(2010/05) May 2010 BTB

moonsafarian

Haha, soul, i love to surf the Net, can feed my need to read AND shop at the same time! That's why i gripe about signing up with a BS lor.

Anyway, there are some areas less important to me, so less effort & spend less $. Like outfits for helpers, let them settle on their own. HTB is doing the craftwork for reception decor. My creativity is limited hehe. Also doing super simple photo montage on my own, but still dragging my feet over it. Are you all preparing the looped photo thingy before banquet starts? 10000 things to do.

missyling

moon, yeap will be preparing the photos to be played on the screen so that those sitting down there no need to crowd around when the crowds are in.

soul_slayer

That one - looping photos prepared le ..my BS did it for me I shall just use tt..so far I am very happy with my BS and my PG and VG..they are very cooperative..only 1 not gd is the montage studio...sigh..looks like I really gotta do it myself man..

1 more additional task..nvm at least I ownself do I ownself happy...

I told my HTB if the person not up to scratch, nvm I can still accept if he's humble and willing to apologise..but this bugger so hopeless and still insist on his way...dissed off sia...

evelyn_t

wa...really seem like a bad mon for me too...
*Pat Pat* Amanda, Missyee & Cat...our siutation seem to b simliar.. me2 have a quarrel with my mum just now...seem like a ungrateful daughter now haiz...long story....just feel so sad abt e whole thing....

amanda1982

morning everyone... i hope i am feeling better. i still feel like crying when i m on the way to work this morning. i was praying very hard things will turn out better. thanks for all the encouragement and support. you ladies bring me tears of joys.

evelyn, missysee, cat & the rest, we all have problems tat we still need to face. i pray hard that all our problems will be able to solve. Jia you!!

moonsafarian

How do u all intend to plan seating arrangements huh?

My HTB said to confirm 1 less table than the number we have now, to pre-empt guests who don't turn up last min. And to reserve 2 tables, in case all turn up with uninvited companions/last min. confirmation.

Is this how it works? I'm wondering if it's feasible, since we still have to plan seating for 20 tables, although he wanna confirm 19 tables. So what happens if just before dinner begins, we find vacant seats among the tables? Get the guests from the 20th table to disperse and fill up the vacant seats? Doesn't sound right leh...

neuross

Morning gals!

I finally completed RSVP for my list. Waiting for HTB's list.

Parents & in-laws normally dun give u RSVP list rite? Cos they say can oni invite all da relatives, whether they wanna come or not it's up to them. Cannot make them RSVP -_-"

I hv quite a few tables only got 9 persons leh. No way to fill them up at all. Is it normal? Hai ~ headache....

neuross

^moon^> My restaurant allows us to hv 1 reserved table for every 10 confirmed tables. Since we hv 36 confirmed tables, we requested for 35 tables + 3 reserved tables. Cos my in-laws invited sooooo many of their frens, neighbours, colleagues...etc I doubt all of them will turn up lor!

missysee

Hi Amanda, hope u are better today... This morning i quietly weeped in office.. cannot take the stress load.. and nobody knows coz i am sitting in one corner.. feel better letting tears come out.. i kind of feeling regret to have wedding.. Should have lived happily ever after ROM..

Moon> I'm doing something like that too. eg. once our parents list and my friends RSVP liao, I will do something like ur hb suggested. In case some not coming.. Eg. total est 20 tables, confirm 19 + 2 reserved. From my understanding, if 2 tables are not used, the hotel will roll the tables away and not leave them empty..

NaNa> very normal.. I have some table 9 pax and some 11 pax..No choice coz people are in groups they like. if only i could shift them easily like my Restaurant City in FB.. haaa..

moonsafarian

Nana > so it's like what my HTB suggested huh. To confirm fewer tables than required.

So do you plan to move some guests who will already be sitting down, to fill up the tables which don't have 10pax?

missyling

for me, we are having 19+ 1... if suay suay got ppl fly us kite hor.. hopefully is 1 table nia.. but still had to pay for it lo and go back and makan after that.

moonsafarian

Ling, so do u have 190 confirmed guests as of now? Do u intend to move the guests who are already seated to fill up the vacant seats too?

I wonder what to do about that...

missyling

moon, i had more then that. cause some tables can fit in 11 t0 12 paxs. But temp. The +1 is to play safe just in case got people turn up with extra pax without informing us.

