(2010/07) July 2010 BTB

Ellen> Thanks for the update. I will write it down somewhere in case I missed it again!!!!!

Oh no. chronic sinus problem. Please take care of yourself k and hope you will feel fine

You took the jab liao ah. Heard there can be side effect. Hope you don't get any dear. My mum asked me to take but don't feel like having too many immunity jabs in my body.....

so sad.. no win toto lols

Ellen.. r u accountant?? heard from pple normally is accountant who knows how to count haha u & me the same, we had a joint account & every mth once pay day come, I will quickly transfer the money over from our savings accounts to the joint account. den all wedding expenses pay from there..

wow.. u started with ur strawberry feast already.. so good.. think tmr I will go buy some too.. hehe

oh ya, u beta take care, the weather these few days are bad. just like today, rain with sunshine.. mummy was telling me, whoever outside now & caught the rain, sure fall sick one.. so do rem to take lots of water, rest well too

maoushroom.. ya, I'm asking u whether u would like to go down to take a look @ bridal closet gowns. if u ok, we can arrange a time.. but I think I can onli go down in late Dec or Jan cos recently quite busy.. haizz..

wedding exp -> I think is becos we understand that wedding is 2 person affairs & if we would to just leave it to hubby, it would a huge burden on him so we are willing to shoulder this burden with him. hehe..

Mrs Chua> Should not have problem with late Dec or Jan. Think we still have time with bridesmaid dresses...Can still look look see see....and update each other of any potential shops!!!!!

Year end Sales!!!!

Yes..the weather is very terrible lately...chilly and hot...very easy to fall sick. Must take care!!!

Mrs Chua> Go and buy your strawberry!!!!!!!! Must start early coz natural food won't have immediate effect (it is long term effect) compared to those chemical processed stuff!

Hiya, gosh, so angry.. I already finished typing my post then my computer had the dreaded blue screen and restarted.. Argh.. Now I have to type all over again.. =| Anywayz, so many posts! I almost lost myself in those posts haha.. So I'll try typing my post based on topics yea? Hehe..

Skincare >> I did some research today (boss on leave =P) and spoke to my colleagues and a close friend about it. My colleague (a mother of one) told me she tried it before.. First time she drank, after 2 boxes (20 bottles, 20 days), the effect was really good.. Skin looks healthy and radiant.. But then it's very costly and she stopped after awhile.. And slowly, the effect weared off.. So if we wana maintain the radiance, will need to be prepared to pay for a long period.. My close friend told me that, at our age, we shouldn't take collagen yet.. Because our skin now, can still be maintained using external products.. Collagen should start taking around 30 yrs old because as you take the collagen, the effect on you reduces.. So by the time we are 30 (and external products dun really help that much), then we take collagen for max effect.. That's what she told me lor so she discouraged me from taking collagen now.. Dunno leh, any thoughts on this? I got some Laneige skincare products though, heard it's very good.. I just used the strawberry yoghurt peeling mask when I was bathing earlier and it is very, very good.. It exfoliates ur skin and after using I really feel like my skin damn clean.. Haha.. Must follow my regime strictly from now on, hoping my 'ling shi bao fo jiao' technique works for my PS.. =P BTW, another colleauge was telling me for meiji collagen, they have this christmas pack, 3 for the price of 2.. So if any of you interested, can check out Guardian..

Bridesmaid dresses >> Ztyle really sounds good.. $28 and the JMs get to keep the dress for future use.. Hmm.. However, I also wana go look @ Bridal Closet though, I'm planning to rent a kua there.. But prob head down only in Mar-Apr ba.. If any of you head down before that, don't mind sharing how the JM dresses there are? Thanks! =) Oh, I'm a size UK12, does Ztyle have my size? I can fit into an L dress from Little Match Girl.. I'm asking cos I need to get a white dress.. Going to be jie mei in January.. Hehe..

Credit Cards >> Yea I think Dividend dun give rebates for hotel banquets.. I remember the Citibank guy emphasizing that to us when we signed up for the card.. Actually, credit cards are useful for rebates and sometimes discounts, just that when we spend, we must make sure we have the ability to so we won't be burdened by bills. Eg: After signing for something, my HTB and I always withdraw the money and put it aside so when the bill comes we have the cash to pay.. My fren who got a new place recently told me to sign up for a OCBC Robinsons card.. She bought her mattress la, and alot of household stuff there and she gets 5% rebates.. Best is get during 20% storewide sale, then on top of tt u get ur 5%-10% rebates (depending on how much u spend).. That's like a 25-30% discount already.. Hehe.. I think DBS Taka card works the same way too.. Getting rebates from purchases @ Taka..

Amore >> Before I went for my Taiwan PS in July, I did 4-5 times a week one month before.. =P Was like going to die after first few lessons cos v long nv exercise but later became ok le.. But now that Blurbtb mentioned abt knee problem, I abit scared liaoz.. Maybe shld reduce the number of times hor? I like yoga and pilates alot.. Really feel like I was 'stretched'.. Hehe..

