(2010/03) Mar 2010 BTB

thomas> i know my mom supposed to buy these items. but when i told her abt the kk marriage goods shop, she was like blur blur like that. Not sure if she knows where the shop is or not...so i tink i better go buy myself lor. will not take very long to buy rite? heh...

u tell her its very easy to find...level 1 of chinatown complex, behind CK department store I think. Signboard quite big, u wun miss it.

mine I took less than 15mins, u just need to tell her what dialect group u are and what are the items u need, she will pack for u accordingly. Mine chop chop fast fast, I took liao and went off cos dun wanna squeeze with ppl. However, she's a one-man show so if there are other customers in front of u, u gotta wait hor.

thomas > stress anot ? :P

actually everytime i start thinking about the guest list and reno, feel a bit stress liao -.-" but at least my GDL done.

of cos

just want to get it done and over with...very tired really. my weekends all fully packed until AD...sian.

when you put it into perspective ... mine only got 16 weekends, urs is 14 ... thats really not much time. so have to plan things properly. I think have to start burning weekdays too.

weekdays will be spent on overseeing my reno and tying/writing inserts
have to supervise for furniture to be moved in after reno is done too.

thomas> u intend to type your inserts? using pc or typewriter? All my inserts gona be hand-written i tink...

All> btw, if i'm inviting a female colleague and her hubby. how to address them huh? Ms XXX and Partner? or Mr & Mrs XXX?

me went to buy gold strings to tie my inserts just now hahaha...food tasting tml nite! GDL this coming sun also haha

forestz: thanks but I oredi bot liao haha. ribbons are more exp usually, no?

less than 50 days to go...still like got so many things not done OMG

yes...ribbons are more ex...but i feel gold ribbons are very common...yeah man...no time liao...montage still not done..eeks!

haha nvm lah, no one sees the wedding cards anyway, no point spending so much

heng my wife finished all our montages liao lol

moooooooorning

tie gold string easier larr... my cards come with thick ribbons (from the hotel) and its not easy to tie
i think people tie 10 gold string, i tie 1 ribbon only.

my montage not done yet either. but my wife keeps wanting to add things.. like our reno-ed house photos, so its hanging.

thomas > my wife wanted 2 photos... one of me wearing a t-shirt with the words "nan ren zhui da" (bought from taiwan) and she mopping in the background...

and one with her wearing a "nu ren zhui da" (bought from taiwan) and me cooking in the background...

hi, anyone here doing lunch ah? do you have time to the normal things like gate crash, tea ceremony then to hotel?

does ur mum or bridesmaid have time to engage MUA ah?

mintty: ME ME ME! gatecrashing still going ahead with it, both sides tea ceremony we have decided to do at our hotel to save time. Do check with both sides' parents see if they are agreeable to it before you do it hor.

forestz: wah u also doing lunch? besides me and you, valerie is also lunch haha.

no lah, not lazy, we are being practical only ^5!

can go have a romantic dinner just the two of us...then after that can enjoy our bridal suite for the rest of the nite hahahhahaha...

Erm...very hard to say. a fren who jus had her wedding lunch recently made abt 5k loss...=( so we jus hope for the best ba...

have to anticipate losses... after giving tables to my MIL, we buffered 20K

i actually wrote a spreadsheet to calculate the losses if all my guests came and gave and average of $80.

val:

darrel: ur per table how much? that's why I dun dare to hold mine in those 5-star hotels cos per table so exp liao, later everyone gives me $60 I sure pok big time

mine is $1.4K nett for a 12 pax table. $120 to break even. most of my close friends did ask me how much i paid per table when i booked, so i expect at least on friends and colleagues side, will break even. the only question mark is .. give the 9 tables plus dunno how much i will lose at my relatives side.

wah piang $120 to break even??? I think only close friends and relatives will give this amt, others sure give below 100

still got ppl think in this era wedding dinners at most cost $700 per table nia

thomas > i think so too... thats why we had to calculate properly then decide if we wanted to lose that amount.

but i think the bulk of it goes to the 9 given tables lorr *sigh* ...

actually book that time still ok... its after you book liao, then start reno, photography, etc and all the money start bleeding out, you'll think "damn ... should have picked something cheaper..."

but then again, my wife likes it... so ok lorr

Darrel: yah.. agree.. for mi.. no regrets after booking hotel.. coz it's a place i like and also within our means..

but like it can liao.. U choose photos liao? I top up 32 photos for CL.. haha

wah.. only 1 day diff.. so much response. hee..

my planning is gatecrash > tea ceremony at hotel > banquet lunch then after that, YES!! free time

but hor, u all no need arrange MUA for mum ah? the timing very pack man.. i'm chasing against time...

how did u all alocate the time? unless ur gatecrash is superrrr early kind. my gate crash is 8.30am... hee...

deerixp: wah 32...so how much did u spend again this time? think each photo CL charges 120 right? that will be almost 4k...OMG

mintty: my wife's mum said no need

ur gatecrashing so late of cos no time lah...mine's at 7.15am hahahaha...cos we need to finish my side's tea ceremony by 8.59am.

deeri > nope... my selection is next wed. i think the photo selection will be tough.
i better negotiate with chris before i actually see the photos.

for wedding lunch, have to take the time and plan backwards. something like

12.30 lunch start
12.00 cocktails
11.00 tea ceremony (for all)
09.45 start makeup
09.00 check in hotel + rest
08.45 leave for hotel
08.00 enter brides house.
07.00 gatecrash.
05.45 bride start makeup (photographer arrive)

haha darrel, mine is sth like this (yet to be finalised though):

0515: wife starts makeup
0700: me arrive at wife's hse
0715: gatecrashing
0740: enters wife's hse
0800: leaves for hotel
0859: finish tea ceremony (groom's side)
0900: leaves for new home
0940: go back hotel again
1015: tea ceremony (wife's side)
1130: wait for guests to arrive
1200: cocktail reception
1230: lunch starts
1600: lunch ends