Even if move around will be our friends side cause the relatives side are more or less settle unless they sent in A380 lo.

if i am not wrong, hyatt one they can put up to 12 pax per tables.

missyling

haha tell u gals.. i felt i am so evil and hb tried to tell me not to do so... i planned to dump fil's frds in a corner nearer to the stage.. since they all like to drink... fine lo.. i gave them the corner.. then intend to put the relatives and friends all at side of aisle so that i can walked around and have fun with them.. HB said so RUDE.. i mean come on, i dun find it rude lo. i put them infornt to see the stage.. wrong mah? rather then put then near the aisle.. wait i walked around got to see them.. or i want take pictures with my frds.. see them.. SIANZ 100X lo...

amanda1982

missysee> *pat* *pat* is good to cry out. when my mum was trying to talk to my bro last nite when she found out he is drinking in his room. i overheard and i started crying again. my hubby was with me but i dun seem to be able to hear anything from going in my head except i keep thinking abt the whole issue of my bro dun wan to come for my wedding, dun wan to talk to me, angry and blamed me for causing the whole thing. i jus cried till my eyes are sore again. my hubby wan to try to talk to my brother after i fall asleep last nite. but i woke up and stopped him. no pt talking to him.

did i feel better anot? i really dun know. i still have tat bitterness in me.

renerene

Good morning! =)

Amanda > Good to know that your mom and yourself is feeling better. Whatever happened, has happened... pin-pointing who is at fault doesn't contribute to solve the problem. So don't harp on it anymore, ok? Your brother needs time to cool down for the time being, if he doesn't want to talk, just let him be ba... this is probably a test for him & his gf... as well as for you & your hb too, in persevering the thick & thin in life together with hands in hands, yah?

missysee > empathise with the stress you're going through... with work, wedding prep, exams, etc. Although it's tough now, it's gonna be over in a blink of eyes. In fact for many couples, life suddenly seems "empty" after wedding... and they actually miss it. So hang in there!

Here's an emticon that I think is appropriate in here:
1405321.gif

Be strong, gals.

renerene

^moon^ > I haven't confirmed the no. of tables with the hotel yet but I intend to confirm the exact no. If I remember correctly, there are 3 rounds of confirmation for us: 1st is 1 month prior to event, 2nd is 2 weeks prior to event and 3rd is few days prior to event. So, we can still adjust the no. accordingly nearer the date.

For planning, I'll do my best to fit 10 per table. On the actual day, I'll leave the unfilled tables as it is (unless there is only 2 persons) cos I foresee it's gonna be too chaotic to rearrange. For the unexpected guests, we have the flexibility to squeeze up to 12 people per table. If the no. of exceeding unexpected guests is really large, I'll open up the reserve table.

Not sure if I answer your question, in short, I'd rather have more than less.

renerene

NaNa > I do agree that it may not be appropriate to get parents & parents-in-law to do the RSVP like we do to our friends. However, for my case, I have request them to help me sound out the attendance cos our invitation to relatives will be "XXX & family". The variability of the "family" can range from 2 to 10. For such cases, if I don't get hold of an indicative no., I don't think I can rest at night.

neuross

Ling> I dun think u r evil leh. Both me & my HTB agreed dat we give priority to our relatives to sit in front tables then next is our frens in middle row or near aisle, lastly are my in-laws frens, neighbours & colleagues. Cos it's our wedding leh, we dun wan our frens & colleagues to be chuck at 1 corner plus our frens will take photos & video of us. Those aunties & uncles won't.

^moon^> if there are 2 tables half filled only, most likely will combine them. otherwise, mostly leave it as it is ba cos hard to tear da grp up. So far i m not so worried abt my parents' side and me & my HTB's list cos more or less got RSVP & cfm liao. I m more worried abt my in-law side cos they hv 16 tables and only 8 tables consist of relatives!!! So ridiculous!!!

moonsafarian

Ling > i'm sure yr FIL wanna check where his guests are sitting when u & HTB plan the seating arrangements, eh? Maybe u can't get away with it heheheehehe! Haha, sent in A380 leh, funny! My HTB's list for relatives is pretty general. He put "Mom's relatives: 26", "Mom's friends: 11". I wonder how he plans to arrange the seating arrangments and how our receptionists will know the names of the guests & which table they are allocated to! *Vomit blood*

Ya, probably Hyatt's tables can fit in up to 12pax, as their standard guest tables are 5.5ft. Wanted to ask for all 6ft tables, but worried abt the width of the room. Later my walk-in too squashy, keke~

Irene > cute little emoticon u've got there! my hotel co-ord is away for a week, and her replacement also did not reply to my request for appt date. They also have not asked for the 2nd deposit which is overdue le. Haiz, tough working with some vendors!

