(2010/05) May 2010 BTB

joey_cat

Yalor.. I think as time are drawing closer, I FINALLY feel the stress.. So much to be done and yet no time for myself. For me, I work "double shift" everyday... after work, always need to take care of this and that. I can't remember which wkdays night I don need to run the wedding/ hse related errands.. yet, so much to be done.. Montage photo not selected, sitting arrangement not even thinking yet, AD schedule.... transport arrangement on ADs, banquet for the night before....etc etc.. and somemore nxt mth need to busy with house moving, furniture hunting.. (only got a bed and a fridge so far...). I doubt I can SQUEEZE in time to even colour my white hairs...

I also wish this could be over soon.. though I enjoy the process, but the ppl management skill is really a challenge for me, think for most of us here as well...

renerene

Cat > Great to learn that everything went smoothly for you. As I was reading your posts, I have the image of you threading very carefully in the mine field and emerging out of it in safety! I think you've done exceptionally well! :D *pat on the back*

By the way, I received the bridal shawl wrap on Friday! Very surprised to get it so soon cos I was expecting it to take another 1 month or so.

Met our wedding planner over the weekend to be advised of the traditional aspects and was given a long, long list of stuff to buy for GDL. Discussed the list with both mothers, all agreed that the list was too cumbersome and wish to replace most of the stuff with ABs. To avoid any misunderstanding, my mom suggested a meet-up to discuss in-person over meal. Very glad that this was brought up as our parents missed the opportunity to meet since we couldn't go ahead with the food-tasting session last time, and now both sides seem enthusiastic about it. Hope everything goes smoothly & amicably on that day! *crossed fingers*

When I was at htb's house on Sat night, the topic that htb's wardrobe is too small for the both of us popped up. So htb's brother suggested exchanging wardrobes cos his is bigger. Immediately, the whole family got busy and started moving the furniture. Was kinda surprised by their spontaneity. Actually all along, I was somehow not as excited as people expect a bride should be about her wedding, but suddenly got a little feel of that mood amidst the bustle... Really appreciative that the family undertook those troubles to accommodate me into their home, made me feel so welcome. :~)

Jiayou all!! Though the going may be tough now, it's "once in a lifetime" thingie, everything's gonna be over real soon. Chin up ladies!

neuross

^moon^> my AD schedule done long time ago liao. I m stressing over da seating arrangements. Hv to keep chasing pple to RSVP. When my list finally completed liao, I hv to start chasing my HTB, parents & in-laws for their seating plans. zzz... everybody dilly dally then MIL keep on wanting to add table. My face damn black lor. I ask my HTB, our wedding or her wedding? Invite so many of her frens & neighbours for wot? I wanna hv some time to mingle with close frens & colleagues after dinner to play silly games & chat leh. I dun wanna waste time going around soooooo many tables taking photo with pple i dun even know, even my HTB oso dunno some of da neighbours! Last Sun, MIL told my HTB no choice, hv to open up all da spare tables, my jaws dropped. Then later say joking only. NOT FUNNY LOR! I damn stress liao.

Me & my HTB guest list settled liao. We gave my dad 8 tables. He go settle himself how he wanna place our relatives. Now oni waiting for my MIL to give us her list. I told my HTB die die by this Fri need da list cos da restaurant need confirmation liao.

neuross

1 & 2 May got NATAS Fair. I tot 1yr oni hv 2x NATAS fair, once in March & once in August. Since May got NATAS fair... i wonder end of da yr still got or not. I wanna go winter holiday leh!

moonsafarian

Nana > my HTB told that the NATAS event u mentioned is for the summer hols. For my year-end HM, was thinking to book in Aug/Sep. Dun have time to do any research for the trip till after the wedding.

Where do u plan to go for winter?

neuross

^moon^ : Dunno yet leh... everywhere oso wanna go. Either Europe or Hokkaido but gotta see wot's da best deal lah. If yr end got another NATAS fair then good.

neuross

eh i ask u all hor... during reception, we play our PS photo slideshow mah. Wot kinda music do u all play during reception?

moonsafarian

I was thinking of Europe too. HTB seldom can go away from work for so many days, HM is the best time to go far, far away! Plus a pretty good exchange rate for the Euro dollar recently.

