(2010/05) May 2010 BTB

missyling

Lydia, you are doing both on the same day? Usually its best to book 3months before hand unless your JP is those really popular ones.. you got to book then earlier.

Me olso doing nothing much.. doing some drafting of guest lists for hb & myself. Think will be popping by to visit some invitation cards soon. If not, really will be rushing like mad if wait till next yr since CNY is in feb... might want to send out some invitation cards when doing visiting next yr.

icejade

wow didnt know 23rd and 29th may are good days for most of u
went to calculate dates and both days are available for me and my HTB. hmm i'm not too sure about JP. Who are the gd ones any recommendatons? And any good place to print invitation cards? I heard its much cheaper if u print in JB. My last thing left is to get a cheap and good photographer and videographer

Lastly, yes u can change ur nick!

missyling

jadey, not too sure but 23 n 29 are in my list but we chose 29 instead cause its a sat, so that our family and helpers can rest on sunday before going back to work on monday.

MY jp was mr phang teng hai. Was very surprised my cousin booked him fr her rom in aug as well. He's very nice, old grandpa figure.

Hi all, I'm at 29 May BTB too! I kinda guessed it was a popular date as my church was already booked when I tried to do my own booking couple of months away.

Have settled on another church now sourcing for a lunch venue

missyling

look like our brides are growing in numbers
if i forget/missed out anyone... please forgive this oldaunty... late night liao.. cannot focus too long... pls add on your own.

Our May brides to be:

1:
Lydia

22:
Amanda
Star
faylene liang

23:
Jing Yuh
Wei23
Vivien Fu
Jean
Iris
PSY

29:
Ling
Esta
Melb
soul slayer
christie
Valeria
gaw
Jadey
esmirada

jigglez

wow...so happy to see many May brides here.

Iris> Yes, 23rd clash with Rabbit. Hmm.. 29th is not on my list. I wanted 27 Mar but my parents find it too close to Ching Ming. I am taking my PS in Jan hee...I have booked my hotel last month. Not sure what else is there to do? Just counting dates like Ling haha...

Lydia/Jadey> My JP was Dr William. His mobile is 96729312 in case your wana try. Ok guy, fathery type and patient.
He was punctual tho I mostly communicate with him on the phone. Being lazy, I did not meetup with JP prior to ROM, but lucky it turned out fine.

Any busy with renovation here? I am so vexed over it.

missyling

When are you gals doing your GDL? we wanna to do it on 23 may but it seem very rush so intend to do it in March. How abt you gals?

Reno, 7 7 8 8 lo... just that haven't get new furnitures to fit in. but got to redo the room abit to fit in the new bed and dressing table and get everythings done by feb or march.

never do anythings oso tired.. haha

icejade

wow so many 29th may brides! no wonder i can't get my complimentary poolside solemisation at Amara hotel
just went down to sign contract with them today and they said the poolside is taken up another couple for wedding dinner
means there will be 2 weddings at Amara on 29th! will sure be quite crowded i think since its quite small. Oh and yes we are busy with the reno now. Looking for quotations from a few companies. Think going to spend a big bomb on our new hse plus the wedding! haiz...

jigglez

hmm..GDL usually its how long before AD huh?

Jadey: me too looking for quotations. Any coy to recommend?

Ling: Any recommendations on where to buy nice furniture?

melb

ling: am counting my days too.. can't think of much to do either..

jean: u still looking for ID quotations for reno? must be stress ya so long already still haven't sort out.. hope u find one soon..

missyling

Jean, am not too sure as well. Still looking around. Not looking for much things though. Just need a bed frame + matress, bookshelves, sofa, sofa bed and dinning area lights... maybe the bed will get from seahorse.. still looking around. Last choice if cannot find then got to ask contractor to do tailor made which is our last choice. Other stuffs not much to be done.

melb: hehe tink we will get mouldy @ the rate we are counting...

smilydia

wow.. thanks jean for the JP's contact.

