(2010/07) July 2010 BTB

vilopup

Hi gals, gg for photoshoot today. Will come back and reply to the rest of the msg.

The best thing is tat the weather forecast for desaru says rain in the afternoon today, tmw thru to tues.... sigh... if rain then siao liao... no time to go in le

ellentg

Ching Ching > like that huh... no wonder you need to research so much haha

Blur_btb > enjoy your PS~! hope the weather will be pleasant~

gg_paradise

Blur_btb.. hope the weather is kind to u today
enjoy ur ps... do share share with us the pics *wink*

Ching Ching.. to me, I dun think we need professional emcee ba.. as we can see, the emcee speech for wedding is pretty quite standard so if we got the speech ready, our emcee would to follow it, it should be still ok ba
but of cos if ur hubby is paying for it & u onli doing the research, den jus continue with ur research ba hehe

since I got the info, I jus wan to share share with u all ba.. we are all here to share share right?? so dun mention la

Thanks Thomas.. I will be going down to the shop tmr with hubby.. we planning to go down take a look @ what are the items that we need den come back discuss with both parents b4 going down to buy.. as my FIL in hosp now, it had been quite tiring for MIL recently so most prob will ask my parents to accompany us down when we decided to buy..

el2sgbrides

mrs chua> ya lor.. the show so timely for us~ haha~

i tink ur restaurant no give speech script n event schedule coz they tot already giving u free experienced emcee so that night's event will be taken care of liao lor... but its better u ask how it will be like so dat u no wad to do also juz in case the staff forgot to remind u (like when to change clothes). plus point for experienced emcee is they will no wad good words n blessing words to say even w/o script... "flow out from them like river?".

ching> my ps sux.. raining cannot go out... so we pay extra for another day outdoor. sad sia~

last time i saw a group of people promoting their mc service... they can sing with live band too. i only have their email: [email protected] hope this helps.

blur btb> how was ur ps? good weather dat day?

gg_paradise

ladies.. yesterday we went to KK Marriage Shop which Thomas recommended.. realli must thanks Thomas for that recommendation. Jenny was realli a very nice & helping lady. even though we told her we nt getting anything today, we jus wan to find out more on what are the things needed for our dialect den let our parents know what are the items that they dun need or need b4 we buy.. she say that is a good idea cos dun spend on unnecessary $$$ to get those items that in the end no use..
she even lend us her list (in chinese as we wan to show our parents) to photocopy.. if anyone of u wanted a copy, do let me know I can send to u *wink*

oh ya, Jenny did mentioned to us that she can even lend us her basket even though she dun provide rental but we jus need to give her a red packet in return
(hmm.. nt sure if she offer such thing for all couples, but since she share share with us this good offer, hubby say is a great deal cos if we would to buy the basket, afterwhich duno where to keep it den will be a waste of money.. )

EL.. hubby & me had decided nt to use the restaurant emcee as we find that getting our friends as emcee will be more personalized
ya, I oso think those complimentary emcee provided by the restaurant/banquet will be more pro, they dun need any script, they know what to say at what time etc.. seen that hubby's sis wedding.. she uses her restaurant emcee.. the emcee is good but we felt as they do not know the couples personally as nt able to relate things abt us to our guests...

dun worry abt having to have another day of PS.. sometimes I find that is good to have another day cos by the time we leave for outdoor, we were so tired & our smiles become fake.. even the PG oso say my smiles become fake by the time we reach outdoor.. so I told hubby, that is the pros & cons of having PS in 1 day & split ba.. so dun worry so much, I'm sure ur photos will be nice *wink*

all: latest update from my VG who attended the COMPASS meeting (I shun bian asked him for u gals cos I collected my video from him), most if not all the PGs/VGs will increase their rates cos COMPASS wants them to pay btw 2000-4000 each for use of their songs. My VG told me he had no choice but to increase his rates by 300 now...even 300 may not be enough to cover the fee he has to pay COMPASS. Has to shoot abt 20 couples for that year just to break even.

btw to those july btbs who are in my FB, my AD pics are up le

vilopup

Am back from Desaru on Friday. The weather was miraculously wonderful... v hot in fact!

We went to a few different locations there for pic... quite shiong walking over the rocks in heels.

Got a lot of mozzie and sandfly bites as well. They hide under my gown and bite till they happy while i was trying to look v happy in the pic... tsk tsk

Went on Sat with MIL to get my Si Dian Jin... whopping expensive, the current gold price. For 916 is now S%57.50 per gram. Before CNY is only S$56... sianz... i can feel my MIL de heartache.

Mrs Chua, we got back very late on Friday, so will look for your shoe when we go for pic selection this wkend.