Wedding Expense >> Me and HTB set aside certain amt from our pay each month to save in our joint account then our expenses all pay from there.. I think GDL stuff will also be from there.. Except Si Dian Jin which shld come from MIL.. Yea it's true, wedding so expensive now, we can't expect the guy to pay them all (unless he is super duper rich or just strike lottery).. Else, since it's our joyous occassion, we should share the 'not-too-joyous ($$$)' part too.. =P

Gatecrashing >> I have only 2 no-no when it comes to gatecrashing.. No wearing of underwear, especially if the JMs decide to write a letter of my name on each piece and ask them to piece together while wearing.. I tink abit weird leh, my name on underwear and the underwear on other guys.. Lolx.. I think maybe it's me but then my FIL and MIL quite conservative one.. I think they will flip if they see the video during the dinner.. Lolx.. another no-no is funky food.. Lemon juice and bitter tea is fine but dun mix lemon juice and bitter tea and wasabi together.. I dowan my HTB to be running to the toilet the whole day lor.. Lolx.. Otherwise I'm fine. I think it's good fun, so the guy knows not easy to marry me la.. Hehe.. Btw, do we discuss with JMs regarding the gatecrash angpow? I assume the angpow is they split amongst themselves one.. And that would be their JM angpow oredi? Pls correct me if I'm wrong.. =)

Blurbtb >> Crystal apple is like this crystal ornament in an apple shape (like some Jap drama before that had this apple thing) then they laser ur picture onto the apple.. Hmm not sure exactly how to describe.. Lolx.. Will take a pic when I get it next yr! Hehe.. I dun think Qian Xi will allow us to do that.. I think it's cos of the fee they need to pay for visa/mastercard transaction.. Last time when I was working in MAS I did this research before about this interchange fee.. Cos Visa/Master will charge banks for using their 'brand' then banks in turn will charge retailers (I think it's 3%) whenever their customers charge to the card.. Something to that effect.. I cun really remember le, but I think that's their concern lorz.. VG/PG.. My PG is $1680 - $500 deposit, $500 on AD and the rest when we collect our stuff. VG is $1200 - $500 deposit, $500 on AD and the rest wen we get our video.. I think diff PG/VG have diff deposit rates de.. But I think.. 30% would be a safe number?

Hi gals... I am lost le... even though I just replied earlier today.

To shed more light on z style first, here is the blog that inspired me to go look for the shop.

I have bought 4 pieces at $28 each le... Black, purple, black+shocking pink, light pink.

Will be back for more next year as need a white jie mei dress for my friend next year. I understand from the sales person tat they bring in new stocks every week.

These two posts show the BTB's "shou huo" from the shop:

http://christineandvitor.blogspot.com/2009/10/bridesmaid-adventure-ii.html

http://christineandvitor.blogspot.com/2009/04/i-want-to-become-bridesmaid-too.html

Dione not sure about UK size though but for normal Isetan Sugar Link dresses, I am a size XL lor... but i fit into Z style's M size.

They have size starting from XS to M. Ooi, so Dione, I think if I can fit, you sure can... I am NOT thin lor.. haha... my PS PG calls me Ms Armstrong.

CityLink Mall's outlet is near to the end point, New Urban Male that side while Far East Plaza is 3rd or 4th floor, near Chaos there i think.

Too long the post... I better zonked after my medicine and continue posting again tmw...

wah... i just posted earlier tonite... now got so many replies liao haha

thanks maoushroom
my arm still a bit numbed after the jab... but still can tahan... haha... i never took flu jab before (i think we should build our own immunity) but my company subsidizing the jab... free one so take lor LOL

Mrs Chua, me not accountant... i'm engineer... also deal with a lot of numbers hahaha

btw hor i like anything strawberries... fruit, milk shake, ice cream, cake, biscuits... i'm even using the Laneige strawberry yoghurt peeling pack LOL.

Dione, sad to say... i'm reaching the age to take collagen already... sigh i supposed you gals are young huh hahaha~ btw, who's your Pilates instructor?

erm the Jap drama with crystal apple is Love Generation haha...

Last time when i was JM, besides the gate-crashing ang pao, the mother also gave us a small ang pao with a token sum (like 10 bucks or so), can't remember liao... and seems like everyone is doing it differently, dunno what is the "standard".

Dreamer, my fren is having her ROM at the same place soon~
Seems like Changi Village Hotel is quite popular for ROM~

Blur_btb... the halter top dress is very nice le~ and... your PG very bad lor... give you this kind of nickname....

Blur btb> Yes, money will come in other ways~~

Surf youtube and u will be able to find interesting games for the XD. That's where we find our 'ling gan' when brainstorming with other JM. LOL.

Why ur PG say u like that~ Not good lo... Bad of him~

Ellen> No need to regret, meritus is a nice place to hold wedding~ =)

I also not beri good in swimming wor... but I think still can do the aqua aerobic since the instructor is there to teach and monitor our safety. Hehe~

Yes, I agree!! UOB and DBS has the most wedding privileges. Other than wedding, shopping privileges also alot which is good for us when we need to buy wedding shoes, bedsheet, etc. Hei hei hei..shopping~~~

Parents' expectation are depend on us de... If we can do it, we'll do it for them. If cannot, hmm... still have to try to do it for them. LOL..

Ya hor, strawberries's price almost the same as Tense Up if taken every alternate days. Never think of that.

