(2010/05) May 2010 BTB

missysee

moon> I have to do housework at home.. so will be washing it by myself loh.. am worried abt the itch by new bedsheet.. In that case i'll just leave it new bah..

I was told to return the phoenix candles(for teochew). I saw in the 9pm Channel 8 show, it also depends on the person's dialect group. Some return a pair of dragon+phoenix instead..

on AD, the Mei Po will bring a basket of oranges over (duno how many). If no Mei Po then any XD will do. If u are cantonese and requested for roost pig, then need the piggy to come along... That's all I think, subject to dialect group again..

mooncloud

the ladies ought to keep the dragon candles and return the phoenix ones. So eventually, the dragon candles in the bride's house and phoenix candles in the groom's house. At least tat is wat i think we are going to do...

AD i still dunno what the groom has to bring.. waiting for my MIL to say. All i noe is i haf to give red packet to my parents when i go home..

moonsafarian

Missysee > if u worry about yr sensitive skin, how about washing the bedlinen before your GDL?

Christie > Oh the teochew auntie at the store told us to return a pair of Phoenix candles too.

the Channel 8 show's really interesting. i seldom watch TV, but i try not to miss this show.

renerene

evelyn > We are using Pachebel's Canon in D for our Solemnization too.

Cat > Your reno schedule alone sounds Super stressful, let alone the wedding planning on top of that. Why not just make do with bare minimum for the time being and concentrate on wedding first?

missysee > It never occur to me to wash the bedlinen before An Chuang. It was inculcated in me since young that anything that is washed is not new anymore (Many people would dispute that tho). Maybe lay your old blanket on the side of the bed that you're gonna sleep on to minimise contact with the new bedlinen?

My updates: we just had our parents meeting session and met with the hotel coordinator to discuss the details over the weekend. Glad that all went well. It was also decided that we will have our GDL this coming Sunday! Htb prefers to have it earlier so that we have more time for other stuff. I find it a bit rush tho cos we still have dance rehearsal on that day & I've to prepare for a birthday celebration which is to follow after the rehearsal. So I'm targeting the GDL to end around noon.

^moon^ > Like missysee mentioned, it depends on your htb's dialect group. For us, we are supposed to return 1 dragon + 1 phoenix. But you know what? We bought those with both dragon & phoenix in 1 candle... so no need differentiate :p

placid_mind

Missysee>> Put the 大缘/å°ç¼˜ on the heels?? Hmm.. this is first time i heard of... suppose to give us more good 缘 throughout the day. Hmm.. if really need to put on heels, take each little coin and use super glue To stick on the surface of the heels? For guys easy, just throw in a few into the shoe..
Actually, I intend to sew some of the coins at the WG, EG and Kwa… So I am wearing them..

Weekends, I open all the red paper and took out the little coins, put in all drawers, then use a wrapping paper place on top to cover. For wadrobe, I put some of them inside the gold little bags the shop broight from one, and hang like refresher like that... but its good to get more of it, put more it okay, just that its not cheap...

amanda1982

afternoon ladies...

so fast, MAY is here... few of my colleagues and boss just "reminded" me again. i still have my seating arrangement not yet do, my FIL's guest lists keep changing, still subject to changes!! like u all say, dun know is our wedding or whose wedding. i still have not confirm a date for my AV testing with hotel, next sat will be GDL. dun know still have wat to do.

moon> i believe u are refering to the 9pm tv drama. u can catch them again on xinMSN video. for my AD, my mum requested for 8 oranges and 2 AB - 1 is for the roasted pig (i am in the cantonese dialect) and another, no sure is for wat purpose.

icejade

hey ladies, do u all know where to get cheap hard liquor and consignment wines?
Jia you everyone! I'm working very hard now to compensate my slacking time for the past few mths

missysee

Irene> oic... then i'd better not wash to keep them new le.. thanks!

placid> ya, one of my JM was sharing with me need to 'step' on 大缘/å°ç¼˜.. when i asked mum, she also nod her head.. argh.. mum never tell me anything beforehand wor.. and u know what? I also asked her abt the jewellery box and she also say must have.. She's only telling me things after i asked her.. so me getting gan chiong now...

can ask u more abt the 缘s? So do we wear both 大缘&å°ç¼˜ or either one of them will do since there are 4 in a packet..I am intending to keep the 缘s in their original red papers, then whole paper packet inside a sealed plastic sheet to keep "fresh" before putting at the 4 corners of the bed & wardrobe heee...

moonsafarian

Irene > that's a smart idea, to get candles with both the dragon & the phoenix.

