(2010/05) May 2010 BTB

joey_cat

Hi ladies..

Busy day for me, trying to make sure everything run smoothly this wkend for my Lu Huo and GDL... Only manage to zzz at 1am last night... I wounder how I can look Mei Mei on the AD if this continue.

Missysee - thanks. I been feeling better. Sometime I just need to learn more to be like water.... i.e. flow through besides the wall rather than run straigt against the wall...(if you gals know what I mean here). Will just go and think of something to settle the parents, ILs and HTB..... My boss call this "Management skill".. That is a good one indeed.

Amanda, Glad that you see things trough lor.. as to how to make ur mom happier, just tell her ur brother will learn one day that what he did was stupid and hurtful to the family. If he can't see that it is his fault at the end, why shld you and your parents suffer for his immature act? Grow up man! (sorry to use such word on ur bro.... but really think he need that advice...).

placid_mind

yo ladies... me back..
away from desk lunch again in the lab busying...

moon>> i be having my "tang yuan" in my new house instead of my IL's house. For the potty, my MIL requested us to get a potty and have those traditional stuffs to put inside, need to take out lor... and ya... got a little boy to jump on the bed... so i cater the time for these things at new house.

Missysee>> When return to mum;s place will bein Kwa... will take pics with it... but still thinking if too troublesome to change back to WG to hotel.. but wear Kwa to hotel not nice leh... hee...

kaori80

very tired...next week our my room funiture will delivery...

mISSysee,it realli very weird that ur in law not drinking the tea..cant be both?

nearer and nearer...i bit scare leh...stress like thing not done..
i envy yayun or fiona etc ....almost 100% done

missysee

Placid> I wana do a group phototaking in my WG.. but MIL hope I can reach my new place first.. so I wondering how.. Dun wish to go up and down just to change attire. If not enough time maybe will wear kwa(after leave new place) for the grouptaking taking.

Alex> The BS car will then detour back to my mum's place and fetch them. Then driver can go home le.. I staying back in hotel mah.. I doubt BS car driver is so nice to stay back until event over and send my parents home bah... Need to double check..

For my case, that means AB for kids got double leh. Meaning one when I reach my/groom's place I will have to give one round, then during tea ceremony another one.. Not for the Jie Meis. Relatives no need give Jie Mei also. Ie. for JM/XD only will rec one from respective parents, then when go another side's home will get another one (usually smaller) from the parents.

evelyn_t

Hey ask u all huh..for my AD schedule rite, HTB fetch me, gate crash then go HTB hse for tea ceremony, does my side relatives follow over or just e bride & groom with XD/JM?

Then after go HTB hse for tea ceremony, go our lovenest hor..then wat needs to be done at lovenest huh? Does we go with onli XD/JM?

Then change to Kua go back bride hse for tea ceremony...after tat if want go PS, we take PS in Kua or WG? Then go hotel hor means must change back from Kua to WG??

hee...quite blur on wat suppose to be done haa....

Jiayou all brides!! <30days to go!!!

joey_cat

Missysee: normally, you only need to give the younger AngPow if they serve you tea....... sure you need to give them otherwise?? better double check lah..if that's what they want.. regardless of the "custome" or "norm".. just do to avoid argument..

joey_cat

Evelyn.. According to "my side" custome.. the reltive dont follow to the groom's place, only the JM as they are consider the "Sun Jia Niang" (sis who married out with you..).. is normaly with XD and JM..

the in ur lovenest.. small kids jump jump on ur new bed..

as to ur outdoor.. I never heard of restriction (other than my mom) to wear Kua or WG... just do as u please (well.. i Must say.. I wish I can do as I please..) hahhaa

missysee

Hi Evelyn, I see how I can help too based on my limited understanding

Q: HTB fetch me, gate crash then go HTB hse for tea ceremony, does my side relatives follow over or just e bride &amp; groom with XD/JM?
A: Just the couple with XD &amp; JM. It's not nice to have too many relatives from the bride's side to go over groom's place.. I duno how to explain to u, but it's not 'nice looking'.

Q:Then after go HTB hse for tea ceremony, go our lovenest hor..then wat needs to be done at lovenest huh? Does we go with onli XD/JM?
A: Also with XD/JM plus relevant parties such as the boys who are jumping. (if XD/JM dun want to go also can, but u will need them to help some things) Eat Tang Yuan and the hard boiled egg on ur bed.

Q: Then change to Kua go back bride hse for tea ceremony...after tat if want go PS, we take PS in Kua or WG?
A: Up to your pref

Q:Then go hotel hor means must change back from Kua to WG??
A: U mean when? Try not to change from kua to WG from ur own home after bride's side tea ceremony. it will mean u are married off twice.. My plan is either go hotel in kua/ casual clothings..

missysee

Alex> I est the BS car to fetch my own parents at 3pm. Then they can R&amp;R at hotel, start MU early and attend to relatives early. Err.. Acutally, the purpose is to arrange transport for bride's parents not ur parents leh. Accordingly to "original" custom, the groom's parents should arrange transport to fetch the bride's parents. But of coz nowadays, it's the couple arrange lah. We leave our car for FIL so that they are mobile that day...

Cat> ya loh.. my mum say got 2 AB.. I dun think so from my recollection but guess have to follow to avoid clashes? hee... So checking out here whether it's the norm.

kaori80

ya missysee but i hear from the BS that the car will go off after send us to the hotel...like tat hw 2 fetch in law of parent??that is for my case..think u better check with ur bs..if not AD different will be a issue liao

amanda1982

alex> normally there is a time frame for BS car. the normal time they should go back to BS is at abt 6pm. so once drop u off at hotel, they can go the bride's side to fetch her parents. u can double check with ur BS.

renerene

PSY > I've uploaded the pic as per your request. May remove it after the weekend cos it's kinda like "the odd one out from nowhere"...