U take H1N1 jab at private clinic? Painful or not? Scare of needles... You must take care ah...keep ur area clean..think the doc got give u medication right?? must take on time wor~

maoushroom> I will let u know after trying on the results for Tense up. Can't wait~ Hehe~

Mrs Chua> Dun feel sad, maybe we will be the next few lucky winners!! LOL.. Nowadays most ladies think of that way to share the burden. So guys now are so blissful with us being so understanding. haha~

Dione> Actually when we reach 25, we must start to maintain. Early stage of maintaining is better. Our body will produce collagen, but as we grow older, it will produce lesser and lesser. Intake of collagen, the results is faster than skin care products as the liquid will go thru our blood stream. It's like taking vitamins. So far never hear of side effect. My frenz now is planning to use anti-aging products lo. She say must maintain her look now, if not too late. I hear liao almost want to faint.

Sometime little match girl has promotion of $19 storewide, but no trying. Maybe u can keep a lookout and ask ur jiemei to buy from there. Their dresses very good quality and comfortable. =)

The gatecrash angpao will be their jiemei angpao, so need to give another to them.

Blur BTB> I also looking this blog~ Did u saw the lunar bar that they are taking the PS?? It's very nice!!! So tempted to go there and take. But the hourly charge not cheap too.. Haiz~~

Hey ladies...how is your holiday????

Dione> You are right about not taking collagen too early. I heard about this before. Last time, I had this colleague who shared with me. His mum runs a beauty salon. He said cannot start to put serum, take collagen all of those products that would firm your skin, protect your skin,etc...at too early age. Coz if you start young with all these products, you would need something stronger when you are older but...there might not be such products available.

But he said around 28 years old onwards, can start to use serum, collagen,etc...but use very MILD ones first.....

ChingChing> You are right that we must start to maintain but must use mild ones....

But gals...I dun noe about your MIL or mummies...I look at my mum (she uses water, no facial product and use night moisturizer) but at the age of 63/64, she is aging very gracefully (no joke) and she never had any pimple,etc....Think I have more crowfeet that my mummie lohz (put me to shame)
This really makes me wonder if we need all these supplements?

Perhaps we must make sure we consume adequate water/veggie/fruits/sleep. With this general rule of thumb, we can rule the world, with okie genes too

But can we....???

Oh and one more thing...my colleague told me this before. Facial products sold at Watson/Guardian(the cheaper ones compared to those at shopping centre), are charged at very low price not because they are no good...It's just that companies don't spend so much on marketing, therefore consumers don't have to absorb soooo much cost. He told me, SKII, was once product placed at those chain stores, not departmental store....
I'm not sure about you gals, I always thought those facial products, expensive, means better...until my colleague enlightened me.

Next, I did more research on what are the natural products that could help us to produce more collagen. Haha...besides the expensive product, strawberry.

-toufu
-soy protein items
-food with Vitamin C (broccoli, red or green peppers, oranges and Brussel sprouts)...I'm sure there are many more items with Vitamin C.....

ChingChing> Must update me about the progress wor...So exciting!!!!! Imagine the refreshed and tight skin that you will feel

Leneige mask seems like a hot product ah??? Dione and Ellen using them...

Ladies> What kind of facial product do you all use???

I've been using Clarins for 6years..Recently, use their Whiteplus range for facial product and the exfoliate..I must say, thumbs up!!!! Feel my skin can breathe man!!!! Can try.

Blur> I went to the websites. I thought the bride looks very familiar...Then realize she is my friend. You know her?????
I must say the cheongsam look alike dress is quite nice. And most of the dresses seem quite nice lehz for $28. Good buy!!!!!!

Blur> You are sick ah????? Hope you are feeling better too!!!!!!!!
Ellen> You are sooo fortunate, your company got subsidize flu vaccination.

And I seriously think the angbao dun really have market rate one coz ultimately, everyone's financial situation is very different.....

Ellen> Think I'm younger than you, 25? But doesn't matter coz we will make sure everyone looks good
That is the most important thing.
And there are people who don't look their age too.

Anyway, gals, don't know if it is a taboo...but what age range is everyone???? (Don't want to say also can coz "gal's age is always a secret") Shhhhssssssssssssssss................
Just want to know what is the marriage age nowadays...none of my close friends is getting married at all...everyone is like enjoying their single life .....

I visited Ztyle today.. Some of the dresses are really pretty.. Can be JM dress.. But sadly, their M size (which is their biggest) cannot contain my butt.. Sighz, so I need to look elsewhere for my dress as a jiemei, but for my JM, I hope their $28 storewide still exists next yr when I wana get dresses!

maoushroom >> I'm nv used to bother abt skincare, then just recently I bought the Bioessence Tanaka White series.. But I think they are not suitable for my skin cause after using, my face started to get breakouts.. So I am now using Laneige.. No breakouts so far and skin is quite hydrated, but I haven used long enough to know if it's really good.. But their strawberry yoghurt peeling gel is *thumbs up*.. U rub and rub and u can see the white stuff turn a little dirty white, aft tt the skin feels v soft and new.. Clarins range expensive ma?

chingching >> Oh, so the gatecrash angpow is the jiemei's and on top of that aft the event there is another angpow for them? In that case, do we need to discuss the amount for the gatecrash angpow? Like do we need to tell them the max they can ask for? Else after they ask for like $888 or something.. Lolx..