For reception, usually the venue has a list of songs, unless you wanna prepare your own. Was thinking either the spa music cds I have or the collection of Chinese oldies in instrumental. I love both types of music.

Do people nowadays still prepare music for first dish presentation? I just confirmed my music selection.

quido

Wahaha .. guess like most of us can't wait for all these to be over. Not becos of the anxiety of our big day but more of getting over all these problems that we are facing !
Stay focus! Get over and done with !!

amanda1982

for me, i jus play wat the hotel can provide me with, mainly i think classic musical, if have jazz will be best.

i still have my seating arrangement to be headache abt. my hubby's working colleagues most of them cannot make it cos they are involve in work on our wedding day *faint*... i m hoping tat we will have enough tables to cover for the minimum. *praying* *praying*... really have no mood for anything!

soul_slayer

Ya! My MIL lagi best..at first say want 3 tables (cos she has very little relatives...) then later became 4..ok we can still accomodate 1 extra then JUST NOW said back to 3?? Wat’s this? Yoyo? I keep changing the tables arrangement till I give up le..we will do it like 2 wks b4!!!

So happen my AD on a long holiday break too..I ‘budgeted’ for 2 tables of colleagues ...became 5 pple can make it only..most of the M’sians gg back to M’sia...and most of the family pple travelling too...luckily I can up my relatives side..and my dad invited his colleagues too...

Headache..now the weird weird thing is we have 2 extra pple! Terrible..how am I gg to fit them???? 20 tables + 2!!! Omg...

soul_slayer

1st May
Lydia - The Art House / Bliss Bridal / Clementi West

2nd May
milktea20 - Hotel Intercon / Seletar B'way / ??

8th May
Quido - Peony Jade (KC) / The Aisle / Buangkok

15th May
Yayun - Hilltop @ Bukit Batok / Graceful Creation BS / Clementi
NaNa - Fu Lin Men @ JCC / My Bridal Room / Bukit Panjang
Evelyn - Orchard Hotel / Precious Moment / Bedok

16th May
Sir Lex - M Hotel / Bliss Bridal / Fernvale Palms

17th May
^moon^ - Grand Hyatt / Seletar B'way / Punggol Residences

22nd May
Amanda - Holiday Inn Parkview / White Link / Woodlands
hyacinth - Pan Pacific / White Link / Bukit Panjang

23rd May
Jean - Grand Park City Hall/ My Dream Wedding / Serangoon
Iris - Marriott / DIY in Vietnam / Yio Chu Kang
PSY - Orchid Country Club / Di Gio / TBD

29th May
Ling - Peony Jade (CQ) / GHA Marina / Jurong West
Melb - Four Seasons / Sattine / Buangkok
soul slayer - Hilton / Dawn's Wedding / Clementi West
christie - Tang court @ RELC / Bridal Concept / Bukit Panjang
Valeria - Swissotel (Fairmont) / Yvonne Creative / Treelodge @ Punggol
Jadey - Amara hotel / My Bridal Room / Buangkok
esmirada - ACM / Margaret Brides / The Pinnacle
Felecia - Sheraton Towers / DiGio Bridal / Punggol Vista
missysee - Hilton / French Bridal / Bt Batok
placid_mind - Regent Hotel / French Bridal / Hillview
Iris - Hilltop/Yvnnoe Creative/Bukit batok
Cat - Four Season Hotel/ DiGio/ Jurong East

30th May
yunbabe - M Hotel / La Veil / Pasir Ris
koselover - TBD / White Link / TBD
gumdrops - Grand Copthorne Waterfront/ Amanda Lee/ ?
irene - Grand Copthorne Waterfront / Bridal Closet / AM

soul_slayer

I rem someone was asking for the updated list..I pasted this from FB...last updated by missysee...hehe...so we can cheer on whoever wedding is coming soon!!!

soul_slayer

Cat > As time is running short, I suggest you do the more impt things first...those stuff like furniture etc u can buy again after ur AD..sure ur guests wld understand too..:D No pt rushing urself and end up falling sick..have to stay healthy during this period...