Missysee > according to the limited knowledge i have, hehe, the 大缘&å°ç¼˜ signify marriage bliss for the couple. I was advised by the storekeeper to sew a pair into each of my gowns. For HTB he'll keep a pair in each of his suit jacket. I'll also sew a heart shaped button onto the sleeves of each of his shirt, "wear my heart on his sleeve" hehehe! I think the storekeeper also mentioned about putting a pair of 大缘&å°ç¼˜ into our shoes. Mine are open-toed heels leh, kinda hard to keep the paper coins in them i think. I dun think i wanna glue them on too. We'll just improvise along the way, since i feel there's no hard & fast rule about following customs.

Amanda > yup, i just caught up with the past few episodes i missed on that website!

sotongada

Jadey, Airport DFS is cheap...But 1 pax can only get 1 bottle..u have to see who is going oversea or coming back to help u to get...

1415861.jpg

Coming up next..

8th May
- Quido

15th May
- Yayun
- NaNa
- Evelyn

16th May
- Sir Lex

17th May
- ^moon^

22nd May
- Amanda
- hyacinth

23rd May
- Jean
- Iris
- PSY

29th May
- Ling
- Melb
- soul slayer
- christie
- Valeria
- Jadey
- esmirada
- Felecia
- missysee
- placid_mind
- Iris
- Cat

30th May
- yunbabe
- koselover
- gumdrops
- irene

moonsafarian

Speaking of liquor, what are the types u gals prepared for your wedding? My HTB got 2 bottles of Cordon Bleu & he insists they are enough but I'd prefer to standby a couple of bottles more. I was thinking if I should get Chivas Regal, but don't know if this whisky goes well with standard mixers like coke and tonic water, or would brandy be a safer choice.

missyling

put in shoes? haha i wasn't told to do so lo.. and i not intending to do all these. am super DL with everythings alrdy... i was told to put it in mil pl as well... in my heart i was tinking.. GOT use meh...

missysee

I know nuts abt liquor.. so i peep what my dad has on his shelf and bot similar ones.. should be uncles' fav bah. mine VSOP martell. I can't use DFS alcohol for my hotel, so bot over from other couples' leftover. Good condition and cheap!

moonsafarian

What's DL, ling? So how, your MIL's gown can be changed?

missysee > I think i have a bottle of VSOP also. I only know it's martell brandy. My aunt gave it to me. Ya, brandy is more popular with uncles hehehe! but my wedding don't have many uncles who drink. Was thinking if shd get chivas.. Is it around $65/bottle?

missyling

moon, oppz... a very bad word... Du LxN ( -_-")

cannot change cost alrdy sent in for alter... sigh wordless... i told hb i am sick and tired of all the nonsense.. xxs eh.. ask me to give who wear... if she dun wan wear den i oso dun care le... i done wat i can.. wat else they want us to do? seriously i no longer know how to please her..

missysee

moon> smart girl! yes $65/btl. I presume my hard liquor are for uncle level coz seldom see frens drink hard liquor..and I try not to have different liquor in case they got confused with the taste when refilling? :p hmm... how abt u test one of your guest what he/she likes.. then work from there to do the purchase?

Ling> just forget abt MIL bah... What's more impt is U & ur mum mei mei for the day. If MIL doesn't bother just let her be... U are the one getting married not her. dun let her catch ur limelight. If she wants to do other shopping, let her do it herself..

moonsafarian

Ling > ooooooh, haha, nvm, we all have our bad days~ *sayang sayang* dun DL le ok? Try yr best to maintain a good mood. Even if the size fits someone else, the design may not be suitable. Try to sell it off after yr AD perhaps.

Very pleased with HTB recently. All the work assigned to him have been carried out smoothly without reminders. Told him i'll reward him with a nice meal (like how i'll "bribe" my kids with stickers & treats) :p

My general to-do list till 17May:
1) finalise AD schedule and book timing with PG/VG/MUAs
2) plan seating arrangements
3) meet up with hotel co-ordd to finalise details
4) write out & practise wedding vows
5) write out 'thank you' speech
6) source for emcees' speeches

placid_mind

missysee>> I think the little coins wrapped in the red paper cos the vendor wanna sell 4 in one pack for the 大缘& 6 for å°ç¼˜.
I intend to sew at least a pair in my gowns... Hmm... i guess the more I sew the more 缘 ba.. so sew more is ok...
there is a little hole in the coin, I think can tie over the heel straps too... must try, so not need to use glue to spoilt the heels...
probably I go try tonight if tie instead.. ok
talk to u again... knocking off... Yeah... Monday over!!!!

