(2010/01) ROM in Jan 2010

greyleaves

Hi Everyone!

My name is also Kelly.
My ROM date is not confirmed but will be in Jan.
I have not decided on venue, date and JP is it too late?

piger

hihi kelly... think you got to act fast already... cause Jan is a hot date... confirmed your date first.. then the venue... .and then the JP... =)

piger

Peixuan: hihi.... i think if u prefer a good job done... then maybe you will have to engage a PG.... even if you engage 1, you can still get ur friends to take pictures of those candid shots for you.. =) Hope it helps...

piger

Vivi: welcome welcome.. think for ROM package, the price should be about 300~400 plus ba... heehee.... maybe you can source ard lor...

witchz

Vivi if you are going to hire PG for your AD must as well save it and get family and friends to do it for you.

piger

Elaine: alamak.. u mix up me with ctrus la.. she's having it at the same hotel with you... =)

I've efile mine too on 4th Jan.. =)

ctrus

Eelynn & Elaine >> Finally we decided to do ROM @ Zhou's Kitchen (Anchorpoint)... Given up SMC

piger

ctrus: not a problem.. so long u and ur htb likes the place.. =)

Elaine: hahaaa... no problem.. same same arh.. we file on the same day.. =P

Jaslyn: welcome welcom... =)

princesspanda

Hi ladies! This is my first post *shy* My AD is in Malaysia on 30th Jan 2010 (I'm Malaysian but FH is Singaporean). Due to a sudden change in plans, we are planning to ROM in Singapore on 10th jan 2010! :)

princesspanda

But of course, all our cash is sunk into the AD sinkhole...*sigh* So the ROM would probably be 10-15 people at a lunch somewhere!

princesspanda

Thanks Eelynn :)

Ctrus: Wish I could but too many complications. His family's in NZ, only his extended family members are here. And my entire CLAN is in M'sia! And my mom wants me to "chut mun" from our home there.

At the same time, it isn't easy for him as a foreigner to get registered in Sabah; he'll have to be interviewed by the Pastor, fly on a working day to present himself at the ROM there within a certain time-frame, etc. We're completely out of leave already, so every day we take off is unpaid. What a pain!

:-(

That's why we thought of getting ROM here and then bringing the cert back to M'sia to get married there. But ROM-ing here brings a whole new set of problems; he can't exclude people, family members etc, so how do we keep the cost down?

Haiyah.

comanches98

Hi All!
Congrats to all couples! Hey Ning Piglet, our ROM also on 31 Jan 2010! Haha, we are holding it in Shangri-la (orchard).
I got a JP too, it's Mr Jude Yeo. =)
Happy searching! Enjoy the process!
Hey guys, u all have a wedding blog? Care to share share?
Mine is "www.zhiweiandweixian.wordpress.com"
We share ideas ok?

princesspanda

Zhiwei: Hey, I think I've been to your blog before! Mine is princesspanda.wordpress.com but I must give fair warning beforehand that I am a MAJOR bridezilla! :)

I think I'll be ROM-ing on 23 Jan 2010 too. Seems to be a hot date on this thread. Is it some kind of lucky day or something? I never checked the Chinese calendar for "lucky" dates.

Eelyn: When you said "Jan is a hot month...confirm date first...then venue...then JP"...do you mean efile first? *blur* I'm still trying to figure out how things work here, being a foreigner and all!

ctrus

Princesspanda >> yes, 23 Jan 2010 seems to be hot date... and I'm ROM-ing on this date too

U will need to confirm JP, obtain his license no. Then u can proceed to e-file the marriage notice.

piger

princess: nope... i don't mean that.... i mean, first you got to confirm the date, then where you want to hold your ROM, if you intend to do it outside, you have to confirm the venue and booked it first, then you can efile.... hope you understand... =)

princesspanda

Ctrus: Bridezilla is a portmanteau of "Bride" and "Godzilla". Godzilla is a monster, so in essence I'm a bride-monster because I'm so detail-oriented! LOL

Seriously though, I do the research and analysis so hopefully other brides don't have to do the same research and we can help each other out. So my blog's full of little tips and recommendations. Hehehe.

Eelynn, I'm pretty torn about having the ROM at a Tung Lok restaurant or to have it in the function room of my condo. Budget problems, you know. Only for 60-65 people. Difference in price is only about SGD7-10 dollars per pax with the TungLok option being slightly more expensive.