^moon^ > me no time plan HM too...only juggling wedding prep and work and already no time...those stuff which u research on FB I only did 1/4 of urs...hopeless...>_<

evelyn_t

Hihi...time fly past v.v.fast now..hee...coming to may le!!!

Lets see...any 1 knows Lydia? Seem like she'll b e 1st one wedding this SAT!! haa...congrats!!!

my GDL will be this sat too!!.. hope everything will b fine...

ask u all huh...during GDL hor..ur HTB just bring things here then bring things back is it?? do u need to go back together with him??

Soul: For me we have some tables of 11pax to accomodate e extra or vegetarian...

i have also done up my AD schedule...do u know how to share it in FB? heee....

Now still cannot confirm on songs list heee...wat songs u all playing?? Do we realli need the original cds?

Jiayou all BTB ... :p

sotongada

OMG..i just noticed..we are ENTERING MAY LE..JUST NEXT WEEK....arggghhhh heellllpppp....
evenlyn, saw ur post make me nervous..

kaori80

evelyn,
no need to follow back for my case...

nana,
year end still got the fair..only this year is special...this is wat the agency tell me when i sign the package in march

psying

SOul slayer, thxs for the list!! it will be good for us to keep trace..
and so milk tea and lydia, this week mus relax and be a pretty bride..dont stress dont stress! everything will be fine!

i guess seating arrangement always got problem last min..pple cant come den need rearrange and rearrange...phew..

let just do what we can yea!!! soon , it will be less than a month for all of us le!!

evelyn, hmm i got no idea how to share the schedule in fb wor..only know how to upload photos..

for gdl, i heard is the girl stay at home, wai hubby come le den when he go off, u stay home...but i think i will jus follow him back ba...

shouldnt be a problem hor??

yup soul slayer, u can try ask yr hotel can add in one more pple per table ma..only 2 more pple i think they can..some hotel do charge but some dont..give it a try..

amanda, minus that cancel wedding thought! no matter how tough u walk, planned and went through so much till this stage le...must go throught it happily..

for my PS, i jus play some chinese and some english songs..

neuross

Morning gals!

Good news for me! My HTB's grandfather juz added another 3 tables to our list &amp; now we dun hv any spare tables anymore cos we reached max capacity already! I totally gave up! I dun care liao. Dat day got anymore extra pple coming, go sit on da floor &amp; be siah suay! I fcuking wish to cancel da wedding. 9 tables of non-relatives. WTF manz! Our wedding or their wedding???

missyling

Nana, *hugz* congrat congrats!! haha siao liao
i know how u felt caused i am gg thru tat as well
nw i dun wan bother le... i juz wan to get over it and get the moment with my family and friends.. i will just treat them like "watermelon head" sitting down there.

neuross

exactly! i told my HTB nvm, everybody say they BO BIANZ, they hv their difficulties, cannot reject pple if they wanna bring whole family, put myself in their shoes. Then who fcuking put themselves in MY SHOES??!!! long time ago i saw a bride face damn chow during her wedding &amp; i wonder why then i look at da crowd, mostly aunties &amp; uncles. 1 look can tell all family's friends or neighbours. Now I know how it feels cos i think of it taking photos with 9 tables of pple me &amp; HTB dunno, i cannot smile!

amanda1982

morning ladies...

i on the other hand trying to squeeze my hubby to ask anymore of his frens can make it. lucky got 2 more. i am still thinking if enough anot to reach the min.

renerene

Wah, time really flies! From this week onwards, we can start counting down by using the list that sOuL sLaYeR posted liao... So scary! Am I the only one who doesn't wish everything to come and go so quickly? I still wanna savour my last moments of my singlehood! Still feel sad about moving out from my home... Well, not exactly sad lah but rather, a little 感伤 whenever the thought strikes. Argh, gotta stop myself from thinking.

evelyn > We should be using the songs provided by the hotel for background music and own selection from original CDs for solemnization, march-in and montage.

