(2010/05) May 2010 BTB

amanda1982

morning everyone. it's Friday today... lots of things happen on my weekend.

today - mayb go pick up my wines from Giant. i was so pissed yesterday cos they promised me that the wines i wan to exchange to will be there. make me travel all the way down and say dun have. but the manager in charge is kind enough to help me find them high and low at the store and shelves. finally agree on the refund after i keep insist on it. so the person who attend to me earlier, called me this morning to say that the wine is here and will leave them at the customer service counter.

Sat - need to meet my VG to see my montage. late afternoon, going for my hubby's cousin 21st birthday.

sun - food tasting for my church buffet. lucky is to be send to home. no need to rush here and there. haha...

so i guess this is a happy weekend for me. i hope so...

moonsafarian

So mad with my kid today i wanted to STRANGLE him! Pulled a sulky face when kena scolded. TSK TSK. Uggggh what a BRAT~

Ok on to happier things. Yeah, lotsa of events for me too this weekend. My gal pals are organising a foot spa & dinner gathering tmr evening, then we'll meet my HTB & his friends for a pre-wedding party! Sunday will be out with parents to select dads' jackets and tailor-make shirts, pants, etc. Then collect FMIL's gown and buy some jewellery.

moonsafarian

Ling > can u suggest any cake flavours besides the usual chocolate & vanilla? Something light & generally well received?

I'll love to go for double chocolate or nutella-vanilla but not everyone's a choco fan.

renerene

Cat > It depends on who is doing the invitation. The way you address your relatives is entirely different from the way your parents address them. Better check with your parents & in-laws how they want it to be.

If you are the one inviting:
爸爸的哥哥 -- 伯伯
爸爸的弟弟 -- å”å”
爸爸的å§å§ / 妹妹 -- 姑姑
妈妈的哥哥 / 弟弟 -- 舅舅
妈妈的å§å§ / 妹妹 -- 姨妈

If inviting the whole family,
Formal: 阖府统请
Informal: 全家

If your parents are the ones inviting, better let your parents tell you exactly how to address each and everyone of them since they are particular about doing things the traditional way. For me, I will let my dad do the writing for his friends & my mom will give me a list to copy from.

renerene

Hey all, here's another thing to share with you... my htb has just uploaded our pre-wedding shoot photo book last night: http://www.blurb.com/bookstore/detail/1299342
No fantastic layout... but no complaints
cos he single-handedly 'bao' the layout for 92 pages + designed the cover and searched for quotes, etc... all within the tight time constraint. What's more can I ask for, right? =D
We've already decided to do part 2 for AD & part 3 for HM!
Hmmm.... maybe also part 4 for 1st anniversary and part 5 for bb? =P Heee...

soul_slayer

Today me all alone in my dept...

My mgr on leave – her bday today
Colleague 1 – leave cos take care of kids , her in laws went to JB
Colleague 2 – leave cos her dad hospitalised
Colleague 3 – holiday
Colleague 4 – in another office

Back up lunch kaki
1 – compassionate leave cos FIL passed away
2 – holiday
3 – MC (at first i tot MC..but she came in later but on half day MC)..

So really quiet day..and I thought I was the busy one??? haha..

soul_slayer

Lex > I’m an analyst lah..working in a supply chain dept in healthcare sector...I think Sharon means her students..she should be an English teacher or sth..haha..

moonsafarian

She asks me to suggest flavours if I prefer not to have choco & vanilla. Not listed wor so maybe she's better at choc & vanilla. I was thinking strawberry lemon curd or some other fruity & light flavours easier to go down for most people.

missysee

hehee.. I think would be interesting to know each of our occupation after "chatting" for months..

chk with u ladies, what time is your MUA coming for 1st March-in? mine just confirmed timing.. 5.15am and 6.30pm coz she having two couples on the same day.

neuross

missysee> how come ur 1st march-in make up starts at 5.15am??? Then 6.30pm again??? My MUA coming at 7am on AD cos i need to get ready by 8.30am. For evening, she will come at 5pm cos my solemnization starts at 6.30pm. 9pm she will change another hairstyle for me & touch-up on make-up for my 2nd march-in.

missysee

NaNa> sorry dint make myself clear.. my main qn is 1st March-in usually reach what time?.. and I wana share that my 1st MU starts as early as 5.15am and another around is 6.30pm (for 1st march-in) as I do not have solemnisation. I wonder if it's the norm to start 6.30pm.

moonsafarian

Missysee, i think for the 1st march in, the time to start also depends on whether u'll like to be there to receive your guests at the door? Guests shd start streaming in ard 700pm or 730pm.