Usually I'd say a restaurant's better than a function room, but the function room at my condo's quite nice... :) Overlooking Marina Bay.

So what do y'all think?

ctrus

Princesspanda >> OIC. Yes, I like your blog. Your dream wedding shoe is nice!!!

During the e-filing of marriage notice, be mindful tt ROM venue will be reflected on the marriage cert.

Doing at own's condo hv a personal touch. But U wld hv to engage experts to "doll" the function room to give the desired atmosphere. And also to the catering part, generally U want ppl to go away with good impression. So food wise, can't go wrong too. Jz my 2-cents worth.

piger

princess: mmmmm.... i think you got to talk with ur htb lor... once decided, quickly booked the venue... not much time left oh....

zhiwei: thanks for signing off my guestbook... =)

princesspanda

Oh gosh, thanks Ctrus, I love my shoes too! And I'm such a fussy duck, so you know if my vendors can put up with me, they've got a golden stamp of approval. :)

I had NO idea venue will be reflected on the marriage cert. Aiyah. You mean I have to put down "Function Room, The Sail @ Marina Bay" vs "Tung Lok balcony overlooking river"??? That specific? Can't just say "Home"?

My plan is to get a florist to doll up the place and then Orange Clove to do the catering. I heard they're really good, from a fussy foodie friend. Just got the quotation today. Pretty reasonable too.

thanks for being so helpful! :)

ctrus

Princesspanda >> I alwz hv prbs buying shoes as my feet is size 34.

Yes, U need to input the ROM venue when e-filing marriage notice. But nt sure hw specific gotta be. I will be ROM-ing at Zhou's Kitchen (Anchorpoint), so probably will input as it is.

Orange Clove is a sister coy from Neo's Group. Their food is nice *sedap*

princesspanda

Oh ok. :) Do we need to put down address only or everything including which floor, which room, etc? Wow very stressful lah.

Anyway let me attach a picture of the function room, when it's bare and before the florist works her magic. :)
1223467.jpg

piger

princesS: i think just put the location can leh... for me, i will be having it at the courtyard of Hotel Rendezvous, but when i efile, I put the location as Hotel Rendezvous only.. =)

princesspanda

I'm looking at getting The Red Petals to do the decor, but my budget is tiny lah. And the charges seem so expensive, but of course I haven't yet compared prices. Any other florist recommendations? Suggestions helpful! :)

I guess the pro for choosing function room is that it has a tremendous view, it's free, and it's convenient for us. The cons would be the lack of "atasness" since you know lah, function room kan. Plus we need to rent absolutely everything! :-(

princesspanda

Thanks ctrus! That's really helpful! :)

My problem is that the venue is mostly glass and we don't want to use blinds otherwise look like office. We want to dim the lighs way down low for atmosphere. But if the photographer uses flash, habis, because I tried that and the reflection bounced off the glass! So there's a giant bright blob in the middle of the picture! And yet if don't use flash, picture comes out blurry because not enough light. Haizzz....I wonder if they can take photos in low light situations without using flash.... :-(

ctrus

Princesspanda >> maybe can discuss your concerns with the PG, seek his opinion and find a win-win situation.

Also see how the florist propose, wat is the right lighting to hv the DESIRED atmosphere

sandydy

Hey princesspanda,

Maybe you can try Fleur D'sign too , i had a problem similar to yours and they suggested that i could have a deco done up to cover it up , it looks great yet accomandating witht helights , not too dark =) , but well , i discuss with my photographer to work with my decorator for the lighting too , he made necessary changes and yah , thats it , fortunetely for me , everything turns out well , they both worked realli well.hahaha.

Hope this works.

Ohyah , the site is www.fleurdsign.com but think its better to email them or pay them a visit for suggestions well after all ,the details are hard to be convey through words rite? hhahaha.

They are realli friendly people and are willing to share what they can , enjoy meeting them =D

princesspanda

Hey Sandy, thanks for the recommendation. I'll email them for a quote soon. Actually I have a really tiny budget, so I think it's a matter of scaling back my expectations to work with the budget, and not get too carried away by stuff.