We got into a minor car accident though. On the way back, BS car hit a local SUV. The bonnet was crushed but lucky nobody hurt... *trauma*

EL: I think separate day is good... too much in one day, cannot smile and enjoy le... I also do over two days.

Thomas: I saw KK shop as well and met jenny. She is really helpful! Will go back and buy some stuff for my GDL and AC... but not much cos a lot of things we are doing without.

I dont dare to chk with my VG lor, in case they also want to increase my $$$

sher02

Just wondering, anyone collected their album? Anybody knows how many days do we have to wait once we confirm the album layout?

blur btb: hey no probs, enjoy ur GDL/AC shopping

sher: I collected mine abt 2 weeks later after confirming layout. Check with ur BS though, diff BS have diff processing speeds.

lisssssy

I need help. Can share with me what should my hubby and myself need to prepare for "Guo Da Li"? And where to buy 喜饼, it can be cake too? I prefer modern cake.
I'm Hokkien family.

truetrue

Omy, i haven been visiting and soooo much information had been posted. I finish my PS 2weeks back and had choosen my photos too. Coming week going to T Dragon to select cards and printing. What do i need to prepare?

gg_paradise

Yeah, thomas.. got good lobangs we share share, thanks

but after showing that 3 list provided by Jenny, both parents somehow decided to go simple, thus they decided to go to one of the shop @ Sembawang Rd that oso sell wedding stuffs to get those items that they need.. furthermore, FIL still in hospital (if he is not admitted to hospital, he will know & be able to help us with things we need for GDL,AC & AD) & if really have to follow the list strictly, is very old custom.. both parents find that there is no need to go till the extend of going too traditional lols

Thanks Thomas for asking ur VG on the copyrights issues.. have to pay $$$ again ah.. really money sucker leh.. my PG/VG haven contact me regarding to this issue.. think will wait till next week to see if they come back to me on this thing.. if not, I will call them up again.. haizz.. hope they dun have to suck my $$$ again..

Blur_btb.. hope u have fun during ur PS other than the mozzie and sandfly... is ok, no worries abt the shoe, even if u cannot get it.. is oso alright to me

gold prices so exp now ah? wow.. I din know.. until now, MIL still no time bring me go buy SDJ. my parents oso wan to bring us out to buy jewellery one of these days as gift for us during tea ceremony.. they giving hubby a ring & me either a necklace or bracelet.. *wink*

kiddyu15

Yippee!! I can collect my albums and stuff loh.. Hehe..

Where are u girls getting ur si dian jin? I went to a few over the weekend.. All looks abit orbit.. =P

kiddyu15

Mrs Chua >> I think depends on ur parents.. My dad is traditional Teochew.. He say cannot white gold.. I think some parents who are not so traditional allow si dian zhuan (diamonds)..

So bo bian.. Cannot buy white gold.. Worse is I wana find those thin ones so not so orbit.. My future MIl say look like mee sua.. =| I think I gotta just find something that looks decent (and thick) then wear once for my wedding and keep in cupboard the rest of the time..

vilopup

Photo selection tis sat! So excited... Mrs Chua, will go in and look for shoes!

ahfenny: did not prepare much when i went to T Dragon to select cards. Just the number that they will need to prepare for you.

They will allow you to mix up to two designs but for printing purpose, it will be better to choose (if you want two designs) of same shape and size.

Then you got to decide if you want to print inserts with them, look for others or do hotstamping. All different costs.

They will then give you date or sms to collect back the cards!

Mrs Chua: I combine the purchase actually. Bought si dian jin and the ring that my mum is getting for my HB... so we ask for collective discount since the amount is so big.

I think you can chk out the different malls first to see where got give freebies or vouchers for purchases. The amount is so big you see. If not, chk for card discounts, cash back rebates and then use accordingly.

We got mine at Poh Heng and we brought in the NTUC link card for points (the points can changes $70 ntuc voucher!) and sign with Standard Chartered Manhattan Card for S$200 cashback.

My MIL refuse to buy white gold. She say Bai Jin dont sound auspicious... so make do with yellow gold.

Dione: Depends what gold you want. For 916 gold, only Poh Heng and Tian Po have. The others are the more traditional brand names le.

I got my SDJ which is made up of 10 gold strings combined together. So it is more modern and can wear it even with normal tops after wedding. Its not so blatant yellow gold, lighter in colour and its italian design. maybe you can drop by one of the outlets and ask them to show you. Its call "shi hang" or "shi tiao" i cant rem.

and Ya! Mine look like 10 mee sua bunched together...

