(2010/05) May 2010 BTB

vala

Melb: that's good at least think the important portions are mostly cleared now only need to concentrate on the gown fitting and PS.

strawb3rry

I would seriously appreciate any tips you can give me...

Fiance and myself considering a May wedding but nothing has been done yet
(i.e. venue, photographer etc) as we are living abroad

Can you help to recommend some good photographers please?

missyling

Feeling so lazy after a long weekend. Hehe got myself a pair of heels ytd but no idea if i can tahan to not wear it till the AD/PS day...

Dh comment that i always looking for tat 101 pair of heels... guessed i really got to hide it from my sight now.

Isabel. sorry not very familiar with photographers. Prehaps you can take a look @ the link which some were post up here. Or drop by the photography thread to take a look @ others work/comment.

if you have to do it in may, think its time to get it started.

melb

ling/val: yes finally one item less to worry abt.. now can relax till i remember abt the nxt item.. hahaha..

isabel: depending on yr budget and style of the PG, as it varies a lot. the sites or recommendation on this site will be helpful to u.

mooncloud

hey gals.. can i check with u when u all gg for ur PS? juz curious.. may seems so far after all the initial planning... ha.. no more wedding mood.

isabel: settle the venue first. Followed by the bridal shop. Lastly then worry abt the photographer. If you haf a date in mind, u shld prob start to email venues to see if ur date is available. It appears that may is quite a popular mth next yr. Better start with ur venue. Photographers can always source later. If no venue got photographer also no pt. Tat's my opinion.

mooncloud

I going for fitting in nov. Not sure to haf the PS in dec or jan.. but scared rain leh.. hai.. coz tat period rainy season...

missyling

tat is wat i scared too but now the weather is so cranky so dec might not be rainy again... but i check with my bs.. if it rained then will change to another date.

smilydia

normally how long will the BS be completed? i think im being kiasu.. wanted to arrange the fitting in Sep.. than start to plan the PS in Oct.. is that too early for May?

missyling

did u check with ur co-o? prehaps you should chck with them if your shedules work anot. for me, i didn't make the arrangement myself.

I leave it fo my co-o to arrange everythings for me. He shedule my PS to be in dec, Oct fitting in oct. I just confirm my gowns designs last week.

smilydia

wow, that means im quite late.. i haven even confirm the gowns! have not even make the first appointment at all! okok, need to call them now..

jigglez

Huh..need to take PS so fast meh?. I also haven choose my gowns lei..I planning to take PS in Jan 10 lei..then maybe Mar then choose gowns.. too late huh?

missyling

jean, i am not sure. Everythings are planned by my co-o. He said i can just relax and don't worry about the stuffs. Just follow his plan will do. I olso haven't chose my other gowns for ps as well. cause my main gowns are MTM so need to confirm the designs etc.

Actually not very fast, cause they need time to alter and stuffs as well. but dec and jan not very far off. And my Co-o told me.. usually during CNY, their tailor room are closed @ least 1 - 2 weeks which will be in feb next year.

strawb3rry

thanks Ling, melb and christie... yup think i should settle it 1 by 1. the problem is I will only be back in SG in Sept and i will need to settle PG, venue and all other misc stuff by then.

I can foresee the rush then

missyling

Isabel, sep? then it definately be a big rush. Prehaps you can get your family or close friend to look out the details for u then @ least you have something to start with,

one of my gf who is oversea did the same thing as well when she decided to come back to hold her wedding.

faithchong

I went to Suntec last weekend and happen to view some BS and AD PG work there.

Quite impressed with a few of them like My Dream Wedding & I like the gown from Yvonne Creative...

I like the movie way of BS from Coffee and Tea Dreamworks... Their album photo quite special, after seeing, there is a story behind.. and a lot crowd attracted by their cartoon anime too...

strawb3rry

Ling, yes it's definitely going be a rush. Luckily for us though is that we are planning only for a small celebration in SG about 20 tables and another in Ldn for friends.

I have collated info from some very helpful pple on this forum on venues... can't outsource venue visiting to friends and I cannot think of anything that can be outsourced.

jigglez

Hi Ling: I just confirm my PS dates in Jan 10..one more thing down. Am so busy with renovation now.

xq: Hows the pricing for Coffee and Tea Dreamworks? I am looking for AD PG/VG/animation as well. I think I saw someone in the forum letting go of Yvonne Creation package at a lower price, you can check that out. I am from MDW, let me know if you ahve any questions.

Isabel: Perhaps from the pictures or comments you see on this forum, you can shortlist a few venues and get them to block out your dates for you first. If not, your choices will be very limited by Sep. Anyway, its free to block out.

Hi Yayun: Guess none of us here are from JB BS. I have never been there but I heard its much cheaper. But, you have to check if they can rent you the gowns for your AD.

sotongada

Ya, i heard is much cheaper then SG...I'm going in Sept...hehe...

My fren went there before and they allow to bring their gowns back 1 week before AD..but i think play safe, I better ask when go there for queries.... ^^

nicky_liu

Hi everyone, i am new to this site. Any suggestions on a good place to look for wg + eg? I heard there's a clearance sale by a designer named kevin seah next month. I went to suntec last week also.

strawb3rry

Jean, that's an excellent idea - I will do just that. Have you found your MUA yet or is that something that is generally provided for in BS packages?