If u want to be there 7ish, how about starting around 5pm? If u prefer to make a grand appearance only at your 1st march-in, prob makeup to start around 6pm. Gotta factor in time to put on your gown, shoes, accessories, see to any last min matters, etc.

My morning makeup will probably start 515/530am, and evening session around 600/615pm. Will meet up with the MUA again next week to discuss more. He's such a dear, not charging any extra for early morning makeup, and even offered to stay for my 2nd & 3rd change. My HTB was so impressed that he didn't try to bargain prices with him. (and my HTB never fails to negotiate for a bargain whenever he goes hehe!)

missyling

moon, strawberry and chocolate are the most safe. Perhaps can ask if she can do 2 flavour in 1 cake anot. I usually suggested that so that can have different taste. Not sure if ur bakers allow that.

FINALLY got my softcopy for layout. haha the rest got to wait till 1st week of may den able to get ablum plus all the other photos back.

missysee. my mua will come @ 730am in the morning. I olso have to get ready by 830am.

In the evening, she will come in by 630pm and finished the make up. 2nd march in will be by another mua.

kaori80

Jane,
cool..so what ur job scope?
Sharon,
power man ur kid can form 3 soccer team leh
Christi,
yup true good to know 1 and another.hope that even after our AD over we still can kp contact with 1 and other...
so far i onli know yayun work place near by me...

kaori80

btw just to check with you ladies...on AD does ur MUA do make up for ur husband??style the hair etc...for my wife MUA to style my hair style cost us $5o...still considering...

sotongada

lex, can u stop using our names here...Can we have some "shen mi gan" in public places..are you going to tell the whole world who is who and where are we located?????

joey_cat

GDL 2nites... But already feel depress.... MIL don want 2 offer basket n ask my parents wat they need... As they think this should b done by their son, since he is e one marrying me.... HTB blame me 4 not letting him know earlier... Say then why need his parents @ e food tasting later... He go wil b enough... My fault again 4 their problem of not speaking 2 each other...

So wat I tell him earlier?? He wil ask me 2 speak 2 his parents again... Ask them 2 do as told. Otherwise another possibility is tat he wil go argue with his parents... Either way, is me, the future DIL who is not being tackful... I already feel very 委屈 for need 2 ask my parents who fly all e way here 2 give in.. I can only hide in e toilet 2 quietly wipe... I just pray tat things wil b smooth 2nite...

missysee

Thanks Moon and Ling...Initially I thot night MU starts around 5pm.. When she told me she coming 6.30pm I went blur coz duno what's the norm timing.. Now I know it's the norm and ok with it..

Yayun> wahaha... Yeah.. hide my identity else boss knows I chat here regularly.. :p

Cat> oh dear... hush hush... hope things will be fine for u tonite.. *pray*

sotongada

missysee..heng ar, my boss duno my chinese name..haha...but still ppl from all over see here...so i preferred not to state my personal thinggy here...

Thank you for ur co-operation...i dun mind to be a Sotong as long as my personal details are kept CONFIDENTIAL...

CAT, it's not a must for the basket..now modern, lesser ppl using the basket..both parents of mine said no need..but my hb said since Gin Thye offer FOC usage so we just took...

missyling

dun u tink its rude to call ppl by "nick" even the person said she don't mind?

face the fact, this is a BRIDE forum... if u wan respect from others.. learn to respect and behave 1st.