I ask MIL not to give me gold for tea ceremony le... expensive and hard to find nice designs...

gg_paradise

Dione.. I haven ask my parent/in law abt it.. think my in law shld be ok ba.. is my parent who are more trad in some way, so think they will ask me choose gold ba??? how abt getting those rose gold jewellery??

Blur_btb.. ya, sure very excited de.. I oso feel the same when I went for photo selection.. hehe

Thanks ah.. if got no time, den is ok with the shoes.. dun really need to get it if u can't find or get it..

ok I will go check to see if can get collective discount from jewellery shop. I'm thinking of getting from Citigems as I got member but dun think they got sell gold/rose gold leh.. maybe can go poh heng or where to see see.. hehe

Last weekend just went Poh Heng... one dragon phoneix combined bracelet already $1.6k... super ex... what the sales person proposed is to get a complete simple Si Dian Jin.. roughly $1.8k for one design that she show us... maybe can mix and match to find out more... Oh ya, remember to ask them for workmanship discount...

ellentg

Blur_btb > 10 mee sua together... haha your description is so cute

Mrs Chua > some pple told me rose gold is nice to look at only, not as valuable as real gold... you may wanna consider this point

Ching Ching > yea lor v ex... our pair of dragon-phoenix bracelets also cost close to 2k... heart pain siah

qin > we'll just use A4 paper to make AP box. Dione DIY-ed a very pretty one... haha

gg_paradise

Ching Ching.. what is workmanship discount??? wow.. so exp ah for a pair of dragon phoneix bracelet?? even jus a simple SDJ oso so exp ah.. omg..

qin.. I'm gonna DIY the ang bao bo myself but have nt try it.. hehe

from I know of is, get a A4 box from office, use nice nice wrapping paper to wrap it den put some deco like bears, flowers, ribbon etc on will do..
ya, it sounds pretty simple but think it gonna take some time ba.. *wink* oh ya, have a friend who told me b4 abt cutting the slit on the box for putting in the ang bao, she say cut it b4 u wrap so dun have to worry abt cutting it nt nice as after wrapping it, nobody can see it haha

Ellen.. the box that Dione have is buy those plain colour boxes from those book store @ Bugis den she jus put on some deco like sticking her bears using velcros.. even though is simple but it is realli beautiful lo

kiddyu15

Blur btb >> I went to Poh Heng too over the weekend but din see the one you mentioned.. Shall go take a look again.. =) I think it's not really the design ttz putting me off but I don't look good in yellow gold cos I too tanned.. Very 'indian' leh..

Mrs Chua >> I think the ultimate decision lies with ur parents.. If they cannot accept then cannot use diamond set as replacement.. Rose gold my parents also say cannot.. Must be yellow gold, abit of white gold is still ok but overall must be yellow.. *headache*

Ching >> U cantonese? Cos long feng bracelet is more for Cantonese yea? The one set that I kinda feel ok with (made up of alot of hearts together) is abt 3.5k.. So expensive and it's keep in cupboard after wedding type.. I would rather my future MIL not waste the $$..

qin >> I got the box (with hole already) from Bugis Junction at a shop called AnbC (Level 4) then I bought ribbons and bears and made some ribbon roses and stuck them all together.. Simple simple nia..

Ellen & Mrs Chua >> Haha.. Thanks for the compliments but I think abit plain leh.. But too much stuff will make it look too "over" so I think I shall leave it as it is liaoz.. =P

fellcy

hi gals....

My VG contacted me sial!! asked about the royalties..asked us to pay for it..saying either we pay royalty of the song we want or he will use those without vocals...sianz...now HTB v pissed..coz contract din even state anything...stupid...

qin17

Mrs Chua: Thanks i will try but then hor.. i very bad in cutting the slit one don know will be nice or not.. lol..

Dione: Oh that good got the hole le? hehe..how much does it cost?? Any pic to see?

Suddenly remember my wedding is near and I am still slacking.. hehe.. now starting to feel a bit stress le..

qin17

you gals know the legal website to download songs other than itunes? coz now becoz of the copyright thingy. the hotel wan us to either produce an original cd for march-in song or original receipt from the website that we purchase the song. Thanks=)

gg_paradise

Dione.. ya I think the ultimate decision still lies with our parents.. even though we keep saying wedding is a 2 person's affairs but in actual face, it has becomes everyone's affairs which we need to please everyone.. lols

Felcy... ur VG contacted u ah.. mine have nt,.. how much they ask u to pay???