I have got 2 weeks when I'm back to settle venue, PG, MUA so must get all my shortlist and research done first... girls, anything else that I miss out?

missyling

jean, that's good. We just finished painting the house and now my bones is like going to smashed anytime if anyone come near to knock me... lolz but feel so good with the result.

Yayun: Did heard abt them but didn't considered them cause very troublesome to travel in and out of JB. In sg, alrdy very "chuan" liao.. hehe

Isabel: I think most of our package include MUA unless the BS don't do so or you find their MUA's standard not good enough. I perfer a one stop service from BS so that i don't have to look out for other stuffs.

sotongada

hi ling, my fren told me only need to go in twice..but i duno, wait til i go and check it out then i let u all know..hahaha..

I had moved into my new hse already as my rom was in april'09...

missyling

yayun: i see. that's good den. HB is busy so different to travel o JB for all these stuffs though can save alot but when need to take PS and stuffs olso troublesome for us since we don't drive.

sotongada

Ling: We did tink abt it but we also have the tot that sg scenery are almost the same..so mayb take in JB can be slighty special baz..

anyway, we have yet to decide as tot to compare JB and SG Packages......

missyling

yayun, i see.. its good to compare. i got gfs who took package from msia sight and i find their pictures alrite. Not sure where r their studio but must check with them on the make up part if they are suppose to come here n make up for u. Make sure the timing is not too early like my gf, her hb picked her up @ 9am but she did her make up at 3am -_-" the reason they gave her was, oh too many brides that day so she got to be the 1st to make up.

sotongada

ling, if i am to take up BS in JB, most prob i will be using my make-up artist when i had my ROM..cos my fren...i think for JB side, i will only take up the PS...others I have my own lobangs in SG..PG/VG/Makeup artist... ^^

smilydia

hi gals, do you have any comments about renting of items such as ring pillows, angpao box, tea set and the shoes for kua on the AD?

im trying not to be so pangdang.. but just to avoid any inauspicious thing to happen.. so would like to ask if renting is okay?

missyling

renting? It never occur in my mind. Honestly if its not too ex, I would rather get a new set then sell it away if i don't intend to use it or pass it to friends.

smilydia

i come across this website which specialise in renting. An angbao box can be rented at $10 and ring pillow at $5, also can rent shoes (to go with kua at $8). so in this case, can really save alot instead of buying.. the items posted in the website looks quite new to me, but still have to see the real thing before confirm renting. i think rental of such things is still fine cos in the end, like u mention we might sell it away or pass it to friends. in the end, we dun necessary hav to keep it.

thanks ling.

icejade

hi gals, I might be May 2010 BTB but would like to hear some opinions on Amara hotel. Have anyone been to wedding dinner at Amara hotel? went there once and quite like the place but not sure about the quality of food. ANy advise?

missyling

jade, quanity of Food is not bad. Pretty decent. But depending on the no. of tables you be having. I find it abit cramp when i attended a dinner last time.

if the date u r considering for may is hot date den you better check if its still available anot. I heard from friends that u have to book them @ least 1yrs in advance.

melb

hi ladies, been so busy with work lately.. hows preparations going on? did i miss out anything? heheh..

icejade

hi gals thanks alot for ur comments! I will be going down this sat to pay the deposit
My AD is on 29th May and apparently most of the hotels are taken up
not many left to choose.. Just signed up with My Bridal Room too!(our 1st bridal studio and my HTB loves it so sign on the spot)

jigglez

haha..for a moment I was confused. So, Jade is Jadey hehe.. Din know we can change our Nick.

Ling, you're right! 29 May is like so so popular lo!! Any one on 23? or is it only me.

missyling

jean, i tink may is really hot... cause many people are planning to settle down before the pantang year came in.

23 is oso hot... i might be planning to do my GDL on 23.

missyling

Iris, according to my Shifu.. he said tiger will come in late next year so he advised us to settle down not later then may.. i think it depends on the zodic of both party.

psying

hey babes, im also 23 =))

29th is a very good date..even my bridal shop said that its already a hot date. ask us if can dont choose that date..

jigglez

ohh...din know about the tiger thingy...anyway i heard tiger only clash with monkey, so I am safe..haa

Hi Iris!! finally someone from 23rd. Hows your preparation?

dazel

think it depends on the date too, my master told me 23rd clash with rabbit. Though its tiger year, but also hv to see both party zodic, both me & my HTB are dragon which is some how equal as tiger so ok for us in tiger year.

Hi Jean, mine mostly done. PS already done in July in vietnam and tailor-made my WG & kua there too, so left only EG to settle with. This week gonna pay the hotel deposit.

How's yours getting on?

smilydia

now is 8 months to may 2010.. but me and my htb are so free every weekends.. we are gg to have our first appt with the BS in mid Sep.. and other than that, we really have nothing to be busy with, though there seems to be lots and lots of things to take care of... but everything seems too early to plan...

so afraid that when my AD is nearing.. we will be busy like siao.. haa so what are you girls busying with for wedding preparations now? do you noe when is an approx time to book JP?

btw, any 1 May bride here? mine is on 1 May! =)