I'm 26, turning 27 next yr.. =)

Dione> Think I'm going to Ztyle over the weekend to check out the place. I vaguely have memories of that shop when I walked passed citylink. Not bad....the $28 deal is on till next year.....

Langeige is quit ex right?? Anyway, what is the peeling gel for? Is it like mask or exfoliate??
I never compare facial products lehz. I also dun noe if Clarins is ex lehz. Dione..give you example, the whiteplus facial product that I am using is 60bucks (150ml).

Dione> the angpow for gatecrash is for the jiemeis and other angbaos they recieve depends if your HTB and yoru side wanna give them when they go to the house...
Think can discuss first for the amount lah.Imagine, impromptu, on that day, they say 888bucks, your hubby never bring how???

hi ladies.. hope u girls enjoyed the holiday

hubby & me thought we could have simply relax cum rotting day at home.. but who knows his uncle & aunties were here for mj session so we had to entertain them etc etc.. no rest at all..

This morning, I went to Faceshop to see their masks products. anyone tried their products b4? I'm thinking of trying their mask but wondering which is good.. they got those 10 different types of masks pack for $39.90. As not sure which one is good & duno if it good, dare not buy.. I dun wan to buy liao den in the end no use, waste money again..

Langeige strawberry yoghurt peeling mask good ah? how much is it? btw, may I check with u girls, which kind of mask is good? sheet mask or those wash off mask? the salesgirl recommend their collagen mask. it comes with ampoule. she say is their best seller etc etc.. but duno how true..

oh ya, hubby oso ask me jus now, how do we know which mask is suitable for us? I oso duno how to ans him cos I'm not into facial stuff.. hehe anyone can enlightened me on that?

wow.. Dione.. u already went to z-style.. dun think I have the time to go down have a look these few weeks.. maybe have to wait till after x'mas ba..

gatecrash ang pow -> ya, I oso heard that gate crashing ang pow will be split between JMs den we separately will give them another ang pow.. think we have to tell them the max for the gate crashing, if nt our pocket will be burning a big hole from the JMs. lols..

hubby's uncles was oso asking us if we have a mei po for our wedding.. din know got such thing.. anyone know? Why do we need one mei po for? according to the uncle, he say during the tea ceremony, mei po will say all the good words etc etc.. but wondering do we need.. anyone have?

btw, I'm 27 this yr.. next yr 28...

maoushroom >> Think everyone go friday night fever.. Left us at home to chat.. Hehe..

Laneige is quite ex in SG, but I'm getting to try first batch.. If it's good I'll join sprees to buy from Korea instead... It's like 40% cheaper than SG.. The peeling mask is for exfoliating.. They got this waterplus pack which is like leaveon mask for the night (for lazy pple like me haha).. Ooo.. The peeling mask is $40+ for 150ml.. But the hydrogel is abt $50+ for 50ml.. Depends on product..

Ooo.. Okok, Yea lor, I abit worried they bust the budget.. Actually, the gatecrash is like for good fun right, not really for them to 'earn' in a sense hor? I got see stories in forums abt JMs that go crazy asking for gatecrash angpow cos they trying to 'earn'.. If I buy dress for them + gatecrash angpow I might not give them another one liaoz.. Shld be ok hor?

Mrs Chua >> I tried their masks before.. I din think it was like good, just ok nia.. Maybe u can try spree-ing for 'My Beauty Diary' masks.. I heard they are pretty good (which is why I bought alot from Taiwan hehe)

The Laneige peel off mask is $45 I think for 150ml.. Each time us oni squeeze abit.. 2-3 times a week so can last pretty long.. U can see the reviews on cozycot..

http://www.cozycot.com/beauty/product/skincare/scrub-/-exfoliant/laneige/strawberry-yogurt-peeling-gel

Hmm I'm not too sure which kinda masks are good, I'm using this Laneige water sleeping plus pack.. I think nearer AD I'll use both but on alternate days..

ooo.. hmm.. I think I remember something abt mei po also but can't really remember.. Anyone else knows if we need one? And how do we go abt 'engaging' one?

Dione.. heard from the uncle is that can use own family member but I duno why he say ask that auntie lo etc etc.. maybe that auntie did b4? I'm nt so sure la.. got to check with my MIL.

I think I have to go get some facial products liao.. PS in Mar so got to start early, cannot be lazy person liao.. what is water sleeping pack?

Hi gals, how's your holiday? I ended up at home studying b4 going for dinner zZZzz... Also signed my AD package today finally~ One more thing confirmed~ but sorry la Mrs Chua n maoushroom i won't be going down to the Bridal Closet anymore liao hahaha

Ching Ching, no need to be scared... for the jab, it wasn't painful, just that my arm was a bit sore after that. According to my boss, the needle is a very fine one so shouldn't be painful (i didn't have the courage to look when the nurse gave me the jab! hahaha)

oh btw, added you on FB liao....

maoushroom, Clarin is confirmed more ex than Laneige~ I used Laneige cos it's cheap and good haha... the strawberry peel is about 40 bucks i rem... this peeling gel is something like a "soft" exfoliator which removes dead skins and dirt from your face... it smells good too haha

i dun stick to a particular brand... will mix and match according to the need of my skin. expensive doesn't mean it's good and vice versa. your friend is right, SK-II used to be at watson's counters during my JC/uni days... haha

Same thing for my mom, she didn't have any skin care when she was young, but for our moms things were different. when they were young, the air/environment wasn't that polluted, there were less chemicals around e.g. processed food etc, so their skin were better maintained and this effect extended when they are old. For us it's different... from the moment we were born, our living environment is already different from our moms... so... cannot compare...