Qin.. when is ur AD? me counting down to 2 months, 1 week, 4 days (80 days or less).. I oso got alot of things nt done.. haizz.. my friend was saying I shld relook @ my planner & see what are the things which I had not done den start doing but the thing is.. my planner dun seem to have anything.. or shld I say, I oso duno how come my list is empty haha

dun worry abt ur cutting nt nice cos mine oso gonna be the same lols hmm... at 1st I oso got this worry, but after my friend tell me to cut b4 wrapping so nobody can see the ugly part of cutting den I feel safe.. haha

I nt sure where is the legal website to dl song but I have some original cd.. so if happen have the song u wan, maybe can lend u??

qin17

Yesh.. i think can try cutting hor.. use A4 box from office to cut first.. keke. my AD is 3rd july lor. Urs? Now start to feel stress le.. sob.. The song I wan i cant find the original cd at all.. The hotel coordinator insist it has to be original before they play it. Haiz..

vilopup

Hi all, officially I am down to my 2 months and 19 days le... just discovered this last nite and I was running around my room at midnite panicking!

But still, from my past experience in crazy project management, something tells me that eventually things will fall into place de... so dont worry so much gals!

Dione: I saw your nice AP box... v chio leh... esp the roses... i cant do handiwork like this! Do you do any homework before you tell your BS about the kind of layout you want ah?

For my last album, all i told them is not to use fanciful borders etc for the design, no hearts, no lacy stuff. I din ask them to dramatise colours... please advise okie.

fellcy: Dont the VG have a selection of songs that they pay for already? And then share cost with other couples for that?

Mrs Chua: I also got a ton of undone things... but i started by writing every little thing that I have to do including collection of bouquet and wedding attire. I like to do worst case scenarios... maybe you can try that.. i wrote in excel and then classify by categories such as Attire, Flowers, Decor etc and then I tag a projected month I have to do it. Probably can put things into perspective.

sher02

qin> try going to cdwow.com. They have a huge collection and my friend tried everywhere and couldn't find it and found it on their website and was a lot cheaper too. I bought a number of items from them and arrive safely, no issues.

gg_paradise

Ladies.. anyone have a proper checklist of things which we need for our wedding? I realise my list is very min.. nothing much but I know got alot of things to do/prepare.. sianz

qin.. we have the same AD.. wow.. so qiao..
really start to feel the stress hor?

what song u looking for? maybe u can let us know den we find for u???

Blur_btb.. I oso panic liao after knowing I'm onli left with 2 mths, 1 week & 5 days.. hubby oso say is final countdown.. gosh.. time is running out... Let's hope like what u say, eventually things will fall into place ba *wink*

ellentg

Dione > i think your AP box is very nice already... no need to add extra stuff la

Fellcy > oh no... how much extra is your VG asking you to pay?

qin / Mrs Chua / Blur_btb > yea man... few days back my HTB just drafted a to-do list with schedule & gantt chart... so overwhelmed by the long to-do list
some more HTB is very busy with work so no time to help... sighz....

Mrs Chua > your idea of "CD pool" sounds good... then each of us dun need to buy so many CDs ya...

gg_paradise

Ellen.. so nice of ur HTB to draft out the to-do list with gantt chart for u... I still have to do myself lo.. den hubby will vet thr ba... haha

actually my idea nt so good too cos our wedding dates too close den sometimes we might nt even have the time to meet up.. den how to exchange the cd???

kiddyu15

fellcy >> My VG also nv contact me.. Think I'll need to ask them liao.. Else suddenly get slapped with few hundreds extra.. =|

qin >> Add me on facebook -- [email protected] I uploaded the box there.. =) It's $18.. The quality is good.. So next time can still use to keep ur stuff @ home..

I think amazon.com also can download songs? Ur hotel didn't get the annual licence for playing songs? I tot most of them shld have de..

Blur BTB >> Haha.. Yea.. My fren told me BTBs normally panic nearer to the date.. Worrying abt things they haven do but in actual fact most is done already.. I hope our panic is for nothing (rather than really for something).. =P

My layout ar, I didn't tell them anything leh.. When doing my photo selection, my coordinator will tell us based on the photos we choose which will go well together etc.. Then the designs they do their own.. When the layout was ready then we decided if the design was ok.. We rejected 1 or 2 then they redo lor.. But bascially we din give them any instructions..

