(2010/05) May 2010 BTB

jigglez

Welcome Lydia. If you ask us, think most of us will say its ok..more importantly are the parents. If they are also ok, then should be good to go..haha.. anyway, wouldn't you have to find a day with the auspicious timing in the evening?

Ling: Like you, I wan a Boy first..haha maybe because I have an elder bro.. But boy first then girl..IDEAL!

Hi blueeangel, which handphone model are you using? Nowadays, most handphone has it. Just do a google on Lunar chinese calendar, should have many hits too..

missyling

jean, hehe... i don't have an elder bro/sis... so i am hoping the 1st one be a boy so that my energy level will be enough to chase.

smilydia

hi ling/jean, i oways wanted to have an elder bro to dote on me (which i dun have!).. hence same, i would prefer a boy first too.. haha then a girl..

thanks all for the opinions.. we arent gg by any auspicious timing.. just set our own time own target.. haha

very sadly, me n my hb are prepared to make a loss at our dinner.. cos the cost for a person exceeds $100+ but we presume that the most common angbao rate would be ard $80 for hotels..

do you girls have the same concern? sigh.. seriously broke.. ahahhaa

missyling

Lydia, seriously @ this kind of period where pay cut, retrenchment, etc etc etc
a lost is really unavoidable unless you got very rich guests.

We dun expect to make profit.. as long as the lost isn't too much to bear.. can be a good blessing alrdy. I had seen guests who came as a couple or very family coming in with ang bao like $50/ couple or per family or 4 or 6 lo.... L L lo.. what to do..

jigglez

hmmmm...seriously we got to save ourselves man...sometimes i find the phrase ' yi shen yi chi' really drowns my wallet...

for myself, i rather save on the dinner and spend more on my reno cause dinner is just one day and i dun wan to be drained after that one day...

missyling

jean, yeap.. i perfer a cozy home too... was telling them dinner is just a day affair and after that.. no one will remember after that. and no matter how... there are bounds to be those itchy mouths to have tones of comments about it...

@ least with my cozy home.. i know its my comfort area for years to comes...

melb

ling/jean:hmm.. i was hoping for twins (boys)so my factory can close shop..hahaha.. i'm just thinking of the easy way out.

lydia: i heard nowadays wedding dinner make a loss and not like last time ppl keep saying u can make $$.. i guess all of us have to fork out extra money to cover up the losses.

Lastly agree on the phrase ' yi shen yi chi', money can always be earned back but not to a extend that you are in debt then thats wrong..

missyling

melb: hahaha last time i oso hope for twins den can close shop.. but family got no history of twins in the family lo.. even have is like distant relative kind...

if have twin den must have someone to help out.. if not, sure will become panda mummy

gaw

hello all MAY2010 btb!! i'm fixed on 29May too...another one to join your club!

but i'm worse off! just started to look for a venue!! :-s

smilydia

Hi all, i have a problem now..

After thinking some way thru, we decided not to take up the exp hotel cos we foresee it's gg to be a big loss.. so my hb was thinking of sticking to our initial idea of holding a standing reception with corktail tables as we are doing buffet dinner. However my mum dislike the idea that guests give angbao already still have to stand throughout the dinner. But my hb feels that he wans a special wedding dinner that all will be mingling around, unlike the traditional sit-down when all is so bored.

What do you guys think?
Any body experience standing reception? How was your experience?

jigglez

Hi gers, I finally confirmed my venue yesterday....finally!!!!

Yes Ling, exactly....Hi^5!..at least our house is our comfort zone for years...

gaw: i thought I am late...u r even later..haha..so which venue have u shortlisted?

Lydia: I feel that friends wouldnt mind standing reception, sounds fun anyway..however the bad news is our parents' friends will not enjoy.

missyling

Lydia, actually me prefer the cocktail thingy like u BUT u c.. our parents are those traditional kind.. so end up.. we stick to a sit down dinner but i am doing it small and only close friends and relatives will be invited so that i can run around and get myself involved with my guests.

I have been to standing reception before and i enjoy it. The atmosphere is very sweet and cozy cause most of the guests are very sporting kind.... BUT if you got more those old folks and they are not sporting kind like mine... be prepare to hear some nonsense and complaints lo.

jean, congrats. finally one thing settled

gaw

jean: i was banking on grand shanghai cos htb's mother has connections there, but we left it too late! fully booked there i realized.. cos i have 30 tables, doesn't meet alot of places dinner min.

now still sourcing... maybe the regent.
any of you have friends or doing at the regent?
any comments to share pls?

vala

Melb: I had already booked my AD photography and videography. The price is below 2K.If you are interested let me noe. 3 of my frens used their service and i find it quite good.

house_of_wang

hello all btb in may 2010!! i'm new here so please give me tips tips tips! i decided to start planning for our wedding today and i've a headache already haha...

i've already ROMed and will have the wedding may 1 (church) and may 2 (dinner).

can anybody recommend me bridal studios please?

i'm also considering Julia Wedding News and My Bridal Room at the moment (because i don't know any better haha).... anybody used them before?

jigglez

Thanks Ling.

Gaw: I saw the pics on Grand Shanghai before, the black and red look looks good...but, think my parents surely dont like. Anyway, I also only have about 30 tables, same problem as you.

Charmaine: I am from MDW, never been to JWN or MBR. But, I heard good reviews about MBR and JWN seems to be promoting lacey gowns. If you like such gowns, then should be fine ba.