Ctrus, guess what? I made contact with Darren from 1950 Photography and the charges seem pretty ok. I was hoping to get a 4 hour package for under SGD500 but looks like I might have to settle for 3 hours for SGD540. Still, the ceremony won't be very long; just a matter of getting some getting ready shots and posed shots with hubby, and then straight into solemnisation and tea ceremony. After that just makan and mingle no other program, so other than shots with family and friends, I guess he can retire early! :)

I'm taking him to see the venue this Sunday. Fingers crossed! I would have for all the pictures to come out bad because of the glass & mirrors.

princesspanda

Oh, let me recommend a vendor for you girls...she's fantastic! An absolute wellspring of wedding ideas! Vivienne from MadeVivLove does all my invitations including the ones for ROM, Actual Day, etc. She also does all the table names, tags, etc. Have a look at her work on my blog; the post is on this link.

http://princesspanda.wordpress.com/2009/10/12/invitation-mock-ups/

It's not just that she does great work; she's really generous with ideas and she's got a fantastic attitude also. Even my cake or lighting problem also I look for her, because she just got married last year and is quite on the ball about all things wedding. So give her a go. When you go to my post you should be able to click on her name to get you straight to her website! Bridezilla stamp of approval!! :)

edwinbs

Hi BTB and HTB...
I'm new to here, and i will be ROMing on 23 Jan.
Was at a lost what to prepare for the ROM?

1. Confirm date for ROM
2. Venue
3. Solemniser / JP (got who can recommend a nice one? beside Mr Yeo and Mr Chia)
4. ????

really at a lost..

princesspanda

Hi Edwin,

I think you need to go to ROM homepage first and select your date. They have a system that tells you when is the earliest or latest you can e-file. Check it out!

I'm ROM-ing on 23 Jan as well. Seems to be a very hot date.

So the earliest we can file is 23 Oct.

For me, I'm having a simple one at the function room of my condo so this is MY list, but bear in mind yours might be different depending on how big/elaborate you want it and what your budget/venue might be. In no particular order and right off the top of my head:

1. Date

2. Venue

3. Solemniser (I haven't sorted this one out yet!)

4. Food (some caterers decorate and rent tables and chairs, and even sets up the solemnization table, etc.)

5. Flowers/decor (Most florists can do wedding decor, I think...see some of the other members' suggestions on this thread.)

6. Photography/videography

7. Rings/Vows

8. Program structure

9. Invitation printing and guest list

10. Hair & Makeup

11. Music

12. Duties of your bridal party - who sits at reception desk, who ushers, who emcees, etc.

13. Angpow budget - how much do you give everybody?

14. Transport & logistics - how do you get to your venue and back? What about everyone else?

15. Clothes! Whatcha gonna wear?

16. Tea ceremony - if you're doing this, you need to get all the stuff ready, like tea-set, hong zhao tea, etc.

17. Legal stuff - your papers, cert, required documents, passport picture, etc.

18. Wine - BYO?? How many bottles per table?

that's all I can think of right now; maybe the others can provide more input. Good luck! :)

ctrus

U need to confirm a JP, obtain his license no. before u can e-file your marriage notice from 23 Oct'09 onward till 1 Jan'10.

And usually U wld need to confirm your venue as potential JP will ask, so that he could plan his schedule.

comanches98

hey princesspanda> 1950 is good I agree but they only provide photography services and nothing else right? I emailed them before too and I quite like darren's work too.
They charge quite a high fee if u want a coffee table as well...I think I will reserve the budget for my AD =)
Share ur photos hor Bridezella!

edwinbs

Wo. princesspanda, yes seems like a hot date.... i tried 3 JP but all cannot make it during that time...

Thanks for ur list. i will take note.

princesspanda

Hey Eelynn, is it really a good day for wedding? How so? What makes it a "good day"? *curious* Mr. Panda & I never check the dates or anything. We just picked it because our pastor in M'sia says better keep the registration date as close to AD as possible, and since our AD is 30 Jan 2010, and we have to fly to M'sia on 26th Jan, the nearest Saturday is 23 Jan so that's how we ended up with it!

Edwin, we've been quite lucky because Mr. Panda's best man's dad is a JP and last night we called him and he happened to be available so we cepat-cepal "chop" him lah! :) Thank goodness, because we had no idea this date was so hot. I still don't know why it is.