missyling

missysee, moon
if don't bother abt her then i be dead meat... everythings we oso had to put our legs in..fingers pointing @ us. If ask her to go and buy herself, will see her wearing t shirt and a pant in the end.. dunno wat to say..

hb asked me to tink.. and i complaint.. no wondered they are mother and sons.. all hard to please. a family of problematic people.

missyling

am having free flow of beer from my rest. Will be asking them to standby additional 24 bottles of red wine & 6 cfm ones. Plus roughly 8 bottle of hard liquor ( fil frds want to drink -_-")

sotongada

am having free flow of hard liquor, beer,tea and soft drinks from my rest too...

im getting my mc to creat their own speech so i have no worries as both of them are teachers..hehe ^^ ( my ex-col so i 100% trust them) then hb and i siam for the thank you speech as we are not those 'talking' type therefore immediately after 2nd march in,we will head for yam seng...i had posted my latest schedule in fb...

soul_slayer

I'm back! Today went for facial with my mum...relaxing..then we had a slow meal at Sushi Tei..ate and chit chat for 2 hrs..(as tho' no need to prepare any wedding thingy like tt...) haha...

I totally din realised have to buy the same type of hard liquor...ok now tt u gals mentioned..I have to source for a few same one now..slip my mind!

^moon^ > Okies..I try to take photo of my earrings later...hehe...it's a butterfly shape diamond with detachable dangling diamonds...aiya..anyway I shldn't have bought it..a bit regret cos it's way above my budget..*sniff*...but well $ already spent..no use looking back...if change my mind just trade in 2 yrs later ba..since can trade in full value..haa...

As for the 大缘/å°ç¼˜, the shop keeper told me have to sew it under ur gown or sth...for blessings and also put under ur mattress...we din wanna buy it but she throw it in and I din realised it till we reached home n saw the receipt...additional few dollars for it..*pengz*..also she said have to put near the teapot or sth...really cannot rem..anyway it's for gd blessings la..haha..the more the merrier??

My GDL also this Sat! hehe..finally! I also have no idea what's gg to happen...my MIL will just come alone with my HTB..and tt's it I guess...

I finally settled my AD schedule and my seating arrangement...gg to start printing in office tomorrow...(use office's color printer..haha)..

Okies, nearer and nearer the date already!!! Have to relax and prep ourselves for AD..rem to drink more bird's nest for radiant complexion okies?

soul_slayer

^NaNa^ > ur story of the Zhu Ge Ge so funny! hahaha...I can just imagine all the elderly folks singing their hearts out...actually I think in M'sia..tt's how they celebrate weddings...*keke*...

I forgot to ask if you gals can actually sleep the night b4 ur AD...I might be too kan cheong to sleep man...

missyling

soul: no need the nite b4.. even now i am starting to lost my sleep alrdy. Am sure the night b4 and after the dinner, my mind will be busy running around to let me sleep.

moonsafarian

don't know if i'll be nervous, so far no nervous feeling, just wanna get things done.

my HTB & I are already looking forward to spend 2 full weekdays at the hotel! we were at the Esplanade on Saturday & saw a huge crowd at the new Sands IR. We'll probably visit the place the next day after our wedding & have tea at the hotel, shiok~ hehehe!

joey_cat

Ling: I hope your MIL incident can be resolve satisfactory soon...

Elders really difficult to please.... After my AD, I will have "round 2" in KL next day for 3 tables.. at the request of my mom for her direct siblings..

my mom just told me my KL uncle commented that cannot tell ppl we "摆酒", should only mention "åƒé¤", as only 3 tables, call "摆酒" will "笑死人"... I am totally speachless... I really cannot do what my other cousins did lor, 30 - 80 tables, whole family cum maid included lor.. my Singapore banquet all in is only less than 12 tables.. what they want me to do oh??? sigh..

the date is drawing closer... still tones of items to settle.. jia you jia you!!!!

missyling

seriously sometimes parent scold us for being no manner coz we are the younger generation but everytimes those eldery ar.. coz they tink they are elder and no one dare to talk back and die die must respect them, always burst out nonsense or things they shouldn't be talking @ all..

sigh..

joey_cat

SIGH... what to do?? Just keep the mouth shut, else just "invite" more arguments... the last thing we all want now is disagreement, arguments, fights and headache... by now we all know, we won't win by arguing with our parents or elders...