Hiyah i dun mind disclosing my age... i'm 29, turning 30 next year... i suspect i'm the oldest here LOL

Hmm, maybe I also go ask my mum and mil see if they know abt it then share here.. =)

The water sleeping pack is this leave on mask.. U put 15-20mins before u slp then u just go and slp, no need wash off (for lazy pple like me.. Hehe)

Ellen >> Do you use makeup from Laneige? I'm tempted to try out their makeup.. My current foundation is finishing and I need to replenish.. Or any other good recommendations from others?

Oh yea, not sure if ur BSs provide ampoules for your make up but mine doesnt.. My friend referred me to this website to order.. 10 bottles @ $14 and up only.. I was 'chopped carrot' in taiwan and paid $150 for 10 bottles.. Sigh.. Anywayz, here's the site for the ampoules if anyone of u are interested..

http://www.zennbeaute.com/ZB_skincare.html

wah, as i was typing the previous post, got 4 more new posts came out?? o_O

Mrs Chua, as to which type of mask to use, it depends on your skin type. For example, for my case my face is oily but dehydrated, and easily trapped dirt. i alternate between hydrating mask and purifying mask, and i use the peeling gel + another deep cleansing mask to clean my face.

I also use the water sleeping pack from Laneige... it's good~ wah but now 50+ liao? price increase liao le... last time i bought only 42 o_O

Dione, i use make-up maybe less than 5 times in a year, so can't advise you hahaha... my make-up set is Shu Uemura one.

many pple say the "cream" type of mask is better than those sheet ones. cos the cream one you can apply it thoroughly to all corners of your face + neck, but sheet cannot... but of course, there are many good sheet masks too

"My beauty diary" is very highly recommended... but i personally never try before :P Dione you quickly try and tell us le... if good i may wanna get some when i go home in CNY ;)

My AD BS is charging ampoules @ $25 (just one fix charge)

Ellen.. is ok, there is nothing to be sorry abt.. btw, which BS u sign with?

Dione.. sleeping pack mean, I can sleep with mask on? won't it drop off when I'm sleeping? I'm the type who will flip & turn when sleeping hehe..

my BS dun provide but it stated in the package that have to pay $20 for it. hmm.. think for the AD, we onli need 2 ampoules, 1 for the morning, 1 for the night.. PS need 1? do hubby oso need ampoules?

Ellen >> The sleeping pack is $45 now I think.. The hydrogel is $50+.. I heard spree from Korea much cheaper.. U know of any?

Ooo.. My current one is MAC.. But I very gian use new things one, haha, so thinking of changing of got anything else more raved.. =)

Hehe, yea, starting Dec I am going to use liaoz.. Hehe.. Then I tell u all.. =)

Mrs Chua >> Nope, the mask is not the sheet kinda mask, it's those u apply on one.. So wun drop off.. They ask u to apply 15-20 mins before u sleep so they got time to absorb.. If u imm sleep aft applying, think will end up on ur pillow..

Oh, then u might wana try spree-ing for it since 10 bottles is around $21.. My BS also one ampoule SGD$15.. PS will need.. But not sure how many.. I think the Taiwan BS crazy, used 10 bottles in 2 days.. =P My HTB had to use also.. But for SG and JB ones, not too sure tho..

I found a my beauty diary spree.. =)
Else if ur fren going to Taiwan can buy from there..

http://community.livejournal.com/spreehouse/3770155.html

Good Morning!!! I'm up sooo early coz I need to work till evening today!!!

Wah, you gals slept sooo late yesterday. Very bad for your skin lehz....Haha...Must exercise self-discipline.

Ellen> I always thought Laneige is very expensive coz the marketing is quite aggressive. I shall go and check out the product range.

Mrs Chua> My friends got use Faceshop stuff. So far review not bad, especially the sunscreen. Haha. You might want to consider to buy their sunscreen
?

I heard about the matchmaker too. Can use own relative one. Don't need to hire other people. Think own people, easier to coordinate. About what their purpose is....I also not too sure....Gotta go and check out with my parents.

Dione> The ampoule is very cheap lehz...Is the quality the same as those we are getting from the bridal studio???? I wonder if we don't buy the ampoule from the studio, could we still get the MUA to help us to apply the ampoule that we bought by ourselves???

Ladies> Think my studio charge bit the most of an ampoule lehz, besides Dione one. Haha...Mine is $30 per bottle!!!!!!

Dione> You seem like a happening babe....lehz. In terms of make up product, I dun have much to recommend too (like Ellen, I hardly ever use make up)...but I use Shu Uemura too. Okie lehz...
MAC not bad too lehz.....
I go and ask my friends what kind of cosmetic can be more raved...haha. Update you again

maoushroom >> Oh no, you need to work today? Lolx, I was playing facebook games last night.. So addicted to FB theses days.. *tsktsk* I was thinking of setting up a FB group for us.. Hee.. Then we can upload pics to share and stuff.. Wat do u girls think?