Amanda > What are the "anything" that you need to do? Just shout out if you need help, yah?

moonsafarian

I think some BS mandate that bridal car is only to service the couple, not parents not anyone else. Better to confirm with BS. For mine, will only be ferry us ard for PS &amp; drop us at hotel in the late morning. For that, i'd rather forgo the car. Save me $200

Good progress so far. Finally fin my montage &amp; looped photo slideshow. Albums &amp; AB box all ready to collect. Gonna meet another MUA tonight. He asks to see me in my gowns before discussing type of look. He also advised me not to waste $ on trial, and offered to stay to style me for the 2nd walk in. Have seen his work on one of my gal pals. Was great. She didn't have a trial too.

U all think I shd insist on a trial? His hairstyling shd be better than the previous one since he's a hairstylist.

amanda1982

my hubby keep say he wan to go for facial. haha...

moon> i thought u got the MUA whose husband is doing ur AD photograher? if u r not so comfortable without doing a trial, then go ahead. becos talking without applying, sometime u might not get the same meaning as the MUA.

missysee

ya.. I know it's quite common for guys to do facial nowadays.. but got a shock when Alex got the initiative as it's uncommon for my circle of guy friends... haa.. I suggested to hb to have facial with me b4 but it irks him.. Maybe it's still a girly thing to him bah..

Amanda> why not give yourself a "nothing to do" break for 2 days? Maybe a good rest will give ur mind more peace. U are in a situation where u can't change ur bro's mood but urs.. so cheer up babe. U can catch up with the 'anything' when ur mood is brighter.

soul_slayer

haha I seldom wanna bring my HTB to facial sessions cos he always use mine and I'm the one paying...1 session cost me $90 leh..so I very heartpain when he uses it...hehehe..:p

moonsafarian

Amanda > Oh i didn't get Cherry in the end. AD PG isn't her hubby. My HTB didn't want to engage him. Cherry's prices quite good, and include trial for both makeup &amp; hair for morning AND night. 4 looks! But seems a bit too drama for my liking.

Did u all buy any gold items? I went to see see just now. Mom wanna get a gold chain for HTB. Any difference in where you buy the gold jewellery? My HTB mentioned before some goldsmiths were fined for selling gold items that are not really gold.

Went to KK Marriage Goods earlier. Her items are really better priced than several other places. A pair of cushions I bought at Yue Hwa cost almost twice, compared to KK. Tsk tsk! Didn't see any lamps that I liked though. For the GDL basket, think I'll get those picnic types, rather than the traditional ones. At least can reuse after the wedding. Seems like many customary items won't be able to reuse after the wedding. But couldn't find any at the Chinatown Complex.

amanda1982

missysee> even no mood still have thing to catch up with. jus tat no "feeling" to do them but still have to force myself to do. tonite have to go Giants to change the wine that i had bought last week. cos few days back jus realised that they have the flavor we wan. had made the reservations so hopefully tonite dun make me run for nothing.

moon> ok i c. most impt you must be happy for wat u wan and paid for. i am also looking for the GDL basket. need to use it to put oranges. so hard to find.

amanda1982

missysee> btw, i dun really bother abt my bro anymore. i told my mum, he dun wan to come then dun come. fine with me. i jus wan my parents dun feel bad abt anything. anyway i already remove his name from my guest list, including his ex gf and her parents. hack care!! my dad spoken to him last nite. hope my parents will feel better.

kaori80

sharon better request for a trial.
at least u will know what you will get in AD...if not AD turn out not what you want u might be a issue

kaori80

ya kk marriage goodis mucvh cheaper...
amanda...dun care them be happy and still cheerful...ur AD coming soon...
ask the girl go fly kite!

kaori80

jane,
stay near sengkang..so taht we can move in tat area togther and kopi togthr lol
btw where u will be styaing after AD?

evelyn_t

thks Missysee for e info! realli appreciated nvr realli tink of the changing kua to WG then go hotel would mean married twice hee..thks thks

Moon: e baseket looks nice &amp; cheaper haa...most of it i saw even to rent is abt 20+ hee..where can we find it huh?

may i know hor...gatecrashing HTB will give an AB to e JM rite...normally is we say pre-determine e amt or JM? then after tat still need to give AB to indivual for XD &amp; JM?

Seems like clock is ticking away...haaa..lots of stuff to settle...hee..

evelyn_t

Cat: hope this helps....
XX大伯。
XX大姑妈全家。
For cousins i just write in english Mr and Mrs xxx and family...

missysee

hb's grandparents has a long time passed down GDL basket! (duno since which generation) I was so surprised when MIL insist to use that even the GDL cake shop can lend foc. Coz got sentimental value. They haven check out the condition coz kept away for very long. I just hope they dun find a big hole in the middle last min.. kekee..

Evelyn> welcome
I'm learning along the way too.. Before gatecrash, usually either the bride/mother of the bride will give AB to JM. If u wish to pre-determine the gatecrash amt, can highlight to ur JM, else usually is free flow bargaining. When JM go over ILs place, the groom's mum will give another AB.

moonsafarian

evelyn > the baskets are for bidding in Ebay S'pore. i like them for their reusability.
HTB will give the gatecrash ABs during the several rounds of games. I will give token ABs to my JMs and he will give token ABs to his XDs.

Collected my albums &amp; frames today and met up with the MUA. Very pleased

kaori80

btw how much all ur husband will bao for the gate crashing???
btw i like the pola uv white mask...but sad no more produce liao...the new version i dun like...