Hi Vala, can you send me the details too? [email protected] pls. Thks.

gaw

valerie: thanks!

charmaine: haha jean thot she was a late planner until i came in.. now you beat us all.. good luck to us :p

(btw still haven't finalized any location yet..)

melb

ling:if got twin, i will be so happy.. probably hire a maid.. hahah that if it happens..

val: pls pm me the VG & PG's contact to me too?

lydia: as what most of us has commented, cocktail reception will only be applicable for new generation. Both side of your elderly will be offended unless both or one of you are not chinese.

jean: so where is yr venue? haha.. r u happy that u are not the last min one...

gaw: hows yr venue hunting?

charmaine: i'm with sattine. i prefer a one stop stn shop otherwise u will be left to co-ordinate with all e different vendors for e wedding.. too troublesome.

missyling

val, thanks. will check them out. How much is your package with them? I check with someone... they quoted me $2780 for PG & VG
very over my budget... was hoping it be less den 2k

gaw

melb: still sourcing.....this thursday going to see four seasons...fullerton too 'tao' already, difficult to discuss anything..

vala

melb: Can you give me ur email address as I am unable to PM you.

PSY: You got a mail!!!!

Ling: There is a package promo when i sign and only need to top up 200 for the express morning highlights. But not too sure whether the promo is over already. Think if you interested can email or call them.

melb

gaw: how many tables are u looking at? btw, i'm also at four seasons on the 29 may for the main ballroom. if u are getting their smaller ballroom, we will be at the same place.

val: pls email to [email protected]

missyling

val, yeap plus the am highlight it be 1588. just called them and will be visiting them tis week. Save 1k+ lo... which we find quite worth it... and from their website can see that their VG is very experience in guiding the guests and jiemeis etc...

Dear Jean, melb, psy, Ling, gaw, Valerie, lydia, charmaine and all 2010 Brides and Grooms to be.

We have just revamped our website for updated wedding photos and also you will find wedding tips and information which might be helpful to you when doing your wedding preparations.

Example like :

* Wedding Mistakes To Avoid
* How to look Good In Your Wedding day photos
* Wedding day emergency kit to prepara
* Wedding Speeches

Hope it will help you guide through the steps with tips and different ideas to make your wedding unique.

Do visit our new website at www.secretheaven.com.sg for more information

Warmest regards,

S.K
Sales Coordinator
Secret Heaven
Homepage: www.secretheaven.com.sg

vala

melb: You got a mail!!!!!

Ling: Ya i find that their package is quite worth it too. Saw their work as well which i find it not bad.

missyling

gaw: fullerton food isn't very impressive as well. I attended a few times dinner there... seriously won't want to WEI QU myself to fit into their requirement since i be the one paying for the stuffs etc.

Sk, thanks for sharing. Saw ur website but abit confusing.. the wordings are so small.. sorry ar.. aunty got flower eyes liao la..

jigglez

gaw: What about Pan Pacific? Seems good...I wanted it too but my date is taken up le..

Anyone got any recommended furniture shop? hmm..I am sourcing for my furniture now and oh man..i don't know the market rate at all and don't know what is a good deal or not.

gaw

melb: VERY NICE! IF i really sign up for it. will view this thursday..can you send me your contract with them pls?? who is your coordinator pls?

Ling: yeah, they very tao right....

Jean: pan pac i think too big. if i get four seasons, may trim down on the 300 pax..i haven't considered the three there yet - pp, mm, oriental...

missyling

gaw, yeap tao and not very affordable lo. i would said food is just normal. Is like just paying for the name of the hotel.

melb

Val: tks..

gaw: there is only 2 ballrooms in four seasons. since i've took up the main one that can hold about 300pax on the 29 May. the other ballroom will be crescent which is much smaller and can only hold about 150pax if im correct.How many guests do u have? my co-ordinator is mr ho and the prices there are all fixed no discount watsoever.

gaw

melb/jean: so far we have 300 but really can +/- say 25/35 range... we might just do lunch so can still fill the 30-32 in the main ballroom. see how it goes.. tonight...

time is ticking super fast on this page!

mooncloud

hi gals... been busy so not been so active on the thread recently. How's everyone? anyway... g aw.. considered goodwood park? my fren had hers there... i thought not too bad... but personal preference. Some pple complain the suite old.. but i like the grand grand old english feel lah.. haha.. but yup.. time ticking very fast.. coz well.. may got a lot of hot dates.. so got to be fast

missyling

Hi val.
i booked with simon today
thanks for sharing the good lobang. Too bad he taken up urs package but i believed he will find me someone as experience and as good as him.

vala

Hi Ling, so far all of my frens din manage to book him, but his other photographers and videographers are quite good too. So no need to worry. Did you told him I recommended you there?

missyling

val: yeap i told him that i was recommended by you
so he checked and said he was booked and i told him yeap i know who booked him.

melb

gaw: how did it go? did u sign up with them?

val/ling: i've signed up with secret heaven (pg & VG)today. tks for the previous recommendation. my partner n i were very comfortable with the chief PG and sales co-ordinator at secret heaven. thumbs up to their patient and attentive and accommodating service...

kitty_chua99

Hi All.
Due to increase in table size,

I have a banquet package with Holiday day Inn Park View Banquet package urgently to let go.

Crystal Ballroom for 23 May 2010, Sun dinner . Minimum 25 table Maximum 40 table.

Deposit placed was at $2.5K. Willing to let go at a neg. price.

Pls email [email protected] or contact kitty @ 91063051 for perks and package detail.