As for the RSVPs, we each did our own. Parents also called to invite & got the numbers for me. They didn't make any noise abt doing it. As for HTB's relatives, his sis helped him with it as she's closer to them. Didn't realise it may be inappropriate to get RSVPs with relatives. My parents also dun care abt appropriate or not haha~

missyling

moon, haha actually the rest floor plan hor.. tat is the best seating lo.. even its in a corner.. i told hb.. u go tell him.. give his the "respect" den give him so good place ar.. if not, put them @ the back... see ppl's head lo

for me, i am putting notes on the lists the recpt having. the guest just need to ask whose relative n name then will be sent to the tables... my bro will be having a set of list as well to make sure things follows when they have go up to the rest.

haha hyatt table definately can fit up to 12pax.. attended a few session there and are 12 pax style. My sis had her 11yrs ago in 12 pax as well.

neuross

Anybody knows where I can get cheap si dian jin box? My mum bought jewellery for me as dowry from different shops then dun hv da nice nice display box. I dun wanna spend much on da box cos not really gonna use it in future oso leh.

moonsafarian

Ling > i read your post in FB abt that anonymous "girl". Tsk tsk! I dun care what she thinks manz. Dun even know if she's a girl btw!

Hmm, need to have a SDJ box? I rem irene was asking about it too. How come gotta put them all together? Is it to display for relatives to see on AD morning? I dun have a display box too.

The storekeeper i went to at the Chinese customary shop said "young people don't do such things nowadays! dun have to buy la!"
My brother went "ya la, got nice expensive jewellery also keep from view, all hide in the room!" Hehehehe!

kaori80

fiona,
u can try go those guo da li shop they got sell that...during my mther thing they use that to contain their si jian jin...some use music box to contain that

soul_slayer

Hi all! Finally I'm home...today took half day leave...I settled my AD cake..decided on P.Osh brownie at Dhoby Ghaut XChange..hehe...and have to select the words, icing, decor etc...Then went down to Hilton settle the Event Order..and finally to the montage studio..spent 2 hrs there re-arranging everything..luckily he din give me attitude cos I was ready to fight back! haha...

1 more day closer to our wedding...

Missysee > btw June told me on 29 May only 2 weddings..so I guess it's yours and mine..aiyoh dun think of cancelling le..hehe...we must enjoy our happy day..I'm so looking forward to taking photo with u leh..it will be so fun!! :D All the best to your studies too..JIA YOU!!

As for the planning...^moon^..ur HTB is right..usually to be on safe side, we will confirm 1 table less just in case pple dun turn up..and haiz..me also having prob with my seating arrangement..u noe wat..I am so dumb..I dunnoe wat happened but I actually wrote 3 cards for pple whom I assumed will be coming and last min say cannot come...then I wrote another 2 cards wrongly....from Jerry become Jeremy..wth..haha..so pak jiao...

End up somehow we lack of cards..now dunnoe how..so headache ..dunnoe if have to reprint anot...darn! Can't believe I'm so muddle headed until my dad also wanna vomit blood..hahaha...

kaori80

Jane,u are cute lol...
good ur is got 1mth ++ to go..
tired i feeling everyday and nite...i abot got no mood to work everyday liao

neuross

^moon^> ya.. they say muz display da SDJ given by ur in-law & da dowry (jewellery) given by ur parents on da bed on AD for relatives to see. My in-law bought everything from 1 shop so they got a nice box liao. But my mum bought from various shops & da items come in individual small boxes. That's y i need to look for a box lor.