As for GDL, I didn't think of that until you mentioned. I think, like PSY, I will follow him back ba. There'll be more activities at his place, I wanna kpo... hehe!

moonsafarian

My GDL is gonna be so boring. Both of us &amp; my mom did all the shopping and preparation and all the items are at my place. He'll just cart them off to his place the night before and lug them back again on that morning, hehe! Gosh, haven't finished buying some stuff.

We didn't think it was necessary to invite any relatives and he's coming with only his elder sis. It's Mother's Day so probably go out with my family for lunch right after.

*YAWN*

missyling

I haven't decided if i want follow HB back during GDL anot.. maybe not caused i want to follow my parent go to sent the cake.. our side is more happening.

Waiting for BS to give us back the softcopy as that we can make the canvas Zhuang Tuo Zhao. This weekend gg to bs to select the hand bouquet etc and finalised some details.

soul_slayer

Evelyn &amp; PSY > need to check...when you say the hotel allows 11 in that table at no extra charge meaning? For eg if I have 11 pax in 1 table, I just have to pay for 1 more pax right? so extra charge = 1 table $/10? Right? Cos cannot be tt person eat for free? Cos some dishes cannot share like shark’s fin soup? Haha...

NaNa > *faints*...understand how u feel...I was kinda telling my colleagues tt both my grandparents and HTB’s grandparents passed away so a bit sad they cldn’t attend..but after reading ur posts..I think somehow better to have lesser old folks...(not tt I’m cursing anyone)..but the more senior pple u have sometimes more problematic I feel...as my dad is considered oldest in the current generation...he only has to personally give cards to 3 other elderly folks...cannot imagine if have to personally hand out invites to so many pple...>_<

sotongada

im not following my hb back after GDL..he goes his way, i go my way..hahaha...

On the way to march into MAY 2010..Ladies, let's count down together... :S

neuross

i always tot GDL is a small event where 2 families exchange gifts, that's it. Wah! My dad invited relatives to my place for buffet, they wanna come over 凑热闹 -_-" My HTB &amp; i hear liao wanna faint. Became such a big event liddat. My mum say chin cai lah... my dad wanna do wot juz let him be, nothing i can do abt it liao. Relatives come oso gd lah, can collect cake &amp; invitation card on da spot. zzzz.....

Then my MIL ask me follow my HTB to his grandparent's place after GDL to pay respect to ancestors then go back his place to unpack my stuff.

moonsafarian

Nana > wish i have a GDL where it's more like a family event, not just 4 or 5 of us. Kinda quiet and boring, don't seem much like a GDL. A crowd all there to celebrate your wedding will excite u, hope u'll look forward to it!

Does the groom's side usually have any events happening during GDL? Like relatives gathering, etc.? Hmmm nothing will be going on at my HTB's home. He has finished distributing and mailing the cards &amp; cakes too.

Finally finished my photo montages and music selection. On to the AD schedule which should be pretty simple.

missyling

Nana: i am olso having a mini buffet @ my place. Few relatives will be coming. Not sure if its the trend for hakka ( the more the merrier) coz my cousins time.. they will cooked a feast man.. everyone went for lunch but i dun wan that. I told my dad to keep it small. So we catered to a mini buffet for the day since its only 1 week away from the AD.

amanda1982

my GDL think will be the most simple of all. no special ppl come over to my place. only my mum will be around, the most my dad is in plus my naughty dog. haha...

amanda1982

PSY> thanks ger. i keep forgetting to reply to u. i "look open liao"... just do wat i can do. just hope it come quickly and go quickly.

moonsafarian

Amanda > hv u planned anything for the day of yr GDL? So is it just yr HTB comes over with the items &amp; that's it? Any customary rites to perform? We dun hv an ancestral altar or gods to pray to, wonder since both of us will be having a lagi simple GDL, what else is there to do?