are u gals buying resale or first hand? i am buying resale but have not go for the 1st appt, waiting for the owner to come back frm holidays.. and yah, i think i need to do a big renovations to the house.. it seems like we are trying to scrimp and save as much as possible, but when u do the house, u just hav to do everything at one time... lots of money... (cos the house we ar looking at is quite old)...

the last to think abt are the furnitures.. as maybe by that time we will be broke.. so hav to sign on instalment free plans to get furnitures.. wahahhaha if u gals noe of any cheap and good furnitures, must share ok!

jigglez

melb: haha yea lo..i very slow hor? think the cost very high then i not motivated at all to search haha..but still must face thr truth, i have to confirm by this week as I wana start after Lunar 7th month.

Ling: I saw some packages from Courts, free bed frame with mattress. maybe you can take a look. I am doing a platform bed so I will just buy a matress haha..

Lydia: Welcome. I bought resale, 20 yrs old flat haha..also old flat...

melb

ling:hahah..i like the way u say it: mouldy...

jean: cost high? i heard the market isn't doing that well.. unless u are asking for good quality materials.. i heard there is a fair at expo goin on now till end of this weekend. perhaps you have a look.

lydia: i brought a BTO flat which only be ready by 2011/2012

jigglez

Yes melb, high lei.. it is around $45k for a compelte overhaul of my house, excluding all accessories and furniture..haha...I am not good at differentiating the materials. But, the brands that most of the contractors/ID mention to me are the same..guess its about the same?

missyling

Jean, haha we had a platform bed now and we are going to ask people to fix up the hole.Really very tiring when it comes to changing of bedsheet unless got maid to do so. Now already BTH.. we were tinking 10 to 20 yrs down the road... lagi stress it want to change... if kids don't help...

we oso got a resales flat. Didn't really do much until last year after rom did the painting ourself..

melb

jean: hmm.. 45k includes? u need to check the materials.. they are not all the same.

ling: heheh.. i think u will need a maid

icejade

jean: i went to Darwin interior still waiting for their quotation. But i heard if they are designing for u plus the reno can be quite ex. My frenz's reno is abt 40k
but hers is almost the whole hse except for doors. Mine is a new flat with most floors, doors, toilet so shld be cheaper
U can try to get a few quotations then choose the cheapest

nutellachoc

Hihi..

im a May bride too.. 15 May to be exact.

will be having my photoshoot end of this month at taiwan, i've booked hotel like 1~2 mths ago... im not sure if i should get a AD package with the current bridal or source another one.. anyone knows any bridal that has good AD package only? are you guys aware that there will be a wedding fair @ illuma on 18 sep?

also i haven't get my bridal shoes for the photoshoot :S
i've been to Tangs, Robinson, Isetan, Taka, Anna Ricci @ Far East and so far i still cannot decide which shoes.. coz its either too HIGH or too bling or design dun like, not comfy, etc.. how how how~~~!?

Lydia, may i know where you bought your shoes?

missyling

recently i bought a pair frm anna nucci @ harbourfornt. Don't usually like theirs as its too high like 3 - 4" but this one i got, it came in 2" SO I got it. Saw a similar one by other brand having the same design @ OG.

nutellachoc

oh its anna NUCCI ar.. haha..

i oso saw exactly the same designs @ Tangs Sale.. after discount is abt the same price as anna nucci (before discount).. just the label name different

jigglez

melb: haha i try to look at materials la..but all the specs and brands they mention all about the same de..easy to cheat this newbie..

Jadey: I have been to Darwin too as its too near my house to miss it. Hmm the ID who attended to me do not give me the confidence and not cheap. they quoted me 44k excluding gst. Actually, perhaps you can go direct to furniture contractors since you only need carpentry.