Sir Lex> i know those wedding shop got sell. it's around $20+ for those heart shape, traditional embroidery box. I dun need & dun wan that lah. So exp + so bulky to keep them after wedding. I'm looking for those simple, flat flat, square shape jewellery display box. Anyway, someone from my BS thread has agreed to give me 1 of hers cos her wedding over liao :p

missysee

Soul> hee.. I feel like skipping wedding and straight for honeymoon loh! I buay tarhan some jie mei grumble abt early timing, dress code etc and felt super upset ytd until now.. I should have stick to 2 jie meis. heng another Jie Mei help me take over the task seeing me so stressed.. I hope to let go bad feelings now..

Aiyoh.. how many cards are u left with/ need? I also had boo boo error but luckily got extra inserts to fall back on.. My first invite sent was pasted upside down! Heng it's close fren *sweat* re-printing will cost additional $20 wor.. but no choice if it's for relatives? Frens still ok dun give bah.. Oh btw, i saw in those taboos website that 2 brides shouldn't meet. If so must give AB to each other arh?

Nana> how about gg against the convention and get those leather box ones? Eg. Mxx & Marc (I can't remember exact spelling) jewellery box to pamper yourself? wide selections at Taka and Tangs.. Then u can continue use the box for other jewelleries in the future. Precious thoughts also got similar ones..

Amanda, evelyn, cat> how are u today my dear?

amanda1982

morning ladies... feeling tired today as late nite sleep quite late. cos went to watch movie with hubby. in the end, i was sleeping at the best part of the whole movie. haha...

missysee> slightly better. mayb i told my mummy last nite abt wat happen and those ppl who put the blame on me when they only hear 1 sided story. but i feel bad telling my mum all the things cos i see tat she is sad. i quickly change subject to avoid her think too much. can anyone tell me how can i make her happy? i afraid tat she will keep think abt it. she still say tat she wan to call tat ger and talk to her. i told her to save the energy and dun bother. i now dun even wan to bother abt my stupid bro. in his mind only wan to get back the gf and nothing else. he dun know how much he had hurted my parents. my dad whole nite nv sleep, keep wake up to check on him and he dun even bother. i told my mum, so be it if he really dun wan to come for my wedding. i will just tell ppl tat i dun have any bro.

so sorry for complaining. keep bother u all.

soul_slayer

Amanda > gd tt u have xiang tong le...ya just let ur bro be ba..I realised we cannot change what pple feel, think, act..so dun bother...focus on those pple who r glad to come to our wedding...

Missysee > okies..if tt’s the case, we give each other AB la...for yi si yi si..how abt $8 each? Hehehe!!! To chase the bad luck away..*lol* and also for gd luck!!!

Yet another day passing by and closer to our date...guess wat..my parents told me tt since gg to jin cha to 2 of them only..then might as well do it at hotel..so can save me 1 trip back..haha...ok since they prefer it tt way...the gd thing is I dun have to source for tea dress now..(cos rem i hav 2 evening gowns?) haha...so i shall just serve tea to them in hotel...and also the catering will be done at my MIL’s place..so she will source for tt..phew..2 loads off...

renerene

Heeee... share with you the very first feedback I've gotten for my self-designed wedding invitation card:

"Got your invitation card! Why u draw urself so ugly... U where got so ugly ;) hubby looks v cute tho!"

*silly grin*

psying

hey babes!

Hope everyone is feeling better and Amanda, evelyn, cat!

My same dream again: my photographer n make up artist was soo late for my wedding n i cant reach them..aiyo!!!

Amanda: your brother really so imature in handling this.....hope when everything is fine, he will make up to u and yr parents...at least a sorry..but aniway jus focus n make yrself happy!!

maybe u can buy some sweet treats for your mum..den dont tell her more on this..den bring her out or jus "pretend" to be happy even if u r..cuse maybe she see u sad ove rit, she will somehow feel so too!

irene: that a cute comment!! can i have a look?? i also wan see!!
must be nicenice!!

hey babes, i wanna cut hair right after wedding..anione heard that this cannot be done?? my friend told me her mum say mus after 12 days...

oh yea..anione can find the long list of who's wedding dinner when??
cause now may is alrdy so near!! den we can see the list and congrats n jia u to those drewing near oneee...

missysee

Amanda> pls dun say bother us or what.. We are here to lend a listening ear. Stay positive k? (even though I'm also in bad shape..
).. Maybe can bring ur mum for a dinner to cheer her up? Or spend more time chatting with her every night? women loves to talk.. your companion will help her more..