If keeping my mouth shut will bring more "peace".. I will jolly well zipe up my mouth all the way until and during the "笑死人"'s dinner....

missysee

Milktea.. me catching a glimpse of your wedding pic and know what? Your male Emcee is my hb's sec sch fren... haaa.. one of my invited guest too! what a small world..

missysee

Cat> I think it's a culture diff bah.. we also call it 摆酒 leh.. so dun take it to heart k? I can understand what u mean. Sometimes our parents are ok... until 3姑6婆 chip in their 'valuable feedback'! yucks..

placid_mind

missysee>> I asked my mum, and she suggested to use scotch tape to tape the coins underneath the heel where the curvature there... And I did it last night le.. i thought the more the merrier... my mum said a pair of one big one small yuan will do on each side of wedding shoe.

so when i get my gowns, I will also sew a pair only too.. To put in drawers, the teapot, the potty can put more, no need a pair of the yuans.

And this evening, I am doing it for my HTB wedding shoes as well... use scotch tape over.. 2/3 layers to secure will do. Then after wedding then take out, will not spolit the shoes too.

missyling

ytd i told HB abt the coins you gals talking about and he said DO lo... -_-" but for us who are wearing open toe one... then with straps here n there... where are we gg to paste the coin? he told me, under the heel sole lo -_-"

neuross

^moon^> thanks for your correction! we returned da phoenix candles, not dragon. hahaha... blur liao... My grandma say they wan a daughter-in-law, they light phoenix candles, we wan a son-in-law, we light dragon candles.

neuross

Morning gals! Wow... so much to read & catch up :p

Went to hair salon with my mum yesterday. Now my hair is red & black instead of brown & gold as seen in my PS photos :p Wanna hv diff looks lah. Hope da red color will last till AD.

So damn glad GDL is over. Now so looking forward to my Hen's Nite this Friday. My jiemei hv specially organize for me. Everything has been planned secretly, so i dunno wot's da program. So exciting! Sure going to sabo me but nvm lah. Once in a lifetime nia. Go enjoy lor. hehehe...

Woke up this morning with a shock cos I juz realised my wedding is next Saturday. Still tot got 2 more wks to go. OMG! Really getting nervous now.

missysee

Placid> thanks for sharing. I was visualising how paste them btw the sole and shoe. Alas! so it's below the heels! Thanks so much. Then I'll also sew some on my gowns (didnt know that!) I must remind myself to remove the coins from the gowns else will give my 缘 to BS.

Forgot to mention, there's a new GDL shop at AMK Jubilee.. Sun I went in to buy more 缘 and they also tell me to step on a real coin (eg 10ct) on one foot, and the other is 缘. It's not both shoe... It was a guy attending and they also cannot answer my questions how to paste on the shoe.. haa..

amanda1982

morning everyone..

everyone's date is getting closer and closer. i had pray to God this morning for good weather for the next few weekends.

my GDL is also in 2 weeks time. so packed with things. still need to do alot of things.

Pending items
1) Table seating arrangement
2) AV testing in hotel
3) GDL
4) Prepare ABs for AD
5) Pack my room and bring some stuff to hubby side
6) finalise AD schedule and timing with PG/VG/MUAs

so far tat is all tat i can think of. i dun know wat have i left out.

moonsafarian

Missysee > Oooh thanks for sharing abt the store, babe. At least I don't have to go to Chinatown to stock up on wall stickers. The stepping on a coin part reminds me of the western tradition," something new, something old, ..... and a sixpence in her shoe." Hehe! Frankly I'm surprised there are people who know of this practice and follow it. Did the storekeeper mention what's the significance?

I'm wishing there's NO MORE tasks to complete for the last week before my AD, but think it's not possible, at the rate i'm moving heehe!

moonsafarian

Joey > Don't you wish you can tell your uncle off, "it's my wedding, i'm the host, i can call it whatever i like!" hehe!

Placid > You are indeed very "goot lak" in sewing all the destiny charms! For me, I'll get my mom to help me sew them into my gowns & my HTB's outfits. Will I remember to remove them, esp those that need to be returned to the BS??? Paste on the shoes ah, if I'm "goot lak" enough i'll do it, else I'll just skip that. Too much on my mind now le.