Yea lor, I'm not sure if it's the same quality though.. But I think shouldn't differ too far? But I cannot make up my mind to use which one leh, no clue abt all these.. Anyone of u experienced with ampoules? For my BS, they say can bring our own, or buy from them.. Mayb u check with ur BS?

Oki thanks! No la, not happening, need alot of 'construction work' to cover up flaws ma.. =P I dun really make up all the time also.. I am quite lazy one.. =P I heard Benefit's is quite good.. Clarin's concealer is quite good.. Hehe.. Thanks for helping to ask! No rush k.. =)

Hey Dione> I would support you to create a fb group since most of us are quite active. I was thinking of that last night before I go to sleep!!!

I will go and ask my bs and see if it is okie.

Dione> Did you go and learn how to put make up? I am very bad at putting make up. My friends can't even tell that I put make up lohz......and worst....my partner can look at my face and say "no difference"...HaHaHaHa.

Dione.. ohh.. some pple was telling me too, that those u need to apply one much better as can ensure the whole face has the mask on. unlike those sheet one, sometimes some part of the face dun get the nutrient.. think I realli have to start investing on some facial soon, I oso dun apply make up on not enough a dinner.. haha.. super plain lazy.. but my friends say my complexion very good as I dun anyhow apply make up, unlike those once u started, u got to maintain it well

ampoule -> I went in to the see the webby liao but how we know which one suit us? wondering if MUA will apply for us ma if we are using our own one.. most probably will get 10, shld be enough for me & hubby use for PS & AD ba..

but 10 bottles for 2 days.. that is alot.. I thought 1 bottle per make up will do? I estimated if hubby & me need 1 bottle each for PS, that will be 2. then, 2 bottles for me on AD, 1 bottle for hubby AD night (assume day he no need to use since no make up for him). total only need to use 5... 10 is more than enough already??

my friend going Taiwan in Feb. think it might be abit too late liao.. hmm.. that time who say she is going Taiwan for PS in Jan huh? maybe can help me buy? hehe...

maoushroom.. today u need to work ah? u working in retail line?

ur BS charging for $30 ampoule.. that is exp.. think u can go check out the webby Dione recommend. think is more worth it, like I say.. if we onli need 5 bottle, I would have to pay $100 to BS but if I would to buy it from the webby, 10 for $21. I realli save alot...

FB group -> I dun mind.. thanks Dione.. do add me once it is set up

Mrs Chua> I have the same questions as you when I go to see the website for ampoules...I also thought one bottle for one make up can liao...so many bottles for wat???

Unless we go and split up to buy. Dun noe which one is good...very scared, choose wrong one, my skin spoil.....

ANy reviews on the ampoule ah????

I'm not working in retail. Far from retail.HaHa..
Got School Open House today, so need to work...
Still working now...HaHa...

Ellen> How is Meritus Mandarin. you taking Mandarin Court? I might not hold my wedding at Shang and change to Meritus Mandarin. But they might not have the date that I want.

maoushroom.. sch open house? u working as a teacher?

ampoule -> think we can share & try 1st b4 deciding which one to use for our wedding? *I presume normal days we oso can use?*

wow.. u oso taking meritus mandarin too? if u same day as Ellen.. the 2 of u can meet up.. so nice.. but thta is provided they have more than 1 ballroom..

Mrs Chua, about the mei po thing... i vaguely remember for my sis' wedding, there was someone who will say the necessary good things during tea ceremony (maybe got some standard format/script, i'm not sure). it can be anyone but engaging close relatives or frens is probably better and save a bit more on the $$ ang pao? haha... Oh i signed up with New Image Collection at IMM for my AD package, the gowns there are very pretty le

Dione, i was thinking of FB group before but till date i have no photos or wad to share yet, so thought we can do later LOL :D haha let's set up a group then~

maoushroom, no need to go make-up course one haha.. just observe how other pple do it and practice... sometimes magazines also give you some tips, that's how my sis does it haha... which subject you teaching? i have a lot of teachers friends too...

As for Meritus Mandarin, Mandarin Court is very pretty and i like the place. Their service is good so far and their package is quite comprehensive. But for this room you need min. 15 tables. I remember you have less than 15, rite? btw why not Shang anymore? what happened?

Mrs Chua, maoushroom's AD different from mine so we can consider the same ballroom haha
their grand ballroom is way too big for us liao.

Anyway, gals, may i check - actually what is ampoule for? Till now i still dun quite get it hahaha

Ellen.. I'm oso not so sure what is the use of ampoule but everytime see MUA put make up, sure will put. maybe becos we will put the make up for long hr, so it beta to put it to give our face some nutrient? or is it to give our face more radiant shine?

different AD ah.. den in that case shld nt have a prob of considering the same ballroom. guess now is the date whether being taken by some other couple etc etc..

mei po -> so far, those wedding I attended for relatives, no such thing. but nt sure if my mummy & MIL wan.. this have to check with them..

New Image Collection.. I heard abt it too.. review of their gowns are good.. so u taken their full wedding package? how much??