Soul> okie! $8 nice figure! Lucky u, my mum's side relatives suddenly so enthu and wants to come for tea ceremony.. actually we thought of secretly keep it low affair so that we can return hotel earlier..

errm.. talking abt tea ceremony... I dint tell u all that my FIL is not drinking my tea hor? Not that he is angry wid me, but becoz they claim his horoscope clashes with Tiger year, must avoid Wedding/Funeral events this year. So he cannot drink my tea. I was indeed very upset coz i'm not so pandang person.. I told hv then he should avoid the whole wedding mah.. looks weird to stand by the side and see us having tea ceremony?? Not as if the dad is no longer around..hb got more pissed with my comment (better shut up..) I will ask PG to avoid that pic for morning express highlight..

Irene> kekee.. maybe u can reply : "coz I love my hb more.. so draw him cuter"..

placid_mind

Yo ladies...

Just finished reading your posts... been away from desk yesterday and today... i started writing some of my invitation cards last evening, and set up my scanner...Aim to finish and get ready the cards to send out this friday or monday. And scanning all my pics this weekends.. feel the evening is so short......

Missysee>> Sometimes its hard to think of what the adult want.. but if ur FIL is padang, suit his style lor... though I also agree with you that why he stand there to see and somemore going for the banquet too... Probably not drinking ur tea is to lessen the happiness for him since he not suppose to attend...

one thing to ask, ur car deco is from the BS? i just to know that the flower is false one in infront of the car...

ladies>>

My planned schedule I came out for myself... Please help me take a look and comment if any...

AD Schedule for the bride
4.45am bride wake up
5.15am breakfast
5.30am shower, comb hair
5.45am videograhper & photographer to arriv
6.15am MUA to arrive (hair and bridal makeup)6.45am Jie Meis to arrive
7.00am Bride finishes changing and parents to put on veil
7.15am Bride to be ready
7.20am Gatecrash (ALL)

Time ALL
8.00am phototaking session
8.30am leave home to IL's place
9.00am arrive at IL's place
9.15am tea cermony to start
10.00am phototaking session
10.30am leave towner to new house
11.00am arrive at new house
11.10am dumpling, potty session
11.30am change to Kwa
11.45am phototaking session at pool
12.15pm leave new house to mum's place
12.35pm reach mum's place
12.45pm tea cermony to start
1.45pm phototaking session
2.00pm lunch

placid_mind

Yo ladies...

Just finished reading your posts... been away from desk yesterday and today... i started writing some of my invitation cards last evening, and set up my scanner...Aim to finish and get ready the cards to send out this friday or monday. And scanning all my pics this weekends.. feel the evening is so short......

Missysee>> Sometimes its hard to think of what the adult want.. but if ur FIL is padang, suit his style lor... though I also agree with you that why he stand there to see and somemore going for the banquet too... Probably not drinking ur tea is to lessen the happiness for him since he not suppose to attend...

one thing to ask, ur car deco is from the BS? i just to know that the flower is false one in infront of the car...

ladies>>

My planned schedule I came out for myself... Please help me take a look and comment if any...

AD Schedule for the bride
4.45am bride wake up
5.15am breakfast
5.30am shower, comb hair
5.45am videograhper & photographer to arriv
6.15am MUA to arrive (hair and bridal makeup)6.45am Jie Meis to arrive
7.00am Bride finishes changing and parents to put on veil
7.15am Bride to be ready
7.20am Gatecrash (ALL)

Time ALL
8.00am phototaking session
8.30am leave home to IL's place
9.00am arrive at IL's place
9.15am tea cermony to start
10.00am phototaking session
10.30am leave IL's place to new house
11.00am arrive at new house
11.10am dumpling, potty session
11.30am change to Kwa
11.45am phototaking session at pool
12.15pm leave new house to mum's place
12.35pm reach mum's place
12.45pm tea cermony to start
1.45pm phototaking session
2.00pm lunch

amanda1982

PSY, missysee> trying my very best to reach home early everyday to help her abit on her household chores. cos recently she started to work again. so by the time she reach home late. i will help her to sweep and mop the floor, bring the dog down to walk while she can prepare dinner. trying my best. i m saving the best for mother day where i m bring her and my dad out for dinner at putien. her fav place.

irene> is it the pic i saw in ur fb? they are cute.

moonsafarian

Good morning, everyone. Been so tired & lack of sleep recently. Just woke up!