I bought my shoes from Vivie early this year, not too bad 2.5 inches, quite comfy..

dazel

I was thinking whether to the shoe now or later as if the shoe is put till May, dun knw whether still can wear as some shoes may "open mouth" if put for too long.

ling: can show the picture of the shoes u bought? can email me : [email protected]

missyling

iris, you are doing diy for your wedding?

this is the pair of heels i gotten. my ankle area was amended cause the original lenght was too long for me, so the salegirl help me to cut it short and change the buckler area to both inside instead of facing outside.
1189665.jpg

missyling

thanks. I tink they will have new shipment of shorter lenght shoes coming in due to request from what i heard from the gal. Honestly i perfer going down to Harbourfront then FEP. The FEP ones are abit too pushy.

vala

I also bought a pair of heels from anna nucci. recommended by my gal friend who bought hers at that shop too. Price still consider reasonable as compared to those at takashimaya.

smilydia

hi nutellachoc, i have not gotten the shoes yet.. still looking ard..

ling: ur shoes looks nice! is the brand very exp?

hi all, i think 44k is too exp to renov a house. my father is a sub-contractor and he told me that my house (which i see that i need to have a full renovation) will cost abt 20-30k, with good materials. but if you are gg to ask an ID to do your house, then the price shd be marked up higher then average.. =(

missyling

lydia, its quite reasonable in their pricing. but i don't remembered how much we paid. I am not really a heel person nowsaday so its really for the sake of it now. perfer to wear flats But so far, this brand is rather affordable. this is my 2nd pair of heels from A.N.. and i am not willing to pay more then $100 for a pair of heels.. haha not to mentioned those $300 overs ones in branded dept store.

maybe you can pop by and take a look.. they got some really nice ones but i find it too high for me.

jigglez

nice shoes ling! anyway, I din know the length can be altered.

Lydia: I think so too..44k is ex..hmm perhaps of the carpentry we do. We are also changing all windows and plastering of whole house. Just these 2 cost me about 4k le...

missyling

Jean, thanks.. cannot don't ater cause its way too long for the extra.. can almost got another half round if she don't cut it away.

I asked them to quote me my feature wall and some minor reno, i was already quote 15k... its really way too mark up for the things we want...

icejade

hey gals darwin quote me 28k(inc GST) and we did 2 feature walls which are the ex ones.. Hmm after looking through the breakdown of the items, I think its not too overpriced considering the stuff we wanna do like platform, WIW, 2 feature walls, L-box, the entire kitchen and some others. But my HTB will be asking his friend who is an interior designer to help to source for cheaper contractors. Still waiting for the quotation, hopefully is lower than this

Ling: wow ur shoes are nice! Prob will go anna nucci to take a look too

sotongada

nutellachoc, my AD is also 15th May...also booked on restuarant...i have yet to decide on my BS...haiz...

Got my resale flat in early this year and did minor reno...if interested, i can intro u my subcon...he is not 'famous' but on my recommendation list..he is trustworthy and responsible...PM me if u wan his details...

Earlier mentioned that is a bridal fair at Illuma??Is it confirm???

sotongada

ya i saw..hehe...there's one coming up too at suntec..i might be going over to take a look..seems like things are going quite smoothly over at my side..hehe...

melb

Hi ladies, what did i missed out this time.. been v bsy lately with work.

ling: do u have the unit no of that shoe shop in harbourfront?

ntus: hi, may i know where u get yr shoe from?

btw, when do we actually need to get the wedding shoes? will they change colour if we purchase them too early?

missyling

melb here you goes..

Anna Nucci
1 Maritime Square #01-55 HarbourFront Centre Singapore 099253

not sure when, i guess is as and when you see what you like then get it. If wait till the so called right time.. its always so hard to get it.

So far, mine didn't changed colour for the other pair that i got from AN last yr for my rom.

yingying945

Hi nutellachoc & yayun,

my AD is on 15th May as well

yayun, i m also looking for a BS, will share my findings with u when i have ^_^

girls, fyi, my house rennovation was done at the end of last year, 26k in total for 5rm HDB flat, plus all the furniture & home appliances is 40k...i found the furniture at international furniture centre @ sungei kadut are quite nice and cheap, quality seems ok, my dinning table and bed frame are from there.