Mrs Chua, no mei po also good ma... one less ang pao to give hahaha :P back in my sis wedding, she is not called mei po... some other name but i dunno how to describe the cantonese term here! haha

I took up my AD package with New Image, no photography... Or it's more like i tell them what i need, then get them to quote me a price. Hee probably not so good to say the price here la haha... i can tell you some other time... What i can say is it's very reasonable and their service is good

btw got one link in this forum on "My Beauty Diary" spree wor:

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/1151/1277159.html?1259402735#POST4032491

Mrs Chua & Ellen> I'm teaching History and Social Studies. I'm very much a Humanities teacher. I knocked off at almost 8pm today. Haha....

I'm not sure what the ampoule is really for lehz...The studio person told me to protect skin from the make up because some ppl have sensitive skin...so I guess is to protect the skin???

Ellen> You have good memory..I want a cosy wedding dinner so really want to invite only close ppl to the wedding..so tables won't be alot....but my partner say 15 tables shoulnd't be a problem.

I wanted Shang and discussed with the coordinator. But she is very strict, not very flexible. And the worst thing is...my partner and I want buffet, so we want the buffet layout to be presentable and nice (Marriott Hotel does it). We suggested that, and the coordinator said, "Sorry we don't do it. You can bring your own prop if you want."...That statement really upset me and made my partner very disturbed...
How could a high end hotel say no to customer.....(though I'm sure they have their own reasons...btu sound super off)..And her tone throughout the conversation was not super friendly...

We have not totally foregone Shang...if Meritus don't have a suitable date..then go back Shang.

Worst of all, I was looking at the buffet menu from Meritus.....Almost similar items (food selection)...Meritus is like super value for money...Shang and Meritus is almost $50bucks different per head!!!!!!! Alamak....

Me and my partner going down next Monday to see what are the dates....Coz they told my partner no more 3rd July but 4th July...so if we really love Meritus...will not reject holding wedding over 2 days.....

Will update you gals again..really want to settle this banquet thingy once and for all!!!!! Haha....

Ellen> Can't wait to see your gowns...sound gona something very beautiful *winks*

Hey maoushroom, over in the Meritus Mandarin thread, got one bride that just had her AD at Mandarin Court and she had buffet. You can check her comments there... She was apparently very satisfied.

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/6/1258215.html?1256005511

look for "pekochan81"

btw, who's your coordinator? and you mean Meritus is not available on 3 Jul? actually the dates no need to go down and see one... they can inform you through phone. But if you're looking at Mandarin Court, better go and see in person cos not everyone likes the layout there.

if you need more ideas for venues, let me know... i can say i've done enough research for small wedding venues hahaha

maoushroom.. wow.. a humanities teacher ah.. esp in History.. omg, my worst subject in school.. totally cannot make it lols

omg.. Shang so inflexible with their banquet.. even if they have reason for not able to meet ur needs, they shld have explain to you nicely & nt asking u to bring it if u wan.. if the coordinator really wan ur sales, they shld be flexible in their business, try to meet customers' needs. but if they really nt sincere in ur sales, think Meritus would be a better choice for u

oh ya.. having ur wedding splitting into 2 days ah.. in that case, I think u would also have to check with ur BS whether they are allow u to rent the gowns for 2 days.. I read someone in this forum b4 that some BS dun allow & they do charge some fee.. oh ya, dun forget abt ur PG & VG too.. I rem that time when I check with C&T, they do tell me additional charge for splitting AD into 2 days.. so I would advice u to check with BS, PG & VG to see if any additional charge b4 confirming with Meritus for considering 4 July for banquet...

maybe if 3 July dinner is not available, how abt their lunch banquet? now alot of pple goes for lunch too, heard it cheaper.. but that is provided time permits. like for my case, I can only leave my house after 9am, so it would be too rushing for us unless we decide to hold tea ceremony @ hotel itself..

ya, I agree that banquet is a very headache thing. is best to settle it asap... like me, last 2 weeks was still having headache over banquet, but after going down for a discussion, we felt more relax.. now haven sign & pay the deposit but we felt relax.. most probably going down mid of next mth to pay cos recently realli too busy to go down.. so I would hope u settle it asap

Ok, I'll set up the FB group soon.. Even if no photos yet can also share some information there.. Then we won't need to search high and low for previous posts.. Hee..

maoushroom >> No leh, I nv go and learn.. My makeup routine very simple one.. Only concealer >> foundation >> blusher and abit of gloss.. I recently just learnt how to properly put eyeliner only.. =| Which room u looking at to hold ur banquet @ Shang? I used to work there for a few yrs part time during my poly and uni days.. Hehe.. U spoke to Melanie? Veron? Jennifer? Those are the event managers I was familiar with when I was there.. Dunno they still ard anot.. But the one u talked to sounds quite rude.. And one of them I know is like tt.. Haha.. Dunno is it her anotz. =P

Mrs Chua >> I emailed the seller and asked her to make recommendations for ampoules that are good for PS.. She said for makeup base, she recommends the collagen ampoules.. She said the France (Pro Q) and the USA (Beauty Cottage) has alot of positive reviews.. My friend who recommended me this website bought the France one for her Taiwan PS cos she has sensetive skin and the France one is less concentrated. She went over to Taiwan and told her BS that her sis sells cosmetic products so she can get at whole sale price.. And the BS was ok with her using her own ampoules.. Maybe can try this 'cheating' method to let BS allow u to use ur own.. =P I dunno why my Taiwan PS use so many sia.. They also used on my shoulders and back too.. But still, I dun even know if it was necssary.. My JB BS say they will only use 1 for bride and not groom, so 2 days I actually only need 2 bottles.. I'm planning to get the ampoules soon.. Want to share? We can split half, 5 bottles each...