Placid > what's this >> 11.10am dumpling, potty session?

Nana > Oh same case for me, no box. If you wanna display on the bed, how about using a nice looking red cushion & use gold thread to sew the jewellery on it? I've seen it once and it looks really good! Mom said this is a very traditional way of displaying jewellery. At least u can still use the cushion after yr wedding if u dun wanna keep a box.

soul_slayer

Tell u all sth funny man..my dad wanted to invite our relatives for tea ceremony so tt I can get more AB..guess wat...my relatives not dumb ok..they said they will bring their kids also..and their kids have to jin cha to me right?? And imagine I get 1 angbao..I have to return 3-4 (they have abt 3-4 kids each)..so bo hua..worse is gotta cater lunch for them as well and my mum said she dun wanna be maid and clean the house after they leave...she wanna enjoy herself and go for her nice hair perm after the morning events..haha..

So end of story loh..no need to jin cha to my relatives..*lol*

missysee

Placid> ya me taking the BS car. hmm.. I think the flowers are fake.. But me can't be bothered...more concern of driver's skills coz I have easy car sickness. I mei mei can already.. hee.. So u are wearing ur kwa for phototaking?

Anyone aware that there is another AB for the kids who visited on ur AD? It's seperate from the tea ceremony.. my mum and MIL say got.. but I dun recall taking any when my aunt got married. another 大出血~

neuross

I hv been bz packing my room every night till 2am+ (-_-") Damn tiring! I'm slowly moving my stuff over to HTB's place le. Those stuff I cannot bring over to my HTB's place (cos not enough space), I hv to leave them behind until we get our own place. But still, I hv to pack my stuff properly so my bro & SIL can move some of their baby stuff over to put in my room. Their 2nd baby on da way liao... bedroom getting over populated & cramped. Dunno y my bedroom pack so many nights, threw away so many stuff, still got so many things. zzz... Until last night i see my room getting neater & more empty... my heart oso felt very heavy. *sigh* 24 days to go....

neuross

soul slayer> wah! ur relatives so scary! this is a happy occasion. So calculative meh? Heng my family, youngsters no need to jin cha. But still yi shi yi shi we will give small ang bao to them if they come lah. Normally, kids only come during dinner cos morning too early they cannot wake up :p

neuross

Missysee> some pple do, some pple don't. Depends on your family traditions. Some family says if da kids serve tea to u then u guve, if no then no need. Some family says dat must give ang bao to all kids in da hse. Small amount will do. yi si yi si only, for da joyful occasion.

moonsafarian

I rem for some of my gal pals' weddings we JMs were given ABs from their parents AND their relatives. Considered the same situation as mentioned by placid?

Ling > u ard? Seek yr professional advice hehe! I'm getting a 2-tier cake with flowers cascading in a "S" down to the bottom tier. I've seen pictures of both cakes with real & fondant flowers. The real ones definitely look prettier & more vibrant, but I worry if it's safe (pesticide & all those hygiene issues). The fondant ones dun hv this problem but wonder if the flowers look real enough.. Much depends on the baker's skills I guess. I wanna hv a real cake for my cake cutting so dun wish to end up with a real cake that looks artificial.

How huh?

missyling

moon, that one got to depends where did they get the flowers and how they are going to put the flowers on the cake.

Fondant, is better but if you don't intend to eat the flower, suggest to them to use gumpaste to tmake it, its more lasting and you won't have to worries if its going to rain or what as fondant is very senstive to weather esp wet days.

olso how "real" these handmade flowers will look really depend on the person's skill.

moonsafarian

Ling > flowers will be from the florist, isn't it? and wouldn't the baker just drape the flowers on the cake?

Yeah, come to think of it, i didn't see any cakes with cascading edible flowers on any of her designs. Have u made any cakes with fresh flowers deco? Is it safe huh? Dun wanna poison my guests & myself hehe

missyling

moon, i did... i asked the florist to get it for me and i arrangement it myself. To put flowers directly on cake is possible PROVIDE she used the right thing to do so.