Ling > hong kong? I've been there several times, quite ok for sightseeing. The Peak, Repulse Bay, the musuems, Ocean Park, Stanley Mkt, Flower Mkt, Ladies Mkt, Temple St, etc. Like the cool weather the most haha!

neuross

^moon^ : Can we exchange? I rather hv simple GDL. Exchange gifts then chop chop curry pok leave home. My dad like to make until very 夸张 liddat. None of my cousin's wedding liddat. All very simple. -_-" Nothing happening on my HTB's side too. They like to keep things simple. In-laws only asked us to go over to grandparent's place to pay respect &amp; pray to ancestor before going HTB's place to unpack stuff.

missyling

moon, haha yeap been hearing about all the places there and thinking to go for a short one since TW is out when everyone said typhoon season -_-" got to delay so might go to HK in june.

sotongada

My GDL also simple...morning hb will bring the things over with his bro, then he return back with the things my mum return back..then my mum,sis n myself will go and distribute the cakes, cans of trotters and invitation card...simple and fast...if not tiring leh...

Nana, im actually also..things seems to be coming on the way now...

kaori80

check with you all,on AD the groom have to give ang bao to the bride's parent..so does the bride need to give to the groom's parent?

missyling

my sis DID it again..

1st i rejected her said i am not gg to invite her frds to my dinner when she insisted she MUST... excuse me!

NOW she said wan to invite them to the AD buffet!!! simple dunno WHY she must involved her frds when i dun even noe WHO are they!

Sorry... getting too tense and i can't rant IN fb.. so got to come here... *sick*

soul_slayer

so funny Ling...what has it got to do with ur sis? is she the bride???? tell her for her wedding she can invite the ur whole block of neighbours la...haha..

I only invited my sis's bf...tt's all....21 tables already seem a lot for me...ok now have to plan AD catering..work work work....

kaori80

ling relax...dun let it spoil ur mood...
tell her y must involve her frend where u dunnoe...

stay happy till ur AD ...
tmr will be better...SEIZE THE DAY!
JIA YOU

missyling

jane, sigh dunno wat is in her brain... always like that... happened on my ROM.. now history repeating... HB is nagging n nagging to me asking me to stop her from doing so.. it only she had EARS to listen...

i m going to hint to my dad abt her action this weekend and c wat he say... no more stenght to bother her alrdy...

lex, my younger sis

kaori80

ling if that case u can dun need to invite her frend at all!
cos she younger than u.if like tat next time u also call all ur frend attend hers! some more she must invite ur frend if u request cos you are her elder sister. but she cant do that 2 u.
cheer up lady... maybe ur dad can settle for u..then u no need headache.. jia you..
haiz i like rushing for thing to be done..i realli stress and scare now

evelyn_t

haaa i same situation as Nana..thought GDL is a simple day when HTB come n exchange gift n bring back nia..but then...my mum asking all relatives n frens to come nearby our hse there ...book ktv, book catering...my HTB side was "shock" when they heard abt this...haa...cos HTB 2nd bro tat time onli simple..bring over then just e mum was there to rx wearing home clothes haaa...making me feel my mum v.夸张..

my HTB side also like Nana like to keep things simple...Haiz....tats y e other time when my mum was asking for e tables....my FIL impression of my mum was those aunties who "yao mian zhi" de must invite all e neighbours, frens..etc alot of whom we dunno also ...haa...but i tried to tell my mum we want to keep it simple so we choose a ballroom with max 30tables...so cannot invite too many...then she go round telling her frens cannot invite both Husband n wife hor...onli can invite 1 cos not enough seats..faint....i even quarrel with her over this n she say loudly tat when my bro getting married, she want 30tables for her frens!! faint....haaa....

missyling

Evelyn, WOW ktv? luckily my mum can't sing lo... if not, i cannot imagine having karaoke on the day... *faint*

in the end of the day, is we kena arrows again... sianz.