How will u feel if ppl label u with a NICK instead.

joey_cat

All went ok, though my heart really hang there up n down throughout... Almost stopped in few occassion. But my in laws brought e basket n offer 2 my parents... N my FIL willing 2wear suit... I think my HTB must have done something b4 hand... Hm... Ok la...he is really nice after all lor ...

Wat else I can ask for....???! Thank God!!!

joey_cat

Yalor... Can sleep liao... But mayb now all e stress on this issue gone, too relieve, can't fall asleep. Haha anyway, a good wkend 4 me. Hope all wil have a smooth sail till our big day!! Kambateh!!!

psying

hey ladies, im trying to do the wedding pics that keep looping shown on the screen when the door open and people entering the room...(before the event starts).

what program u all using ar..i dont know how to loop them seh...argg

joey_cat

Finally everything is over..the card distribution, the GDL cum the first mtg btw the parents and the LuHuo... both parents on the flight now..

Finally understand what you all mean when you say during the wedding you can see one's true character.. as those I invited are all my best frieds and close colleagues, all have been making sure they make the necessary changes to their existing arrangement to attend my wedding (one even change her flight schedule).

During the past 3 days, my parents have been hand deliver cards to the relative (as they are very traditional type, in fact my mom now on her way to Ipoh and KL to continue the exercise). Some of the relatives are sooooo happy to see us and welcome us to their house.. have long chats for hours.. few of them though.. I don't know what to say.. but have both my eyes shut and ears closed to avoid flaring up!

One in particular.. (being top of the list). Mom call up to inform her of the wedding and make arrangement to go down to distribute the cards. When i try to confirm the address with the aunty, her tone is like "what you want oh... the address is like that LA!!!".. Nevermind.. hang up the phone.. keep my mouth shut.. then 30min later, she called, telling my mom saying Saturday noon is not convinient, as her son (50+yrs old), need to take a afternoon sleep.. can meet at the void deck?? Then she cont saying, aiYA.. why don't you all MAIL.. I overhead that... and node my head violently to tell my mom accept the "deal".. Why should I spent money and WASTE my time, took a cab down, to give out card to someone who don't even wish to attend my wedding, and give my parents cold shoulder??? As if like we go there beg for money like that.. Goodness me! I am praying that they wont come to my wedding.. so won't waste the VIP seat.. (ya.. there are the real senior in dad's family tree, that's why MUST STILL INVITE THEM....)

moonsafarian

PSY > Some popular and easy-to-use programs:
a) Photo Story (on Windows platform)
b) Movie Maker (on Windows platform)
c) iMovie (on Mac platform)

I used Photo Story. To loop your slideshow:
1) play it from a chosen media player, like RealPlayer, Windows Media Player, or iTunes
2) look for and enable the function to repeat the slideshow

Be sure to check the playback ability if you plan to record the slideshow on a DVD. The screen resolution of the projector at the venue is also important, so do an AV test first. Hope that helps!

soul_slayer

Hi All! Another wkends gone by!...I have been quite nua this weekends...Friday met up with 1 of my JM to pass her the JM dress and invite...then yesterday also met up with my Emcee and 1 other JM to pass them the dresses too...later we went to Brewerks to catch the soccer match..3 couples in all...came home and slept ard 2am le..haha..

Then today just did a bit of cleaning of house...and finished writing invites for my Dad's side while HTB started burning all the CDs for the hotel...also finished wrapping all the angbaos...phew...

Next wkends gotta work! But I will have Monday off so can go do facial with my mum....collect her gown and also buy a pair of earrings..indeed endless things to do..

Btw just FYI, my MUA same timing as NaNa, also come in morning at 7am and then abt 5pm in evening as I have soleminization at abt 6.30pm...Gd idea to mingle with guests...so maybe might wanna do the evening make up a bit earlier..

amanda1982

morning ladies...

last weekend was tough for me i guess. went to check out my montage on sat, 80% done, left 20% to amend. no need to top up for the songs we wan to use (lucky us)... should be able to collect them this Thur to bring down to my hotel on Sun to test run.