The ampoule is supposed to act as a makeup base so ur makeup lasts longer.. At the same time, it's supposed to instantly make ur skin look better.. Like Hydration Ampoule supp to let ur skin looks moisturized.. Something like that i think.. Not sure how good these instant effects can be lolx..

I heard the red wine mask is very good.. I got 3 red wine, 1 black pearl, 1 cherry blossom and 1 aloe when I was in Taiwan.. Opening Ceremony will be 1st Dec..

Hi babes,

I've created the group in FB but I realise I dun have anyone of you in my FB so cannot invite into the group...

The group name is - SG July 2010 BTBs..

I've added my own wedding as an event.. When u girls join, you can also add ur wedding into the events section =)

Ellen> My partner called Meritus. They dun have 3 July lehz. Cannot do tentative booking too, only do that for interested parties. Haha...So I will go down 2mr. The Mandarin Court fits what we want, different configuration and the stairs are unique!!!! Go and see 2mr first....hope all things go well
I hope I don't go for other places liao. Like I said,if Meritus cannot fit the bill, then go back to Shang lohz... Keep looking ah, also very hard. Coz no definite date, then cannot procced with PG VG too. Hope I don't have to trouble you Ellen. Thanks! Keep my fingers crossed

Mrs Chua> Yea lah..I think Shang abit stringent lehz...But their wedding favours and cards are nice lah...But thought the way the coordinator spoke was really off....(still disturbed by it) Haha....

And yea...thanks for raising up those issues about splitting wedding over 2 days..That is why, 2mr I go down, see if there are other days so that I can hold everything together within one day. That is the best!!!!!

Mrs Chua> The spree, count me out first....

Dione> I spoke to Jennifer..Is is her ah???I read Shang thread. Everyone like has full of praises for Melanie.....Hmm....

Eh, I will go and check my BS, if the MUA can help to put ampoule for me or if outside ampoule can be used first...I'm interested in ordering. Update you again.

And I"ve joined the FB group liao but think need some authorization lehz....

Dione> Thanks for helping to put up the group

Dione.. thanks for creating the SG Jul 2010 BTBs FB grp.. I had joined
We shall put in whatever webby link, pictures, info, pictures etc which we have in there so is easier to search when we need, realli a great idea

I dun mind sharing the ampoule. so which one are u looking for? Since the seller & ur friend recommend France (Pro Q), think we shall go with it.. hmm.. I'm thinking of taking the Collagen ampoule. what abt U?

those mask u referring to are from the same webby (ampoule) or from the my beauty diary?

oh ya.. Ellen.. u wanted to share the ampoule too right? Dione & me are getting.. u wan to share with us?

Dione.. how many bottles u getting? I'm thinking if PS need 1, AD need 1 den that means we onli need to buy 2?

maoushroom.. which spree I ask u to join huh? I can't rem which one le... lols

ok.. since u & Ellen are interested in the ampoule too... maybe we can all order together? Anyone in a rush to get it? I'm nt, cos my PS in Mar'10, so I'm ok to get it later... can wait for u girls to share it together so dun need to get 1 whole box den onli use 2-3 lols

maoushroom > if they said 3 Jul is not available, you need to ask them whether someone has done tentative booking, or someone has already confirmed the place (confirmed means paid deposit).

If another couple has tentatively booked the place (haven't put deposit yet), you can let your coordinator know you wanna confirm the place. They will first check with the other couple if they still want the room. If they still want, they have to place deposit and you will lose the chance. But if they are not interested, you can go ahead to place deposit for the place... This is actually what happened to me, the previous couple gave up the place, then only we could book.

So you mean if you like MM, you are willing to change your wedding date?

Haha if you need help just let me know... i did research liao... if the info is not used it will be a waste rite haha... not troublesome at all

btw, my BS told me upfront that if i bring my own fake lashes or ampoules, a $5 service fee will be charged for applying them. Not sure if all BS like that. Maybe you can "cham siong" with the MUA hahaha....

I'm not in a hurry for the ampoules... I know i need for my AD haha... I remember my PS already included ampoules... hmmmm let me check.

Hi babes, no problem.. Just some clicks of the mouse and keyboard.. I wasn't sure if I should leave it open so I put as private first.. Shld I set it to open to public?

maoushroom >> Ooo.. Jennifer.. That kinda surprises me.. She's very nice when i was there leh.. U know her last name? Cos when I was there got 2 Jennifers, the other Jennifer was in the meetings and conference team, she might have transfered over to weddings.. Hmm.. Melanie is 'old bird' @ Shang oredi.. Hehe.. She handles events very well cos she very particular abt service one.. I was working in the banquet department as admin ma.. So I always see her one.. She is very strict when it comes to the execution of events and makes sure the banquet person in charge does exactly what she promised the couple..

I dun mind the French one too.. Yea I'm taking the collagen one since she recommended it.. We'll wait for maoushroom and see if she wants to order too.. =)

Anyone of u needs to get ur own wedding favours like me?