Nana > I'm 2 days after yours. Maybe we should pace each other, check what else has not been done yet? Last night, we were finalising our seating plan & writing our wedding vows. Quite a few tables of 9, but no choice la~

missysee

moon> The store is like Tay Ping Hui's store in the show.. hee... If u already know what u want, u can try going to the store that sells many household products, next to the big S11 and ask...They are also very familar with the customs. The same bowl set cost $28 at new store and only $15 at that household shop. But things not as fanciful as the new shop. TMD... I only found out these shops recently.

moonsafarian

Missysee > my FMIL told us there's a store in AMK central selling customary items. We thought it was the old store just beside S11, selling household stuff, as it sells some customary stuff too. I think my FMIL meant that store u told us. That HTB of mine also didn't ask properly where the store is or the block number. I'll be dropping by this week!

smilydia

Aftrnoon everyone! My wedding is over. So thankful that the weather was good on the day.

I read ur threads. Actually the da yuan\xiao yuan no need wear in the heels. U can jus put a few under the mattress during an chuang. Then a pair on the same plate with the teapot during the tea ceremony. And make sure u wear ur shoe the whole day, dun take them out when u step into the house. If really feels tired, u can take them out in the masterbedroom when u rest.

My wedding had been smooth.. Cd rom work out well, solemnizer was humerous, alot of gd comments fr him. We had a very unique solemnization, with military march in in the former parliament house. Glad that our guests like the ambience. As fr the food, it's an international buffet. Comments fr guests was so so only, which made this turned out to b the worst part of the nite..

As we r holding in the arts house, basically all the things we need to source on our own - rental of venue, Food caterer, wedding deco, favors, invites, wines, carpark concession etc. It was a great experience dealing with each of the vendors, some nice ppl, some money suckers, some so-so attitude.

Well I mus say it's a once in a lifetime event, and I had a great time planing fr it despite all the stress n issues which cocks up the last min. When u see the results, u will b relief that u actually did a gd job. Nothing is perfect, jus put in ur best

will post my AD wedding pics in the maybrides fb soon. looking fw to see urs too!

soul_slayer

Indeed getting excited..haha..did anyone decorate the guestbook? I brought it back early to decorate..but I din do anything till now..tsk...maybe return it back to hotel as it was originally..haha..

Oh ya..I have to do the placards for the "Groom" & "Bride" too...ok gotta do it soon...really many things still undone..

Hopefully all can be settled in 2 wks time...

Btw I walked past tt AMK stall 1 mth ago! haha...but I think the items inside shld be more exp than Chinatown right? (since the location better, rental shld be more exp too)..haa..

placid_mind

^moon^>> haha... me not "goot lak" la, me lazy one... just that trying to find out why certain things are done, and if they are good, I will just follow... No harm doing more if others say its good and we know why...

Missysee>> i see, not on both shoes ar?? hee... Probably can use 1 dollar coin?? cos got the "ba gua" shape inside.

missysee

moon> yes yes, it's the same store ur FMIL mentioned. Their choices for wedding stuff selections are limited but I find theirs reasonably priced for tea sets, bowls, bb bathtub etc.

Placid> they say got meaning.. But now I simply can't recall what he said liao.. then he suggested a 10ct coin loh.. Maybe I'll ask again if I pass by that shop.

missyling

really bth my frds... adults dun behave like adults.. ask who is gg ask who is siting with who.. then cfm alrdy now said cannot make it ... all sort of reasons like.. dun like the person, dunno the rest, last min. got work to do...

argh!

moonsafarian

Lydia > glad to read that u've enjoyed yr wedding! don't fret abt the comments abt the food. one can never please all. so long the bride & groom are happy~

Soul > i'm supposed to decorate the guestbook i ordered too. too busy so pushed it to HTB to do, erm cannot complain abt the outcome la, at least he did a bit of deco on the first page.

neuross

Lydia> Congrats that u hv 'graduate' from this thread! Glad to know everything went smoothly on AD. Now it's our turn ~ *nervous*

^moon^> i dunno wot else to do now except sit around & countdown to AD. All my wedding stuff, wedding vows, thank you speech, table arrangements all done liao. Only appt is Hen's Nite this Friday. Wkend go facial, next wk go dentist, do mani/pedi, waxing...etc hurhurhur...

ecstasy42

haha im one of the many 29th May brides.. can u all believe its MAY ALREADY??

on my side, just to share, my in-laws are all sweet and wonderful. the trouble maker is my own mother, insisting for money to be given to her, yet want to make all the decisions. damn sian. luckily hubby and in laws are all q understanding

I find myself often joking with hubby that good thing we already done our ROM last year. if worst case scenario, forget about AD and fly off for our honeymoon

have u all booked ur honeymoon tickts? June Period... q hard to gget good prices