food tasting for church buffet on Sun. me, my hubby and my PILs think that the food is ok but my parents say the food is not nice at all, too salty, blah blah... all throw away. they say say worse than 1 of their fren who is doing catering. i say then how. (me thinking, dun tell me tat u wan me to change! where got enough time.) they say since pay deposit then nvm. SIGH... i really dun know wat to say. i feel very fed up abt it. now i dun know if i should pay for food tasting for my hotel one cos i used it to exchange for something else. if not my parents will keep complain that the food is this la, that la. i had enough!!

sir lex> like wat u say, u no talk liao. u better live up to ur words.

missyling

amanda: which catering you getting? Maybe you can feedback to them on the salty issue. Did ur parent know that they won't be any food tasting from your hotel? If they r tinking there is, you beta check with them fast.

For me, we opt not to go for food tasting as my dad tink its alrite not to go since we tried the food.

amanda1982

i got from CJS. ya i m going to feedback to them. my parents also nv really specific which dish. i damn fed up. i just keep quiet. my parents are aware tat there is no food tasting for hotel one. my PILs also another headache one, on 1 hand worry abt the food and keep thinking food tasting, on another hand dun wan spend money. both side give me nothing but headache. sometime i m really very fed up tat i just wan to cancel the whole wedding. i dun wan to go thru any of this anymore.

sotongada

amanda, relax and calm down..by cancelling the wedding is to avoid the problms and no solution given to it..*pats pats*

Like what ling said, feedback to them, maybe you check with ur parents which dishes are salty and highlight to CJS to pay slightly more attention to it.. as for hotel's food tasting, maybe just go and pack a few dishes home as normal dinner (just cook white rice to match the dishes) and let ur pil to try on?? or since Mothers day is approaching, bring them there for makan and no need to get present..haha...

**talk??? i dun talk here..i read and type leh...

amanda1982

already bought my parents to there for our ROM dinner. my dad already commented the food is salty. *faint* but i did feedback to my hotel co-ordinator abt the food. told them not too salty, PLEASE! sigh!!

mood not good today. *keep out*

neuross

Morning ladies ~

As u all know i hardly complain lah cos i very chin cai or everything i dun care. But now, i really wish da wedding to be over soon manz. I really can't stand my dad, want this want dat from my in-laws. he say my grandma requested for it & we hv to respect da elder. But now like selling daughter or marrying off daughter siah? I feel damn paiseh leh. I feel like telling him, if they wan i buy for them lah, can dun ask from in-laws or not? Super embarrassing like everything oso wan. I know lah... 1st time marrying off daughter, wan it to be grand & ä½“é¢ but i really bth lah. Then my dad åƒè½¯ä¸åƒç¡¬, can nvr try to tok nicely to him cos he always think he's right. So can oni agree to everything, suffer in silence.

This wkend going for final fitting & GDL liao. Faster ah!!

missyling

hugz all... time is moving so fast yet we are all seem to be getting "hot" on the pot now.. problems start to surface when the date is nearer...

Let's jia you together.. i been sick for a week yet the nonsenses never decreased but added on too...

soul_slayer

I also feeling the same way! I cannot wait for wedding to be over..not becos I have problems with my IL or parents..but cos I just wanna spend 1 wkend NOT having to worry abt wedding stuff..check this, check tt...arrange this and tt...so tiring! Sometimes my wkends more tiring than working ok!...Last time I rest well on wkends..now I feel like I'm working on wkends too...sigh...

Hopefully will end soon and can go back to 'normal' life...haa..

moonsafarian

Same here. Like soul, i wish i've have time to catch up on "me" time. These few weeks left is really the crucial period. Things are moving soooo slowly, but time is flying past!

Have u all planned the AD schedule and seating arrangement? There's just so much to be done and so little time.

Yesterday was supposed to be a busy day to prepare for the wedding, but most of it was spent taking care of my HTB who was sick after the party the night before. My gfs had no mercy, hehe! Told him i won't allow this to happen during the banquet! So tiring for us and an utter waste of time the next day

sotongada

ladies, we are all in the same position now..was actually looking forward to it..but now hor, i just wished to get it over ASAP...more conflicts and request...ARGH!