Oh yea, what is the name of the shop tt does card and inserts printing in City Square? I have a friend who wants to go there to have a look.. Talking abt invitation cards.. I haven even gone to select designs.. =|

qin17

Mrs Chua: Wow.. so qiao leh.. Same AD.hehe..The song name is Lovely by Trish. Cant see to be able to find. Even the website that Sher give not able to find. How ur preparation? I din do anything yet other than printing of insert. keke.
Sher: The website don have the song

qin17

Dione: I have added you in for fb.. hehe.. The hotel got pay annual fee. They only allow us to play original song in their player.. so sian de..
The printer shop is called T&T. The staff there is good.. Quality of paper is not bad too.. hehe..

ellentg

Mrs Chua > he drafted the chart and to-do list cos he wants me to work on it... LOL

Dione / qin > although hotel has area license, we still need to bring original CDs de... cos it's illegal to play any songs that we didn't purchase the copyright... and of course the hotels won't want to be responsible for that~

gg_paradise

Qin.. I did not do anything at all except getting my banquet manager to prepare the invitation cards (shld start sending in the invitation cards for printing next week if everything can be in order by then.. ) PS done.. other than that, all nt done.. omg..

hmm.. no hear of that song leh.. if ur hotel realli cannot play that song w/o the original cd, den how?

btw, u can add me in fb.. [email protected]

Ellen.. I jus told hubby abt the checklist, he say must do liao & it must be quick.. nt much time left... so meaning I will be the one to do.. lols

ellentg

Mrs Chua > LOL okie... but my HTB's list got a lot of missing items... like... he totally forgot i need to go choose gowns -_-|||

fellcy

Hi gals, my VG said he will divide the cost among the people getting married this year... cost is about 2k to 4k per year...he also mentioned that he will need to pay about $40 - $50 per song for royalty free songs without vocals but he will absorb that.Don't know if it's true or not.

I tink CD pool is a good idea! My venue has yet to inform me about the music....HTB suggests that we do tis offline so no record! wahaha...

We are going food tasting first week of May. Everything really seems to be coming so fast! I am trying to finish my work at work asap so I can come home and settle these things..

Qin>> me also intendin to go T&T to do printed. After comparing to tdragon we decided to just do insert to save cost..did you do yours there too? Do we need to provide them the template in soft copy?

fellcy: try big music stores like HMV or That CD shop, they have more to choose from. Even if dun have, they can indent for u also.

I did my insert printing at T&T also...no need, they have most of the SG hotels' templates in their database cos a lot of SG couples go there to print. Look for Shirley there, very friendly lady =)

gg_paradise

Ellen.. at least he is willing to do it for u, nt so bad ah.. nt like mine, I got to do myself now.. realli got so many things to do but duno how to type it out in words leh.. omg...

Fellcy... if ur VG has alot of couples den each couple to split cost, it will be lesser.. eg. cost of 2k to split between 20 couples, each couple $100?? watever it is, everything need $$$.. omg.. will try to call my VG to check later...

my venue oso haven confirm with me anything, they told me it is ok de, no prob using song.. but I wan to make sure everything is confirm ok, dun wan later on that day, the authority happen to pay a visit den we kanna caught.. it will be super embrassing lo..

what does ur HTB means by doing it offline so no record??

oh ya.. still got food tasting hor.. u reminded me.. I almost forgotten abt it.. lols

gg_paradise

had jus spoken to my coordinator from C&T, they are still awaiting for further details from the music authorities. so as for now, they cannot provide us much info.. hiazz.. they jus provided me a list of royalty free music selection which means if we would to choose those from their list, we do not have to pay anything extra.

anyway, I heard from my coordinator that they are currently charging per new couple who sign up now with them for an additional of S$100 per service engaged. if the amount turn out to be more than S$100, they will subside the balance..

ellentg

Thomas > can indent from HMV?? How to do le?

Mrs Chua > he didn't type out, just scribble on his note book when traveling from work / waiting for bus. must make full use of our time now LOL

talking about food tasting, normally who should we invite?

qin17

Mrs Chua: I have added you in fb le=) Btw i realise we got common fren lor.. hehe..

Fellcy: Ya. They have the soft copy. Oh ya. you need to know your hotel/restaurant name and the address in chinese before you go there for printing just in case they do not have the hotel/rest. name in chinese.But if you are not printing in chinese insert, you just need to take note of the address for your banquet venue. Indeed cheaper to print in jb than in T-dragon.Quality is really not bad also.

qin17

Dione: Ur AP box is nice leh.. so nice.. I don think i can do that especially the ribbon part. My handicraft cannot make it de. hee. Btw I saw your wedding photo also. Very nice leh!!!

gg_paradise

Qin.. I saw ur friend request to. added u.. u know wai horng ah? he is my ex-colleague. jus left co nt long ago.. hehe

Ellen.. nt bad liao la, he still do something right? hehe..

TodaY hubby & me were busy packing & clearing stuffs in his room.. making space for my things. hee we intend to buy our new bed by end of May.. den painting in early Jun (done by my uncle) & delivery of new bed etc by Jun.. so we presume Jun will be an extremely mth for us.. omg...