together.. So will they charge me for table of 10 or 12? Haha..

Meanwhile buffet for groom side will start eating at 10.30am, bride side eat at 11.00am.. Cos the jmxd n us will eat at groom side, while bride side is more for relatives n maybe those who really hungry after the photoshoot in between..

Wishing everyone speedy soon soon li li in ur preps!

eeyorex

xinyue: no request from my jiemeis... hubby and me already prepared the angbao liao.. even if my jiemei request, also no choice =X

coden: ur jia zhuang really simple.. so good...

smallbee: I have quite a few tables of 11 also.. Hotel will charge table of 10.. but better check with them also...

xinyue

small bee > Thanks for the well wishes. I would suggest to place the chinese to another table, i.e. have a table with 12?

I believe, the guests are her to share your joyous moment and won't mind sitting with strangers?

huisi > Ok.. do you have 2 separate ang bao for them? as in, one for the gatecrashing and another from you as a token of appreciation?

icager

Hi everyone..

smallbee : i also have few tables of 11-12 pax.
Not sure how to go about arranging those tables.
For my hotel, the co-ordinator told me if i confirm 11-12 ppl they will charge us accordingly. But if last min someones doesnt turn up the seats will hv extra.

eeyorex

xinyue: yup.. I have separate angbaos for my jiemeis out of my own pockets.. gatecrash is by hubby's.. :p

icager: hows ur preparations going on? u are the 1st among us... less than 2 weeks to go... feeling nervous already? hehe

icager

Huisi : Alls going on well. Gonna finalise number of tables and special dietary with the hotel on 2nd Sept.
Yeap, im the first...feeling nervous,excited and tired toO..haha.

Hows yr preps gg on?

eeyorex

xinyue: haha.. no problemin gatecrashing in here.. u are still welcome =)

icager: gd gd.. can prepare to be a pretty bride liao...

I still have guest list,table arrangement and some logistics stuff..
and I realize that I shouldnt put the cocktail time as 6.30pm.. shld put later.. cos most pple wont come so early...

hmm usually what time should we ask PG/VG to come during dinner ar? is 7pm too late?

icager

Yeah...But seating arrangements is a big headache. Hope can finalise asap.

For mine, cocktail starts @ 7pm. My PG/VG comes at 7pm, dont think it'll be too late i guess.
In the morning, they will come 30mins after the MUA.

vola

Hi Guys been MIA a while... sigh~ btw i have a Big time headache on the table arrangement...
My MIL have 10 tables for her friend &amp; family, problem is that when we asked the name for the guest as needed to organize the table plan. But she say never mind on that day her friend come wanted to sit where let them be @.@ OMG……
I really wanted to faint off… I really dont how to handle. ARhhh…

tayy0003

huisi: think PG should be here the moment your MUA is here to take those precious shots..hehe..mine's coming @ 4.30pm...

Vola: maybe u can ask your hubby tok to her nicely..such as telling her that on the AD itself..every one's attendance will be taken, if the friends one not taken will they be offended..and so on and so forth..try la..

*but i didn't tok so nicely to my dad la.. i sort of like 'Pa, write down your friends' names here..if not lose lots of $$' hehee..*

eeyorex

my cocktail starts 6.30pm... now thinking back, shld have put 7pm instead... but dun think guests will come early right.. haha...

vola: maybe u can tell ur MIL that urs is not free seating.. if everyone sit anywhere they like, den will be very messy that day... yup.. can ask ur hubby to tell her instead...

karen: I din talk nicely to my mum also.. haha..